Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow EPU chief: Why pacts with highway operators are lopsided

EPU chief: Why pacts with highway operators are lopsided PDF Print
Saturday, 31 January 2009 13:34

(TheStar) - THE Government was forced to become guarantor for highway concessionaires in the 1980s and 1990s because banks refused to give out loans to the companies then, Economic Planning Unit director-general Tan Sri Sulaiman Mahbob said.

He was quoted by Sin Chew Daily as saying that this may have led to the agreements between the Government and concessionaires to be lopsided.

He said for the banks to provide loans to the concessionaires, the Government had to give a guarantee that there would be a certain number of vehicles using the highways.

Otherwise, the Government would have to pay some compensation, he said.

Sulaiman noted that it was because the Government had agreed to stand as guarantor for the concessionaires, that the people could enjoy using highways in the country now.

Comments (36)Add Comment
written by loosecannon, January 31, 2009 13:46:44
No matter how you spin it, it's "corruption".
agree 124
written by Kuda Belang, January 31, 2009 13:53:32
If government risks tax payers money to stand guarantee for a third party to seek loan from banks, why privitize highway construction? Why make it easy for a third party to walk away with huge profit through their "risk-free" venture?
agree 129
written by Nunudada, January 31, 2009 13:54:30
There are always two ways of looking at this issue.This explanation of the Governments role as guarantor seems too simple to be believed.In retrospect we need to review who these concessioners were and their top management make up.The Governments role may be a convenient way of legitimizing certain suspect deals and arrangements.Do governments in other countries adopt the same measures to prop up their private sector ventures.To me the Government has been an Octopus with its tentacles in too many dubious deals.The people are not blind.
written by savemalaysia, January 31, 2009 13:58:41
It seems that the EPU is trying some excuses to justify the corruption that smartly planning by those UMNOputras which cause our first and 2nd generations of rakyat to suffer in terms of high toll rates.
This lopsided concessionaires only enrich 0.001% of the people(UMNOputras and croynies)but 99.999% of people will suffer(including ordinary UMNO members who has no "jalan" with UMNO leaders.
written by NSTPravda, January 31, 2009 13:59:41
Why pacts with highway operators are lopsided?
To you inferior beings, these deals may appear crooked
But you know not at all the big shots we need to pay
Worry not, it's only taxpayers' ringgit, it'semua-nya OK!
written by temanmu, January 31, 2009 14:04:18
If this is correct, the EPU and govt must have failed elementary maths.
What is the benefit of privatizing when there is no benefit and only potential LOSS?
And is there no time limit to such ridiculous arrangements?
Does the govt exist for UMN0 or the rakyat?
written by Rozlan, January 31, 2009 14:29:56
They hide the contracts under OSA..So they must haver something to hide.If not they had declassified it already....Sorry Tan Sri Sulaiman Mahbob.We dont believes you unless you prove everything to us..hey I heard PLUS had given fat bonuses to the staff.5-7 month every year if I am not mistaken..How come they afford to if PLUS dont earn huge profit??
written by InEffective, January 31, 2009 14:56:39

With this type of explanations to legitimize their expropriation of the rakyat, rakyat has to develop new methods to defend itself.(we can't keep on shouldering the costs and risks of all business models)

This concentration of economic power and wealth via exclusive and selective licenses is getting out-of-hand.

The rakyat is subject to such expropriation schemes in transport, power, telecom, water, TV, wireless, broadband and content, automobile, education, private healthcare, airlines & flying services ... What else is left ? when is it going to stop ? (now even a bullet-train is on the drawing boards)

We are effectively controlled by a concession-based economy with all wealth concentrating towards governing politicians and favored elite business colluders. But all costs and risks are socialized over the rakyat (this is effectively a socialist economy with a democracy label)

Its too bad the rakyat does not understand their gross-margins, why and how they are getting expropriated and shortchanged, and why their lifestyles are not uplifting.
(the rakyat fools are still going on about racial issues - no limits to stupidity in malaysia)

And the Khazanah chief and his political masters are the prime drivers of this insidious ever-growing strategy.
written by Navigator, January 31, 2009 15:06:39
This guy must think we are really stupid.
written by ez24get, January 31, 2009 15:16:07
We, Rakyat, no longer live in a time where whatever rubbish or lies you churn out we are forced to swallow it!

We are not bodoh like your EPU!

Another "bodoh" rubbish churned out by your EPU is the use of par value of shares methodology in your NEP calculations!
written by Kopi37, January 31, 2009 15:24:36
What a claptrap and how ridiculous it was from the mouth of the EPU DG! For more than decades, we have been pawned as the guinea pigs for the corrupted and lopsided practices of the great 'privatization concept' prompted by the father of mahathirism!

Just how obvious those piggy politicians were plundering our hard earned taxpayers' contributions supposedly utilised for Nation buildings for public welfare but had been sucked and siphoned through the system to the benefits of their cronies at the expense of the whole Nation! For how long we are to be burdened and suffered till endless generation if these condemnable practice is not put to an end and continue to allow these unscrupulous and most despicable politicians to rape us for granted?! It's an attestation that all BN component parties are the bunch of greedy pigs they have had their hands muddled in the cake flour and the share of the cream, thus they held dumb and silent for decades keeping the public blindfolded with the stupid label of 'sulit' on the lopsided agreements which have little legal binding if were to be challenged in the court of judicial competence!

How can an excuse of Bank refused to grant loans to the concessionaires had caused the Government that be to mortgage the entire future of the Country and dragged the whole populace to be indebted for endless years, with the extensions of such lopsided agreements, the rakyat are to be suffered endless years! Is that the 'welfare' that we all paid for?!

Why the Government should be the guarantor for a private entity when supposedly the private Companies should provide collaterals or security bonds to have granted the banking facilities or project loans what not?! Isn't it a requirement of JKR to ensure that any mega projects should be awarded to those qualified Contractors who must have the financial capacity and expertise to undertake the jobs, that's the norms and the rules?! There is only one reason why the Bank refused to grant project loan, that is, when the undertaking Company did not fulfill the criteria of loaning. Probably the crony companies were having only 2-dollar paid up capital and had not been able to provide proper track record and therefore disqualified! Why should such mega projects to grant to such crony companies with full backing from the Government with the national coffer?! If this is not abuse and corruption, what is?! For the matter of Anwar charged with the alleged abuse of powers, he ended up in jail for more than 6 years, the real culprit behind all these foul plays and sheer abuses should be lodged into the jail for the remains of his lifetime! Taiwan's ex-President is one good prototype!
written by Ron, January 31, 2009 15:24:43
It is alleged that nearly every umno supreme council member owns a toll highway.DUKE
belongs to kerisammudin?Just sit down and collect,collect,collect and collect for 40 years.WOW no easier way to make money.If still greedy after 40 years of collectin,extend for another 20 years.EPU doing the politicians bidding.
written by Motherchell, January 31, 2009 15:43:47
Economic Planning Unit director-general Tan Sri Sulaiman Mahbob is either a dumbo or a brain dead ogre. You in the first place cannot hold such a position you nincompoop!!
A secondary school student can tell you the number of cars in Malaysia , and can sit at a hut by the main road to see what the future increase will be . A highway is like a goose that lays a golden egg, you fool!!! Every project will be studied first you fool!

He was quoted by Sin Chew Daily as saying that this may have led to the agreements between the Government and.......

"May have led "???? You are a scum of the first order -- that you should declare you assets fist before opening you mouth . All your type of Tan Sri's are the destroyers of this Land . I hope you go back to school or disappear from the landscape for good ! !
written by donplay, January 31, 2009 16:46:26
How can it be privatisation if the Govt guarantees it. The Tan Sri is also lying since they calssified the Agreements under OSA to protect giveaways to croneys!!

In that case, the Govt should have listed an Infrastructure Plc on the KLSE and the Rakyat would have been gald to busy its shares. All this gaji buta toll could have been used to maintain ang upgrade the highways while still paying a very healthy dividend to the Shareholder Rakyat. Why didn't they think of this?

Simple! This was a corrupt move to benefit BN croneys!
written by Task Force 101, January 31, 2009 17:00:19

To protect a few, many must die
written by jason, January 31, 2009 17:23:24
Have you ever heard of something so stupid? Why would banks not loan to concessionaires when all the agreements were guaranteed by the government? All banks would gladly give out loans with government guarantees and would give preferential rates as well. In such a situation, I would imagine the government would be in a position to dictate terms to the concessionaires, wouldn't you agree? Instead, the government was bending backwards to accommodate them.How ridiculous!
How can you be a guarantor and at the same you guarantee them to make a profit at the rakyat expense. Remember we the rakyat are the one paying to use the roads, not the government. And you can sign away our money and makes it looks so innocent.
How stupid can you get?
written by Fart Fart Wah, January 31, 2009 17:24:25
once upon a time 4 cars uses the Highway..so we needed to subsidize the operators.

22 years down the road...there are 400 million times the toll is used....on an average...per year..

exponentially the operators now have doubled..tripled..quadrupled..many more times their collection.....licensed robbers..fleecing the public..

using the same justification that they need to increase the toll in order to pay for the costs....

AND ...using the OSA and ISA...we cannot question a dictator who set the tone for this robbery of the rakyat....Mahathir..

written by ahmadneil, January 31, 2009 17:27:40
Otherwise how can Racist mahathir reaped 8 billion.
written by Atheist, January 31, 2009 17:42:21
What an excuse! The number of cars, population, housing etc all increases over time ... so no issue of minimum cars usage. Govt politicians want the private sector to depend on them for personal profit. Which company in Malaysia has come up without politician patronage .... unlike Microsoft Bill Gates?

Bank Managers want Datukship and personal perks within the banking system .... explains current financial problems and trying to be in the politicians 'good books' Try auditing the toll operators and see how much money goes 'missing' in day-to-day operations! Then see if the Govt should be the guarantor for the toll operators 'sampai akhirat'?

So spare me the bullshit. target the rich people who line the politicians pockets instead of the poor people who work for the country and try to survive day-to-day.

BTW, what happened to all our income tax money which should be used for road building purposes? Got wasted on white elephant projects or projects with white elephants?
written by MNor, January 31, 2009 17:45:16
Dont trust this scumbag. "If the Govt had not stand as guarantor, that the people could enjoy the highways in the country now" What!! u think people today stupid ahh!! its people money the Govt are using and u think the money come from the sky!!
written by eloofk, January 31, 2009 18:01:49
Whichever way The Star tries to spin about this article on the concessionaires gaurantees, the facts remains that the government of the day under the Mahathir Administration was in no way forced to stand as Gaurantor for the highway concessionaires.

No government dealings with private entities would allow themselves to be held ransom and their hands tied behind their back, if they really have the ratyat at heart. Is Mahathir that stupid as to let himself tied up, without any manoeuvring leeway to ensure the success of the project at an agreed tender price during negotiations? Or to make the contractor gaurantee to the successful completion of the project?

The truth of the matter is this greedy Mahatey knows that this is a big project and wanted a cut from the contractor. As a result this lop-sided Agreements were to ensure the successful transaction of his take.
written by cruzeiro, January 31, 2009 18:09:31
What a "compassionate" government!!!!

Next they'll say that they had to become guarantor to a waste management company, and guarantee that there will be enough and more shit that can be recycled for the next 20 yrs - as long as Umno is in power.

This shit is enjoyed by the people becos the Umno govt guarantees it!!
written by Msian Idol3, January 31, 2009 18:09:49
Whow! Bolehland EPU Director General can think & reason like that. No wonder we are in hole. He is one scumbag in Mahatir Baba & his forty thieves.
written by Captain, January 31, 2009 18:22:28
To the DG EPU,

Please make this statement in Parliment, and be prepared with all the facts before opening your gap!

If not, its just corruption, hiding behind a very thick veil of the OSA.
written by rainmanpj, January 31, 2009 18:40:36
Every time some big shots in the govn came out with an explanation, it always create a laughing. Now if govn stand as guarantor , then the govn might as well loan the money from the bank and EPF to build and collect toll. Simple logic and do not need a degree to understand.Even my kids in form 4 can understand.

Actually the real reason why bank don't loan money to them is this :
1. Normally the company is set up in a hurry just for this job with politcal link and using proxy to Ummo gang.
2. Since it is set up in a hurry it had no business background record.
3. Most important , since no one wants to take out his money , the paid-up capital is nominal, sometimes Rm2.00 only So for reason above , how can a reasonable bank loan the company money.Even bank Bumi doesn't want to take the risk

Correct me if I am wrong, the the billion rm penang 2nd bridge was given to a company with only initially rm50,000 paid up. If your company paid up is rm50,000 , see you have any luck in tenderinggetting job worth rm1,000,000. ( without politicalelation connection)You would be the first tenderer I throw out no matter what success record you have

Normally I do not comment on anything that caome out from the govn,esp when they
try to cover up TOO BIG A LIE. It makes them looks very,very,very and very stupid.
How would foreigners judge malaysians ?.They would think All malaysians do not have brain. Imagine those words come out from a think-tank (EPU, what a joke). So those who are in the govn services,but not into politic,pls keep your mouth shut.
Don't try to explain your political master mistake.It makes you look like a moron.
written by Msian Idol3, January 31, 2009 19:33:21
A big donation went to S.University. Same thing happens to Mahatir boys. They never study, drive around in posh cars sandwich with dashing looking birds. Ask any asian guy who attented the same UNiv & the truth comes out. This info came from my employee who happen to study in the same Univ.
written by cruzeiro, January 31, 2009 19:53:39
Hi Abajawi!
Here's something for you to "chew on" - Many Malaysian "graduates" in various fields are considered scum in (the very same ivy league) colleges they are enrolled into, due to political necessity. Many "amoeba-brain kangkungs" are guaranteed to qualify from these "ivy league" colleges, but aren't permitted to practice in the host nation, as a precondition. The simple reason for this is, they are only fit to serve in government as pencil pushers - not any govt, though. Only in the "cemerlang,gemilang,terbilang & temberang" govt of Umno/BN with its Never Ending Piracy.

Friend - don't be fooled by PhDs/Doctorates. No offense intended to the genuine guys, but there are many politician morons with such titles walking around, masquerading as intellects, these days. For one thing, they are totally shameless when they talk crap (which put children to shame, with their infantile logic).
Y'see, they don't see any reason for shame, cos they are there only to "cari makan" - that is the reason they were given such titles/degrees. You can tell who they are, the moment they open their mouths- stinking, pure, unadulterated fecal matter is spewed.

So, next time someone comes around with a title/PhD (especially if they are linked in any way to a certain Fascist/Nazi party in Malaysia)- you better start thinking hard, and ask good questions to know if it's genuine.
written by supplier, January 31, 2009 20:16:58
Why look elsewhere when there are plentiful of liars in Malaysia
written by Francis, January 31, 2009 21:21:52
This is not prudent lending. Why do we have lawyers, accountants and people with professional qualifications in EPU if they can not advice their policy makers of the right and wrong? EPU have failed the Malaysian public.

How can contracts be awarded to people who do not have the money to fulfil the contracts. Why do banks advance to people who do not have capital to finance projects? On what basis do the contractors tender proposals if they do not have the money to fulfil contracts. Why are contracts awarded to people who do not have track records. Where have all your 5 'C's; 4 'C's or the basic 3 'C's proposal checks?

written by myke, January 31, 2009 22:19:25
@#$%^&*@#$%^ BN..!!!!!
written by fireduck, January 31, 2009 23:50:15
There had to be reasons why the banks were not jumping at the chance to bankroll the projects in the first place. They probably did their due diligence in studying the feasibility of the proposals. And some of the probable reasons could be the qualifications of the concessionaire, the costs efficiency, etc.

But by using taxpayers' money to provide such guarantees, the risk concerns of the banks are removed, and of course the banks will get their money back at the expense of you and me, Joe Taxpayer.

It is exactly practices like these which pushes us to question why the need to privatise every damn thing in this country. Some things are the responsibilities of the govt, and should not be in the control of a group of individuals.

Water too, is absolutely one of those that should never be privatized!
written by lynn, February 01, 2009 00:40:27
"enjoying highways ...?" hey, fork you. I drive around trying to avoid paying tolls!

Seriously, how long did you, sulaiman & bn took to come out with this "justification"?
Ask us-lah, we will teach you how to give plausible explanations!

"""""because banks refused to give out loans to the companies then, ............. this may have led to the agreements between the Government and concessionaires to be lopsided. Otherwise, the Government would have to pay some compensation, he said."""""

TS Sulaiman, can you pls tell us, which bank(s) dare to refuse to give out loans?
You cannot justify cronyism & corruption by blaming the banks' refusal as reason for lopsided agreements.

Lopsided agreements meant bn govt deliberately acted in the manner where only concessionaires benefit. It's a heads you win, tails I lose situation.

What a pathetic excuse. Your explanation had raised even more suspicions; in the same manner IPPs get subsidised gas from Petronas, TNB is forced to pay for unsold electricity, these are also lopsided agreements. IPPs make hundreds of millions each year;TNB lost some RM944 mil in the last quarter, rakyat had to bear higher tariffs, manufacturers' suffered due to raised tariffs. The only winner(s) are concessionaires & IPPs.

If everything is above board, there is no need for "secrets" - it's because they knew what they had signed away, is akin to criminal breach of trust; the rakyat entrusted the bn govt to act professionally on their behalf, but the govt screwed all of us. BN voters, you love being screwed or you probably don't realised you hv been screwed for decades.

written by Hakim Joe, February 01, 2009 01:23:13
The only two parties that benefited from these deals are the Gomen and the highway operators.

written by Whatif, February 01, 2009 08:33:32
The Tun was the one who started this avalanche of toll concessionaires with uncle Sam as the able assistant and the poor rakyat has to pay heavily for this. Lim Kit Siang labeled the north south highway contract with UEM as the “60 billion ringgit scandal” and he has to sit in Kamunting with others while the Tun and gang continued their destruction of our whole democratic system. I wonder how these people can sleep well when the rakyat has to cough up blood to pay daily for the tolls. I don’t think they have any conscience at all.

The only way to redress the situation is to get the Malaysian Highway Authority (MHA) to take back these highways. Other power and water privatization contracts have also to be taken back. The north south highway was a good project but MHA should have been the one to build it with cheap government funds and they can collect toll perpetually at a fraction of what we are paying now. At the moment, we are paying for our future generations as well.

Let the truth be told.
Real sickening….
written by POKKU, February 01, 2009 09:45:27
TDM silence on this is very deafening