Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Now comes the hard part for BN: Winning over the people

Now comes the hard part for BN: Winning over the people PDF Print
Friday, 06 February 2009 08:29

“The Perak people should carve the faces of the four assemblymen on their limestone hills just like Mount Rushmore, so that future generations will remember...,” one reader commented on news portal The Malaysian Insider.

THE STRAITS TIMES

It may have recaptured Perak, but Barisan Nasional now faces the bigger battle for the hearts of Malaysians, especially those who scoff at its backdoor re-entry to power.

But the opposition Pakatan Rakyat has not been spared criticism either. It has been knocked for losing control of its assemblymen.

On blogs, message boards and even networking site Facebook, netizens have unleashed their anger and disappointment, saying their trust in politicians has been shattered.

The volume of unhappy comments, along with the spike in Internet traffic driven by those wanting to read real-time updates of the twists and turns in the Perak saga, caused online news portals, including Malaysiakini, to redirect users to stripped-down versions of their websites, which load more quickly.

Most of the vitriol has been directed at the four politicians who jumped ship on Wednesday: former Parti Keadilan Rakyat assemblymen Osman Jailu and Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi, former DAP assemblyman Hee Yit Fong, and assemblyman Nasarudin Hashim, who defected to PKR last week before making an abrupt U-turn back to Umno.

They have been labelled traitors, having either flipped-flopped or reneged on earlier claims that they were not defecting.

“The Perak people should carve the faces of the four assemblymen on their limestone hills just like Mount Rushmore, so that future generations will remember...,” one reader commented on news portal The Malaysian Insider.

“Any rep leaving the party after having won is no better than a dishonest salesman who hoodwinks customers into buying products (of which the) quality does not measure up to what was claimed,” wrote another reader.

Many, like business development manager Nicole Fong, 34, who grew up in Perak and has family there, disapprove of a government formed through defections. “Calling for snap polls is the fairer way forward. BN can't just take over the state like this — they don't have the people's consensus,” she told The Straits Times.

On Wednesday, Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak announced that BN has recaptured Perak — which fell to the Opposition in last year's general election — thanks to the four lawmakers who switched sides.

With the defections, BN and PR hold 28 seats each. But with the three pro-BN independent assemblymen, BN can now claim control of the state assembly.

Political observers have, however, warned of a possible backlash from citizens if BN chooses to reclaim power this way — a point that was also emphasised by former premier Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

Yesterday, veteran Umno leader Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah joined the chorus of naysayers, cautioning that taking control of Perak without getting the people's mandate would spell disaster for BN in the next general election. Such actions would “cement the enmity of the very people we should be trying to win back”, he said.

But Najib pre-empted such criticism. “We didn't start this,” he said. “Someone wanted to form the government on Sept 16,” he added, referring to opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim's ambitious plan to engineer a massive defection of BN MPs to the opposition last year.

But political analyst James Chin said voters are always going to be more sympathetic towards the opposition.

“The general feeling is that the electoral system is skewed towards the ruling coalition. That's probably why they are less worked up when the opposition woos defectors,” he told The Straits Times.

Nevertheless, there are also fingers pointed at PR for its part in the debacle. “(Pakatan Rakyat), please vet all your candidates before letting them stand for snap polls,” wrote Perak resident Prema Subramaniam on Malaysiakini's website.

Those who opted for the opposition last year have resigned themselves to a Catch-22 situation. After voting for BN for half a century, they say, voting for Pakatan has now backfired as well. — MI

Comments (44)Add Comment
written by raven1958, February 06, 2009 08:39:57
Perak will never forgive nor forget the betrayal of the Perak Sultan. Whether you have the confidence to govern with three independants in toe has to be decided by a vote of no confidence on the floor....not at the Sultan's breakfast table......the monarchy will pay a heavy price for cheating the people. All future PR governments would well remember to treat with scorn our so called royalty .................
agree 237
written by blackpea, February 06, 2009 08:40:03
BN can force it ways around withs it tons of CORRUPTIONS. But for sure I will have no respect for all BN Leaders, especially Najis. BN, You think you get away with this. History has shown all tyranny will come to end one day, maybe violently.
written by Liberace, February 06, 2009 08:52:17
"But Najib pre-empted such criticism. “We didn't start this,” he said. “Someone wanted to form the government on Sept 16,” he added, referring to opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim's ambitious plan to engineer a massive defection of BN MPs to the opposition last year."

O yes you did. Buying defections has been a BN special for years and you have just perfected this to an art form. You don't seem to understand that drawing defections with genuine aspirations are not the same as prying them with money and intimidation. Of course with you, there's no right and no wrong because you have completely lost all conscience.

written by gorshan, February 06, 2009 08:53:06
the late comedian Mehmood sang this song in the 70's and its still relevant today.

"not father nor mother,
not child greater nor honey,
the whole thing is that, brother,
the greater is still money"

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by NSTPravda, February 06, 2009 08:54:36
We think winning over the people is the easiest part
We already have the ruler, the FRU and a ruthless heart
What we cannot buy, we will use our force to get
We now even have learned a ruler is our docile pet

As for Hee, her selling out created an instant miracle
She is now a rich BN, not just a poor DAP, cripple
With the millions that she has been promised she’ll get
Even without principles and soul, she can now emigrate

Why should a cripple care about the stupid Assembly
When she is so enriched with all these BN money?
The real question is "What can RM10 million buy?"
Here are some very quick observations, on the fly:

RM 10 mill can cure Jamaluddin of all his “back problem”
With a cash straightened back, his political career will blossom.
If Mohd Osman was previously feeling rather “unwell”
The millions of spare change, should make him feel really swell

Nasarudin Hashim is an example of UMNO’s best
To get his services, you have to pass the money test
Ha, ha, you PKR numbskull believed every word he said
Everything he did so far was all UMNO “semua-nya OK’d”
Duit-lah Akbar! Daulat Tuanku! smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by ahmadneil, February 06, 2009 08:55:25
All the people who are are associated with umno/BN will face the 'death' penalty' from the people of Perak when the election comes.No way will this dirty tactics go unanswered and this time PR will win with a bigger majority.
written by ellyna, February 06, 2009 08:55:46
Yes, BN can win over the people. But first the following must be done:

1. Nab the real murderer/s of Altantuya
2. Abolish/Review ISA and DON'T MISUSE OR ABUSE IT.
3. Give Syed Al Blur the boot!
4. Nab the murderers of Kugan
5. Stop siphoning the rakyat's money into the pockets of BN and their cronies.
MALAYSIA BOLEH!!.....yea rite!!
written by Foong, February 06, 2009 09:02:41
Those defectors may bullshit with reasons for leaving one of those as being disgrunted with the PKR leaders. Just want them to know like in work you have to ultimately please your bosses (leaders) whether you like it or not. Otherwise you become the leader yourself. Don't forget all human beings are born to serve and not to be served. Special one to Hee. "You have to live with the concience that all Rakyat in the Chinese New Villages will curse you dearly because under PKR all of them had the hope of being granted Permanent Land tittles. Because of you everything just vanished". God bless you.
written by rpremkumar2u, February 06, 2009 09:09:31
I am not a member of any political party. I am an ordinary rakyat who has friends who sell nasilemak and friends who even buy banks! I listen to all of them 90% of the time. They value me because the 10% of the time they ask me something, there is mutual respect even though we agree to disagree. Therefore I am very much a man-in-the-street. This is the only site I comment on and read comments 99% of the time. Therefore the Editor who has balls has my respect. He is Royalty too. Today his matter of sedition is up in the Jln Duta Courts. Once he has roasted the Najis in court, I would like to see what the Perak Barisan Nasional have to say about their backdoor specialist.
written by Al Ambia, February 06, 2009 09:16:30
The the traitor J.O.H.N.,for the sake of money,you lost your soul.Yep,your name will go down in history as the infamous 4 traitors of the country when Pakatan formed the federal government.At that time,we will see where you are going to leap.
written by wood, February 06, 2009 09:24:45
BN no need to battle to win over the hearts of the people. You have just lost and lost BIG ! Rakyat never forgets easily ! Rakyat will wait another day!

smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/kiss.gif
written by Ken Liew, February 06, 2009 09:25:24
one word: NEVER!!
written by asguard, February 06, 2009 09:26:33
To people of Perak... please give the PR a larger base majority... in coming 13th General Elections! And to else where.... please don't vote any more for BN! Given them 51st to prove themselves they failed misery in almost everything that they do.. only knows how to grab power for themselves! So please give the opposition a much bigger majority... we don't want this kind of thing to happen again in the future.. and to all of sultans in malaysia... i think the public has lost respect for you.. and we knew that you may do the same thing if it were to happen in your own state... sorry to say this... this is the truth nothing but the truth!
written by angkasawan bocor, February 06, 2009 09:42:13
To the Mother of All Bitches:

I am so very ashamed of you. You have betrayed the rakyat. You have sold out your country, your state and your race. You have turned to the dark side of the force. Beware, as the Buddhists say, you will reap what you sow. God will punish you severely. We are waiting for that day to happen. And it will be very soon.
written by pinsysu, February 06, 2009 09:57:36
BN can no longer win over the rakyat. whatever 'victory' you now have is but temporary. it is sad that hee yit foong has foresaken the light. it is not too late to repent, ms hee. you do not have to overcome your handicap this way.
written by Mark C, February 06, 2009 09:58:06
even thought people have short memories, but this will never ever vanish from the minds and hearts of the rakyat. I believe that come 4 years from now, UMNO will have such a drubbing that it would make the last '08 tsunami look like a ripple in the lake. smilies/grin.gif
written by slaiman36, February 06, 2009 10:03:06
I think our emotions are running high because of the atrocities done by the current government, let's take a deep breath...step back and win the WAR, we lost the BATTLE today and we've identified our achilles heel, when we win the war we will make sure there are no setbacks!! YAB Nizar you have the rest of your live ahead so be patient.
To all Malaysians go get yourself registered if you're not for 2013 or any by elections. This is the best we can do.
written by OVERLORD, February 06, 2009 10:04:17
My vote will be for the lesser of 2 evils....I agree that defections are unethical and irresponsible because the constituents has the people's interest vested in them. Both BN and PR are guilty of betraying the rakyat's trust......However, when one side of the party resorts to indiscriminate manipulation of the law through money politics and corruption, the final chioce is all too clear.
written by alarcarte, February 06, 2009 10:10:23
WINNING OVER THE PEOPLE - Why not?
If B.N can pay millions for winning these three kataks, they can also pay 10 millions each to all Malaysians families to enable them to provide better living and better education for their children, anything less will spell doom for B.N in the next G.E.

Mr Najib, can you see? We the citizens of Malaysia need more money than the three idiots you enticed, not for Toyota Camry or Bungalow house but to help us to tie over our hardship.
written by yapsir, February 06, 2009 10:17:42
Dear Perakian,I heart almost stop last night.
I almost wanted to use my emotion to go out to street do something.
I got myself to gether,I think thats what the be-end wanted,emotion and irrational action will give them a chance to do something.
Neil,I won't fall inti their traps!
Just respect and honour he Sultan,even though we fully and trully disapproved his royal decision.(and never will).
Just give the PR to work out legally and rationally.
They need time to dwell with wolves.Show to them the rakyat is right and rational and has brain that is in rightful thinking.
We don't behave like morron,imbersit,nincompo.
Joint in hand and let us give our full support to the perak PR,to do what ever they need to do.
Be prepare to sent the BN be ended what ever the out come coming on its way.
Hidup rakyat power.
Thanks for all who keep the news coming.
written by bullets, February 06, 2009 10:21:10
There is a blessing in disguise. Come next election, BN will fall, and they will fall real hard.
written by Dualties, February 06, 2009 10:23:49
People of Malaysia :

In BN administration, people who have money and influential political power can do wonders in this country.

Therefore, don't complaint anything until the next General Election.
VOTE FOR THE INCORRUPTIBLE & PEOPLE WITH HIGH PROFESSIONAL ETHICS and POLITICIANS who are prepared to die/suffer for the RAKYAT.

Any MALAYSIANS available in Malaysia??? ...........It's Hard to Find....except for
Raja Petra Kamarudin;
Tunku Abdul Rahman,
Tun Dr Ismail,
Onn Jaafar,
Nik Aziz,
Lim Kit Siang,
V Rajaratnam,
Lim Guan Eng
and add on to this list to complete it.
written by Bigjoe99, February 06, 2009 10:41:34
If the two assemblymen is found guilty of corruption and by-elections held, then I agree BUT if election is 3 years from now, no. When will people learn that its Najib's position in UMNO that matters and with one stroke, he makes himself a possible heir to Dr. M. UMNO perverts like these kinds of treacheary, its their kind of politicking. Hell, they love this...

Najib essentially has condemned this country to Mahathirism forever if a quick election is not held soon.. The onus is in PR court, not the BN...
written by MAMR, February 06, 2009 10:44:06
"It may have recaptured Perak, but Barisan Nasional now faces the bigger battle for the hearts of Malaysians, especially those who scoff at its backdoor re-entry to power".

Based on the above statement, I have this to say as a citizen who live in Perak. UMNO/ BN play a fair and gentlement game by contesting Permatang Pauh and KT byelections and they LOSE VERY BADLY why? because they deal with the power of RAKYAT who have integrity and cannot be bribed. Now they resorted to "purchased " the three jokers state assemblies and Najib the future of BN PM claimed to be victorious? Cameon Najib you must be joking' maybe you can buy those jokers which is winning through a back door or in another word HITTING the opponents in supposed to be a fair fight from the back. From today I declare I totally lose faith in UMNO/ BN govt because of their act to recover power through a cowardice means.By the way just to inform you that I have a large family of 22 voters all staying in Perak, if you were to understand the message. To me to win must be fair ,if UMNO/ BN win in proper election than I shall respect why? because that is the true choice of Rakyat. To win through backdoor like this painting the picture that the present UMNO/BN Govt is so desperate for power and HAD LOST ALL CREDIBILITY IT HAD EVER HAD.
written by fireduck, February 06, 2009 10:47:25
Hee Yit Fong's name will forever be etched into the memory of Perakians as the epitome of betrayal or as the synonym for being so easily bought by money. We can adapt our language to account for that, eg. "we want a rep who will not do a Hee Yit Fong on us after the election."

She is real despicable to be able to switch allegiance just like that. I guess her principle in life is to sell her soul to the one who is able to pay more. So, DAP was just a stepping stone towards that goal? What's the difference between that and a prostitute? Both sell out for money, except in Hee's case, her constituencies are also dragged along to be screwed too.
written by ROBERTNGTG, February 06, 2009 10:59:15
"It may have recaptured Perak, but Barisan Nasional now faces the bigger battle for the hearts of Malaysians, especially those who scoff at its backdoor re-entry to power

WE ARE NOT SURPRISED AT ALL AS THAT IS NAJIS' SPECIALTY. HE HAS JUST SEALED HIS TEMPORARY VICTORY WITH C4 TIMED TO BLOW COME GE 13.
written by antiilluminati, February 06, 2009 11:07:44
Face the fact, we are a POLIS STATE. You think you can "SAIFOOL" us ?.
Damn, We the RAKYAT will "KUGAN' u. We will "ALTANTUYA" your Leader Najis.
written by Fart Fart Wah, February 06, 2009 11:11:37
SICK SICK SICK.....
Is this what is expected from politicians??? who are elected to one party and then jump to another which they don not like.

...and they say they pray 5 times a day....

sick sick sick sick sick...they are all sick....
written by noyawns, February 06, 2009 11:13:34
Dear fellow voters - let's be strong - did we expect to defeat the Evil forces of BN with just one stroke on 8 March 08? So let's gird ourselves to fight BN yet again - this country needs us to do that; to get us to a 2 party system.
Let's vent then stay focused - continue to work to dislodge BN.
Meanwhile, let Pakatan re-coalesce and be the spear the Rakyat desperately needs to fight BN.
And the turncoats - we know who you are - may you and your millions be damned!
written by Jit Dharma, February 06, 2009 11:24:51
One fact will not change, the people KNOW that Najib is
a murderer. He WILL burn.
written by truthreallyhurts, February 06, 2009 11:28:45
Burn? Maybe could also consider having a public mass burning of the BOOK written by the man with Alzeimers Disease
written by truthreallyhurts, February 06, 2009 11:35:15
Perakians should now boycott all events and functions held by the Coup d'Tat perpetrators or graced by the man with Alzeimers disease
written by V4Vigilante, February 06, 2009 11:35:27
Perak...now, I'm gonna berak on the pictures of the 4 *******s...and flush them down the shit-hole
written by V4Vigilante, February 06, 2009 11:40:57
DON'T CRY FOR ME ..PERAK....4 PEOPLE WILL BE MISSING AND 4 BY-ELECTIONS WILL BE HELD...AND YOUR GUESS IS AS GOOD AS ANYONE'S.
written by SamYap, February 06, 2009 12:11:16
I hope that the rakyat will always remember this incident when the people were robbed of their rights by backdoor tactics. The problem with us, Malaysians is that we have short memories, so this time make very sure we remember. Perhaps someone here who is savvy with websites setup etc should put up a website memorial to always remind the Malaysian netizens.

This incident also tells us that its all about ONE man and that man is NAJIB. He thinks that by usurping the rights of Perakians will legitimize his coming upgrade to being the PM. He needed Perak badly and we know Perakians certainly do not need him. UMNO/BN did not do this for UMNO/BN, it was all for NAJIB.

We should also learn that we cannot depend on the royal families to protect us, their subjects, we have to look after ourselves.

Lastly, we must always be on the look out for any signs of divisive tactics being used to screw the rakyat. Most times this is done via the MSM. Look at todays copy of the NST - front page picture of Ms Hee with the sultan. Why did the NST not print a picture of Nasarudin meeting the sultan instead? NST used Ms Hee's picture to stir up shit for the Chinese community and to stir up anger amongst the Malay electorate - that it was a Chinese who betrayed them.

The next important thing for us rakyat to do is apply pressure on Pakatan Rakyat to retreat and reorganize. Don't go hunting for frogs to jump over, whether at state or federal level. Pakatan should use the next three years to forge closer ties and work towards a single goal - congruency of objectives should be the top agenda.

Pakatan should begin to talent spot the young, upcoming and truly nationalistic Malaysians to stand for elections in 2012 or 2013. No more riff raff ADUNS and MPs.

Pakatan should also organize a good fifth column to disseminate information to the rakyat, collect information about the shit in UMNO/BN - accurately, and reprogram the rakyat to believe that our fate lies in own hands and not be cowed by the dastardly tricks of UMNO/BN.

Pakatan has its work cut out for it and PATIENCE should be its slogan for the next 3 years.
written by Sinewy, February 06, 2009 13:00:25
Hee Yit Fong has betrayed the trust of the voters in the last GE for the sake of her self serving and shameless act. The discriminated communities in Perak will continue to suffer the apartheid NEP policies for another few years at the hand of the racisr UMNO thanks to this despicable woman. The poor village folks will always remember this unprincipled woman who will only pay importance to her own selfish greed and objective and sell out the people who have voted her in because of PR manifesto and not because of her. This is a woman with no integrity, trust worthiness and dignity. I think a dog has more than that and at least the dog won't sell out people who care for it.
written by Angela Ooi, February 06, 2009 13:09:01
Moreover, the defections to Pakatan are not based on bags of dirty money....the only way BN can get those elected to their side. Filthy @#!@$%# HI-JACK-ASSESS. Everyone is will be waiting to teach them all a lesson come the time.
written by Fairminded, February 06, 2009 13:56:51
Karpal Singh was right. Anwar should not have taken any turncoats just to get into power. It is only right to govern well now and wait till the next election. Those who turn against their parties will have no qualms about betraying the new parties. The fact that they are turncoats simply means that they are unprincipled.
written by carlitos, February 06, 2009 18:02:14
What is so hard? WHy have to win over the people? Just add 10 million new indons as mykad holders, they will win next GE 13!!

In some ways I felt happy because now you all can feel how we in Sabah felt when we got screw in the ass with 1 million new PTI from indon and filipinas.

Next election you all can forget about toppling BN as the indon will make sure they retain power.
written by fencesitter, February 06, 2009 23:46:35
Its all Anwar fault...get it dumb people! He started it first.

I fear for Hee's safety. Hope she will be alright. Many people i met here in KL on conversations (unreluctantly Perak topic put in as well)said they would like to throw shoes at her and gladly buy new shoes again. What a turn of event...So much anger, i sensed in everyone I met. One said, U can jump, but u can't hide! But like Malaysians habit, all forgotten in a few months time (hopefully). Time to move on with our lives, guys! Put this episode behind us. More danger come from economic crisis. Tackle this first! Any action u guys wish to take, keep it for GE13. Do it the legal way, ok?

written by JaguhKampung, February 07, 2009 01:45:52
Hard Part? You are dead right. The stones will be hard indeed.

Perakians are boiling mad. The four frogs who jump ship will dare not go back to face their constituencies. They will be pelted with stones by the mad mad Perakians.

This time Perakians will never forget these frogs. They want to eat these frogs!!!

How dare they betray the Perakians like that! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif

The most despicable is the frog which jumps the group that asked her kind to balik tongsan. Not only in Perak, people in other parts of the country are cursing her.

Serves them right.