Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Pakatan lawmaker, missing earlier, says he does not intend to join Umno

Pakatan lawmaker, missing earlier, says he does not intend to join Umno PDF Print
Sunday, 01 February 2009 22:35

By Shannon Teoh, The Malaysian Insider

Behrang assemblyman Jamaluddin Mat Radzi said tonight he had not resigned as a state legislator, and asserted he had no intention of defecting to Umno.

“No, I have no intention. I do not understand why these resignation letters are being used now,” he told The Malaysian Insider.

Jamaluddin admitted he had signed an undated resignation letter, as had all Perak Pakatan Rakyat (PR) state legislators after parties belonging to the alliance won power in the state in last March’s general elections.

He said state legislators were briefed about the reason for the undated letters, and were told they would be used to “vacate their seats” if any of them decided to defect from their respective parties.

Asked why he had gone “missing” for the past few days, Jamaluddin said he had not been answering his telephone because he was not well.

He did not, however, say whether he had contacted Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Nizar Jamaluddin to inform him of his intentions.

Earlier today, Nizar had told reporters that he would be lodging a police report over two missing state assemblymen – Jamaluddin and Changkat Jering assemblyman Osman Jailu.

This evening, the state legislative speaker declared vacant the two state seats held by the two PKR lawmakers who were expected to defect.

This would pave the way for by-elections for the two seats within 60 days.

The Speaker V Sivakumar said in a statement this evening that he had received resignation letters from the two PKR men had.

Sivakumar said he had received the letters by fax at his house.

He added that the Election Commission would be informed of the vacancy tomorrow.

This latest political drama had been sparked by the defection of Umno’s Bota assemblyman Datuk Nasarudin Hashim to PKR.

Following Nasarudin’s defection, the two PKR men disappeared.

Besides the two PKR men, there had also been rumours that that Hee Yit Fong, the deputy state assembly speaker and a DAP assemblyman is considering a defection to MCA.

There have been swirling rumours that Jamaluddin and Mohd Osman, who were charged in a Sessions Court on Aug 25 last year with allegedly receiving bribes over the application for a RM180mil housing project in Sri Iskandar in Perak Tengah, may have decided to defect to Umno in the hopes of getting off the charge.

Their case comes up for hearing on Feb 10.

written by Rozlan, February 01, 2009 22:56:45
YB Jamaluddin. It does not matter anymore if you want resign from PR or join UMNO..We PR supporter didnt want you.You dont have the qualities that we want..
written by sufc, February 01, 2009 23:12:20
the two or three of you,
You dont have to say anything. Please go. PR is more than please to see you quit. Worthless morons!!!!
written by Michael Pg, February 01, 2009 23:15:50
if not well, you won't dissapear just that. you must be a responsible ADUN. make your stand. PR don't need such tom and jerry play hide and seek.
written by Michael Pg, February 01, 2009 23:17:17
more over BN also don't want you, because if commited bribe, your post will have to vacant anyway. resign now for by-election.
written by uxzee, February 01, 2009 23:32:05
The right thing to do with all these confusion is to let the people/rakyat decide. This will be a fair solution to all - maybe not for Najib.
written by PAKRAK, February 01, 2009 23:48:19
WHOEVER DOES THIS DISAPPEARING ACT IS CONSIDERED IRRESPONSIBLE ESPECIALLY AN ADUN.
If the MB did not say that he was going to make a police report and also have the two seats vacant, probably Jamaluddin would be having his 'honeymoon' somewhere.
Datuk Seri Nizar Jamaluddin, Perak Menteri Besar, stick to your principle. You are doing the right thing, Sir.
written by benny loh, February 02, 2009 00:51:55
HYPOCRITES!
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...s-for.html
written by macakmy, February 02, 2009 00:54:08
Well done PR for that forward thinking. Its lucky that you have those undated resignation letters. The two donkeys have proven to the rakyat that they cannot be trusted and are more suitable for UMNO (corrupt and without integrity). Kick them out now or risk losing the people's trust.
written by chanatak, February 02, 2009 01:08:54
To me, it looks like PKR has as many liars and idiots as there are UMNO. Who does this Jamaluddin idiot think he is lying to? Any sick man would have got wind of loud hunt for him; or his family would have told him even if he is sick in hospital. An early statement of clarification could have been made by him, or if he is that sick his family could have made some clarification on his behalf.

Instead, there was total silence, and he tells us now that he was not well and could not answer phone calls. Who believes him? More likely he had second thoughts about inadequacy of the quantum the money that UMNO offered, and he is hanging out for more. BUM. Just get him out. Like UMNO, he thinks the rakyat are fools
written by HeeHaw, February 02, 2009 01:29:12
wow! even minah kilang not well also got to produce MC from doctor, this Adun fellow can just give himself sick cert?

Send the idiot for a medical checkup, if no evidence of a serious illness (the old cirit-birit excuse won't hold) then throw the book at him. LIAR will fit in well in Umno.

err..2nd thoughts, cirit-birit might be right since he probably was doing something with Najis..... smilies/cheesy.gif
written by lunas oh lunaih, February 02, 2009 04:22:16
najib : jamaluddin..join us and u are millionaire at once
jamaluddin: eerr really?
najib : yup ..
jamaluddin : eerr how much?
najib : emmm 5 millon
jamalludin : errm... not enough..maybe 10?
najib : No big deal..confirm
najib ADC : datuk.. perak MB just confirm that Jamaluddin had tender resignatian.

Najib : oooo GOOOOOOOOOD...yahoooo
najib ADC : but datuk...jamal resign from state legislatif.we may face erection ooops i mean election.

Najib : oooooooooo SHIT.we have to spent 100 of millions during election and still losing.
Najib : Jamaludin..the deal IS OFF... Bye ..i hv got to go..im buzy.

Jamaluin : but.buttt datuk.. datukk (as najib walks away)
Jamaluddin : Hello MALAYSIAN INSIDER..im JAMALUDDIN..I deny that IM resigning. actually Im sick and could"t answer the phone ... im ,im ooooh IM SHIT....!~!!!!!!

written by biggun129, February 02, 2009 06:49:20
The People of Malaysian is getting used to the by elections, the more by election the more merrier, well, it bring benefit both to the people and the country, so, this two small ikan bilis of Perak, they broke their promise, they fail to honour and delivered what they agreed to the voters of the constituency, now, they have to accept the consequence of losing their YB and Exco post for having the intention to be 'FROG', when the Speaker of DUN Perak made the annoucement, both of them knew they burn their bridge, and the question mark is will BN nominate them to be the two candidates for the by election? 'Ayam terlepas terlekat tahi ditangan '.,so, for the DAP, another candidate of them just cannot reject the temptation of the 'CASANOVA' of MCA, the OTK, the ball carrier of Najib, do you think OTK can succeed in his attempt!Its going to be fascinating politic in Perak, well done, DSAI, its now or never!Will Najib make his impossible dream come true?The god is great!
written by mikewang, February 02, 2009 08:36:36
The whole thing may come out to be a PR winner for Pakatan Rakyat.

PR rubbish reps who think and behave like the corrupted in UMNO are taken in by UMNO where the 2 exco seats which are vacated may be given to better qualified and seemingly righteous UMNO defectors to PKR.

By the way, all PR reps had pledge that they supported the leadership of Nizar government to Tuanku before the formation of the PR government.
That those scums now renege their pledge is a slap in the face to Tuanku.
written by sahabat, February 02, 2009 08:39:56
Ooooooh.....Jamaluddin was so sick that he went missing. Not only that he also switched off his hp. If he is a responsible exco this is not the way. Mind you, he is an exco and certainly many people especially all the excos and PKR leaders would have visited him. I hope by now he is well with the RM10 million inside all his pockets. I hope UMNO will also drop the charges against him.

What if the 'undated resignation letter' was not produced? Surely Jamaluddin would have been laughing and dancing with UMNO. Now I'm sure Jamaluddin is shivering what to do next. Jamaluddin forgot the saying 'pandai-pandai tupai melompat akhirnya jatuh ke tanah juga'.
written by JJ Kuyong, February 02, 2009 08:42:27
Well done PKR. Do not listen to the reason given by that ADUN, he lied, he only surface after his resignation was announced. Proceed with the by-election and teach a lesson to UMNO and BN and those hypocrite ADUNs. I firmly believe they did commit RASUAH! and they are not fitted to be in PR government. Send Njib and UMNO packing through the by-election!
written by SL Chan, February 02, 2009 11:31:20
YB Nizar...

Do your best and what ever you can together with your team..Leave those 3 idiots to decide for themselves..2 PKR and 1 DAP...Typical morons ...IF 3 of them decided to defect then the rakyat will piss off at them!!! That Dap lady is a disgust if she leave..These idiots are wasting off peoples time!!!
written by lovemalaysiarakyat, February 02, 2009 11:43:07
smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
ADUN-ADUN ini memang ular. Pentingkan poket sendiri. Tidak ke takut pada Allah yang Mahakuasa? Tidak mempunyai etika langsung. Resignlah. Have elections.
Waste rakyat's money again. Let PKR win. Baguslah. Let snakes like you wind up being eaten. Baik di pamerkan di taman haiwan negara seperti "taxidermy", dried snakes.
Serving the rakyat - kononnya. Serve your pockets. Go and be a businessman - don't be in politics.
Even children now know that to be a politician is a way to be rich. No need to be a businessman or a Bill Gates with brains. What are we teaching our future generations?
We know you people don't give a damn but we do.
written by SL Chan, February 02, 2009 11:43:18
Hallo Jamal...

What the fork you talking??? Now talk cock!!! Make your brady stand as the rakyat knows your forking intention..Guess what if the letter not pre-signed??? Ask your self...
written by ROBERTNGTG, February 02, 2009 12:31:45
Behrang assemblyman Jamaluddin Mat Radzi said tonight he had not resigned as a state legislator, and asserted he had no intention of defecting to Umno.

“No, I have no intention. I do not understand why these resignation letters are being used now,” he told The Malaysian Insider.

Jamaluddin admitted he had signed an undated resignation letter, as had all Perak Pakatan Rakyat (PR) state legislators after parties belonging to the alliance won power in the state in last March’s general elections.

KAYU, U ARE A TRAITOR TO THE RAKYAT. SEE HOW WE WILL WIPE U OUT FOR GOOD IN THE BY ELECTION.