Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Half A Million Malaysians Banned From Travelling Overseas

Half A Million Malaysians Banned From Travelling Overseas PDF Print
Saturday, 31 January 2009 19:28

Sin Chew Daily, By LAI PEIFENG, Translated by DOMINIC LOH

PUTRAJAYA: 13% of Malaysians holding valid international passports have been put in the list of individuals banned from travelling overseas by the immigration depatment.

Immigration department director-general Datuk Mahmood Adam advised Malaysians to check from the department's website to see whether they are in the list, before making any travel arrangement.

He said Malaysians could check out the list with effect from February.

He said during an exclusive interview with Sin Chew Daily that among the 6.7 million holders of valid international passports in the country, about half a million or 13% have been blacklisted by the immigration department.

He said these people either have not paid their income taxes and PTPTN arrears, or are involved in criminal cases, bankruptcies, commercial conflicts, divorces or custody right cases.

Mahmood Adam said passport holders can visit the immigration department's website at http://www.imi.gov.my target=_blank>www.imi.gov.my, go to the "semakan perjalanan" section, and key in their MyKad numbers to find out whether they have been blacklisted.

But to protect the passport holders' privacy, no information on the reasons for the ban would be provided online, as anyone could key in other people's MyKad numbers.

Those who have been banned from travelling overseas are advised to visit the nearest immigration department to enquire why they have been put in the list.

written by yipck, January 31, 2009 20:05:20
Cannot find the link leh... no "semakan perjalana" section. what a joke!!
written by ahmadneil, January 31, 2009 20:11:53
What about Razak Baginda and the playboy!If they are not banned,they might be caught by the Interpol for their link to the murder of the mongolian model ,Altantuya, when they travel abroad.If this happens,we the malaysian ,will be shamed internationally again.
written by tokioRain, January 31, 2009 20:24:28
What has not paying my taxes do with my right to travel? Tak masuk akal lah.
written by pokokmangga, January 31, 2009 20:32:02
I wonder which UMNO members are among the list. I am very sure all of them are within the criterias.
written by raven1958, January 31, 2009 22:24:43
This is the way the BN government blackmails it's citizens to extract money.....to the 13%...go to Sabah and get a different IC...better still quit being Malaysians...for no country in this world save the communist world used to do this....perhaps Malaysia would have been better off with Chin Peng after all....
written by Edward C, January 31, 2009 22:37:50
This is typical of our national goernment services. The top management is like some one in a hot air ballon, floating from place to place without a clue of where they are going and when they will reach.

It does not really matters too because they will never be question for their incompetencies.

How can you declare something on national news media without checking what you going to say first!!! It really shows the quality of the personnel and the urgency they display towards their work. Work which we as tax payers pay their salaries to ensure we get service.

But this level of service is really something else.

I hope they actually do something about the attitude of the goverments servants towards their work ethics. They are not proud of what they do!!!!

I am just out of words to describe this kind of behavior. The real unfornate thing is that such lackadaisical or "tidak apa" attitude is not exclusive to the imigration department!! It happens everywhere.
written by Edward C, January 31, 2009 22:39:25
I tried looking for the link. Spent about 20 minutes in the BM version, then went to the English version.. still cannot find the link.

So maybe this link is something which they are "going to put uop???" and not "put up already"??

So which is which??
written by mikewang, January 31, 2009 22:39:44
Go call the director general of immigration at 03-88801002 and check with him whether the website is a joke !
written by axppin, January 31, 2009 22:54:10
With effect from February right? OK. Will check the website again tomorrow to see if the missing link can be found. Otherwise... your efficacy is seriously at stake here. I just hope you realize that.

written by Garend, February 01, 2009 00:01:14
Well.. Don't bother finding it.. they haven't really implemented the system yet.. My guessm is that they pay Hundreds of Thousands to some cheapo Software company to develop the web site.. and the website have a lot of probs. most likely when they announce this.. they didn't check with their department... Mark my WORDS.. sure a lot of bugs one.. ahahahaa

I also spent / waste a lot of time looking for it. I pay all my tax AND PTPTN... but I still wanna check it.. because their ppl are quite prone to make mistake and didn't update the stuff correctly. smilies/tongue.gif
written by temenggong, February 01, 2009 00:40:09
I wonder if my name is there! I'll check next month. I mean tomorrow.
written by Taiping60, February 01, 2009 01:38:28
wow, can immigration department do such thing. Do they have such power?

I understand in the case of criminal...

They better publish the full list. There should be transparency in this
written by Davy McChester, February 01, 2009 01:57:44
How Govt. machinery is selectively applied.

I remember not long ago under the tyrant Dr.Mahathir's rule the Election Commission had voiced its problem registering 200,000 mostly young pro Annuar Malays,for the then on-going election. Now,suddenly, they are so very efficient when on a witch hunt where they can proudly proclaim ,"We are in power and we know how to apply (selectively) the government machinery on those who disagree with us". They should introduce software to track UMNOputra double-standards,money politics,corruption,murders,threats,against its citizens.
written by tumbledore, February 01, 2009 03:03:03
the next in line are the bloggers and commenters and Auschwitz(ISA) would move to KLIA to arrest all wayward Malaysians who dare to come back!

political criminals would be issued immunity out, out brief candle, UMNO is nothing but a walking shadow a tale told by an idiotic moron full of pun and signifying nothing!!
written by China Trengganu, February 01, 2009 05:26:53
A friend of mine was stopped at KLIA just before last X'mas becos his income tax record showed he still owe them about RM86. So he missed his flight, had to go to IRA in KL and paid the RM86 before he could catch the next flight to HK for his X;mas holiday (the wife was with him and went thru the same ordeal also).
This system socks!
written by Susuit, February 01, 2009 07:59:35
Don't ban Razak Baginda's passport. Let him go overseas and will be easier for Mangolian's agents to hunt him down and do what he did to Altantuya.
written by CariJalan, February 01, 2009 09:17:09
The nation, under the present government, is the most MOST OPPRESSIVE AND UNSYMPATHETIC government in the region. It seems to me they are always MAJORING IN THE MINOR to score some political mileage. At a time when we should be concerned about the nation's economy and dengue problem, they are becoming more and more petty by the day.
written by T Square, February 01, 2009 10:23:58
This is another direct threat from the Government.
Vote us and we will let you travel or else we'll make you stay at home.

Travelling abroad is the basic right of every citizen.
Criminals or innocent victims of the judicial system have rights too.

It is up to the country of intended travel to decide if they will let criminals enter their country.
It is not up to Malaysia to decide.

Some countries do not have any confidence in the judicial integrity of this country and as such will use their own discretion when issuing Visas. As an example, Anwar would probably be welcomed (gain visa) everywhere he travels to, but the same cannot be said of Razak Baginda.

Time and again the authorities just does not know where to draw the line.
Such policies would only drive Malaysia's rating in Transparency International rating further down.

Another classic case of abuse of power.
written by DezMalaysia, February 01, 2009 10:28:41
This is simply plain STUPID !! KeBODOHan yang tidak terbatas !

Such idiotic move will cause more Malaysians to travel south to use the Singapore airport as the main getaway and profitting our neighbour ! When you cross to Singapore via the Causeway / Second Link, you only need to show your Malaysian International passport and then you may cross the border even with your mom's passport until you're stopped by Singapore CIQ !

With MAS already posting losses for quite some time, Air Asia's profit a few hundred over millions dropped until 9 million profit, I would say such stupid move will only hamper the growth of Malaysian Airline Companies and make KLIA lost its competitiveness & attractive to Malaysians.

Businessmen / some business negotiators are restricted to travel abroad ! No business means no MONEY / no INVESTMENT coming into Malaysia !

What's next ? Banned from crossing via land into Singapore / Thailand ? What an international joke ! Kepala otak BODOH !

I suggest those who're affected to sue the government ! I dont think there's such laws barring income tax defaulters from travelling. Bikin ikut suka bapak dia saja...
written by Old Man, February 01, 2009 10:32:59
Does the 13% of the holders of Malaysia passport comprise of Indonesians, Bangaladeshis and Filipinos holding such passports since early 1990's? Probably this group never paid taxes like we law-abiding Malaysians are doing from the very day we started being the workforce.
written by gorshan, February 01, 2009 12:06:26
hello DezMalaysia, please lah dont expose the loop hole. some of us intend to maximise borrowing from GLC banks and then cabut to negara orang puteh apply PR, biar the hutang bank here including non payment of income tax melambung tinggi tinggi.
written by sammi, February 01, 2009 14:11:56
What a website? really a circus joke.where got link? couldn't even find 'semakan perjalan"
written by Mik, February 01, 2009 19:53:31
Jan,
1st of February is not february?