Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Majority wants Science, Maths taught in English

Majority wants Science, Maths taught in English PDF Print
Tuesday, 03 February 2009 23:14

(The Star) - Although there have been objections from sections in the public on the teaching of Science and Mathematics in English, a recent poll conducted by the Merdeka Center for Opinion Research suggests that the majority are for it.

Of the 1,018 participants of the Fourth Quarter 2008 Peninsular Malaysia Voter Survey, 57% agreed that the subjects should be taught in English.

“This means people recognise the importance of the language in the education system,” said the centre’s programme director Ibrahim Suffian yesterday.

He, however, added that the results were just a “scratch of the surface” because authorities should explore other aspects of the policy like the challenges it may pose to students as well as ways to improve the quality of teaching in English.

The survey also revealed that the public had mixed reaction on whether they were pleased with Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s performance as Prime Minister, with 46% saying they were and another 46% expressing dissatisfaction.

Ibrahim said the results reflected the current political mode of society whereby the public recognised the Opposition as an alternative to the country’s leadership.

Some 41% of the respondents believed that Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak would make a good prime minister when he assumed office, as opposed to 36% who disagreed.

“The numbers show that Najib enjoys more support from the Malays compared with the non-Malays.

“This indicates that the non-Malays are still uncertain about his capabilities and are waiting to see what he can do,” Ibrahim said.

The public was also split about the newly-formed Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission, with 43% expressing confidence in the body to succeed in fighting corruption while another 45% were sceptical.

written by freedom to speak, February 04, 2009 00:23:55
Anyone trust these stats?
Nobody asked me about it.
Why am I never one of those people in the survey?
Anyone on this blog ever been surveyed?
written by Diz, February 04, 2009 01:06:39
Yes, I often wonder about these surveys. I mean, almost half the population thinks AAB is doing a good job! Four out of ten think Najib will be good. How can? Is it all part of a dastardly scheme to make Malaysians look more stupid than they really are. If not, it's very worrying civil society advocates.

Malaysia is so fractured across race, religion, socio-economic status and educational/information levels that there can never be any consistency. It's like those pop polls you find in the NST or Malay Mail where you get idiotic answers to idiotic questions
written by Diz, February 04, 2009 01:12:12
Btw, a bit irritating to have these 'halal' ads (like Colgate for God's sake) popping up. I know that RPK has to take ads wherever he can find them but wonder who is benefiting from this fad for all things halal. Someone should enlighten us about the crony companies who are making a mint off halal certification, roadshows, food fairs etc... I'm off for a bacon sarny....
written by AntiBN, February 04, 2009 01:16:54
Some 41% of the respondents believed that Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak would make a good prime minister when he assumed office, as opposed to 36% who disagreed.
_______________________________________________________ ___________________

I totally disagree with the results of this survey. Who are these 1,018 participants and how were they chosen to participate in the survey?

I strongly believe majority of right-minded Malaysians do not want Najib to be the PM.
written by AzizKadir2u, February 04, 2009 06:14:24
Yes, we must have the Math and Science in English. The primary education, with some chinese is good enough, Math & Science in English will make our people good in English, much better than today. if you compared the options of learning the math and science in Chinese or BM, English is better option, we need to go global, this is a trend, ability to speak in english and good command of english is a big advantage in this globalize world, and good in Chinese or Mandarin is good, not necessary to be extreme good in mandarin, you dont get paid extra for that. Please dont be emotional about this, think logically and fair to yourself, look at those able to speak english, they any time have more options in job prospect and also in internatonal standing.
We all malaysian better stand united to make a pakatan rakyat government stand up in malaysia. enough of Umnoputra and Kronies that make lots of money, that rob money from rakyat. We malaysians of all races must stand united, with pakatan rakyat, dont you have enough of paying toll, paying AP, paying taxes, Bala hilang, wang ehsan hilang, semua hilang, undang undang pun hilang.....what kind of nation is this. we malaysia deserve much better than this. vote for change, we all united. vote peacefully, we are one nation.
written by ylcc, February 04, 2009 06:49:29
Change the media of instruction to English, with mother tongue as second language. It would be interesting though to study the methods taught by Chinese schools for Maths & Science.
written by evaangel, February 04, 2009 07:08:51
I really really REALLY don't see the issue with Science and Maths in bahasa - I was taught science and maths in bahasa and I could still follow science and maths lessons in english when I went overseas. (Apart from some initial confusion with natrium and sodium it was fine)
The key is not to let English lapse - as it was sliding down the longkang during my day. If you nuture an international language and a national language at the same time and early, the students will have no problems switching between.
written by Stormquest, February 04, 2009 07:54:02
Have you ever seen the quality of our local graduates coming into the workforce today? Some have a string of A’s, but can barely speak English, let alone do the job! Some CEO’s and even some foreign expatriates have expressed reservations about hiring local graduates. They say that these graduates simply aren’t thinking out of the box. They lack creativity. And this is simply in the work force. They have become unemployable.

Some lecturers at some local institutions of higher learning complain that they have to slow down or even teach basic English to these youngsters, and not the subject at hand, whether it is Business, Science, or some other subject. It’s also totally embarrassing to see how our youngsters are so ill informed about current affairs, let alone history. The foreign students by contrast, are far better. The foreign students are also more participative, and they generally do better on exams than our Malaysians students do at local institutions of higher learning.

So where does the rot begin? Quite clearly at the primary and secondary levels. Instead of bickering over whether to teach Science and Mathematics in English, they should simply teach everything in English. That way our students can one day compete on the international stage. More so, they should instill a sense of confidence in students, so that they are more participative in class. They should also instill a sense of creativity. If nothing is done about this, our Vision 2020, which has already been postponed to Vision 2057, will become Vision 3057, instead.

written by Ken Liew, February 04, 2009 08:00:47
THis is what we can see with a small brain morons, and survey inside the box....

they only asked the yes man, what about the people???

this is freakin sick and lazy work.....
written by borneoman, February 04, 2009 08:19:07
I have a couple of friends with master degrees they got using "..the survey inside the box..."..you are right ken liew.i wont be surprise if majority of our masters degree holders got their degree in the same manner ,thanks to their professors!
written by ahmadneil, February 04, 2009 09:26:27
I don't care a shit what language they want to use becos my children are out of this country .Let them take their time to make up their stupid mind of what they want to do with this problem.
written by san amin, February 04, 2009 09:33:14
all subjects were taught in english xcept malay lesson ofcos since i first went 2school about 30yrs ago. everyone in my class communicate in malay with each other n at home malay language was used all d tym.most of us at least got credit for english n malay at cambridge gce o levels. i just dont understand wat the fuss about. just make every subjects in english from start. u wil not loose the malay language as it is ur mother tongue. by not studying in english ul always be at a disadvantage.(sorry 4 my poor english 4 those who always try to correct ones grammar..etc british/american wont do that,only msian does)
written by harryo, February 04, 2009 10:02:39
Not surprising. The minister concerned is on a holiday I suppose or aiming for a higher position in UMNO. We have been disputing for years. The basic problem of teaching maths and science in English is that the teachers have no language knowledge and experience to teach in English. Recently I remembered a girl pronouncing cucumber as chu-chumber. When asked how she replied cu= chu, chu=chu, m=mm, ber. How about that!
written by PangurBan, February 04, 2009 10:24:42
Let us look at this issue rationally.

Let me first of all relate an anecdote. I once had a conversation with a lad who was in his mid teens. We were talking about the atrocious grades he was getting in school. He said he didn't understand what the maths and science teachers were going on about. Why? They were using English, which he barely understood. I took out a textbook with some sample maths exam questions and picked one out at random. He couldn't understand the question at all. He said most of the time, he simply guessed what the correct answer was (multiple choice mah).

It's well and good to say that teaching maths and science in English will help our students tune in to the latest developments in science and technology (never mind that quite a lot of that is published not in English but in Japanese and Chinese). But what is the friggin point of this exercise if in the first place these same students do not understand English to begin with?

The argument that teaching the two subjects in question will help our students improve their English is a specious one. Students who barely understand English to begin with will be left floundering whilst those who already understand English will continue to improve their English language skills or remain where they are regardless of whether the two subjects are taught in English or Mongolian.

I think it is outrageous to treat maths and science as tools of language pedagogy. Hello? Has everyone forgotten that there already is a subject in the school syllabus for this purpose? I believe it's called "English".

The way to help our students improve their English language skills, or to actually enable people like the young lad in the anecdote above learn some English, is to overhaul the way we teach English in schools. As it is, most of the people who are in TESL programmes at our universities struggle to write grammatical English (inside information OK?), and I hear numerous titillating anecdotes about the language skills of English teachers who are already in the system. We need to get better people into the system. Why are people who have good English language skills not interested in becoming English teachers? This question needs to be addressed. The subject needs to be given more space in the curriculum and students need to be given more incentive to learn English. Much has been written on this elsewhere.
written by Alice, February 04, 2009 11:44:17
It is not what the majority or minority wants that matters. What matter is the TRUTH! And the truth is ENGLISH is absolutely an important language and we should focus on mastering one more language. IS THAT SO HARD??
written by Rhan, February 04, 2009 12:03:35
>>IS THAT SO HARD??

The science teacher asks. The kid replies “how come you know I am hard?”

Who shall explain "HARD" to the kid, the English teacher or the science teacher?