Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow There will be a reckoning, BN

There will be a reckoning, BN PDF Print
Thursday, 05 February 2009 22:13

By John Lee (The Malaysian Insider)

Feb 5 — Amidst the chaos dominating Malaysian politics once again, it is worth remembering one simple constant: ultimately, the people will triumph.

It does not matter how hard you try to keep them down; no government can ever survive without the support of the people it claims to represent. Barisan Nasional has as much right to woo Pakatan Rakyat representatives as Pakatan has to woo Barisan reps.

But both parties should be mature and wise enough to face the people and justify their actions—and if there’s anything the crisis in Perak demonstrates, it is that Barisan lacks this wisdom and maturity.

Their failure to understand or address the reasons why Malaysians have rejected Barisan’s leadership will only undermine them even more.

Yes, we can very well tell Pakatan “padan muka” (serves you right) for having a taste of its own medicine.

But that would be glossing over a very important difference between the change of power in Perak, and Pakatan’s attempts to gain power at the federal level.

While we can argue about the sincerity and feasibility of Pakatan’s earlier plans, there is little room to debate the opacity of Barisan’s seizing power in Perak.

When Pakatan sought to form a new government, it made its intentions clear; Barisan’s moves in Perak were made behind closed doors. Pakatan ran its plans past the public, and while we can argue that this does not legitimise crossovers, nobody can argue that Pakatan did not trust the public enough to make its plans clear.

Barisan’s secrecy — which was largely useless because the newly independent state reps were already under suspicion in the first place —only serves to undermine public confidence in its intentions, and public trust in its ethics.

With all eyes on Pakatan, it would have been hard for corruption or bribery to take place; in the case of Perak, and potentially Kedah, Barisan’s secrecy can only arouse suspicions of seat-buying.

If Barisan was conducting itself in an appropriate manner, why did it keep us in the dark as to its potential takeover of the government? While Barisan must remain innocent until proven guilty, the fact is that they had and have the means, motive and opportunity to buy seats.

None of the party-hopping state reps have explained their change of heart. When Sapp chose to leave Barisan last year, it explained to its members and the public why it could no longer affiliate with the ruling party.

All the former Barisan leaders who have joined Pakatan are likewise open about why they chose to leave the Barisan fold. If the new independent state reps are really sincere, why cannot they explain to the people they serve their reason for toppling the popularly-elected state government?

The burden of proof rests with Barisan to justify its actions now. Pakatan may have talked a lot about seizing power, but it justified itself openly with the press.

Barisan remains tight-lipped, only making statements to exuberantly celebrate its return to power in Perak. And if you are going to seize power without going directly to the people for a mandate, you had better have a bloody good explanation for them.

Ultimately, though, it does not matter what Barisan says, or whether fresh elections are called: Barisan’s days as a relevant political entity are numbered.

Will holding power in Perak truly revive Barisan’s political fortunes?

Not when Barisan has just toppled one of the most effective and popular state governments. Not when the new Barisan government is dominated by representatives from one ethnic group and one political party.

Not when the only agenda of the new Barisan government is to keep quiet about how it gained power or what it plans to do with that power. All this does not change the fact that Barisan remains a simple marriage of convenience — one that increasingly rings hollow to Malaysians who hunger for a government united more on principles and ideals than the thirst for power.

Barisan can’t run from the ballot box — and at the ballot box, its fate will be sealed.

It doesn’t matter whether fresh elections are called tomorrow, or in four years. Barisan has lost every single election it has contested since March 8.

Barisan has been resoundingly rejected in every independent opinion survey since March 8.

The man who will soon be leading it, that smug Najib Tun Razak, has a lower approval rating than the supposedly useless man he is replacing, Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

For goodness sake, the Leader of the Opposition, Anwar Ibrahim, has higher approval ratings than Najib. And this is not just the public being singularly irrational at one moment in time; public sentiment has turned overwhelmingly against Barisan and the men who lead it.

Barisan still seems to think that as long as it can hold on to power, by hook or by crook, it will be okay.

It has no intention of justifying itself to the people it claims to serve.

It has no plan to address the corruption that dominates our politics and policymaking at every level.

It has no intention of truly addressing the economic stagnation of the Malays and Indians, or the political injustices meted out to the non-Malays of this country.

It has no principles guiding it, no basis for its governance besides the nebulous pursuit of power — because somehow, only Barisan is supposed to be able to govern this country.

Barisan can continue deluding itself like that for as long as it wants.

It has a lot of money; it will be fine for now.

But when the people of Perak, when the people of Malaysia next go to the polls, Barisan will have only itself to blame for the whipping it will get.

So go ahead, Barisan. Don’t address any of the problems we the people have with you.

Pretend it will be fine. You got even with Pakatan in Perak, and maybe you’ll settle the score further with it in the other Pakatan-led states.

Yes, padan muka Pakatan.

Well, don’t worry Barisan: I and the other millions of voters in our lovely country look forward to getting even with you at the next election. Padan muka Barisan — padan muka!

Comments (36)Add Comment
written by shissun, February 05, 2009 22:20:16
Hey, you can't generalize all party hopping.
When BN MPs jump to PR, it is because they have sense of righteous.
When PR MPs jump to BN, it is because have have sense of ringgit. OK?!
disagree 18
agree 119
written by lamakawan, February 05, 2009 22:22:14
Time will tell whether the people really want the BN to run Perak or not.
To all Pakatan supporters, I say, have an open mind and a great heart. God knows you have been cheated and plundered. Keep our country democratic. Tell the BN dogs, ." we will see you in the next elections."
written by fireduck, February 05, 2009 22:23:32
Sad things to note.

1) Aduns going 'independent' just like that. They were elected as members of the Pakatan and they were given all the necessary backing, financially and otherwise, by their respective parties. If they had stood as Independents back in March 08, 2008 they may not even have gotten back their deposits, let alone won the seat.

2) Individuals can play kingmakers, and the highest bidders win.

3) Politicians can be bought? No doubt about that. Otherwise, what issues are there that cannot be settled within their respective parties. After all, what comes first? Rakyat's interest or their own selfish egos?

4) Some politicians are be very shallow in their principles, and they are willing to sell their souls to the devil if the price is right. When they get elected they forgot who put them up there.

5) We cannot put too much faith in the Sultans as saviors of our nations.

6) Pakatan Rakyat is a very transparent force. Their problems and aspirations are laid bare for all to view and hear, and often spiced and cooked up further by the MSM. Even what and when they want to make some political moves are all announced out. Stupid too, it seems to even mention that such and such Adun or MP is thinking of crossing over, etc. Of course, these same politcians will be harassed by UMNO/BN in submission then.

7) UMNO/BN is not transparent and all the govt machineries have rpoven to be so. And they played this switching game well by concealing from the constituencies of the respective ADUNs the fact that their elected reps may switch camps. Poor rakyat has no say at all. I am sure some of them would like to give their ADUN a piece of their mind.

We, the rakyat, must decide and do the needful DURING the general elections to determine what we want for our nations. No slacking of duty when it comes time to exercise our votes. Vote for people who will really represent you! Vote for people who holds solid principles and have proven themselves in fighting for those principles.
written by Oscar Winner, February 05, 2009 22:26:06
We all know it's UMNO's machination. It's indeed a shame. In time they'll get their well-deserved perdition.
written by Umm Adzka, February 05, 2009 22:29:37
I think this is what Najib has in mind:

just gain control as much as he could once his sworn in as the PM, he could and would use all available means to keep every body's mouth shut - either with money, C4 or imprisonment (with the risk of facing the same faith as that of Kugan's)

He has about 3 years to do that.

Come next GE - nobody left - hence ensuring a flawless victory for him!

by the way, I wonder if you are the same John lee that went to the law school with me.
written by hiro, February 05, 2009 22:31:30
I applaud Pakatan Rakyat for their consistency. They did not gather everyone and have an audience with YDA because they thought the proper means was through a vote of no confidence with the PM denied them. And they even went on to say that once they cleaned up the electoral process they will call for a general election for a fresh and proper mandate.

Asking people to cross over is a double edged sword, and so some would be right to say that's something Pakatan will have to live with if it comes back to hurt them like now.

But that's where the similarities end. Najib has made no mention that he will call for state elections in due time. That makes this power grab highly illegitimate, and certainly casts a dubious pal over the supposedly neutral institution of rulers. If the wisest of them has fallen, I dare not contemplate the wisdom of the rest.

But it is as good as a time for Pakatan to bite the bullet. Accept that no one except the voters can be trusted ultimately. If they have the Election Commission, the police, the MACC, the institution of rulers, and the judiciary behind them, you can still go out there and get the votes. If they have 1,000,000 phantom voters, you make sure you have 1,000,000 more actual voters than you require to get your majority in Parliament. If they have 500,000 postal voters, you make sure you have the same or more of that amount to counter its effect at every potential constituency in which the votes will be channeled to. It's a war that we know will be protracted anyway. We just need to triple our efforts, like how we've always done it. This time, we'll play a lot more smarter, coz after a while, even Najib the magician will run out of his bag of tricks.
written by panca, February 05, 2009 22:41:47
The Reckoning is.....

The Damage Done is IRREVERSIBLE!

The day the Rakyat will show its wrath will come when the time to fully clean the corrupted regime. Shit in your own face.
written by budakindia, February 05, 2009 22:41:53
Najib, you took the bait laid out by Abdullah's people. Just prepare yourself for your downfall. Now not even the kampung floks will save you! Goodbye Najib! So long! My regards to Rosmah!
written by Fuminari, February 05, 2009 22:42:27
Perak pakatan government is only 10 months old!najis hav to steal it by hook or by crook becos he couldn't afford to see n he knows very well that this pakatan performance is going to outshine those 51 years of the corrupted umno be end many many times better; n the rakyat would hav no more vote to him n the umno be end goons for good!!
written by charli88, February 05, 2009 22:54:34
In the eyes of the world, it's righteous to jump ship. Let's jump over together ya, Sabah and Sarawak ..... BEST FUTURE for you ALL.
written by krising1, February 05, 2009 22:56:16
John truly a fine analysis. Dont worry about the comments from PeacefulMalaysia. He must be an UMNO goon! Those who plotted the fall of PR government cannot see beyond their noses. For as sure as the sun will rise, they will have to face the voters again in 4-5 years. In the meantime, they will have to visit their constituencies. I wonder if they know what is waiting for them. Already their are reports about stones being pelted at the service centre of the b.t*ch. Can you imagine what will happen if they are seen in person? Three dogs and a b*t*h!
written by SeriousLy, February 05, 2009 22:57:20
I was watching news and that Cheek Minister says that government will continue to tax Malaysian petrol and cooking gas till Malaysians has no money to eat then only the price will go down! Until further notice Malaysians should feel lucky that the price of oil in the international does not go above 70 or 80 US Dollar a barrel! So the current price will maintain until BN has enough money to be distributed accordingly to relevant BN members! The current world economic situation has no effect on BN members so its okay to continue taxing Malaysians more!
written by malaysian, February 05, 2009 22:59:43
The poor Sultan has clearly lost the respect of the people today.

I hope he will come to his sences and correct his mistake tomorrow.
written by Ron, February 05, 2009 23:08:33
Najis says that buying PKR reps is so much cheaper that facing a by election.100%Sure can kidnap and buy reps but by election najis is not sure of win.UMNO SULTAN.
Well versed in law? well verse in $
written by PeacefulMalaysia, February 05, 2009 23:13:47
We need a change
We cant have a PM who is assumed to be a playboy
and at the same time we cant have a PM who plays boys

WE need someone who we can look up without malice

ALLAH help us
written by letsbefair, February 05, 2009 23:14:46
We all know Mahathir was bend on finishing off Pak Lah. There was even him admitting to falsely accusing and imprisoning Anwar in the internet just before the 12GE.

Even UMNO people told me there are many UMNO members voted for the opposition. Now that Pak Lah had made it public to retire after March and he not defending his UMNO presidency Mahathir is confident Najib will become PM by then. Mahathir has achieved his mission.

Najib has made himself stronger with that dirty tactic in Perak. After March I fear Selangor will be next to fall! Kedah a much poorer state should not be any problem.
With that achieved the next will be parliamentarians crossing over. BN and Najib's target I believe is 2/3 majority in federal level and all state except Kelantan and Penang under their control.

Most if not all politicians can be bought over and if given the right offer they will turn into frogs! It's just that simple...

Now my biggest fear is what will happen if GE13 is won by the opposition both in Federal as well as state level. Will Najib copy from Zambabwe or Myanmar? Remember. BN controls the police, arm forces, MACC, judiciary and election commision. Not to mention those billion Ringgit companies. They are filthy rich!
written by jeevy, February 05, 2009 23:14:51
In its haste to shore up its declining popularity BN has hijacked the Perak Government and has bungled!!!.. UMNO and BN will self-destruct in no time!!!....Perhaps Najib has learnt a lesson from the former American President Bush on how to hijack a government?...Bush hijacked the American Presidency in the 2000 Presidential elections.....Najib and Bush make strange bedfellows!!!....
written by Kunta Kinte, February 05, 2009 23:28:47
The one thing that I admire you, Najib is that you have the capability to buy people with money. So much so that you even bought your wife with money. Paid someone to money to kill your lover. Money talks in your life. Greedy to become the PM for money and power control. Bravo! You did it and no one else can replace you. You are an original.
written by jason, February 05, 2009 23:34:51
From today onwards all of us should promise that we will always vote PR no matter who is leading Pakatan until the day we die.
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, February 05, 2009 23:42:48
Let no one forget. It's the rakyat who voted our representative as to who should govern this state. When in doubt, always go back to the rakyat to resolve any ambiguity.

The people of Perak must be the ultimate decision maker. If they are not sought in this round, they will know exactly what to do in the next General Election.

http://razaleigh.com/2009/02/05/the-longer-term/
written by gotsms, February 06, 2009 00:02:55
The sole MCA guy so fast and gleeful mention of he could possibly have a state position - bearing that in tradition MCA always have at least one representation.

INI CINA I not support. This HEE Cina I also not support. Quit you must. If you always say DAP male chauvinists or people look down on your disability - settle your differences with DAP should there be any. What are you doing with NAJIS? at the press conference?????

People shall remember this for a LONG TIME. You shall bear the price. Your family too could bear the price of chastise and so forth.

Menyampah I see all the smiling hantus in the newspaper this morning.

His Majesty's decision we will have to abide in. Not an easy move for him. Am sure he looks into all angles/aspects of current circumstances.

Raja Petra was right all along.

WE SHALL REMEMBER! BE WARNED!
written by chronos, February 06, 2009 00:07:57
If the former Chief Justice of Malaysia is so blind to the integrity of UMNO, God help us. I was not surprised by the decision of the Sultan of Perak, but it is sad that intelectuals prefer to close their eyes while our country is plundered and sinful deeds are done by the ruling Government. All lip service about democracy, freedom, rightousness, most of all INTEGRITY, all humbug. Let the country rot,

I can understand the mentality of hawkers, street urchins, labourers... that eventually the opposition (DAP n PAS) politicians may be tempted to be corrupt. But, people like Tok Guru, Lim Kit Siang, Karpal Singh, Liew Chin Tong, Teresa Kok, Fong Poh Kuan????? Then, the masses who think that way deserve UMNO MIC MCA others in the BN to rule.

I need to secure a plausible future for my children, who can be proud of Malaysia, to hell with people with low mentality..........
written by Hakim Joe, February 06, 2009 00:21:57
Now we all know which party HRH supports.

written by cestcool, February 06, 2009 00:52:03
DSAI, i think that we should be in the offensive mode now, i mean how come 1 year in office and the 5 Pakatan states has not found any concrete proof of the wrongdoing in the previous states govt? We the rakyat wants to see the Bee End to drop one by one. No more nice guy....... Now we have 1 state less and you would surely know that there will be witch hunting in the new Perak Admin. Bee End will now try to destroy all that is done for the past 1 year in Perak. RPK? Have we been in the comfort zone without realising that Bee End's devil is highly dangerous? Now it seems that PR-3 BN-80.
written by Stupid me, February 06, 2009 00:54:12
I used to have high respect to our Sultan Azlan Shah, but no more after what happen to the crisis in Perak.
written by Victory or Death, February 06, 2009 01:53:53
The "state" is doomed.It is just the beginning.

As we did, so shall the hollow be deeper.
written by ChiaCY, February 06, 2009 06:14:37
What difference does it make when one can force his boss to go down to the drain with shit on his boss' face. He will of course do all he can to get what he wanted.

So Kedah, Selangor, Pulau Pinang, and Kelantan..... If he can "unite" these states, he will be the King, by then, why he needs to call for election?
written by renoir, February 06, 2009 06:19:49
Good write-up, John. Yes, we will never forget and the enemy's blows will merely toughen our sinews and will to wipe them off the political map.

Hope you enjoy Dartmouth and take care,

written by Tompios, February 06, 2009 06:59:53
What sedition? I have my right to give oppinion to any kings in this world. Perak's king? I don't care. This king only for Perakians. Don't ever apply your mini-power to all Malaysian states especially Sabah. We don't have king in Sabah. We only have UMNO as the king of corupt party.

Sultan Azlan Shah, as a Sabahan I really disappointed with your decision. Yes, that is your prerogative as the highest ruler in Perak. Anyway, it is very immoral for UMNO to proud themselves as new government in Perak by stealing very basic democracy election from rakyat.

Dear Sultan, you as a highest ruler in Perak should decide those who are jumping or practicing 'forggy style' must resign as people assemblypersons. Yes, you are the higest ruler in Perak. Do this once for all, dear Sultan.

Feel sorry for Perakians. 51 years BN controling Perak and that the reason why the forggy assemblyperson get easily cross to BN or UMNO. Now, the most stupid leaders belts fall to Perak, previously Sabahans' leaders.
written by raven1958, February 06, 2009 09:14:32
The Perak Sultanate is history....students at University Malaya should just refuse to attend any of his functions and the Bar Council better start looking for another God to worship.....what a con. But the biggest dissapointment here has been Anwar. Why is it PKR is full of this lowly characters. Just look at that Jamalludin guy.....dont tell me you couldnt find even one graduate to stand for election. And what is your game plan...do you have long term game plans and programs. Otherwise just merge with PAS....Anwar you are poor in screening candidates.....
written by Dualties, February 06, 2009 10:28:05
People of Malaysia :

In BN administration, people who have money and influential political power can do wonders in this country.

Therefore, don't complaint anything until the next General Election.
VOTE FOR THE INCORRUPTIBLE & PEOPLE WITH HIGH PROFESSIONAL ETHICS and POLITICIANS who are prepared to die/suffer for the RAKYAT.

Any MALAYSIANS available in Malaysia??? ...........It's Hard to Find....except for
Raja Petra Kamarudin;
Tunku Abdul Rahman,
Tun Dr Ismail,
Onn Jaafar,
Nik Aziz,
Lim Kit Siang,
V Rajaratnam,
Lim Guan Eng
and add on to this list to complete it.
written by Jit Dharma, February 06, 2009 11:02:55
Change WILL come.Even if this battle's lost,
the war will still be won.
written by ROBERTNGTG, February 06, 2009 11:11:45
it is that Barisan lacks this wisdom and maturity.
Their failure to understand or address the reasons why Malaysians have rejected Barisan’s leadership will only undermine them even more.

TO THESE GOONS, ONLY MONEY TALKS, WORKS AND MAKES THEIR WORLD GO ROUND.
WATCHING HEE'S FACIAL EXPRESSION MAKES YOU WONDER IF SHE IS HAVING SECOND
THOUGHTS FOR SELLING OUT THE RAKYAT WHO VOTED HER. FORGET ABOUT THE OTHER
TWO WHO BENEFITTED FROM CORRUPTION AND SUBSEQUENT DEFECTION.

written by born2reign, February 06, 2009 13:46:34
Money talks for these despicable ADUNS
Money talks for Sultan Azlan Shah

But the rakyat is not fooled. While UMNOputeras are winning some small battles, they are losing the war.

UMNO and BN are dead.