Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Najib should stop illegal and unconstitutional power grab in Perak

Najib should stop illegal and unconstitutional power grab in Perak PDF Print
Thursday, 05 February 2009 11:16

Najib should stop attempt at illegal and unconstitutional power grab in Perak and respect constitutional process and people's mandate

The Prime Minister-in-waiting, Datuk Seri Najib Razak, who has taken over as Perak UMNO and Barisan Nasional leader, should stop the attempt at the illegal and unconstitutional grab for power in Perak and respect the constitutional process and the mandate of the people of Perak.

The Perak Pakatan Rakyat Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin yesterday had an  audience with the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Azlan Shah  to seek the dissolution of the Perak State Assembly and to hold state election, as returning the mandate to the voters is the most honourable and democratic  manner to resolve the political crisis in Perak.

In his book "Constitutional Monarchy, Rule of Law and Good Governance" (2004), the former Lord President wrote:

"Under normal circumstances, it is taken for granted that the Yang di-Pertuan Agong would not withhold his consent to a request for dissolution of parliament. His role is purely formal."

He also pointed out that no sultan or agung had withheld consent to dissolve legislative body, except in Kelantan in 1977.

While the Sultan's decision on the Mentri Besar's request for dissolution of the Perak State Assembly is awaited, it is most improper and unconstitutional for Najib to attempt an illegal and unconstitutional grab for power in Perak state to frustrate the will and wishes of the people of Perak in the March general election last year.

This is because the Pakatan Rakyat state government in Perak continues as a legitimate, effective and functioning one, even if the Mentri Besar's request for dissolution of the State Assembly is denied by the Sultan, and it is premature for Najib to talk about forming a new Barisan Nasional state government in Perak.

Article 16(6) of the Perak State Constitution provides for the dissolution of the State Assembly with the consent of the Sultan or the mentri besar's resignation if the mentri besar ceases to enjoy the confidence of the majority of the state assembly.

However, the determination of whether the Mentri Besar has lost the confidence of the majority of the state assembly could only be done by a vote of no confidence in the State Assembly, and not by a claim by Najib outside the State Assembly, especially when it is based on dubious and highly disputable grounds.

This is because Najib's claim that the Barisan Nasional has the necessary numbers in the State Assembly to form the government has still to be proved by way of a motion in the State Assembly.

Although Najib has engineered the defection of three Pakatan Rakyat state assembly persons, the Speaker of the Perak State Assembly had declared their seats vacant and their claims to continue as State Assembly representatives are not recognised by the Speaker in the Assembly.

Excluding the three defectors, there is at most a 28-28 tie between the Pakatan Rakyat and Barisan Nasional in the Perak State Assembly.

Until the Barisan Nasional can succeed in getting a vote of no confidence passed in the State Assembly, the Pakatan Rakyat Mentri Besar and state government should not be hindered from carrying out its tasks as the legitimate, effective and functioning state government.

I call on Najib to cease and desist from any attempt at illegal and unconstitutional grab of power in Perak State government in utter disregard of the constitutiodnal process and the mandate of the people of Perak as this will be a very ominous start for the Najib premiership which is to begin next month when Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi steps down as the fifth Prime Minister of Malaysia.

Lim Kit Siang

written by Jack Hui, February 05, 2009 11:18:23
I dont know what can I do..or what can I help....what I can do is just vote...here...to let TUANKU know what I(Rakyat) want....

>http://books.dreambook.com/duli/duli.html

Daulat Tuanku !!! x3
written by educationist, February 05, 2009 11:24:22
Najib's reputation is so tarnished that to expect him to heed Lim's exhortation is to expect the sun to rise from the east.
More rationally, it is to expect the Sultan to rise to the defence of democracy.
Is this too much to expect?
written by temenggong, February 05, 2009 11:27:31
If a BN Adun is made the MB, he must proove his majority in the Dewan. The Speaker, Sivakumar, will call for a vote, but he will deny entry to the three Aduns who resigned.

So there will be a tie 28-28, unless others jump ship too.
written by lamakawan, February 05, 2009 11:27:41
Someone has to call for an emergency meeting of parliament to condemn the deputy prime minister for enticing the sultan to award the administration of the state of Perak to BN, of which he is the leader. Then. make a police report for his alleging to bribe Pakatan leaders to jump over to BN to the tune of RM50million.
written by hakuna, February 05, 2009 11:28:05
What can one say when people in Authority look the other way. Looks like we should change from being called "bolehland" to be "land of the doomed"
written by ROBERTNGTG, February 05, 2009 11:31:57
Najib should stop illegal and unconstitutional power grab in Perak

NOW ALL HE NEEDS TO DO IS TO FIND ANOTHER KIN OR CROOK.
AND ITS UPTO THE ROYALTY TO DECIDE IF THE STATE IS TO BE RUN BY CROOKS.
written by savemalaysia, February 05, 2009 11:36:21
When a man has no respect for the law and the democractic wishes of the people, then that guy is nothing better than a scum. How then can we ever expect this shameless creature of animalistic intelligence to stop grabbing power in Perak illegally and unconstitutionally? The only way is for all fair-minded Malaysians to rise against him like what the Thais to as that's the sole way to save Malaysia from degenerating into a Mugabe-ruled Zimbabwe.
written by Wisdom above, February 05, 2009 11:36:39
A good Press Release on "Constitutional Monarchy, Rule of Law and Good Governance" (2004).

Please codify the decisions.
The speaker have declared Behrang, Changkat Jering and Jelapang state seats as vacant.

These declarations of 3 VACANT ADUN seats , must be formally published under the Perak State Government Gazzette.
It must be documented to confirmed the written decision of the Perak Speaker.

This are evidential facts at issue.
written by hellosunshine, February 05, 2009 11:39:00
May I suggest that all the rakyat spit at the treacherous ADUNs' service centers or houses to show the rakyat's displeasure at being abandoned by these unethical and immoral traitors. Let's drown these b*****ds. I wonder how they can face their constituents, family and friends after this. smilies/angry.gif
written by NSTPravda, February 05, 2009 11:39:12
Why should Najis stop power grab in Perak?
With his money and power he can freely run amuck
Murder, kidnapping can be freely done
Especially when done by the chosen one
Now we should see if His highness can be bought
If so, we should all parade and celebrate the rot
All power and wealth we will usurp in every way
Doing this is Perak is normal and semua-nya OK!
smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by fellow, February 05, 2009 11:39:32
My feeling is that this move by Najib only enforces the public perception that:

1) Najib has lost the moral authority to hold any public offices.

2) By condoning such move by its incumbent president, UMNO has doomed itself as a political party.

To other BN component parties: You sure you still want to be associated with the current UMNO?
written by OVERLORD, February 05, 2009 11:43:17
LKS...one have to admire your chivalry and courteous manner in conveying your frustration on the issue..Uunfortunately, I am not so patient like you.....i have only harsh words for a thug like Najib.....
written by arazak, February 05, 2009 11:44:05
YM Tuanku, the Sultan of Perak

I am a humble person, an ordinary man who hope that you will make a wise decision. But I fear that with the meeting you have with Najis he will swayed your decision with "material wealth". This, we the rakyaat have known what UMNO is all about. They are synonymous with bribery, corruption, thieving and plundering. I hope you will not fall into this dirty UMNO's "money trap" and put the well being of the Rakyaat as a priority.

However, if you betray us, whatever you and your Prince have said in the past and in the future about liberty, justice and good governance meant nothing to us. . ., they will be hollow, empty rhetorics!!!

Your Majesty, you can call me "Hang Jebat" if you wish for those words I have written above. But, I will be loyal and be a good citizen to you as long as you did not betray us. . ., the ordinary Rakyaat.

Ampun Tuanku!
written by kanokporn, February 05, 2009 11:47:53
there is nothing legal about najib. even to become pm is a handover from bodowi who is corrupt and incompetent.no skills at all for the job. now i can understand the decisions of the good terrified judges at the appeal courts. mr anwar you are the opposition leader of our country. it is you who should take this to parliament as we surely cannot have this man as our pm even for 1 day
written by takbolehtahan, February 05, 2009 11:50:35
I really takbolehtahan all this nonsensical actions of BN. Really, they simply cannot and won't accept defeat. If the Sultan of Perak agrees to Najib's actions, then it will become the 'norm' for all future elections. Frankly, if this is the way of getting power, then why bother with democracy and general elections? Why not simply just buy out all the MPs and there, you will have power for ever!! What's happened to Perak is like a coup detat using money instead of force. This is utterly not acceptable!!!
written by Democrats, February 05, 2009 11:52:55
LKS,

Najib has concsience to begin with. You are practically talking to a brick wall.

I bet he is willing to swear by the quran again that no money or threat were used in inducing the 4 aduns to crossover. The Quran to his is basically an arm rest, and the swearing by it is basically playing "bluff".
written by Ahjamal, February 05, 2009 11:54:23
I am from Jakarta will take a flight back to Malaysia today . Can anyone guide me to the house of the lady frog I will give her an ang pau that she will never forget.
written by onnetline, February 05, 2009 11:54:57
An obvious and desperate PM in waiting ....... clinging to whatever power by whatever unlawful means.
A true shameless leader or lawmaker of Malaysia and in the eyes of social justice !
written by kanokporn, February 05, 2009 12:16:23
do not forget that it is the politicians who are keeping the sultans alive so i would not be surprised at azlan shah's decision.i think we should pay some foreigners to run our country on a contract basis.
written by purpleshoppe, February 05, 2009 12:21:12
frankly, i think najib can do whetever he likes

but NOT using our money, NOT using our national resources and NOT by abusing his powers!!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by ahmadneil, February 05, 2009 13:47:30
This playboy will do anything in his power to grab this opportunity, but it will cost him dearly.His image will be in tatters.
written by rpremkumar2u, February 05, 2009 18:38:43
YB LKS
Hon'ble Sir you are of course right. But HRH has chosen to interpret and it is his prerogative. The recourse left is the court of law where we need a judicial interpretation whereby even Royalty is subject to, since its a matter of constitutional crisis. We Perakians need to be in solidarity. Our ADUN can be swayed but not the Perakians. We stand rock solid behind you. We pray that the court can order for the YAB Menteri Besar Nizar be allowed to rise to his office and when the State Assembly is dissolved and we will send a message to the entire country. We, Perakians are the chosen ones to lead by example that which Pak Lah and Najib are also planning to do similarly in other Pakatan held states.