Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Nomura to post 300 billion yen loss?

Nomura to post 300 billion yen loss? PDF Print
Monday, 26 January 2009 08:43

NOMURA Holdings Inc , Japan's largest brokerage, is expected to post a net loss of 300 billion yen in October-December as market turmoil hit its trading business, Japanese daily Nikkei reported on Sunday.

In addition, Nomura also plans to report nearly $2 billion in the fourth quarter as costs related to its acquisition of Lehman Brothers Holdings Inc's operations in Asia, Europe and Middle East after the US brokerage's failure, Nikkei said.

The fourth-quarter loss would be Nomura's worst since April-June 2001, when it began disclosing quarterly results under U.S. accounting standards, Nikkei said.

A Nomura spokesman declined to confirm the report, saying that the numbers in the newspaper were not announced by the company.

Nomura is scheduled to announce is earnings on Tuesday.

The brokerage posted its third consecutive quarterly net loss last October as financial market turmoil led to big trading losses and discouraged companies from issuing shares or making deals. -- THOMSON REUTERS

Comments (7)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, January 26, 2009 09:01:56
I have to punch extra holes in my belt to make it smaller and umno guys are buying oversize belts.
written by ibabonma, January 26, 2009 09:50:12
How come, our banks here are making hundred of millions, even billions. This clearly shows that our banks, with the help of Bank Negara, fleece and rip off the rakyat!
written by SocratesI, January 26, 2009 10:50:17

Very plainly, the local banks are in cahoots with the Utterly Moronic Nazi Org and Barisan Najis to fleece the Rakyat blind. All the local banks are owned & run by UMNOputras. Then there is Damn Zainuddin who has started 10 banks of his own with his ill-gotten gains from the Rakyat, pretending to help the people in Africa, but actually charging exorbitant rates and making obscene margins there !

written by Fart Fart Wah, January 26, 2009 12:13:45
SOMEBODY SHOULD AUDIT............BANK NEGARA..AND HOW THE MONEY IS MANIPULATED IN THE COUNTRY.............BECAUSE THE RINGGIT (BUCK) STOPS THERE.

...LEHMAN FELL, AIG FELL, MADOFF ( SECURITIES FELL)..AND ROUND OUR CORNER SATYAM (INDIA) AND ARE STILL CRASHING..

WHAT WAS AMERICA'S CENTRAL BANK DOING?? SLEEPING???

MAYBE WE NEED TO AUDIT THE AUDTIORS????(BANK NEGARA)

written by Navigator, January 26, 2009 12:13:48
I am sure the Malaysian banks are involved because the then Deputy Governor, Dr. Lin See Yen, once announced in the papers that derivative trading is very safe if you leave it to the experts. Now who are these experts when the Americans find they haven't got a single one themselves. They are all conmen.

We are just hiding our losses. I am not surprised that EPF has lost a big sum. Let's remove the Official Secrets Act and see the truth.
written by asguard, January 26, 2009 14:54:56
Always Malaysian leaders won't say anything till it gets worse then open the mouth... a good example is about the state of economy... last year, the second finance minister keep saying no nothing wrong with malaysian economy, no it can still the global financial crisis... and perhaps you compare to now what they have to say when finally it can be feel, almost down to the crisis only admit! What kind of leaders do we have here in malaysian compare to the opposition parties they knew what is coming while the barang naik is too blind ot see, to hear, to admit that they are in wrong boat!
written by Rozlan, January 27, 2009 09:59:34
Of course Malaysia BN leaders said something about the economy.When the economy boomed they said that is because BN governed efficiently.When theconomic slowdown they blamed others for it such as US recession,Soros etc..

So dont accused them blindly for not saying anything la..