Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Sultan’s decision sparks debate

Sultan’s decision sparks debate PDF Print
Thursday, 05 February 2009 20:43

“Keeping in mind that this is not a conventional situation of a no-confidence vote, that this is a crossing over, and that two seats are in dispute, the question whether the Sultan can direct the resignation of the MB or otherwise does not arise because respectfully, he does not have the power to do so,” Malik said.

By Debra Chong, The Malaysian Insider

The Perak Sultan’s decision today in asking for the Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Nizar Jamaluddin’s resignation and denying consent to dissolve the state assembly has become the subject of legal debate among experts here.

“The problem in Malaysia is that the law is not allowed to take its course,” Abdul Aziz Bari, a law professor at the International Islamic University told The Malaysian Insider this afternoon.

He explained that while it is the Sultan’s “prerogative” to say “Yes” or “No” to a request to dissolve the state assembly and pave the way for fresh elections, the Sultan should not insist on the resignation of his appointed MB until it is clear he no longer holds the majority support of the state’s lawmakers.

“I think the Sultan has made a mistake,” said Abdul Aziz.

He explained the need to clear the disputed status of the three assemblymen for Behrang, Changkat Jering and Jelapang who yesterday announced their support for the Barisan Nasional (BN) coalition after having left the Pakatan Rakyat (PR) coalition to be independents.

Abdul Aziz said the courts must make a decision before a special sitting of the state assembly can be held to table a motion of no-confidence against MB Nizar.

Only then can the Sultan insist on Nizar’s resignation, paving the way for the BN’s takeover of the state government.

Human rights lawyer Malik Imtiaz Sarwar cautiously shared Abdul Aziz’s view.

He observed that the law states the ruler must be convinced the incumbent MB no longer commands the majority support of the state assembly.

But, he added the law was vague on how the ruler is to arrive at that conclusion.

“The Constitution only talks about the lack of confidence and does not talk about how it is to be manifested,” Malik said.

“The central question is whether the Sultan is in a position to be sure that the MB no longer has the confidence of the majority of the House,” he added.

He noted that conventionally, the state assembly can take a vote of no-confidence against Nizar, such as federal Opposition Leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim attempted in Parliament against Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi late last year.

However, there may be other unconventional methods to convince the Sultan of the lack of confidence in Nizar.

“For example, if a big enough of the majority assemblymen meet him en masse to declare they no longer support the MB and he is convinced.

“In that scenario, the MB has no option but to tender his resignation,” said Malik.

He noted the 31-member delegation of BN and independent assemblymen who met up with Sultan Azlan Shah earlier this morning seems to have effectively convinced the ruler who was previously placed in a very difficult position.

But, Malik noted too that the political events in Perak which have been unfolding in such rapid-fire succession, may have been portrayed incorrectly.

He noted that it was complicated by the PR government asking the Sultan to dissolve the Dewan Undangan Negeri, leading to the messy deadlock between the PR and BN coalitions.

“It could be said there is no situation of no-confidence here because of the dispute over the two seats,” Malik said.

He added that Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s 31-assemblymen march to the Sultan for a show of no confidence against MB Nizar could not be accepted in the current political landscape.

“A vote of no-confidence can only be taken by people who are legitimately entitled to vote, meaning people who are still assemblymen,” he clarified.

“As such, the legal basis of the Sultan’s directive may not be found,” he added.

Malik agreed with Abdul Aziz for the status quo to remain until the courts have decided whether the Behrang and Changkat Jering state seats are vacant in line with the speaker’s order recognising the pre-signed quit letters of their incumbents Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi and Mohd Osman Mohd Jailu respectively.

“If the court decides in favour of the speaker, then everything would have to be unwound,” he remarked.

Likewise in the case of the Election Commission which on Monday denied the speaker’s call for by-elections in Behrang and Changkat Jering, Malik states that the Sultan does not hold the authority to conclude on the validity – or invalidity – of the PR-led state government.

“Keeping in mind that this is not a conventional situation of a no-confidence vote, that this is a crossing over, and that two seats are in dispute, the question whether the Sultan can direct the resignation of the MB or otherwise does not arise because respectfully, he does not have the power to do so,” Malik said.

He is alarmed at the pace at which the police are acting in Ipoh, even moving to surround the state secretariat building and ordering the incumbent government workers out for a BN takeover.

“The law enforcers are now enforcing rules untenable to the law. Where is the authority coming from,” Malik questioned.

He is worried the Perak crisis may point to a bigger crisis for Malaysia next month when DPM Najib is set to succeed Abdullah as Prime Minister after the Umno party elections.

He noted that while the BN may win in reclaiming Perak, it will affect its performance in the long run.

“If the Perak scenario is replayed at the federal level in favour of the Pakatan Rakyat, there is a high possibility of a similar outcome,” said Malik.

Comments (35)Add Comment
written by Farting Toucan, February 05, 2009 20:49:52
Spot on Malik! I wonder whether the Sultan made the decision under duress? It was certainly made in haste.
written by michael chick, February 05, 2009 20:50:33
written by Frankfurtguy, February 05, 2009 20:52:01
Democracy is dying
People of Perak is in great sadness
People of Malaysia will be in GREAT sorrow when Najis become PM
agree 121
written by blackpea, February 05, 2009 20:52:46
Sad day for Malaysia. Democracy is dead.
written by Bloodhound, February 05, 2009 20:56:46
Is it possible for the people of the defected assemblymen/women's constituent demand the immediate resignation of their elected representatives who had jumped ship?

If so, the relevant people should be informed of their rights immediately in order to throw these representatives out as soon as possible!
written by wartank, February 05, 2009 20:59:13
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia,
Democracy is a form of government in which power is held by " the people" under a free electoral system. It is derived from the Greek δημοκρατία ( [dimokratia] (help·info)), "popular government"[1] which was coined from δήμος (dēmos), "people" and κράτος (kratos), "rule, strength"...
Jump to: navigation, search

What happened to Democracy? Do the people have no say over here?
The people should decide, not the power/riches craving politicians!

written by justinlian, February 05, 2009 21:04:57
Our Country is lawless already...
What is democracy in malaysia, no one understand now.
written by KKchan, February 05, 2009 21:07:38
HRH was Lord President but that doesn't mean he can't make a wrong decision. He is probably wise, and has his reasons for doing what he did. But that doesn't mean he is right. He is not infallible. Many agree with his decision but many more would disagree, and doing so respectfully because of his office.
written by Adely, February 05, 2009 21:23:01
First of all KUDOS to NAJIB. He has the balls and a better strategist then DSAI. With this event unfolding in Perak, NAJIB made DSAI look like a rookie in Malaysia politics. Some of my friends said NAJIB “menjuburi” DSAI well and good.
In my two cent worth of thoughts, PR/DSAI should stop the dream of taking over parliament through acquiring FROGGERs, anytime soon or before GE 13. Focus should be given on how to serve the RAKYAT better. Create a credible CHECK and BALANCE in parliament.
Perak is lost, but turn every hurdle into opportunity and strike when the time is right. Najib used a basic shin tzu tactics, and DSAI fall flat. I am start having doubt about DSAI being a good leader i.e. able to read enemy tactics and moves. Well DSAI, better late than nothing, u are back to the drawing board.
To the RAKYAT, its not the end of the world, and despair we shall not. We have lost the battle, but the war is far from over…
written by PASOK, February 05, 2009 22:11:46
Adely

you are dead wrong. Perak is not lost. It is just beginning. There are now two "governments". One is legal and one is not. The courts will eventually decide. And you can be sure that Datuk Nizar will be upheld by the law as the rightful MB and the sultan will be made to look like he is going against the constituion and thinking he has the power to decide who should be the government.

Second, you can say that Anwar was outmanoevered - but look more carefully. Already senior voices in UMNO are withdrawing their support for Najib's clumsy, brutish move. They know that this spells big trouble for UMNO. Anwar has not been outmanoevered. He has led and let Najib fall into a brilliant trap.
written by amjoem, February 05, 2009 22:33:27
With due respects, HRH should not have ordered the MB to resign, instead he should have asked that a vote of no confidence be tabled at the DUN. HRH cannot appoint a new MB until the sitting MB has resigned.
written by Edmund, February 05, 2009 22:40:44
Coup ala Umno!

well Umno are just buying time anyways, expect retribution come any election.
written by takbolehtahan, February 05, 2009 23:01:30
Pasok, I really, really wish that what you wrote is true and I hope that it IS true. Please let's pray that you are absolutely right.
written by onnetline, February 05, 2009 23:04:05
Democracy is as dead as the SULTANATE !!!!!!!!!!!
written by KKchan, February 05, 2009 23:04:24
Are we grasping at straws? The Courts will decide in favour of Nizar? Since when has our faith in the Judiciary been restored? The Judicial Appointments Commission did the trick? Perak is lost. Mourn the loss but do move on. Take steps to show our displeasure. Prepare to fight the next round. Be smarter. PR was outfoxed.
written by LFLee, February 05, 2009 23:14:38
well, lets hope those 3 who cross over died accidentally while eating Tofu, Nasi Lemak, Roti Canai, etc, and we can have by-election very soon.

Malaysian people are too kind, even until today, we were told to remain clam and not go on street. I sometime wonder if we are too kind or simply we have no guts. suddenly wish I am a Thai.
written by sufc, February 05, 2009 23:37:54
it is very sad when the learned judge sided with the robbers!!
written by sufc, February 05, 2009 23:45:07
He only know how to preach. Action? Disastrous! u just stay there dont wanna see your face again
written by samarlin, February 06, 2009 00:12:16
Not even qualified to kiss my hand!!
written by Hakim Joe, February 06, 2009 00:15:37
Quote by malaysiaunited, "Who is this fellow to question HRH wisdom? HRH was the Lord President who knows better!"

Being a Sultan and a former Lord President does not automatically make HRH perpetually correct in everything he decides upon. That role is reserved for God.

written by clarity, February 06, 2009 01:08:08
History has shown that handing over without elections just doesn't work. When TDM felt fit to hand over to AAB we all saw the folly of it. At that time Anwar was the most popular candidate notwithstnding being a DPM as well. Now the state is being handed to someone who is going to be the PM as well.
also is it a co incidence that before this there was a statury declaration made of a $50m bribery and less than two weeks after taking over as chief of Perak umno all this hopping started? One guy even hopped twice in 10 days!
written by macakmy, February 06, 2009 01:48:46
There..... lets get us a president!!!! True democracy I say!!!!
written by renoir, February 06, 2009 04:35:17
Dunno why, but somehow an old Elvis song keeps ringing in my ears:

You look like a good man
Walk like a good man
Talk like a good man
But we got wise
You're the devil in disguise
Oh yes you are
The devil in disguise

You fooled us with your speeches
You sided with those who schemed
Heaven knows how you lied to us
You're not the way you seemed

You look like a good man
Walk like a good man
Talk like a good man
But we got wise

Oh yes you are
The devil in disguise

We thought we were in heaven
But we were sure surprised
Heaven help us, we didn't see
The devil in your eyes

You look like a good man
Walk like a good man
Talk like a good man

But we got wise
Oh yes you are
The devil in disguise

We thought you'll fight for freedom
The justice that we lack
Heaven help us, we didn't see
The hidden knife at our backs

You look like a good man
Walk like a good man
Talk like a good man

But we got wise
Oh yes you are, the devil in disguise
Yes you are, the devil in disguise .....

--------------

It's an old song, so I must've messed up the lyrics...
written by adan, February 06, 2009 07:34:19
'Law-enforcers are enforcing rules that are untenable to the law' In simple language, we suppose. it means that there is NO LAW AND ORDER !!
written by asguard, February 06, 2009 08:44:51
What carrot did the najis offer the sultan in first place till the sultan say yes to najis proposal?
written by rpremkumar2u, February 06, 2009 09:19:19
asguard, if you want to lesse majestedo it in your own column, this is Pete's. You want him to get in trouble? What has dangling carrots got to do with this? Its a ad moment for all of us. I dont need your pity, I need your empathy brother. Let's stick to facts here bro.
written by Jit Dharma, February 06, 2009 11:17:28
Until it is one with the rights and will of the people,
the aristocracy is irrelevent and means nothing to me.
written by MushroomUniverse, February 06, 2009 12:30:05
I think the law professor knows that HRH Sultan Azlan Shah used to be our country Lord President but he still thinks he knows better.

I would like to hear what Raja Nazrin has to say about this as his views is unbiase and fair to all.
written by lampard, February 06, 2009 15:24:26
aS i SAID, IN BRED MORONS!
written by EYFF, February 06, 2009 17:04:50
It's high time that Malaysians realize that the Sultans are not to be trusted. The Sultan of Perak was the highest judge in the land, the Lord President! can even be corrupted! So beware and do not give THEM any power to ruin your lives and your country! smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by gromy, February 06, 2009 17:19:44
malaysiaunited and mushroomUniverse should realize that 'WHO' says or does something is NOT important. In fact what it is what someone says or does that is the more important thing.

We should NOT assess something said or done by 'WHO' did it. We should instead assess someone by what he says or does.

Even if it is Maradona who says that off-side is OK, it is wrong. Even if it is DSAI or Nik Aziz (or both plus Kit Siang) who says party hopping and defections is alright, it is still wrong. And even if it is a former LP who gives or holds an legally wrong view, it is of course wrong.

I think the writer has written a very good piece, with well-built arguments. And he definitely has the courage to say what he thinks. Well done!
written by JaguhKampung, February 06, 2009 23:51:31
Sultan said that he cannot be seen to take sides. I can't help but feeling that he just did. smilies/cry.gif
written by JaguhKampung, February 06, 2009 23:55:18
Despite the huge outcry by the public, there seemed to be a great haste in swearing in the new MB. Sultan should not have rushed into this and study the feeling of his people carefully.