Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Missing Pakatan lawmaker denies resigning, Perak in chaos

Missing Pakatan lawmaker denies resigning, Perak in chaos PDF Print
Sunday, 01 February 2009 22:36

By Leslie Lau, The Malaysian Insider

Perak was thrown into a state of confusion tonight after at least one of two missing PKR state legislators denied resigning, hours after the state legislative speaker declared their seats vacant.

Behrang assemblyman Jamaluddin Mat Radzi said tonight that the “resignation letter” received by the speaker this evening was an undated document he was made to sign last March.

His “denial” will throw up questions on the legality or legitimacy of undated resignation letters, and also puts the focus on whether it will be the speaker, the Election Commission or even the courts which will decide such issues.

It is also the latest act in a power struggle which has lasted for weeks for control of the state government.

Earlier the Pakatan Rakyat (PR) government in Perak appeared to have turned the tables on Barisan Nasional (BN) after the state legislative speaker declared vacant the two state seats held by the two PKR lawmakers who were expected to defect.

This would pave the way for by-elections for the two seats within 60 days.

Talk is also rife that a number of Umno state assemblymen are in talks to defect to PR.

The Speaker V Sivakumar said in a statement this evening that he had received resignation letters from the two PKR men had.

Sivakumar said he had received the letters by fax at his house.

He added that the Election Commission would be informed of the vacancy tomorrow.

The announcement capped a dramatic day which began when Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Nizar Jamaluddin said he would lodge a police report over the disappearance of Jamaluddin and Changkat Jering assemblyman Osman Jailu.

There have been swirling rumours that Jamaluddin and Mohd Osman, who were charged in a Sessions Court on Aug 25 last year with allegedly receiving bribes over the application for a RM180mil housing project in Sri Iskandar in Perak Tengah, may have decided to defect to Umno in the hopes of getting off the charge.

Their case comes up for hearing on Feb 10.

It appears now that the resignation letters from the two men were undated documents submitted to party leaders immediately after the March general elections.

PR officials in Ipoh say they are confident of retaining the two vacant seats and have indicated that they are also optimistic of a number of defections from BN to strengthen their hold on the state government.

This latest political drama had been sparked by the defection of Umno’s Bota assemblyman Datuk Nasarudin Hashim to PKR.

Following Nasarudin’s defection, the two PKR men disappeared.

Besides the two PKR men, there had also been rumours that that Hee Yit Fong, the deputy state assembly speaker and a DAP assemblyman is considering a defection to MCA.

The Malaysian Insider understands she wants to leave DAP because she does not get along with Nga Kor Ming, a DAP state exco member and Ngeh Koo Ham, the Perak DAP boss and senior exco member.

written by raven1958, February 01, 2009 22:45:02
What's wrong Jamaludin...just lost your RM10 million....please go back to being what you have always been....worthless......good work PR......now for that DAP bitch...
written by sahabat, February 01, 2009 23:02:04
Jamaludin, there you are. You put yourself in trouble.

You signed the 'undated resignation letter' and now you cannot simply revoke it. Do you think those who drafted the 'undated resignation letter' were not intelligent enough to confront if the undated letter is to be challenged?

If I'm not mistaken, Pairin Kitingan challenged the legality of this 'undated resignation letter' prepared by the Berjaya but he lost. A by-election was held and fortunately Pairin won handsomely.
written by PAKRAK, February 01, 2009 23:09:41
PKR assemblymen Jamaluddin Mat Radzi and Osman Jailu are cowards! Afraid to face the bribery charges.
Don't waste anymore time. Get rid of all three including Hee Yit Fong and inform the Election Commission to proceed with three by-elections.
written by zandi, February 01, 2009 23:10:35
Hah! we see rite through you mister! You must have forgotten that you have sign the undated letter, huh? Smart of PR to have made you guys sign the letter. You n the other bugger disappeared for 4 days (u claim u were sick, my foot!) waiting for the 10 million to come through. Then PR faxed in the letter to the speaker... and now you have nothing... your 10 million dah jadi habuk! Correction...now, habuk pun takde! So now you can go disappear forever....pi!
written by SiHangChai, February 01, 2009 23:17:38
Sdr Lim Kit Siang,
Pls remove one of the Ngeh or Nga from Perak state exco. Too much problems has been created.
written by PAKRAK, February 01, 2009 23:28:59
Anyway PR does'nt need you two anymore after you were found to have received bribes as soon as you two were appointed state legislators and will be charged soon. So it is timely with your sudden disappearance that makes it sooooo easy to get rid of both of you.
Incidentally, an unsigned resignation letter is equivalent to an undated death will.
So Jamaluddin and Osman it is your death sentence! For the by-elections either you stand as independent candidates or beg UMNO to carry their flag. UMNO will instead tell you to F.O.
written by Invictus, February 01, 2009 23:37:10
Sick and tired of all these fake ones... They are not in their post for the people..they're there for their pockets.we the people should really let them know on what we think on the coming bi-elections!!!!!!!!!

written by Invictus, February 01, 2009 23:40:10
our nations politics is like watching WWF to me!
written by BukitBeruntung, February 01, 2009 23:44:05
Sweet! BN Adun don't sign undated resignation letter but PR's Adun did.

written by benny loh, February 02, 2009 00:48:15
NOW AGAINST ANTI-HOPPING LAW!
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...s-for.html
written by Daryl, February 02, 2009 01:21:35
Wow... interesting to see PR state government is willing to take the choice back to the voters. Great Job. You will never see anything like that from BN... PR you need to come to power in the Federal level now to push the crap out of Putrajaya.
written by RumahPanjai, February 02, 2009 02:42:35
PKR assembly men "may have decided to defect to Umno in the hopes of getting off the charge". Implying guilty as charged? To hell with them! We don't need these rotten apples to corrupt the rests. As for the DAP, Hee should separate her personal disputes from that of public and party interest. She needs to grow up. Don't take the constituents for a ride!