Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Najib says Umno will not abolish wings

Najib says Umno will not abolish wings PDF Print
Thursday, 29 January 2009 15:50

(Bernama) KUALA LUMPUR, Jan 29 - Umno deputy president Datuk Seri Najib Razak said today Umno will not abolish any of its wings as they are important in nurturing future leaders of the party.

"We cannot deprive them of the opportunities to show their leadership potentials.

"If they are not given the opportunities to lead, then there is no way we can develop new leaders," he told reporters after launching the Peugeot 308 car here today.

He was asked to comment on the suggestion by Umno Disciplinary Board chairman Tan Sri Tengku Ahmad Rithaudeen Tengku Ismail that the party restructure its organisation by abolishing its Puteri, Putera, Wanita and Youth wings to rid the party of money politics.

Najib said Umno's structure had been in existence for so long and in the case of Youth and Wanita wings, the two movements had existed since the party's early days.

"Both wings play crucial roles in the party. The Puteri wing was set up several years ago. This is a complete structure. If there are problems related to money politics, we should instead strengthen the enforcement.

"We should also cultivate positive values among members to reject money politics. Both aspects -- enforcement and positive values - should go together," he said.

He also said that to eradicate money politics, Umno should think of ways to carry out party elections effectively.

"But a change in the structure is too drastic and will bring about major consequences. We have no plan to abolish the party's wings," he said.

Asked on Datuk Seri Tajol Rosli Ghazali's resignation as the Perak Umno liaison chairman, Najib said, he had yet to receive the resignation letter.

"We have not made any decisions ... he is only thinking about resigning from the post," he said.  - Bernama

written by volkswagen, January 29, 2009 16:00:37
I totally agree with Najib. In another few years to come, UMNO can set another Wing called Under-12 UMNO Wing, meant for lower secondary students. Later UMNO can form another Wing called UMNO-Kindergarten, meant for the young toddlers. These new Wings are as important as Putera, Puteri, Youth and Wanita because UMNO has to nurture future leaders right from the cradle.

I feel so sorry for YM Tengku Ahmad Rithaudeen. To YM, don't despair, please try again next time, with another new idea.
written by exzonerator, January 29, 2009 16:20:12
Also don't leave out the Rempit Wing.......
written by ez24get, January 29, 2009 16:38:19
How can UMNO scrap its 4 wings? Their mouths have been wide open swallowing easy food for so long. Do you think UMNO can survive so long without giving fat contracts, powers and favours to those puteris-puteris and puteras-puteras. That's why for 50 years there is still no equal distribution of wealth to ordinary malays despite of the NEPs.

Instead of going for solid education at the young age to keep them competitive and enable them to stand on their own two feet later on, the puteris-puteris and puteras-puteras have been spoon-fed with soft food from the sweat and toil of the ordinary citizens.

Despite the so-called NEP helping the ordinary malays, the wealth wasn't even enough to go round the puteris-puteris and puteras-puteras. The nation's wealth has been squandered just on the hungry mouths of UMNO's family alone. I won't be surprised if that is not enough after the puteris-puteris and puteras-puteras, UMNO will sprout a new wing for "toddlers" to join the growing number of mouths to feed.
written by arazak, January 29, 2009 16:42:03
No way Najis is going to abolish those wings! Iy is UMNO's training ground for future robbers and thieves. . .!
written by OVERLORD, January 29, 2009 17:04:28
UMNO can't afford scap it's wings because they have 4 mouths to feed....
written by axppin, January 29, 2009 17:09:43
Told you it is not gonna happen. So typical of Ameno people bullshit. They only dare to suggest something that cannot possibly happen. After that what? Nothing. Business (or rather daylight robbery) continues as usual. So sickening!

written by Liberace, January 29, 2009 17:26:28
If you ask Mahathir, there should also be a Datuk and a Nenek division. What do you call the grandfather of the putera and puteri?
written by jjireh99, January 29, 2009 17:41:19
well, Najib, maybe it's now high time to dismantle it. They are gathering dust after so, so, so long..... Actually, guys, no use cracking our heads as we are blowing hot air into outer space... leave them UmNos alone ....forever....
written by ahmadneil, January 29, 2009 17:42:34
So now I know where Racist mahathir and his gangs learns the art of stealing.
written by mypanida, January 29, 2009 18:08:47
What wings ???
Kamu semua nya ULAR......apaguna ada sayap ???
written by KARMANNGHIA, January 29, 2009 19:07:24
Najib is right. Does it really matter if the Amino wings are abolished at all? they'd all become history in the next GE, it really doesn't matter really, let them screw themselves proper.
written by Angela Ooi, January 29, 2009 21:01:42
Corrupt UMNO is the cause of Malaysia's weak currency vis a vis the Singapoe $. Daylight robbery of our nation's wealth. The only training the Puteri and Youth wings have is to fine-tune their plunderings. These groups cannot be dismantled cos they scratch each other's back.
written by SiHangChai, January 29, 2009 21:44:59
the new UMNO considered those old UMNO veterans as deadwoods and irrelevant anymore to the party. So let the UMNO becomes a gangster and racial party which thanks to the birth of UMNO Putera, mat rempits and the mat minah from Puteri. Najib needs these youngsters to become PM.
written by malaysian, January 30, 2009 00:14:11
Newsflash!

Najis will officially incorporate the Polis DiRaja Malaysia as the 4th Wing of UMNO this March during the UMNO General Assembly.
written by AsamLaksa, January 30, 2009 00:18:51
Liberace, haven't you read that TDM wanted his own 'wing' in UMNO called something like Supreme Advisory Council?

So many sayap but all no use. Why created all this sayap-sayap? Dahlah morbidly obese lebih teruk dari Jabba the Hutt, tambah sayap pun takkan terbang. Minum Red Bull pun tak guna.

Anyway, the real problem isn't about the wings. It's the old fogies at the top that just won't go away. Just take a look at the leader of the Youth wing... dah tua tu! Take a look at the Wanita wing... dah lama duduk sana tu susah nak berdiri.

So what do you have? You have the old wings not opening up to the younger generation. So they came up with Putera and Puteri, in theory giving these young 'uns some voice. Yeah, right. The oldies are too comfy and just won't change the power equation. Any surprises that the one young find the oldies irrelevant? They say you can't teach an old dog new tricks.

4 wings or 20 wings, it won't take off. What UMNO needs is to get back in touch with the people and let the younger ones to rise.
written by aplus, January 30, 2009 02:58:26
How many entities are there now to look into the money politics of UMNO BARU? On the last count, mind boggling 3: the Disciplinary Board, the ACA dusting on the shelves and, drum rolls please, the squeeky new broom MACCaw. None will be able to solve the money politics of UMNO BARU, and I concur with you not even the latest suggestion of Tengku Ahmad Rithaudeen will stand a chance. Do you want to know when the money politics of UMNO BARU will be comprehensively solved? That problem will be comprehensively solved when UMNO BARU/BN loses the next GE.
written by Badrol, January 30, 2009 10:17:57
No, no, no. Don't abolish the youth, wanita, putera and puteri wing. In fact, add more wing. Maybe introduce the bayi lelaki wing, bayi wanita wing and even maybe the tabung mani umno wing.