Perak constitutional crisis from misinterpretation of words? (Urgent appeal to Sultan to re-look) PDF Print
Friday, 06 February 2009 11:15

Is it possible that a slight difference in wording between the state constitution of Perak and the federal constitution pertaining to the loss of confidence of mentri besar/prime minister has misled the Sultan of Perak into thinking that the constitutional requirement necessitating the Mentri Besar to resign has been fulfilled?

Judging from the Sultan’s statement explaining his decision to appoint a new mentri besar, that seems to be the case.  Let me quote the relevant paragraph of the Sultan’s statement explaining why Mentri Besar Nizar Jamaluddin must step down:

“After meeting all the 31 assemblymen, DYMM Paduka Seri Sultan of Perak was convinced that YAB Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin had ceased to command the confidence of the majority of the State Assembly members”.

This statement would have been a correct interpretation of the constitution if applied to the Prime Minister, but an incorrect interpretation, if applied to the Mentri Besar.  This is because the loss of confidence of the majority is prescribed differently in the two constitutions (relevant parts of the constitutions are shown at the end of this article).  Under the federal constitution, the loss of confidence refers to “members of the House of Representatives” whereas under the state constitution, it refers to “the Legislative Assembly”.  This means that while the ascertainment of loss confidence can conducted outside Parliament (such as collective appearance before the Agung) in the federal case, it cannot be repeated in state case.  In the state case, the loss of confidence must be ascertained within the state assembly, meaning through a vote of no confidence in the state assembly.

The reason why I said the Sultan could have been misled is that in his statement extracted above, he mentioned “the confidence of the majority of the State Assembly members”.  Notice the statement refers to “State Assembly members”, and not to “State Assembly”.

Under the circumstances, the Mentri Besar was right when he said that he was legally obliged to step down only when a motion of no confidence on him has been passed in the state assembly, but not otherwise.

And since the Mentri Besar has not resigned, any appointment of another Mentri Besar will be ultra vires the state constitution.

The swearing-in of another Mentri Besar is only few hours away from now (at 1530 hrs).  Perhaps His Royal Highness can spare a few minutes to take another look at the two constitutions, so as to avert a major constitutional crisis?

The relevant extracts from the two constitutions  are as follows:

Federal constitution: Article 43 (4): “If the Prime Minister ceases to command the confidence of the majority of the members of the House of Representatives, then, unless at his request the Yang di-Pertuan Agong dissolves Parliament, the Prime Minister shall tender the resignation of the Cabinet.”

Perak state constitution: Artikel XVI(6): “If the Mentri Besar ceases to command the confidence of the majority of the Legislative Assembly, then unless at his request His Royal Highness dissolves the Legislative Assembly, he shall tender the resignation of the Executive Council”.

Kim Quek

Comments (40)Add Comment
written by ibnuaiz, February 06, 2009 11:19:13
Sultan adalah pemutus patik ikut jek. News baru kat Johor sultan johor dah cerai pemaisuri dia so KATANYA SUK JOHOR dah keluar arahan turunkan gambar pemaisuri kat premis kerajaan di johor. Ada sesiapa boleh sahkan tak? Ntahler sultan kita ni kan mcm2 cerita
written by shissun, February 06, 2009 11:24:49
I will boycott all activities, bills, etc etc that originated from the illegal Perak government led by UMNO goons from today onwards. I wish all Anak-Anak Perak who still have the sense of righteous to do the same thing. Do not participate, watch and attend any functions, sport activities, dinner, lunch, seminars organized and originated from this illegal government including from the royalty, you know what I mean.

PR is still my legitimate Perak Government. MB Nizar is still my Perakian MB. This government is in exile now. Next election, they will reclaim back the authority and send all the crooks to HELL.
written by sahabat, February 06, 2009 11:24:56
The Sultan did not bother to think. He just followed what Najib wanted.
written by DreamLady, February 06, 2009 11:25:08
The sultan Perak is very much well- versed in reading law, especially he is backed up with experience as the chief judge. For him to overlook the clauses is just a mere excuse. His highness has already made up his mind long before MB Nizar came to see him. I am baffled to no end the way he passed judgement!!!!
written by Littlebird, February 06, 2009 11:25:53
Will Sivakumar still be the speaker of state assembly? If that's the case, how is BN going to claim they have majority because in the speaker's view, 3 assembly man already tendered their resignation. Out of nothing we are facing a constitutional crisis. A snap election would have made every perakian happy but now BN and parties who supported it are forever tainted.
written by KingSolomon, February 06, 2009 11:27:40
He insisted to appoint Nizar as MB when PAS has the least number of seats compared to DAP and PKR. Was he wise and fair then? Everyone said yes.

written by Foong, February 06, 2009 11:28:11
Possiblity is great but nah! don't waste time. Those in power will proceed with what they want to do. Don't forget, they control everything right up to the judiciary. Good try Kim Quek.
written by lamakawan, February 06, 2009 11:29:19
The decision rests with the specific interpretation of the relevant articles in the state constitution. There is no doubt about it. The sultan had been misguided by this interpretation. Still not late to cancel the appointment of a new menteri besar.
written by Old Man Jasin, February 06, 2009 11:29:41
I don't know much about Federal Constitution or State Constitution.

But one thing I am certain , if the MB failed to command the confidence of the majority of the Legislative Assembly , then the votes should be counted in the Legislative Assembly.

Can any body be certain the four politicians are not abducted or forced to declare their support in front of the Sultan ?
written by amjoem, February 06, 2009 11:33:30
Kim Quek you are absolutely correct.
I pray that HRH the Sultan will exercise patience
until the court case is over. It may take 2 to 3 days.
In the mean time appoint YAB Nizar as the interim MB.
written by loosecannon, February 06, 2009 11:33:54
It's a fact that if the Sultan had dissolved the assembly, the whole legal mess would be averted. On top of that, the people of Perak would have their voice heard on who they want to represent them. For whatever reason his decision is based on, the Sultan has made the wrong choice. We can all argue till the cows come home but the damage has been done. All we can do is wait with bated breath to see who will be the next lot of immoral electives who will put themselves on the auction block. We the rakyat lose yet again.Phui.
written by chanatak, February 06, 2009 11:34:58
Stop appealing to this disappointment to the Rakyat. Cakap tidak sama dengan buat. He has decided against the rakyat and damaged his own standing to side with people known for their racist behavior and corruption. We will be patient until the next GE. UMNO and BN will be no more.

There was a time we had great respect for what used to be a pillar of fairness, wisdom and integrity. All that is now lost. Period.
written by OVERLORD, February 06, 2009 11:36:08
As I see it , the matter is a forgone conclusion as far has the King is concerned. HRH has made his intention clear that he would not seek a disolution. Back-tracking would only jeopardize the integrity of his decision making process and would be seen as incompetent. What I am not too sure is whether the federal constituition will have precedent against the state constitution.....Nizar, hang in there...clarity must come to bear..in the meantime, do not waiver on your reslove...we support u...
written by Sembahyanglahkamu, February 06, 2009 11:39:54

WE THE RAKYAT CAN WAIT FOR 51 YEARS WHAT IS ANOTHER 4 YRS.
COME PR13 WHEN PAKATAN WINS MORE THAN 40 ADUN THEN THEY CAN DECIDE TO VOTE THE SULTAN OUT FOR NO MORE CONFIDENT IN THE MONARCHY.
WITHOUT THE RAKYATS WHO RRRRR THEY!!!!!!!
written by non conformist, February 06, 2009 11:40:19
Friends and fellow rakyat, it was said long ago,

"Put not your trust in princes,
nor in the son of man,
in whom there is no help."

The princes are part of the establishment that oppresses the Rakyat... that fleece and plunder the common people.

Psalm 146:
1 ¶ Praise ye the LORD. Praise the LORD, O my soul.
2 While I live will I praise the LORD: I will sing praises unto my God while I have any being.
3 Put not your trust in princes, nor in the son of man, in whom there is no help.
4 His breath goeth forth, he returneth to his earth; in that very day his thoughts perish.
5 ¶ Happy is he that hath the God of Jacob for his help, whose hope is in the LORD his God:
6 Which made heaven, and earth, the sea, and all that therein is: which keepeth truth for ever:
written by Sembahyanglahkamu, February 06, 2009 11:42:20

RAKYATS OF MALAYSIA STAY CALM !!!!!
AND SEMBAHYANG KUAT KUAT OHH !!!!
written by Sembahyanglahkamu, February 06, 2009 11:54:47

TIKUS PERGI !!!!
LEMBU MALI !!!!
ONG SUDAH PERGI !!!!
SUI SUDAH MALI !!!!
RAKYAT BANYAK BENCI !!!!
SEBAB BN/UMNO SUDAH RAMPAS PAKATAN PUNYA KERUSI !!!!
SEBAB ITU SULTAN BANYAK HAPPY !!!!
DURIAN RUNTUH MUNKIN AKAN JADI !!!!
JANGAN LUPA LAGI SEBAB RAKYAT BANYAK BANYAK BENCI !!!!
JANGAN LUPA LAGI RAKYAT BOLEH TUNGGU 4 TAHUN LAGI !!!!
PR13 RAKYAT AKAN TENTUKAN PAKATAN DAPAT LEBIH BANYAK KERUSI !!!!

written by pinsysu, February 06, 2009 11:55:46
why then the bar council with their quick call to respect the sultan's decision? why wouldn't things be done according to the rules of law? what is exactly going on? why can't the Perakian rakyat be allowed to decide? why are we asking all these stupid questions when we all already knew the answers!!!
written by ckone, February 06, 2009 12:00:19
whatever it is HRH would not back down. How can a sultan 'relook' his decree...?? I've much respect to the HRH but this 'respect' is fully shaken to its roots after what happen yesterday. Hope he can earn back that 'respect' from us, currently i have only 'forced respect' for him.
written by Kuku Burung, February 06, 2009 12:08:11
I am a salesman. I sell all kinds of gadgets. Hey guys! I have this very interesting headphones; it only plays UMNO's party song and filters out all other sounds. One particular royalty has started using that. I also sell eye wares. One particular one can be programed to filter out certain words. It is used by Najib recently.
written by Beezee_Beezee, February 06, 2009 12:13:45
Surely we can wait the years gone-by. But this is a matter of Principle, Rule of the Law of the country and not the LAW of the Jungle.
We came to this stage after 52 years and yet the Rule of the JUNGLE stayed. Are all the elected Members of the Malaysian executives not educated? I think this conuntry is really run by bunck of MONKEY from the JUNGLE of Persekutuan Tanah Malayu. Not MALAYSIA...any comment?
written by truthreallyhurts, February 06, 2009 12:13:57
The justification for this Coup d'Tat by the UMNO Junta was based on Article C4 of Alzeimers law
written by peace, February 06, 2009 12:24:25
from day 1, I think the perak Sultan have not acted in good faith....

scenerio 1: picking a MB who have the least number of seats in the perak PR coalition.

scenerio 2: asking MB to resigned when PR=BN=28 seats. 3 independant seats are currently vacant.

scenerio 3: rushing to get BN to form the state govt when state assembly is still not in sitting and many doubts still not cleared.

I smell rats
written by Ahjamal, February 06, 2009 12:25:29
The Sultan should care to recall that he was met by the CM on the two vacant state assembly seats. Should he has any objection on the meeting with the CM He should have opposed. How did the Sultan come to conclude with Najis coup that the BN rather UMNO has the majority? Nothing less to argue the Sultan makes a great mistake in not recalling the two vacant seats, Any reasons why he went along with
the defectors voices is a matter for all to guess.
written by Thiru, February 06, 2009 12:25:55
Why expect something from the HRH when the ruling party can change their fate.
So dont waste time expecting from HRH.
written by adan, February 06, 2009 12:27:10
The most tragic outcome is that the corrupted party-hoppers have been REWARDED .. they are allowed to hold on to their SEATS and keep their ill-gotten FAVOURS. The chances are that they would have lost not only their seats but also theiri deposits. Above all they will have ended up as NOBODY AND WORTH NOTHING.This will have been an important LESSION /warning to all would be party-hoppers and a massive step towrds curbing corruption among politicians. ,But then this is BOLEHLAND WHERE CORRUPTION IS OUR OWN UNIQUE TRADEMARK.!
written by Waif, February 06, 2009 12:31:21
I think one word says all "CONSPIRACY"from the very top to the bottom
written by carribeanking7, February 06, 2009 12:36:12
I read Kim Queks piece in MT, he does have a valid point, but i think it wont fly with the sultan, as the state assembly is comprised
of the state assembly members, with the 28 evenly divided, and judging from the 3 socalled appearence in najibs press conference,
no doubt even if a state assembly is called to vote on the motion of no confidence, they are likely to push it thru with a 31 to 28 majority,
PM AAB has indicated that they are ready to do so if the need arises.
furthermore bar council has opined that HRH acted within the state constitution.
Thats why the letter I wrote appeals to commonsense and HRH's emotional side as he is endowed with discretionary powers.
The Monarchy has shown it discretionary powers deviating from the norm in the appointment Meteri besars in Terengganu, Perlis and Perak.
written by mnaa5982, February 06, 2009 12:41:16
Patience is a virtue. We shall fight our course through proper channels, with class and dignity. Failing with, we'll make our voices heard loud and clear at the next opportunity. Our day will come.
written by Ahjamal, February 06, 2009 12:45:50
Now we have two CMs in Perak . So let all the PKR states have to CMs also
1 the people elected CM
2. Najib coup mafia CM

Let the whole world see what our country it like with a dame stupid AAB that
he is a keen supporter of coups
written by ahmadneil, February 06, 2009 13:09:28
He can't be mare stupid than us.He was a judge before.He knows very well what 'majority' means.
written by BORN FREE, February 06, 2009 13:50:26
All along i thought Perak's royalties was for the people but looks like i was wrong.

Hiprocrism is the word.
written by Ajiajiok, February 06, 2009 14:32:28
Seems like the Sultan and his son have very different views on governance. Surely it's more than who interprets rightly...surely someday the truth of the power of the ringgit will be floating around and respect, integrity and wisdom will fly out the window. smilies/angry.gif
written by yuenthiam, February 06, 2009 14:36:01
Dear Middlepath,

I beg to differ with some of your views. Time is of the essence, no more dilly-dallying, as even State lawmakers were robbed in broad daylight by these highwaymen/woman, rascals through unscrupulous means. Can you imagine what these crooks are capable of when it comes to the ordinary folks? It's frightening to think what's in store for the country if we allow such treachery to fester until the next GE. The rakyat has been conned the past half century by the BN, especially its chief component, the later UMNO Baru. Let's face it, decent, honest and hardworking citizens of the country can no longer stomach such nonsense and abuses!

Pakatan Rakyat and MB Nazir, the solid, popular support you enjoy is unshakable and undiminished.
written by Dualties, February 06, 2009 14:43:39
People of Malaysia :

In BN administration, people who have money and influential political power can do wonders in this country.

Therefore, don't complaint anything until the next General Election.
VOTE FOR THE INCORRUPTIBLE & PEOPLE WITH HIGH PROFESSIONAL ETHICS and POLITICIANS who are prepared to die/suffer for the RAKYAT.

Any MALAYSIANS available in Malaysia??? ...........It's Hard to Find....except for
Raja Petra Kamarudin;
Tunku Abdul Rahman,
Tun Dr Ismail,
Onn Jaafar,
Nik Aziz,
Lim Kit Siang,
V Rajaratnam,
Lim Guan Eng

and add on to this list to complete it.
written by joeawk, February 06, 2009 14:49:23
There is no misinterpretation. There is the difference in options though, one has a conscience and the other no. People of similar genetic background bahaves likewise. As simple as that.
written by KKchan, February 06, 2009 15:40:30
There is really no need to try an exculpate HRH for his actions. He is a grown man, an ex-Lord President and a sitting Sultan. He did what he did - full stop. And he did wrong. And there are consequences, like a lower esteem of him by his once fervent subjects. By the way, can his son stop pontificating about things that do not concern him or if they do, he couldn't careless. Stop pretending you care about your subjects when you really don't.
written by temenggong, February 06, 2009 16:44:15
Misinterpret my as.s!
written by borneoman, February 06, 2009 22:38:22
“After meeting all the 31 assemblymen, DYMM Paduka Seri Sultan of Perak was convinced that YAB Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin had ceased to command the confidence of the majority of the State Assembly members”.
WHAT ABOUT IF THE MAJORITY ARE MORALLY UNSOUND IDIOTS?WOULD YOU AS THE SULTAN STIL ENDORSED THEM TO GOVERN YOUR STATE?WHAT ABOUT THE RIGHTS AND WISHES OF YOUR RAKYAT WHO REGARDS YOU AS THEIR SULTAN OR RAJA?