Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow MB meets Sultan, speaker meets EC (Update 2)

MB meets Sultan, speaker meets EC (Update 2) PDF Print
Monday, 02 February 2009 13:45

(The Star) IPOH: Perak Menteri Besar Mohamad Nizar Jamaluddin was at the Istana Kinta here at 10am Monday to seek an audience with Sultan Azlan Shah.

He left after 25 minutes without speaking to reporters stationed outside the gate. He smiled, waved, and said “Thank you, we’ll meet again.”

Also on Monday morning, state assembly speaker V. Sivakumar met with the state Election Commission director.

He officially submitted the “resignation letters” of Behrang assemblyman Jamaluddin Mat Radzi and Changkat Jering assemblyman Mohd Osman Mohd Jailu so that by-elections can be called for the two seats within 60 days.

Jamaluddin has denied he has resigned, saying the undated letters were signed last March “under duress.” He and Mohd Osman will be holding press conferences Monday evening to announce their official stand.

“I am still the state assemblyman for Behrang. I have not resigned. I will challenge the validity of the letter as it was signed under duress,” Jamaluddin said on Sunday, adding that he was discussing with his lawyers as to his next course of action.

“My problems are with PKR leaders, not with the people of Behrang. I will not simply shirk my responsibilities to them,” he said.

He also denied rumours that he would be crossing over to Umno and Barisan Nasional, but confirmed that he would quit PKR and remain an independent.

Jamaluddin, 52, was the Perak Entrepreneur Development and Cooperatives Committee chairman while Mohd Osman, 57, headed the State Tourism and NGO Committee.

They were charged in a Sessions Court on Aug 25 last year with allegedly receiving bribes over the application for a RM180mil housing project in Sri Iskandar in Perak Tengah. Their case comes up for hearing on Feb 10.

The Pakatan Rakyat state government is holding on to Perak with a razor-thin margin. It now holds 30 state seats against Barisan Nasional’s 27, with two seats up for grabs in the 59-seat State Assembly if by-elections are called.

Rumours were also rife that Perak state assembly deputy speaker Hee Yit Fong, the DAP representative for Jelapang, was going to resign as well and join MCA. Her “disappearance” Sunday caused another round of anxiety within Pakatan Rakyat.

DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng even came out with a statement stating that any Perak DAP elected representatives who was incommunicado for more than 24 hours without reason would find their seats vacated.

At a press conference late Sunday night at her residence, Hee hit out at Lim saying she was disappointed by his press statement, adding that he should have investigated first.

She also demanded Lim apologise to her constituents for causing the unnecessary uproar, and quashed claims that she had resigned from Pakatan and joined MCA or Gerakan.

Hee said she is still a DAP member and Jelapang’s elected representative.

Spate of meetings

PAS is calling for a meeting Monday to discuss the political developments in Perak, party deputy president Nasharudin Mat Isa said Sunday.

“I only knew about the disputed resignation of the two assemblymen last night and have yet to receive a full report on the matter, I do not think that there will be more (people resigning or defecting).

“As it is, we are calling for a meeting to discuss the matter. More will be known on Monday morning,” he said.

Perak Pakatan Rakyat will also be holding an emergency meeting at Mohd Nizar’s official residence at 3pm Monday.

After Umno’s Bota assemblyman Datuk Nasarudin Hashim crossed over to PKR on Jan 25, PKR and Umno have been involved in a psychological war, with both accusing each other of trying to pinch their assemblymen.

written by ibabonma, February 02, 2009 14:08:46
Jamaluddin, 52, was the Perak Entrepreneur Development and Cooperatives Committee chairman while Mohd Osman, 57, headed the State Tourism and NGO Committee.
.................................................................................

Kamu-kamu memang bodoh. Tengok sahajalah apa terjadi kepada semua yang melompat ke tongkang pechah, UMNO. Akhirnya, semua orang UMNO tak terima mereka. Roslan Kassim nak jadi ahli cawangan di Negeri Sembilan pun susah! Kita tunggu tengok Izam apa akan jadi pada dia.
written by zonefinder, February 02, 2009 14:08:59
Jamaluddin and Mohd Osman,
you have lost your credibility in the eyes of the Rakyat and therefore do not have our support. The honorable thing to do is to go quietly.
The tide has turned since March 8 and you and your kind have no place in the new future. Our Will will not be denied and we will ensure that no amount of filthy money or bribes can reverse this tide. I will personally contribute Rgt500 to the PR Fund and I'm sure there are millions out there who will support as well.
written by Msian Idol3, February 02, 2009 14:10:32
I hope Nizar will dissolve the state govt & go for fresh election. PR will cukup cukup teach UMNO/BN a lesson in the polls.
written by mountain man, February 02, 2009 14:18:45
Dissolve assembly and go for by-election let those 2 traitors or 3 if the 3rd one does happen stand on BN ticket, the rakyat will bury them and bring in a bigger majority for PR. Show UMNO/BN corrupted morons that the rakyat have enough of their nonsense especially the PM and DPM.
written by Motherchell, February 02, 2009 14:25:39
Jamaluddin Mat Radzi and Mohd Osman Mohd Jailu take note , if you are an employee of a Company you would have got the sack --if absent for 2 days . You think you are running a pasar malam warong? Your disappearing act is to be condemned , you think you are running your private LTD Co.?? The CM has every right to sack you . Don't think this is the days of UMNO"s tricks of the trade . Now you loose face, $$Millions promised by Najib. Your are a curse to your own family !
Nassaruddin should be appreciated because he made up his mind about the Devil he worked for and left UMNO once and for all with a Press Conf ., not hide like you and get sodomized by Najib .
Now MUSA HASSAN and Patail will complete the roasting process on FEB 10 . Die by the sword!
written by Dominic, February 02, 2009 14:26:14
We better train someone to use blow-pipe to finish those out there trying to drag this nation to never ending woes ! Havnt we have enough to take care ?
written by Old Man Jasin, February 02, 2009 14:26:34
Instead of the millions of our sweat money given to individual ADUN or MP , why don't the Gomen dissolve all state assemblies and Parliament , and call the 13th GE.

By so doing , we may be able to stop the reproduction of politicians with 'frog legs' and also ensured that such rampant degrading phenomenon is entombed forever.
written by AzizKadir2u, February 02, 2009 14:27:09
kita semua rakyat malaysia mesti tenang, please stay cool. We all rekyat and people of malaysia, will wait for our chance to vote, we will vote peacefully, we all know exactly what to do during election, just stay cool, if the Umno and BN give us $, kita simpan pocket. we must vote wisely.
Are you happy paying toll so expensive and never ending, are you happy paying petrol so expensive, more expensive than Thailand, (we are net petrol producing country). are you happy paying, everything, and the Umno,BN cronies are the one benefits. Look at Zakaria in klang, look at all the Umno putra, they are using our rakyat money, they abuse in all elections, they keep doing everything as if there is no law in this country, Altantuya can go missing with C4, nothing happen, Bala can go missing, nothing happen, people can get ISA lock up, and the court release, but they will try to appeal and try to lock you up under ISA. The govermen try to bride the Pakatan ADUN, the MPs, so that they continue in power. at the end of the day, we all rakyat suffer and we all will suffer more if we continue this way. Enough is enough, we must follow RPK, we must stand up to say enough is enough. We need justice and integrity, there is rakyat that ultimatelyl judge and choose the govermen, not the Najis or the Corrupt, Arrogant, Greedy govermen. We rakyat must use our holy vote to vote with conscious, we must decide. Yes we can. We rakyat decide. we deserve better. there is a different. we do not feel fear, we must vote change, vote with courage...
written by hellosunshine, February 02, 2009 14:29:16
I am really fed-up of reading these kataks threatening to hop from one end to the other and also those little Napoleons in the parties. Let's get rid of these deadbeats once and for all. Dissolve the Perak state assembly and call for fresh elections with capable new faces from the rank and file. I am sure they are more energetic, clean and willing to show their potential for the benefit of the rakyat. smilies/grin.gif
written by ahmadneil, February 02, 2009 14:47:12
Running dogs.You have betray the people's trust.Now you take the money and you play hide and seek with PR.We will kick you out and leave you to rot in umno.Shame on you 2 first class mother of all b8stards.The dogs won't want to eat your dirty name.
written by ez24get, February 02, 2009 14:56:12
I say let the 2 PKR defectors join UMNO; they will be living in their own natural habitat. Only thieves, robbers and the corruptible will be joining UMNO. Let the world see that by joining UMNO, their corruption charges can be voided!

PR will have to be realistic and let the 2 running dogs go to join UMNO. The legal precedence and the bias of the judiciary will favour the powers that be which is UMNO. Their resignation letters will be of no use to stop them from defecting and vacating their state seats.

Instead of stopping them, PR should start an education campaign to show the rakyat that only the corrupt and thieves would be attracted to UMNO. It is far better to treat the 2 defectors as tainted viruses and let them to be injected into UMNO to infect and inflict terminal illness to UMNO. PR will be in a better position to win any future elections this way rather than to fight them in court which PR will surely lose!

The wise Sultan of Perak should allow the dissolution of the state assembly and a fresh election to be held. If not, the razor thin majority will disrupt Perak again and again in the future. This will not going to be the last of the disruptions; you can be sure of that! If a decisive fresh election is not held soon, a lot of time and money will be wasted by the Perak Government in future due to disruptions and upheavals caused by UMNO which the citizens of Perak can ill afford in this trying time of financial crises!
written by Rozlan, February 02, 2009 15:04:28
I think both reps will lost the most.UMNO dont pay them because they had unsuccessfully jump ship.Both of them will lost their seat and exco position.Furthermore UMNO had to face a by election or worse a state election which they try hard to avoid.At then end both reps have nothing and nobody to turn to..

Divine punishment perhap?? smilies/sad.gif
written by Badrol, February 02, 2009 15:28:32
Federal and Perak state leaders of the pakatan coalition must get ready with a list of potential candidates with true leadership qualities, vast experience and minimum basic degree qualification. Enough of ex-postman, ex-clerk or ex-army captain.
written by Roseminah, February 02, 2009 16:35:11
SOS CALL number 4

TO AGONG, SULTAN MIZAN ZAINAL ABIDIN
DECLARE STATE OF EMERGENCY AND DISMISS BARISAN GOVERNMENT, INSTALL A CARETAKER PM AND CALL A GENERAL ELECTION

Because of Barisan policies in obscene corruption to hundreds of billions, murders, tortures, election scams, Najib refusing to face court for murder charge, ISA detaining rakyat for crying out for justice. Hidden and secret properties, land, companies, schools are registered in the names of 95-100 % of all Barisan and officials, away from the eyes and ears of rakyat. As one blogger said, the money stolen is worth hundreds of thousands of low cost houses. Most of them should be in jail and their assets taken back.
All departments are rotten in corruption and rakyat is deprived of many things in life.
Judiciary is paralysed, in coma. The police are swindlers, the murderers and torturers for Barisan. Barisan and officials live like kings and queens from their crooked means while rakyat live miserable lives and die 20 years younger than them.
I am not surprised to read that that cooks and waiters spit on the food for the Barisan VIPs and officials. Not surprised if their food are also flavoured with wee and shit too.

Barisan government is a FREAK SHOW-------- FULL OF SWINDLERS,MURDERERS, KIDNAPPERS,TORTURERS AND CHEATS.
BARISAN has also stolen hundreds of millions of Malaysia money to lure Legislators and voters- all illegal. The stolen money is supposed to help the poor and the sick. They have stolen palaces full of Malaysian ringgit for themselves alone.
Malaysian fabric of government and society is getting more and more confused and crumbling fast.

If Agong does not install justice, I call on men and women of Malays, HINDRAF, BERSIH and other races to hold large demonstrations and fights which will, within days, topple Barisan like the domino.
written by joeawk, February 02, 2009 17:03:57
I am for the dissolution of the Perak State Assembly so that Perakians can tell Najib that he is unwanted and that he should not be PM of Malaysia.

So far so good for the Pakatan reps in the face of tempting offers from UMNO, yet Pakatan members have stood firm until the 2 idiots fell into the trap set by UMNO. Malaysians who voted for the opposition are not in vain because almost all of them are still with the Pakatan and Malaysians can be proud of them for their steadfastness.
written by Wakeupmsia, February 02, 2009 18:12:35
Camel and Oxman. You have betrayed the trust of the Party and the Rakyat who voted you in. You have also failed the State and the Country. You cannot talk your way out now as each statement you made carries no weight and full of absurdities. Since you are so keen to be independent EXCO, please stand in the by-election as so. Oh, BTW, C4 Bomber will find both of you, as of now - PARASITES like the ejam in amNO.

So, Camel and Oxman, you won't become a Jutawan now but a Rat in society.
written by kodoktua, February 02, 2009 21:47:51
It seems that the popular "politik katak" of Sabah has spread to the Peninsular at last! Penisular based political parties should not have come to Sabah in the first place !!! Now you guys know that this syndrome is very, very contagious. smilies/grin.gif

Well, good luck to you guys anyway. smilies/grin.gif