Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Sultan says 'no' to dissolution

Sultan says 'no' to dissolution PDF Print
Thursday, 05 February 2009 16:27

(Bernama) IPOH: Sultan Azlan Shah has decided not to give his consent to the dissolution of the Perak state assembly and has ordered Mentri Besar Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin and his state executive council to step down with immediate effect.

The office of the Sultan of Perak, in a statement on Wednesday, said that after meeting all the 28 Barisan Nasional assemblymen and the three independents, the Sultan was convinced that Mohammad Nizar had ceased to command the confidence of the majority of the state assembly members.

"If Datuk Seri Ir. Mohammad Nizar bin Jamaluddin does not resign his post as Perak mentri besar together with the members of the state executive council, the posts of mentri besar and state executive councilors are considered vacant," the statement said.

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, February 05, 2009 16:31:08
Ok,Lah! if you are like that what can we do.We can only wait till the next GE.
written by joejoe, February 05, 2009 16:33:29
A truly sad day for Democracy. This confirms that Justice is dead in this country.
written by red1, February 05, 2009 16:34:25
Why don't his majesty assume mentri besarship or head of state as he has alluded to that fact in his speech few days ago that historically it was so, and the present constitutional monarchy is in his own words 'delegatory leadershp'.

At least do that, or relegate completely the position of state head to the State Assembly and await its eventual vote for or against. But not interfere in asking any one to step down in this case.
written by Liberace, February 05, 2009 16:34:58
To say that I'm disappointed would be a gross understatement. I'm crushed, heart-broken, floored, demoralized, shattered. Alas, only God deserves our praises and we were naive to have thought otherwise.
written by sonofmalaysia, February 05, 2009 16:35:35
Tuanku,

We Perakians want to hear from you directly on Live TV to make this important announcement, NOT through any statement Please!
written by michael chick, February 05, 2009 16:35:37
So sad, this country. My heart bleeds for Perak. smilies/cry.gif
written by savemalaysia, February 05, 2009 16:36:57
This is the saddest political episode for Perakians. 2013 is not that far off, so wait for it then but please make sure you will remember Feb 5, 2009 before you cast your vote. Don't give these daylight robbers from BN and the three PR traitors plus a headless Nasaruddin any chance to screw up your life again.
written by commonfolk, February 05, 2009 16:38:57
Tell me how to respect?
written by truthbespoken, February 05, 2009 16:43:22
A decision has been made against the majority wishes of Malaysians. The source has lost touch with the people. So much for talks on steadfast principles from people who did not walk the talk! Whatever advice from these people in future can be just shove into the basket! Time of crisis reveals the true mettle of people whoever they may be. This is a clear sign that feudalistic systems are no longer good and relevant for upholding current public interest!
written by Democrats, February 05, 2009 16:44:18
DAULAT TUANKU!

If that is the case, You have made a very wise choice...... if you have decided to call for the disollution of the state assembly and deny the UMNO his choice of MB, their supporter would camp outside your palace with placards of "natang" in it, with full police escort and backing - no permit required.

We PR supporters are different, and while we may not agree with your decision, we are "agreeable to disagree" in our quest for freedom of expression and speech. And hence we now place our trust in GOD,... who knows, some badminton match goes wrong, a drunk driver hit and run, lightning strikes, some internal conflicts that creates by elections to win back the state. If not, then we'll always have the next election.

I beleive the people are short changed here. And if they are short changed, they seldom forget. YB Nizar, hats off to you. Although short, you have proven to be quite the examplary MB, a role model for a politician and a true Malaysian. thanks and we'll be seeing you as MB in four years times, tops.
written by traveller, February 05, 2009 16:46:37
I am quite respect to Perak Sultan while I study law and read his judgement, he is open minded and democracy ruler i thought. Today, I am quite sad because his majesty decided not to dissolve the Perak assembly. I hope his majesty can reconsider his decision, let democracy way to solve Perak political drama.
written by jason, February 05, 2009 16:47:52
I thought we have democracy. The three pillars: legislative, executive and judiciary.
Looks like we should abolish the constituition and return to the monarchy system. Daulat TUANKU!!!
written by Liberace, February 05, 2009 17:14:26
Guys, you're on your own. This is the day that justice died (in Malaysia, i.e.). Well, that settles one thing: no more talk of giving immunity from legal proceedings back to royalty. To borrow a line from "The Return of the King (er, Aragon, i.e.),

"There may come a day when the hearts of men will fail, but not this day. This day we fight!" or something like that.

No more talk about trusting sultans. We gotta grow up. From here on, it's people power or no power. Nobody's going to give it to us. This day we fight!
written by nothing less, February 05, 2009 17:15:41
Im a Perakkian. U were elevated to the throne when I was in Form 1. All through out the years I boasted to my friends and relatives for having the most educated Sultan in the whole of Malaysia. But what u did today, threw everything I had for u out of the window. So much for being a Lord President. Are u trying to say that what u did for BN today is paying back for the time Tun Dr M helped u solve the problem in installing ur son as the regent.... Perakians and Malaysians, this guy just did that to pay back what BN did for him many years ago... so Pakatan when ucome in powermke sure all these guys become museum articles. People Power..Makkal Sakhti....forever...
written by mypanida, February 05, 2009 17:17:17
We were let down left and right and it is impossible to turn the other cheek. But we can take solace that we still have our Opposition Parties intact. Good and God fearing people like Tok Guru and PAS, Encik Lim Kit Siang and DAP and DSAI and Co,are still with us. Our Barisan Rakyat Bloggers and our supporters have grown in numbers and strength.We just have to take this on on the chin and march on. We lost nothing really, good riddance to those pieces of rubbish. We should come out of this predicament leaner and meaner and wiser to boot. There is still a long road ahead of us but we must strive harder on our way to the future and we cannot afford to be slack and complacent.
written by antares, February 05, 2009 17:26:35
Malaysia Polical MADNESS "Malaysia Boleh" - "Semua perkara perbuatan yg tak betul semuanya haram akan jadi boleh. Dimana agaknya letaknya kebenaran!"
written by Anak Desa, February 05, 2009 17:38:35
Dear Fellow Rakyat,
I lost the respect which I had, on the day Raja Azlan Shah (Deputy Agung at that time) cohorts with Tun Dr Mahatir in getting the Agung at that time to sign the removal of the immunity powers. I was laughing away when I read Raja Nazrin's statement about few days ago that Rulers must stay neutral but look what happened. they want us to follow but never will they bide by their words. I rather be a Hang Jebat than a Hang Tuah in Malaysia
written by neutralsite, February 05, 2009 18:08:20
Tuanku.
you should have dissol of the Perak state assembly let the people of Perak choose which goverment they prefer. before this i have great and high respect of Sultan Perak but now after what happen today i dont think so anymore, Sultan should be free and neutral from politic.i'm very disappointed with the sultan decision. Formally M'sia to higher judge the Sultan should be more fair...i lost respect of Sultan Perak now. because of ur decision now the rakyat will lose confident on you.
written by SuperShyteStirrer, February 05, 2009 18:08:23
Readers of MT,

Let us not forget that after the last GE, BN had the most seats in the Perak Legislature. However, HRH Sultan of Perak and HRH Raja Muda of Perak, did not give in to BN pressure to allow them to form the state government eventhough they had the largest number of seats. PR was not eben formed yet and PKR, PAS and DAP were three separate parties. Instead, PKR,PAS and DAP were asked to demonstrate that they commanded the majority in the Legislature and when this was done, they we allowed to form the government. Similarly, BN has now demonstrated that they have a majority in the house, it is beside the point whether this came about by party hopping as there are no laws in Malaysia to prevent this. Therefore, HRH Sultan Azlan Shah's current decision is consistent with his earlier decision to allow the ADUN who commands a majority of the house to be Menteri Besar and to form the government.

If we accepted the earlier decision, we have to accept the current decision. Otherwise, we will be no different from the Umnoputras who behaved in a despicable manner after the last GE especially in Terengganu.

On another note, DSAI was all for party hopping in trying to form the Federal Government. Therefore, if we accepted and hoped for that to have happend, then we have to be consistent and accept this set back with grace but with determination to re-double our efforts to ensure that BN is thrown out by the electoral process.

In future, PKR and DAP should choose its candidates with more care. We need people of intergrity whose desire is to serve the Rakyat, not selfish money grabbing MPs or ADUNS. It looks like the 2 former PKR and the former DAP ADUN have gravitated to the party that is consistent with their moral values and political philosophy. Good luck to them especially in the next elections, I am sure the Rakyat would know what to do to them. All the riches in the world cannot restore a tarnished name.
written by Ben, February 05, 2009 18:17:24
Suffering is God's megaphone to a deaf world. Suffering can produce benefits greater than the suffering itself. It can strengthen people, lead people to faith, help us to appreciate the good, and be a tool to influence others. Indeed, suffering can mold us. "Suffering produces perseverance... character... hope...." (Romans 5:3-5)

Oh God be magnified! We stand in awe of your holiness and your faithfulness. Release your healing upon Malaysia and consume the evils that has befallen us. Strengthen us Lord, unite us an give us victory for the battles to come. For if you are with us, Jesus, nothing can be against us. Amen.
written by MyBUDAK, February 05, 2009 18:22:19
habis harapan Rakyat Perak atas Sultan Perak. law is law, but Barisan Najis bunch of loyar buruk. how can Sultan Perak close both eyes handing over Perak states to a murderer.
written by chronos, February 05, 2009 18:27:30
Somehow, I am not surprised by the decision of the Sultan. UMNO has too much hold on the country. Even for the love of GOD and Country, common sense cannot prevail?????
There is no hope left of Malaysia, until UMNO has plundered and dilipidate every thing and everybody with their cohorts, will Malaysia be free and maybe not. God help us.
written by PASOK, February 05, 2009 18:37:45
Republic of Malaysia.
written by raven1958, February 05, 2009 18:43:34
Why do Malaysians treat this fellas like God...they are not. It is so un Islamic.
written by MyBUDAK, February 05, 2009 18:58:10
today, i extremely sad and angry. i never ever thought that my respected Sultan submit the State and the People of Perak into Yellow River. what else can I say.
written by CPY, February 05, 2009 18:59:42
Fellow Malaysians,

Exactly five years ago, there is euphoria of change which promises us to support the former goverment. However, years by years passed, months by months passed & days by days passed, we were bombarded of corruption cases involving the very same party. At 1st, we thought it's isolated case, but gradually, the earth rotation has unveil their inability to at least contain such misdeeds.

Heaven sees it as the people sees and Heaven understand the people's plight. The climax of corruption occured due to a videoclip. Such a material clip someones cable and cornered them. The people had it enough and together march as one in the capital. With diminshing political capital, they play their water gun on the people. Months later, unable to contain their anger, the Indians marched to the capital. This time, they use tear gas to produce water instead of water gun.

To prevent the chosen one from contesting, the PM announced the dissolution parliament will NOT dissolve. 24 hrs later, he said dissolve, but not because of the chosen one. The chosen one take these times to make his move. By highlighting the mischeif of the ruling clique, he too asks just a denial of 2/3 & the chance of ruling several states. Alas, we waked up to a new political era, an era of change in governance, & the change for the better.

BN leaders were awaked to a rude reality. Shape up or ship out. People thought they will change. However, several mistep made by them by raising prices of essential good too high and raising prices of fuel without improving public transport has led to protest. The police too considered stadium protest illegal as well. To dot the eye of the dragon(meaning make finishing touch), the wife of our savior pave way for our national revival. Barisan army try to outflank Pakatan troops through bringing down fuel prices & manipulating heavenly(election date) factor & Way factor. The vanguard general countered them by declaring public holiday & the commander-in-chief bringing an imam to testify the invalidity of oath taking. With a superior Way(Moral ground), Heaven(Timing), Earth(Location), Law & General, the chief won hands down with larger majority. There is a mosquito leader uttering uneasy statements towards a community. It is crystal clear that this community consider this land our home & their ancestral homeland were overpopulated. Thats why he believes that we need a radical idea to change our
country.

D-efeat BN
E-nergise Economy
F-oster close interethnic ties
E-ject expired economic policy
C-leanse corruption
T-ransform our land
I-nspire our people
O-rganise enviromental policy
N-etting investors to our nation

These is a very dangerous drug. Even the Lion are hesitant of using it. First, the people in the East Malaysia. After realising the importance of party composition, he tried to take in Bota man. BN swallows 2 poison pills, 1 femme fatale & Bota-man made a U-turn. After series of sucess, Najib the capable but corrupted by criminal connection managed to halt Pakatan advance. People were writing off Pakatan. Things were not as simple as that.

Let us turn back time to post-Qin Dynasty. Qin Shi Huang, the 1st Emperor of Imperial China has unified the whole nation by force. However, his dictatorial policies caused its downfall. With 2 Kings duel for the Imperial throne, the Xiang Yu, King of Chu, nobility of former Chu state with superior army & tactics but poor in politics & Liu Bang the King of Han, former peasant which revolted against the Qin with poor politics & whatever-litics, rely on defection & his 1st wife. Eventhough Xiang Yu won many battles against Liu Bang, his agressiveness & clumsiness causes the defection of 3 greatest generals. His greatest mistakes is to massacre all Qin soldiers, which turned the people off from him. Liu Bang advisors took advantage of him even if he lost some battle, he has cut off Xiang Yu troops. At one stage, Xiang Yu rescued his beloved concubine surrounded by Han army.(This is when Si Mian Chu Ge, besiege on all sides is coined & the play 'Farewell my Concubine' is made) Weared down and depleted the troops can only carry out token fight against the Han army. Know that his time has end, he killed himself. His concubine joins him too, because she has believe she brings bad luck to him, like some suggest.

Fellow Malaysians,
Pls look on the brighter note. Barisan has eaten poison. Eventhough HRH Sultan decision favours BN, Mahathir pointed out BN stooped to a low level, even tainted politicians are accepted. If we stand the siege we will have 2 poisons with us. Now, we are poison free! On top of that, our saviour knows how to counter BN moves. With his wits he brought down Sleepy faction. Expect the expulsion of the excrement!(Just like A Battle of Wits)
written by gelanggangjebat, February 05, 2009 19:57:31
Hari ini meungkin hari yang mngecewakan kita, but we have to b strong. Dunt believe in politician coz sumtimes they are to easy to buy. Berapa harga maruah seseorang? 50 juta?

read more at http://gelanggangjebat.********.com
written by astina, February 05, 2009 20:46:01
Can any learded soul or somebody advise me please
Does this mean His Highness has taken into consideration on the 2 guys with corruption case hanging over them are deemed OK? i mean their case is not closed yet and one of them according to the media had in fact admitted to adultery with n chinese lady .... smilies/angry.gif