Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Zambry will be BN’s MB, Nizar still holed up in residence

Zambry will be BN’s MB, Nizar still holed up in residence PDF Print
Thursday, 05 February 2009 20:51

UPDATED 8pm

By Shannon Teoh, Adib Zalkapli and Lee Wei Lian (The Malaysian Insider)

IPOH, Feb 5 — Datuk Dr Zambry Abdul Kadir, the Barisan Nasional assemblyman for Pangkor, is preparing to be sworn in tomorrow at 3pm in Kuala Kangsar, even as the Pakatan Rakyat (PR) tries to make a last-ditch effort to convince Sultan Azlan Shah to change his mind.

The situation remains tense here as police have taken control of the state secretariat, while Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Nizar Jamaluddin remains holed up at his official residence with other PR party leaders.

Nizar has refused to resign, claiming he is still the legitimate chief executive in the state.

A public rally has been planned tonight at the residence to show support for Nizar’s administration.

A few hundred people have already gathered in front of the MB’s house.

Former de facto Law Minister Datuk Zaid Ibrahim and prominent blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin have also turned up to show their support

Earlier, PR leaders said they planned to seek an audience with the state ruler in order to persuade him to change his mind about not dissolving the state assembly.

Opposition Leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said the PR alliance of Pas, PKR and DAP fully supported Nizar, and wanted the matter “returned to the court of the people”.

“BN has twisted it as if we are committing treason. But we are merely pleading.

“The leadership council of Pakatan will seek an audience with the Sultan,” he told reporters.

Tonight’s planned rally is meant to show public support for the state assembly to be dissolved.

But it is unclear how PR leaders can pull off a mammoth rally as police have blocked off many access roads.

Inspector-General of Police (IGP) Tan Sri Musa Hassan said police will take firm action against those involved in illegal gatherings or demonstrations in Perak following political uncertainty in the state.

“I hope party supporters will not stage gathering as they only inconvenience the people and disturb public order. Party leaders should calm the supporters and advise them not to break the law,” he told Bernama here today.

It is understood that officials from the state secretariat and the police have been trying to get Nizar and his state executive council to vacate the official MB’s residence, but have so far failed.

Earlier, Sultan Azlan Shah announced his refusal to give his consent for the dissolution of the Perak state assembly, and asked Nizar to resign in a statement carried by national news agency Bernama.

And if Nizar refused to resign, the post would be declared vacant.

This has paved the way for BN to form the next state government.

The office of the Sultan of Perak, in a statement, said that after meeting all the 28 BN assemblymen and the three independents, the Sultan was convinced that Nizar had ceased to command the confidence of the majority of the state assembly members.

“If YAB Datuk Seri Ir Mohammad Nizar bin Jamaluddin does not resign his post as Perak menteri besar together with the members of the state executive council, the posts of menteri besar and state executive councillors are considered vacant,” the statement said.

It is understood that a candidate for the MB’s position has already been proposed to the Sultan, who has given his approval.

This evening Umno president and Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi had a short audience with the Sultan but it is unclear what was discussed.

This morning, the Sultan concluded a busy morning of talks with both Nizar and Umno deputy president Datuk Seri Najib Razak in a bid to break the political impasse in the state.

He met Najib twice before summoning Nizar to his palace as well.

In his second audience with the Sultan, Najib brought along the 28 BN state legislators and the three independents backing the coalition to see the Ruler to make his case for a new government.

When he met Nizar, the Sultan asked Nizar to resign, to which the MB said he would not.

“The Sultan told me that BN has 31 to 28 but I told him that was inaccurate as three have vacated their seats.

“I asked for consent to dissolve to protect the rights of the people,” Nizar told reporters at the official residence of the MB here.

MORE TO COME

written by michael chick, February 05, 2009 20:51:51
written by ahmadneil, February 05, 2009 20:55:54
Nizar,stay where you are.The rakyats wishes must be paramount.HE must listen to his subject.Let's fight to the end!
written by atsanee, February 05, 2009 21:07:47
YB Nizar and the righful Exco of Perak Negeri Ridzuan.
Please do not go against Tuanku's directive. You may have been removed from office and power by BN and its desperate scheming but they will never remove you from the Rakyat's hearts and minds. Be patient because truth and justice will always prevail and the Rakyat will emerge victorious,just you wait and see. This may turn out to be a hollow victory for them as the people will see to what lows they are prepared to go to gain power wealth and more notoriety.

To all Pakatan Rakyat supporters,I implore you to remain calm and dont go against the Tuanku or the law. Lets show them we are magnificent even in defeat and humble and wise when in power. The day will come when we will sow the seeds of this ugly phase of Malaysian politics and it will come back to haunt BN.

Take heart that the bottom line is they didn't dare to face the voters and the prospect of losing out 3 times out of 3. God willing,our day will come.
written by mrbean, February 05, 2009 21:47:46
why is the police involved in this ?
written by cubi76, February 05, 2009 22:20:56
Sorry Perakians. People Power from Penang cant reach out to you on time, as it happened all of sudden.

Hang on there. Reinforcement will show up tomorrow!
written by budakindia, February 05, 2009 23:02:34
So long Najib and the 4 frogs! Good riddance! Everyone hated all of you! Abdullah can't stop smiling as he's plan or was it KJ? actually worked!
written by MyBUDAK, February 06, 2009 07:35:39
i still recognize YAB Datuk Seri Nizar as my MB....

written by antiilluminati, February 06, 2009 11:17:13
PPl, What century are we now ?. I have a feeling i am in the 15 hundred. I see a Sultan ( acting unwisely ), i like seeing JEBAT, TUAH, KASTURI, LEKIR, LEKIU. But i don't like seeing NAJIS !. it smells SHIT !. Can the TUAH, JEBAT,LEKIR, LEKIU, KASTURI get rid of this NAJIS. The sleeping beauty seems unable to do so. THE Sultan seems to be under SPELL of GURUJI.