Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Low approval for Najib, Pak Lah in new poll as power transfer looms

Low approval for Najib, Pak Lah in new poll as power transfer looms PDF Print
Monday, 02 February 2009 18:57

(The Malaysian Insider) - Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and his successor Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak have one thing in common: the majority of Malaysians are ambivalent about them.

Abdullah will leave office with only 46 per cent of Malaysians satisfied with his performance as prime minister while Najib will take over as the country’s top leader with some 41 per cent of Malaysians believing that he will do well in the top job.

Perhaps troubling for Najib is that his support among Chinese and Indians is weak, suggesting that he will have to move outside his comfort zone (Umno and his community) when he becomes prime minister next month.

The findings of the survey by Merdeka Centre dovetail with the more polarised political landscape in the country since the general elections in March 2008 where a significant segment of Malaysians have become supporters of the Opposition.

More than 1,000 registered voters were surveyed on a range of issues between December 26 and January 2.

The poll was conducted before Pakatan Rakyat snared the Kuala Terengganu parliamentary seat from Barisan Nasional.

For Abdullah, the latest survey is another reminder of how the mighty have fallen.

His approval ratings were high for the first 12 months after he became prime minister in October 2003.

But his standing began to take a hit when his promises of reforming the judiciary, improving the public delivery system and tackling corruption stayed as that — promises. His approval rating was 71 per cent just before March 8.

It went into free fall after Election 2008 – the result of being fingered as the main reason for Barisan Nasional’s limp performance at the polls.

In March, his approval rating was 54 per cent. By the time, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim won the Permatang Pauh by-election in August, only 40 per cent of Malaysians supported him.

It climbed slightly to 45 per cent in October, the month he announced that he would not defend his position as the Umno party president, cutting short his transition plan. Since then, his approval rating has hovered around 46 per cent.

Abdullah’s support level is higher among Malays (54 per cent) than Chinese (34 per cent) and Indians (42 per cent), a finding which confirms that he is no longer considered the leader of all Malaysians.

Non-Malays ushered in the Abdullah era with great hope that he would tackle racial and religious polarisation. He encouraged this confidence with sparkling rhetoric about equality and justice but did precious little else.

Arguably, race relations are worse now than what it was during the Mahathir years.

His successor, Najib, will not have to deal with high expectations.

Only 41 per cent of Malaysians believe that he would make a good prime minister.

Like Abdullah, his strongest support is among Malays (57 per cent) but much lower among Chinese (18 per cent) and Indians (28 per cent).

The main concern among non-Malays is the perception that Najib could be a closet ultra.

The Opposition has been successful in portraying him as a Malay chauvinist by constantly reminding Malaysians that as the Umno Youth chief in 1987 he once used incendiary and threatening language against non-Malays.

In this regard, Najib’s experience is no different from Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad. When the latter became the prime minister in 1981, the Chinese community had major reservations about him, labelling him as a Malay ultra.

This perception changed over the years, helped no doubt by his more liberal attitude about Malaysian Chinese visiting China and more accommodating stance on Chinese language and culture.

The main difference between then and now: Dr Mahathir and the Barisan Nasional did not have to contend with as challenging a political landscape as Najib.

written by batsman, February 02, 2009 19:08:25
Najib has control of RM 7 billion to make himself popular.
written by shiokguy, February 02, 2009 19:11:00
Shiok Guy's Opinion Poll

RPK [52.86%]
Anwar Ibrahim [32.6%]
Lim Kit Siang [11.45%]
Hadi [1.76%]
Abdullah Badawi [0.88%]
Najib Tun Razak [0.44%]

Najib is at the bottom of the list with only 0.44%
written by inoi, February 02, 2009 19:12:55
Najib seriously related to many scandal and hard to clean by clorox and he also too BOROS in spending.
written by Khan, February 02, 2009 19:13:58
I dont really know whether this Merdeka Centre is truly independent or singing to the tunes of Powers that may be.

If you conduct an internet poll today, NajisC4's approval rating will never exceed 5% of the total. The standing proof is current ongoing poll at Haris Ibrahim's People's Parliment.

If you have not voted, pls do so at ---->http://harismibrahim.*********.com/
written by blackpea, February 02, 2009 19:21:26
UMNO is so corrupted to allow this C4 murdering tainted and corrupted to his anus, Najis to be PM. I dont think Najis will stop at anything to sit at the THRONE. I hope ALLAH will do something to stop this maniac and his fat wife too. Words cannot describe what animal PM we be having.
written by thor, February 02, 2009 19:29:05
The Opposition has been successful in portraying him as a Malay chauvinist by constantly reminding Malaysians that as the Umno Youth chief in 1987 he once used incendiary and threatening language against non-Malays.

What did Pink Lips really say? To bathe d little wavy thing in red liquid from certain category of people. When u bathe it in that liquid will d people survived? That red liquid is the most precious life saving liquid used by rumah sakit, so why waste it in that manner and not used it for something constructive? That why I question the competence of so call "leaders" like this. Under his watch, an army depot was robbed of arms. This is a great joke. In any other country, Pink Lips will surely fade into retirement for this but then not in Bolehland where there are no accountabilities by leaders and no transparencies either.

Hope he is not using d billions from our hard earned savings for d coming elections in Perak. Watch on TV someone was saying d money has still not disbursement to the relevant sectors yet.
written by ibabonma, February 02, 2009 19:33:48
UMNO can rediscover its past glories provided UMNO reengineer itself into a new entity i.e. UMNO = UNITED MALAYSIAN NATIONAL ORGANIZATION.

Otherwise, tell Najis to fly kite!
written by ahmadneil, February 02, 2009 19:41:33
How can he be good PM when he refused to stand aside to clear all allegations linking him to corruption,sabotaging AAB and the murder of Altantuya.He must answer to all this allegation before he is credible to lead us.
written by malaysian, February 02, 2009 19:51:17
Kami nak Anwar, 'natang!
written by Steven Tan, February 02, 2009 19:51:49
If Merdeka Centre runs the survey TODAY, I strongly believe that the popularity percentage for both AAB and Najib will be below 30 PERCENT and these 30 percent will be non other then their cronies and family members who're benefiting directly or indirectly from the existing bloody corrupted system.

Due to all the insidents that happening in Malaysia, I doubt good and honest Malaysians will be happy to have these people as their leaders. Only people like DSAI, our RPK, ,Datuk Zaid,LKS, TGNA, LGE and other good leaders can save our country from continue sinking.

I would like to suggest to Merdeka Centre, if it's possible please run one more survey as soon as possible so that we can get a more clearer picture of their (AAB & Najib)latest popularity
written by blackpea, February 02, 2009 20:24:59
Zym Zym,

You love Najis ahhh, dont worry Najis love to do ANAL too. Both of you are made in heaven. smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Motherchell, February 02, 2009 21:39:24
Oh well ! these two maggots have 100% support in a place called---- HELL!! Those doors have been polished and a black carpet laid. Waiting for Najib's arrival first !
written by No nonsense, February 02, 2009 22:49:17
For Bad awi we want him out. For Najis we definately want him out.No two way about it.
written by miwaki, February 03, 2009 00:10:10
Lets make both of them the Co-PM of Malaysia,this way we can have Pakatan Rakyat forming the next government much earlier.
written by bexe, February 03, 2009 00:54:49
The fact is that UMNO (no matter under who) is no more considered an acceptable political party. This is a unique opportunity for the Country to change and evolve. So I hope we don't squander this chance.
written by Zym Zym, February 03, 2009 01:24:41
Najiib Najiib Najiib. Let's start a "I LOVE NAJIIB" campaign. What says you? Datuk Seli, gua zym zym is your die hard fan. I will always be on your side. If you want me to c4s all of the MT commenters who are against you, just let me know. By the way, I will leave those pretty one for you as I know you would love to make them as your sex slave. Since I'm on your side, can you set an appointment for me to meet you, say this coming Friday? I really need a scholarship. I heard that you're very generous and would help all Malaysians who are in need of financial help. Is that true? Regards, Zym Zym (P.S. - I love Najiib)
written by axppin, February 03, 2009 08:02:38

A woman driving a 4WD is never a problem EXCEPT when a Rose is driving a Jeep. Chaotic and explosive. What do you expect when the Cunt gets control of the 4wd? That's right..C4. A car usually is not the problem. It is the driver. Aiyahh!

written by asguard, February 03, 2009 09:03:40
I don't care whether is Najis or one the three vice-president fit to be the next PM.. if you were to ask my opinion... i would say none of them of fit to lead the country! All of have some kind of scandalous and tainted past history!