Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Study: Umno defeat in KT caused by members’ spite

Study: Umno defeat in KT caused by members’ spite PDF Print
Monday, 26 January 2009 15:14

(The Malaysian Insider)  – As many as 3,000 Umno members or supporters in Kuala Terengganu may have abstained from voting during the recent by-election – in protest against the choice of Datuk Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh as the candidate, and as a result of factionalism in the state.

This startling information was thrown up during a study by Umno following the defeat of its candidate to Abdul Wahid Endut of Parti Islam SeMalaysia (Pas) by 2,631 votes. Some 79 per cent of the electorate turned out to vote, down from the nearly 83 per cent during the general election in March 2008.

Umno officials were surprised at the lower turnout on Jan 17, believing that they would have retained the parliamentary constituency seat if their party members and supporters had come out in full force.

Even Pas had said any turnout more than 85 per cent would be in Umno’s favour.

Since then, an internal survey has shown that some members boycotted the polls because of factionalism in the party. They did not agree with the choice of Wan Ahmad Farid as the candidate because he was perceived to have been:

a) Unfriendly to Datuk Razali Ismail, the popular incumbent whose death from a heart attack made it necessary for the by-election to be called.

b) Close to former Terengganu Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Idris Jusoh. This was an issue with supporters of the current MB, Datuk Ahmad Said.

c) Aloof.

This is not the first time that Umno members have been prepared to see their candidates fail in an electoral contest with the Opposition over internal issues.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi blamed internal sabotage as one of the major reasons why seats fell to Pakatan Rakyat in the Malay heartland in Election 2008.

He noted that party members were unwilling to rally around candidates selected by the national leadership, preferring instead to show their displeasure by not voting for the Umno candidate or not going out to campaign.

Abdullah and other Umno leaders warned party members that if they continued to adopt this approach, the Opposition would continue to make inroads in territory held by Umno/Barisan Nasional.

The message was lost in Kuala Terengganu. And yet it could have been worse, much worse.

Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, in a posting on his blog, said that he held back publishing a damning article on Abdullah and Umno in the run-up to the by-election for fear of being accused of influencing how the electorate voted. He posted the article six days after the by-election.

Dr Mahathir noted that Umno had lost its way, with members no longer putting the party’s struggle above everything else.  He took aim at his favourite target – Abdullah, rattling off a litany of accusations against him, his son-in-law Khairy Jamaluddin and his team of advisors.

He noted that, under Abdullah, Umno had become so weak that other races were openly criticising the political party.

“After being chastised, Umno leaders apologise and bow down to their critics. On the other hand, when Umno members criticise other parties, they are suspended,” he said, referring to Penang Umno warlord Datuk Ahmad Ismail.

“All the signs point towards Umno being defeated and destroyed in the next general elections. Just because I was a former Umno leader does not mean that I must continue to support Umno,” he said. “Umno has now become a party owned by the corrupt.”

Imagine how damaging this article would have been if it had been posted a few days before the by-election.

written by biggun129, January 26, 2009 15:28:47
Even though you are the member of UMNO, unless they paid you handsomely for your vote,and if so, you can have the money and vote anybody you like, you dont have to vote for Najid, if Najid recommeded you to secure Government Project, because you vote or dont vote, you still have to pay the lobby fees for the Project!As long as BN still retained 51% of Parliament's seat, for all the by-election, the people should vote the opposition! so that BN give our money to us, and we vote for the alternative! Win-Win situation!!!
written by malaysian, January 27, 2009 00:12:25
Actually UMNO just ran out of funds to bribe the damn voters like they always did!

With the economy so bad, all Petronas revenue go directly for the maintenance of their two towers that reach the sky, crystal/diamond mosques; and other white elephants that made certain party leaders rich.

Even bribes offered for the 12th general elections not settled yet, still IOU!
written by Sinewy, January 27, 2009 01:51:52
If this is how the mentality of UMNO think tank works, then UMNO is really living in a self denial mode. Really they are a bunch of katak di bawah tempurung. They deserve to rot and die in the future because of their unchanging arrogance and racist attitude.
written by gundohing, January 27, 2009 06:50:33
So that's where the 3,000 phantom votes numbers were added from making the turnout jumps from 70% to 79% during the last hour of polling despite the massive traffic jam created by the police. Well done UMNO think tank!

written by evaangel, January 27, 2009 06:53:49
He noted that, under Abdullah, Umno had become so weak that other races were openly criticising the political party.

“After being chastised, Umno leaders apologise and bow down to their critics. On the other hand, when Umno members criticise other parties, they are suspended,” he said, referring to Penang Umno warlord Datuk Ahmad Ismail.

Huh?????

Surely dementia isn't setting in....

written by gundohing, January 27, 2009 06:57:19
"Abdullah and other Umno leaders warned party members that if they continued to adopt this approach, the Opposition would continue to make inroads in territory held by Umno/Barisan Nasional."

Party members also warned Abdullah and other UMNO leaders that if they continued to adopt this undemocratic approach, the Opposition would continue to make inroads in territory held by Umno/Barisan Nasional.
written by Rozlan, January 27, 2009 08:47:22
Money is the key factor.A certain group on UMNO siphoned most of the election budget and left others dry..So the issue was/"ada yang dapt banyak dan ada yg dapat sikit walaupun dapat juga.
written by eloofk, January 27, 2009 14:52:47
Yes Mahathir, you are the Mother of all Spiteful UMNO members. By chastising UMNO and Abdullah blindly in public for your selfish and greedy ends, you have inevitably hastened the death of UMNO.

I just wonder why no one in UMNO dare to chastise you.
written by axppin, January 27, 2009 16:49:57
Sudah lahh. Either way pun kalah jugak. Chose someone close to the present MB, the gang from the old one will boycott. Aloof? Is this not the common necessary trait of you lot to be in the club? No lah. The Big Boss in Heaven has so decided that PASti menang. Ingatlah pada Dia selalu dan bertaubatlah sebelum terlambat.