Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Bota branch leaders follow Nasarudin to PKR

Bota branch leaders follow Nasarudin to PKR PDF Print
Sunday, 01 February 2009 10:01

By Christina Koh, The Star

Eight Umno branches in Bota have been disbanded and the members have joined PKR following the move of Bota assemblyman Datuk Nasarudin Hashim.

The branch leaders turned up at a gathering in Bota on Friday night and presented their application forms to PKR de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

Acting Perak Umno liaison committee deputy chairman Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi said the development should not be a setback for Umno.

He said Parit Umno division deputy chief Yusof Nordin would now coordinate the delivery of services to Bota residents.

“It is only temporary. I hope the (leaders of the) eight branches are prepared to pay the price of their actions,” Ahmad Zahid told reporters at a Mesra Rakyat programme near here yesterday.

Ahmad Zahid, who is Perak Federal Action Council chairman, assured state Barisan Nasional assemblymen that they would receive the RM300,000 in federal allocation for their constituencies following complaints that some had not receive part of the RM1.6bil allocation for Perak under the 9th Malaysia Plan.

“I guarantee that the money will be distributed equally even if the assemblyman is not an Umno division chief,” he said.

Ahmad Zahid said each state constituency under Barisan would receive RM1mil under the RM7bil stimulus package.

On Anwar’s claim that more Barisan assemblymen would join Pakatan Rakyat, he said: “It is a political statement but I hope he is willing to face the political reality.”

written by Rashid, February 01, 2009 10:07:41
I hope the (leaders of the) eight branches are prepared to pay the price of their actions,” Ahmad Zahid told reporters at a Mesra Rakyat programme near here yesterday.

Criminal minded buffoon. How dare you threaten people by choosing their political allegiance?
written by Beezee_Beezee, February 01, 2009 10:27:21
Sudah terhentok baru ternada...Itu lah tebit Peimpin UMNO...Tapi bagaimana RM300ribu bulih timbul dgn tiba tiba?
Lagi wang ehsan UMNOKe?.
MACC Kena Siasat Lagi..dah berapa bynk siasatan yg dibuat..berapa yg dah selesai....?
written by ahmadneil, February 01, 2009 10:56:23
That's the way to show umno that we mean business.
written by Dominic, February 01, 2009 11:20:15
Thats gud, the saints come marching in. Soon,we see UMNO in total disray. We are seeing lights at the end of the tunnel. Lets revive and have a new beginning for Malaysia. A new generation of mature thinking Malaysians that will set aside races but instead work for every body. God is great !
written by Kacang Tanah, February 01, 2009 11:20:41
“Ahmad Zahid, who is Perak Federal Action Council chairman, assured state Barisan Nasional assemblymen that they would receive the RM300,000 in federal allocation for their constituencies following complaints that some had not receive part of the RM1.6bil allocation for Perak under the 9th Malaysia Plan.”
What? I thought the allocation from the federal government should go down to the state government instead of individual. In that case, we should pay our income tax to the state government and not federal government.
written by hckit, February 01, 2009 11:20:53
Yes. these members have paid their price - for not getting projects, development money, angpows, and possibilities of corruption charges, missing in action ....
written by hckit, February 01, 2009 11:25:21
Ahmad Zahid said each state constituency under Barisan would receive RM1mil under the RM7bil stimulus package

RM7bil stimulus package : you better change to RM7bil UMNO Rescue Package
written by boeytahan, February 01, 2009 11:32:38
Yeh-yeh, BN YBs' take the Barisan's RM 1 million and switch camp in time to come!
Still very into money politics. There will be no more monies after PR takes over as UMNO is financially strained.

Goodluck YBs!
written by penangboi, February 01, 2009 11:37:59
They still don't get it!!!!

This is so typical of UMNO/BN. They think that everything boils down to money, money and money.

Nasurudin defects. What is their first reaction? Throw more money at the problem. Look Mr Hamid Zahidi, and all corrupt UMNO goons, there are things that money can't buy. This latest splash of cash in the guise of a 'stimulus package' is first of all, in my book, another form of legitimised money politics, and second, will most definitely work as a stimulus, ie. to stimulate the pockets of more UMNOputras.

They thought that the same solution of throwing money would work in KT - see what happened? But no, they haven't learnt their lesson, and they are doing it again now.

Wake up everybody to what is happening?
written by sahabat, February 01, 2009 11:44:25
If Nasaruddin stays in UMNO, do you think Najib will extend the RM30K? Confidently I say no. Perak UMNO YBs should therefore follow Nasaruddin so that more $$$$$$$ will be given. In UMNO, if you keep quiet you will be left out. You must make threat to alert UMNO leadership.
written by loosecannon, February 01, 2009 11:47:42
In the meantime PKR should suspend the two assembly who had disappeared, most likely negotiating with Najib on the amount of windfall for crossing over. Let's see also if Umno hype about unprincipled people who cross are for real. These two were reported to be under investigation for corruption so I think they should be quite at home in Umno. If they cross over, the best option is to dissolve the Perak State Assembly and call for a state election. Pakatan Rakyat will surely win with a much bigger majority. It might just be the impetus for mass crossovers to PR.
written by Angela Ooi, February 01, 2009 12:46:48
Zahid Hamidi chap says this should not be a setback for UMNO. Of course not, UMNO can always turn to other devious methods like kidnapping PKR members to made up for the shortfall.
written by lynn, February 01, 2009 14:18:31
BN no check & balance, no accountability, no transparency, a billion here, a billion there....
spending the country's wealth to hang on to power.

Hoi, Perakians who last voted bn, what the fcuk is wrong with all of you? Wake up, and ask questions. It's all abt money,money,money; and now they use OUR MONEY for their money politics, a diplomatic phrase; in reality, this is corruption.
written by Dualties, February 01, 2009 20:28:20
Zahid Hamidi :

“It is only temporary. I hope the (leaders of the) eight branches are prepared to pay the price of their actions,” Ahmad Zahid told reporters at a Mesra Rakyat programme

YOU ARE THE HIGHEST CRIMINAL BREACH OF TRUST. THE RAKYATS WILL NEVER FEEL THREATENED WITHOUT FUNDING THE FEDERAL BUT BN IS 100% GOING TO LOSE THE MAJORITY OF THE 27 SEATS IN PERAK BECAUSE OF YOUR ATTITUDE TOWARDS THE RAKYAT.

ARE HOLDING THE RAKYAT AT RANSOM WHEN BN ENGAGED HIGH CONSPIRAC of corruption, discrimination and shirking of public responsibilities ?
written by POKKU, February 01, 2009 20:30:52
written by sahabat,

If Nasaruddin stays in UMNO, do you think Najib will extend the RM30K? Confidently I say no. Perak UMNO YBs should therefore follow Nasaruddin so that more $$$$$$$ will be given.

CORRECTION TO SAHABAT's COMMENT!

...... Perak, Negeri Sembilan, Melaka, Johore, Pahang, Terengganu, Perlis, Sabah UMNO YBs should therefore follow Nasaruddin.....
written by POKKU, February 01, 2009 20:41:57
Dear Perak UMNO YBs,

If what is reported is true that they are offering RM15 million for a
new crossover from PR to UMNO then you should cross over to PR too, to
get the same offer. How come the new guy got RM15 million and you been
loyal all this while only get a mere RM300K?????

This is not fair!!!!