Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Clock starts ticking for Najib, while Anwar basks in the glow of KT and Bota

Clock starts ticking for Najib, while Anwar basks in the glow of KT and Bota PDF Print
Tuesday, 27 January 2009 09:47

As the moon waxes and wanes, so too have the political fortunes of Deputy Premier Najib Razak and Opposition Leader Anwar Ibrahim. But with the latest shock defection of a prized Umno assemblyman to keADILan, a key turning point may have been hit. Attention is now firmly back on Anwar and what next he has to unveil, while Najib faces the music from his own party …

Wong Choon Mei, Suara keADILan

Whether he chooses to admit it or not, pundits say the political clock has begun ticking for Najib Abdul Razak, even before he takes over as the country’s sixth prime minister in March.

They point at Sunday’s decision by Bota assemblyman, Nasaruddin Hashim, to leave Najib’s Umno for keADILan, the party led by Opposition Leader Anwar Ibrahim.

“This is a direct consequence of the Kuala Terengganu by-election defeat at the hands of the Pakatan Rakyat coalition,” said a veteran political watcher.

“KT is a core Malay heartland and the loss is starting to create the sort of reverberations in Umno that some members have been expecting, but were afraid to say out loud. There can be only two outcomes for Umno and Najib now. His ouster and the party’s re-birth, or his survival and the party’s demise.”

In top-level politics since he was 22, the 55-year old Najib is perceived by many to personify many of the ills that have brought down the once-mighty party. Umno has been increasingly shunned in recent years by younger-generation Malays for pushing a cocktail of corrupt and elitist politics.

Despite being the campaign director for KT, Najib was quick to distance himself from the loss, and sees Nasaruddin’s defection as a one-off incident.

“These are all rumours. I don’t think so,” he said, when asked if this could be the tip of the iceberg. “It is not right to abandon the party because of personal problems or dissatisfaction at a time when the party needs our support.”

Nasaruddin, however, paints a different picture, pin-pointing “the situation that exists now in Umno and its leadership” as a main reason behind his move.

“This decision was taken after a long study and consideration of the public’s interest in general, especially my supporters and voters in the state assembly area of Bota,” he said.

Contrasting fortunes

As Najib’s star begins to lose some sparkle, arch rival Anwar is resurgent.

The opposition icon, who led Pakatan to a historic performance in the 2008 general election by winning five of the nation’s 13 states, had suffered a setback when he failed to follow through on a promise to topple the Umno-led Barisan Nasional government by September last year.

But with the KT win underscoring the still-growing faith Malaysians have in him, the 61-year old former deputy premier is confident of being able to attract more BN leaders to the Pakatan fold.

“Now the Ox has come in, just be patient… we are working hard just like the ox,” Anwar said at KeADILan’s Chinese New Year open house in Klang.

Indeed, KT and Nasaruddin’s defection - both occurring within the same month - are sweet victories for the Pakatan coalition comprising KeADILan, DAP and PAS.

Subjected to an intense bout of bad press from the BN-controlled media, the trio has had to fight off a string of speculation, including talk about an imminent bust-up over ideological differences and political incompatibility.

“The decision of Nasaruddin is critical, reflecting the sentiment of his voters, primarily the Malays in his constituency,” said Anwar, adding that it also reflected the “beginning of a new wave” for the Pakatan.

Najib courts non-Malays

Meanwhile, Najib is trying hard to make up for his declining popularity within his own community by winning over the other ethnic groups.

In particular, he has taken pains to court the Chinese community through the MCA-controlled newspapers by portraying himself as a dependable and moderate Malay leader

He is also trying to reach out to the Indian community, taking an interest in the latest flare-up over alleged police brutality against a 22-year old suspect - Kugan Ananthan - that resulted in his death while in custody.

Yet, barely three months ago, Najib was at the peak of his popularity, sweeping the Umno presidency uncontested during party nominations in November.

He was also perceived as being in the group that manoeuvred Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi into accepting responsibility for the 2008 general election debacle and agreeing to early retirement.

Najib’s supporters had then justified Abdullah’s ouster by claiming it was the only way to snap the Umno-BN losing streak. They also said Najib was the only viable choice for both the Malays and the rest of the nation.

According to them, Najib “is the one who has the numbers”. But the deterioration has not stopped and ironically, it may be his days as the top gun in Umno that are now numbered.

“Umno was defeated even in its own long-held bastion. The loss of Kuala Terengganu shows that the people are now starting to reject the leadership of Najib,” said Anwar.

Comments (42)Add Comment
written by krising1, January 27, 2009 10:02:06
Go Najib Go before you are kicked out unceremoniously! Don't shame the good name of your father. If you want to be thick skinned and thick skulled like Toll Samy, then wait and be kicked to high heavens. A collective Malaysian kick!
agree 272
written by hellosunshine, January 27, 2009 10:02:21
Frankly, I have reservations on wooing over those UMNOputras over to PKR. Can leopards change their spots and their predator behavior? I think not.
agree 191
written by Dominic, January 27, 2009 10:06:00
Najis,you want to court Chinese votes ? Simple. First, solve Altantuya murder first and make sure the acutal culprit is bring to book. Am sure you know very well whos behind the killing . Next,make it compulsory to gag MP from uttering seditious remarks especially towards the Chinese and Indians . We dont need promises but real action. Just these two simple request. To Dsai,set the momentum and let PKR take over the stewardship as soon as possible.
agree 251
written by Liberace, January 27, 2009 10:07:24
Clearly, humility is a word that has never made it to Umno's vocabulary. It is beyond them to admit that they have failed.
written by blackpea, January 27, 2009 10:08:29
Najis, let me as a ordinary rakyat, UMNO and its leaders and members is an arrogant, elitist, racists party. Now you want to court the Chinese and Indians ahh.

Did you remember that long ago you said you want to bath the chinese blood with your keris ahhh.

Did you remember your Ahmad Said call the chinese Pendatang.

Did you remember the UMNOputras told the chinese that they can go back to China, if we dont like the way UMNoputras rule this country.

Did you remember how the UMNOputra always threaten the Chinese and Indian in this rakyat.

Remember all those and until you come back to earth and admit to all your crimes and then maybe we forgive you.
agree 252
written by Angela Ooi, January 27, 2009 10:08:50
Woe is Malaysia if Najis the LIAR PANTS ON FIRE, is the best we can do for Prime Minister (the others currently running for the top posts in UMNO are no better). Continued lies will not help the change of tide coming in to dump him and his ilk into the South China Sea. Yeah the wheels of change are a chugging n turning!
written by axppin, January 27, 2009 10:23:27
"Apa sudah jadi Sarippp?" Dulu kata macam-macam kat Pak Dol. Kononnya suami Rose ni saja la bole jadi penyelamat dan harapan masa depan. Now how?? Tu la kann. Percaya sangat kat cakap tok sami. Serves you all right, you United Morons.

written by DamnPekcek, January 27, 2009 10:28:15
Hi krising1, u sure that najis' father name really that 'good'? Have u read 'Story behind 513'?
agree 115
written by kota marudian, January 27, 2009 10:40:14
If the Malaysian politicians were there to serve the country none of this would happen. Politicians need a code of ethics before anyone else. The best politician I have see of late is the PAS leader. Telling his men to be modest in victory is so gentleman. If all the guys were to learn some grace they would not hang on to their positions like someone hanging on to life. Samy Velu is a great example of someone who just thinks of himself and will drag the whole party down with him. If he was a little bit of a professional politician he would let go gracefully. What to do ? Malaysian politicians can't see Malaysia or its people in their career.
written by Badrol, January 27, 2009 10:41:03
The ox has come in, for pakatan next would be the bull run.
written by budakindia, January 27, 2009 10:46:47
Let's just see where his mouth is when 3 more defected to Pakatan! smilies/grin.gif
written by loosecannon, January 27, 2009 10:46:55
Anwar should take it slowly. Let Umno and BN continue with their self-destruct mode. There is no doubt that it is happening and we are witnessing the final curtain coming down. So do not try to entice BN electives to cross over by offering all sorts of incentives. Once they can't get the freebies, they will become the destructive elements within, a Trojan horse for PR. Welcome only those who are sincere in serving the party and the rakyat without pre-condition. The rest can go into oblivion with BN. It looks like the RAHMAN prophesy is coming to an end. RAHMAN- RIP, and none too soon.
written by DontPlayGod, January 27, 2009 10:57:57
Najib, you want to win over the Chinese and Indians? Here's my suggestion. One, explain your call to the UMNO Malays to kill the Chinese(who happen to be UMNO's partner) when you were the UMNO Youth chief. Second, why did you call for the NEP to be extended forever? Thirdly, ask for the DPP to call you up as a star witness in the ongoing Altantuya murder case to clear your name if you are truly innocent, other than that, no matter what you say, there will always be a dark cloud of suspicion hanging over your head.

Prove your mettle by coming out in the open by confronting all the above three issues, instead of remaning quiet and evasive. You cannot be a great leader by remaining quiet and evasive.
written by ahmadneil, January 27, 2009 11:01:37
Najib,don't forget,'He who laugh first laugh last'.
written by ahmadneil, January 27, 2009 11:06:55
From now on,every defeat for umno will shorten Najib grips on to power.Every victory will only be temporary, for all of umno's victories are bought with money while PR's victories are a genuine show of support from the rakyat ,who are thirsty for change.
written by muhammad sabri, January 27, 2009 11:11:34
Najib need to denied all their losses, but we as PR supporter should work together to make sure that najib have to denied again and again and send DSAI to Putrajaya to save Malaysia for us. We new Malaysian has to work hard also! smilies/wink.gif
Happy Chinese New Year.

written by *********, January 27, 2009 11:55:12
The case of Kugan.

The marks on his neck are suggestive of having had some wire or cord tightened around his neck.
I hope the autopsy included careful full dissection of his neck,because in cases where a person is strangled to death, often the Hyoid (a small bone in the neck) is broken.
Using a broken Hyoid bone as evidence of strangulation was taught to myself and my classmates by a professor who was known for his forensic skills...More http://*********.********.com
written by PakPandir, January 27, 2009 11:59:52
Also remember that the national wealth that were stolen , but made legal , from the rakyat in a number day-light robbery defence purchases ?
Malaysia semua boleh .... under the defence ministry that the PM to-be helmed.
written by kclim2, January 27, 2009 12:51:41
What is this Najis talking about? Can we trust him? not a word at all!
written by amjoem, January 27, 2009 12:55:13
The choice of a PM should be by a popular vote.
Who would be the PM by popular choice if the following 6 are put to a popular vote:
1)Najib; 2)DSAI; 3)LKS; 4)Nik Aziz; 5)LGE; 6)RPK?

LET US VOTE HERE!

Mike

written by arazak, January 27, 2009 12:55:50
The young Malay generation perceived UMNO as thieves who had robbed their parents' money and wealth. They will not touch UMNO with a 10 foot pole. In fact, it is payback time to UMNO for robbing their parents. The young Malay generations are now voting for the opposition and had vowed to crush UMNO into oblivion . . ., no matter whatever it takes!

UMNO is dead organization walking. . ., it's days are numbered!
written by amjoem, January 27, 2009 12:56:26
My choice : Raja Petra

Mike
written by harmanamri, January 27, 2009 12:57:57
Write or talk to your MP and ADUN, if he/she is from BN to make the change to PR now!! NOW!! Or it might be too late for him.......
written by eloofk, January 27, 2009 13:09:29
Najib, you reap what you sow. UMNO has been preaching divide and rule policy for umpteenth years. Threatening the chinese minority race with your kris weaving speenches, marginalised the indians by witholding their rights to citizenship etc., the list goes on.

Now sensing that you're losing the support of the minority races, you're now using enticements by using the ratyats money by promising them all the goodies you made during the PP and KT by-elections. Looks like you'll be falling further into oblivion to alienate your malay-muslim brothers and sisters by wooing the chinese, indian and other minority races.

By playing on the politics of race, religion and even languages, this is we you've got. You have divided yourself and your mafia goons with the ratyats.
written by sorosapril, January 27, 2009 13:40:27
Najib has always been the director of election for BN and yet no one blamed him for the losses suffered by BN even the GE last year, he was the director of election, other than RPK who said he should be responsible, no one seemed to say the same thing especially those in UMNO.

Don't understand what those in UMNO think he should be the next PM when the post should be accepted by all Malaysians and NOT only those in UMNO, it appeared to me those in UMNO are all blind, could not see the writing on the wall or could not read the general feeling about Najib at all. otherwise how do we explain the numbers of nominations received by him to secure the Presidency of UMNO?

if the KT election is indication of Malay voting against Najib, then how did he manage to win nomination?

and those in BN parties did not even raise any voice about the credibility and suitability of Najib being the next PM.

RPK, some one said u have stopped writing about Corridors of Power and lately I could only see posting of others being posted in Corridors of Power instead of those earth moving articles of yours, what is happening? your source of information dried up or u are just holding back before u strike the final blow?
written by Super Admin, January 27, 2009 14:18:02
sorosapril, RPK now writes DAILY in his NO HOLDS BARRED column and the articles are more pedas. In fact, many of his NO HOLDS BARRED article are about the goings-on in the corridors of power. Read today's article.
written by coolandy, January 27, 2009 15:16:31
Najib has to do whatever it takes to be the next PM to save his own skin at the expense of UMNO's demise specifically and BN in general.

BN has too much vested interest in the money printing machine controlled by its leaders. MIC is still dreaming of past grandeur and MCA is still in denial. GERAKAN already in the coffin with the last nails to be hammered in.

Let's welcome a new dawn ala OBAMA.

Hidup RAKYAT and rakyat in these present day means Pakatan Rakyat.
written by Come clean, January 27, 2009 17:11:19
BN's clock, whether it is under Pak Lah or Najib, is ticking louder by the day, and who knows the year of the Ox may become the harbinger for its demise. Go for it, PR!
written by my oumrie, January 27, 2009 19:57:15
Krissing 1 said "Go Najib Go before you are kicked out unceremoniously! Don't shame the good name of your father."

What good name? Have you read the book May 13 by Kua Kia Soong?. Obviously not otherwise you know that his father not only orchestrated it, he had everything under his control the whole time and blamed "Communists" for the unrest. Ptui!
written by Semut Jantan, January 28, 2009 02:59:22
The nation is still waiting to hear who deleted Altantuya's immigration record?
Who authorized him/ her to delete it? Najis, don't tell me your hand is clean.
Who authorized C4 use? Najis, why are you so quiet?

Abang RPK, I am sure you have leads and answers to these questions.
written by Semut Jantan, January 28, 2009 03:07:56
According to selective memories of Toon, the C4 wrapped itself unto Altantuya's body.

Toon, I GERAM SAMA YOU. You are shielding your "protege", you are equally guilty.

How could you Toon? (How could you even conceive of an idea that DSAI inflicted the injuries upon himself in 1998?) If you are still the PM, you would agree with the police that Kugan just dropped and .... I GERAM SAMA you Toon. GERAM, GERAM, GERAM!!! Tahu tak???
written by sueteh, January 28, 2009 09:02:29
I have this soalan for Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim. You are so busy trying to get those MPs from BN (UMNO, MIC, MCA, Gerakan) to defect to Pakatan, am I correct?? But all this while, this BN are famous for corruptions and tak buat kerja.

Is it not you are importing these ex-BN corrupted and tak buat kerja into Pakatan? So, APA BEZANYA?? What is the difference? Do you honestly think or dare to assume that once any MP defected from BN will change overnight?? You are just transferring penyakit/diseases into Pakatan!!!!!

DSAI, what is the beza??
written by 1eyecls, January 29, 2009 21:41:36
WHY ALWAYS ALTANTUYA'S CASE?what about lingam-video-clip scandals?any bigshot being prosecuted?or the UMNO asked the AG to drag as lomg as possible untill the poor ordinary malaysians have forgotten it? smilies/angry.gif
written by 1eyecls, January 29, 2009 21:45:28
DONT FORGET THE LINGAM-VIDEO-CLIP SCANDALS,BIGSHOTS LIKE EX-CJ,VINCENT,MAHASHIT,ONE UMNO TOP GUN,DONT LET THEM SCOTFREE!!!
written by Yikes, January 30, 2009 20:49:16
hey guys, i been wondering.

each time we read in the papers or even as reported on news.
"biggest drug bust for 2007"
"biggest drug ring ambushed"
"biggest money printing scheme wiped out"
"biggest illegal gambling centre raided"

not even once, we will hear a follow up report.
not even once, we hear any story of a trial or whtsoever.
not even once, we have the benefit of knowing who is behind it.

now if there was a huge ass drug dealer bust i wanna know who ran it.
same goes for the gambling centre.
i want name and photo and follow up on the trial made public.

very very suspicious.
thats why i say, behind every criminal activity in msia,
is someone with a high ranking or absolute power.
yes lets do wayang kulit police you come ambush us yes we report it and all.
wht happen later is belakang cerita la.

how come like that one?

in msia everything is wayang kulit la.
written by nanyangren, January 30, 2009 21:41:23
May 14 should be here pretty soon.....
written by Milo, January 30, 2009 22:09:21
Priority No: 1 - CHANGE THE GOVERNMENT FAST!

If defection is a necessary mechanism, so be it. There is no rule that says: Defection is ALWAYS IMMORAL. It depends on the underlying purpose of the action. What is so immoral about defecting if the defections will save the country from a corrupt government? I say it is even more immoral to keep them in power! DSAI, just change the government as soon as possible.
written by born2reign, January 30, 2009 22:19:58
Najis, I'll forgive you for your desire to bathe your keris in Chinese blood if you are willing to demolish NEP and Biro Tatanegara.

Otherwise your talk is cheap, like your C4 lady pleading for donations for Gaza victims..so ironic, an unrepentant murderer telling others not to murder.
written by tiatpoh, February 04, 2009 18:19:02
I think they had been treatened by C4 to defect!!
written by apanama, February 06, 2009 13:30:46
the writer appears to be fooled. nasaruddin is umno's TROJAN HORSE.
this story cited political pundits and veteran political watchers?
get real. come on!
written by apanama, February 06, 2009 13:38:46
FIRST, for pakatan to accept turncoats like nasaruddin with open arms. this is political dumbness of the highest order. the PR, though led by seasoned campaigners, are so amateurish when dealing with UMNO and BN.

i keep saying this: they get swallowed by every agenda set, dictated, thrown at them by UMNO and BN. for once you PR Fools, just go about and set the agenda. go rock the boat. you only have 4-5 years. do the BIG THINGS. don't get fussed up by small issues at the municipal councils, AJKK in kampungs, etc.

GO ROCK THE BOAT!