Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Will PAS turn blue?

Will PAS turn blue? PDF Print
Wednesday, 28 January 2009 08:52

By Wong Chin Huat, The Nut Graph

THE Kuala Terengganu by-election was a relief for many Pakatan Rakyat well-wishers. Not only did PAS win, it went all out to praise the DAP's contribution to the campaign despite the latter's failure to capture more Chinese Malaysian votes.

PAS's generosity is also notable given DAP national chairperson Karpal Singh's open threat to leave the opposition coalition should PAS insist on implementing hudud law.

The DAP has twice left multiethnic opposition coalitions (Gagasan Rakyat in 1995 and Barisan Alternatif in 2001), effectively ending them. So, the positive interaction between PAS and most DAP leaders seems to be an assurance that the Pakatan Rakyat will not be meeting a similar demise anytime soon.

Hence this is the best time for the Pakatan Rakyat, specifically PAS, to do some soul searching. If not, within months if not weeks, PAS and the DAP will trade barbs again — over alcohol, gambling, pop concerts, social ills, and gender relations. In this case, Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) may again find itself caught in friendly fire.

Pro-Umno versus Erdogan?

Where should the analysis begin? Perhaps with a more nuanced understanding of PAS's factionalism.

Factionalism can differ in degree and form. Every party has factions, so there is nothing wrong or astonishing with PAS having them also. What may be wrong — or more precisely, misleading or inaccurate — is the labels that are being used. After March 2008, we were told that PAS has two factions, and it was a case of one naming the other with derogatory intent. The "progressives" labelled their opponents "pro-Umno", and the "pro-Umno" faction labelled the "progressives" the "Erdogans". 

The pro-Umno faction wants a return to a more insular Malay-Muslim orientation, and is wary of Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim's multiethnic political agenda. This is the faction that attempted to negotiate with Umno, post-March 2008, on power-sharing, and comprises the dominant faction in Terengganu, and others like deputy president Nasharudin Mat Isa and Selangor commissioner Datuk Hassan Mohd Ali.

The Erdogan faction, on the other hand, is aligned to Anwar and his new politics platform. They look up to Turkey's moderate Islamist Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdogan as a source of inspiration. Among them are the majority of the party's Kelantan leadership, and leaders from the west coast of the peninsula who won in mixed constituencies, such as Dr Dzulkifli Ahmad, Khalid Samad and Dr Siti Mariah Mahmud.

But look back at the Kuala Terengganu by-election and the hudud controversy, and you will realise how misleading these labels are. In Kuala Terengganu, Umno was defeated by none other than the pro-Umno faction's candidate and core machinery. It is the pro-Umno faction that also praised the DAP and Pakatan Rakyat after the victory.

On the other hand, the hudud controversy was triggered not by the oft-perceived "hardline" pro-Umno faction, but by a top Erdoganite and media darling, vice-president Datuk Husam Musa.

written by batsman, January 28, 2009 09:00:38
Isn't it also time for the DAP to rein in its PAP stooges?
disagree 16
written by SocratesI, January 28, 2009 09:09:25

A few barbs exchanged here and there keeps the democratic movement alive and Pakatan Rakyat on its toes. None of the Parties in the coalition should compromise on their ideals, but they should learn to make such differences work for the Rakyat, and derive strength from these times of "knowledge intercourse" rather than see them as a weakness.

This is one of the main differentials that separates Pakatan Rakyat from the Despotic Barisan Najis, the ability to have differences of opinion and policies, and air them fearlessly, proactively engaging the other parties. In Barisan Najis, it is always the Utterly Moronic Nazi Org.'s way or the highway (Zaid Ibrahim, Bota Assemblyman and many more to come !!).

And that is why Pakatan Rakyat is a much more workable and believable coalition than the out-of-touch Barisan Najis.

written by hellosunshine, January 28, 2009 09:41:21
Pro-UMNO or Erdogan, it doesn't matter, for now. I'm placing my trust on PR based on their joint pledge on 3 parties agreement on all issues or no deal. Please walk the talk cos 'Every move you, every step you take, I'll be watching you.' smilies/wink.gif
written by decapod, January 28, 2009 10:17:21
Why would Wong think that PAS and DAP will trade barbs on these issues? Let's take social ills for example. If DAP initiates measures to counter social ills, wouldn't PAS support DAP and work hand in hand to reduce social ills? Why would PAS and DAP want to promote social ills?
written by zam3886, January 28, 2009 10:27:56
I have no problem with the banning of alcohol or gambling but a large number of others cannot live without them. The ills associated with these vices are obvious and there is nothing wrong with getting rid of them.

I think a better way to stop these vices is through constant education and coaxing instead of an outright ban. Pas may consider promoting the lifestyle aspect of Islam to the non-muslim first so that they can see and experience quickly the advantages of leading a healthy lifestyle; that way the non-muslim will slowly open up their hearts to Pas's ideals.
written by mikewang, January 28, 2009 10:50:24
An important point missed by many in the KT election is that despite the strong visual presence of DAP in this by election, PAS obtained significantly more Malay support.

Congratulations, Pakatan Rakyat. Well done, DAP. Syabas, PAS.
written by mawi, January 28, 2009 11:01:27
Wong, are you saying that DAP are all for gambling, prostitution, social ills , wild concerts and unchecked gender interactions? As I see it, DAP are very much against all of these and likewise, PAS stands along the same line. Theoach may be different but the fgoals is very very common. So all it takes it to joint forces and fight these desease together. Thats all it takes.
P
written by ahmadneil, January 28, 2009 12:00:19
If PAS can be more liberal,they will not only attract the new malays but also the chinese.
written by zam3886, January 28, 2009 12:35:34
I think Pas's hardline image is the result of UMNO's constant challenge to be more Islamic. PR members should be mindful of this tactic.
written by hellosunshine, January 28, 2009 12:44:47
Mawi, you sound like a typical 'holier than thou' type and an ultra to me. Were 'wild' concerts and 'unchecked' gender interactions mentioned by Wong? It's not a matter of 'sins' in your holy book but a matter of personal liberty and choices for us mortals. This country is still a secular democracy. Get down from your high horse. smilies/tongue.gif
written by zanie, January 28, 2009 17:29:38
hellosunshine,
PAS would always promote what is prescribe by the Quran because it is a duty of every muslim to always remind one another to be good and obedient to God. There must always be a party that promotes goodness. According to Islam, drinking is bad and proven bad by Science and muslims must remind others about this, unchecked gender interaction would lead to vice, so women are reminded not to mix with other gender freely. That is what is done by PAS as a muslim party and if you like to do those things it's up to you but reminding others is what PAS is obliged to do.
written by hellosunshine, January 28, 2009 19:05:46
Zanie, yes please do that to your fellow Muslims but don't go on the streets and start protests to ban this and that as it deprives the non-Muslims their rights even tho' we may not be smokers, gamblers, boozers or sex maniacs. Chinese saying 'River water does not bother well water'.
BTW, small amounts of red wine has been proven to be beneficial to your health. You should try it.
Why always the women need to be controlled and not the men and why must interaction always lead to intercourse only ah? So sex crazy meh? smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by chiongguo, January 28, 2009 19:14:47
I believe that DAP and PAS do have the same objective and i.e. to reduce the evils of gambling and drinking on society. PAS believes that an outright ban should be the way as it was the commandment of God and is unquestionably wise. DAP on the other hand believes that there is a higher value to adhere to and i.e. to respect the rights of the individual to personal choices of lifestyle preferences. Isn't this value of personal choices also taught in Islam ? Islam do respect the non-believers choice and even went so far as to state categorically that a muslim will defend those rights even from invading forces.

Not everyone believe in a creator God nor in the infinite wisdom of such a God but to push this upon non-believers would be to violate the very wisdom of God in giving human the free will.

DAP and PAS do share a common objective. Let us not be blinded by the means in achieving it.
written by zanie, January 28, 2009 21:12:09
Hellosunshine,

"Allah’s Messenger (peace be upon him) said: “Whosoever among you sees an act of wrong should change it with his hands. If he is not able to do so, then he should change it with his tongue. If he is not able to do so, then with his heart, and this is the weakest of faith.”

Now back to the question. PAS opposes concert when it encourages free contact between genders that would lead to vice. Naturally when women are abstained from mixing freely with the opposite sex, it would hinder men from taking advantage over them, likewise with the men.

To the issue of the red wine, I have this to say to you;" Intoxicants were forbidden in the Qur'an through several separate verses revealed at different times over a period of years. At first, it was forbidden for Muslims to attend to prayers while intoxicated (4:43). Then a later verse was revealed which said that alcohol contains some good and some evil, but the evil is greater than the good (2:219). When bad overcomes the good, then it is forbidden. It's that simple.

PAS
written by hellosunshine, January 28, 2009 21:55:56
OK, I accept your line of thought for the Muslims but why protest and oppose concerts by female international artistes which foreigners and non Muslims would like to attend and appreciate the music and atmosphere. Come out with a fatwa lah and ban Muslims from attending but don't deny us our rights with your religious zeal to control the ummah.
Recently, I came across a news article in the Malay language paper, Metro, and it reported that teenage Malay girls in tudungs as young as 14 were having 1 or more sexual partners and had no qualms about having lost their virginity. Must be they had attended 1 concert too many huh? smilies/shocked.gif