Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow MCA, MIC and Gerakan call for thorough probe into Kugan’s death

MCA, MIC and Gerakan call for thorough probe into Kugan’s death PDF Print
Sunday, 25 January 2009 12:13

(The Star) - Three Barisan Na­­sional component parties have called for more in-depth investigations into the death of detainee A. Kugan (pic) while under police custody, and pressed for swift action for greater transparency and accountability on the part of the Govern­ment.

The MCA wants an independent autopsy to be carried out to determine Kugan’s cause of death while the MIC wants an independent committee to investigate the death.

Gerakan meanwhile called on the Government to review the interrogation procedures of enforcement agencies.

MCA central committee member Wong Nai Chee, lauding Attorney-General Tan Sri Abdul Ghani Patail’s decision to classify Kugan’s death as murder, urged police to conduct a thorough investigation.

“The MCA is aghast over the extent of the injuries on the body of Kugan, who collapsed and died while in police custody.

“We call upon Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar and the Inspector-General of Police to carry out a thorough probe into the detainee’s death,” he said in a statement yesterday.

Kugan died in the Taipan police station in USJ, Subang Jaya, after being arrested on Wednesday for suspicion of being involved in a car theft syndicate.

Wong, who is also the party’s Legal Affairs and Parliamentary Legislation Research Bureau head, added that “if it is found that negligence or assault on the part of the authorities led to the Kugan’s death, immediate and appropriate action must be taken against the culprits.”

MIC deputy president Datuk G. Palanivel, who called for an independent committee of eminent persons to investigate the death, said transparent action by the Govern­ment would bring back public confidence in the police.

“The committee should be em­­powered to look into lockup procedures and closed-circuit camera recordings,” he said.

In calling for a review of interrogation procedures, Gerakan deputy president Datuk Chang Ko Youn said this was to ensure that the use of excessive force was not allowed or condoned.

Death and injury while under police detention were issues that must be tackled by the Government immediately, he said in a statement.

Comments (37)Add Comment
written by rajaphillips, January 25, 2009 12:20:10
Wah, now suddenly all sleeping dogs are awake and barking loudly after 1,500 people have been killed in police lockup over the years. No need, no need, the Indians have woken up and are now fully supporting a more sincere and proactive Pakatan Rakyat. You dogs just go back to your usual stealing, eating and slumber.
written by KTRaj, January 25, 2009 12:22:04
Ya, at least 3 of you have awaken from sleeping.
written by blackpea, January 25, 2009 12:24:11
Now this 3 cock-roach party now trying to be seen doing something, but let me tell you that you 3 is an accomplices to the UMNO Govt who have no glum at doing bad things to the minority rakyat. You 3 will be held accountable for all action done by this UMNO Govt. We will remeber you.
written by alpha100, January 25, 2009 12:24:45
I got no forum to raise this question! My question concern the RM5 billion that Govt has disburse to various authorities and ask them to spend fast. It was meant to help sustain our economy. My question is where is the transparency on how it is spend to help the economy. Who is to ensure that it is properly spend and not abused? Why no BN or PR politician questioning on this? 5 billion is a big sum! Its public fund and we cannot afford any abuse or siphoning of the funds.
written by DreamLady, January 25, 2009 12:25:38
How many tragic deaths inflicted at the evil hands of the police the government wish to keep track before it decides to put a stop to the inhuman treatment against its own citizens???? First is the Attantuya murder case, followed by the death of inmates, and now Kugan, etc.....

You are paid to take care of the rakyat, not to kill them at your whims and fancies!!!!
written by temenggong, January 25, 2009 12:37:14
Better late than never.
written by michaelT, January 25, 2009 12:49:45
MCA,Gerakan and MIC have finally Awaken but not enlightened. Their Mind is still Deluded like the clouds. They should just keep quiet and allow the PR YB's to handle the case with the police.Do not Campur tangan. From the start you have not shown the caring attitude to the rakyat. PR cares. So when you lose in the election dont turn around and say we are ungrateful. Enjoy and enrich your life until the next GE otherwise you wont live to get that opportunity again. You are all heartless to the core.
written by bodohland_citizen, January 25, 2009 12:52:29
BN, your days are numbered. You will never learn a lesson. Time is up, you are your own worst enemy. Your atrocity is beyond the permissable limit. So long guys.
written by onnetline, January 25, 2009 12:52:56
By today's standards, these are write-offs or totally irrelevant 3 Stooges or parties !!!!
Their ' self enrichment ' policy of selling their own ethnic kind behind closed doors meetings are well known through their seemingly eloquent but deceiving speeches.
written by bumiputeri, January 25, 2009 12:55:31
I cant believe my eyes! Oh, MIC, MCA and GERAKAN, suddenly so caring? it took you almost 5 days after Kuhan's death to come out with this statement? Who is more caring? You 3, or the Shit Hamid and The PM and the DPM who have never spoken anything thus far, and the PM is so busy looking into ways of getting back the two Guantanamo detainess linked to terrorism, as if that is so ever important than Kuhan's and 1365 DEATHS in the police custody, or THE GREAT WAYTHAMOORTHY who with the others have all the way through the last 10 years been fighting for justice of the people dies in police custody?

How many of them died innocent, just suspected not actual criminals, how many of them died because the police wanted to silence them? HOW MANY DEATHS before you can open your bloody mouth and speak?
written by Ron, January 25, 2009 13:04:09
THESE THREE RUNNING DOGS OF UMNO ARE PLAYING "WAYANG" HOPING TO FOOL THE PEOPLE AGAIN.THEIR DAYS ARE OVER.GOOD BYE!!!
written by JUST, January 25, 2009 13:14:45
Justice Bao? Father of Reform? Dream on .......... smilies/grin.gif
written by Ratnam73, January 25, 2009 13:40:16
Bro simple..klu mlyu kena tangkap umno ada,cina kena tangkap ada duit mahu keluar,klu india apa ada...mic ada ke ?..faham2 lah bro..polis kena tunjuk jugak diaorg kerja kuat..so siapa jadi mangsa.... smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by kclim2, January 25, 2009 13:55:50
Wow! Look at the running dogs they are barking now. But wait who are they barking at? the victim or the thief? are they for real?
written by ahmadneil, January 25, 2009 13:57:23
What about umno!They are so quiet becos umno is scare to join in this call.As always they are not leaders but followers.
written by anakwatanKL, January 25, 2009 14:00:20
Thinking of humanity. Utter disgust for the PDRM and the BN GOVT. Devils in uniform and high places.

If the fatcat perfect world Govt. thinks itself relevant, why did the suspect die in police custody without being brought to the court of justice? Is it money and the irrelevance of human lives? God help you fatcat perfect world individuals.

Why is there no mention of correctional facilities with programmes in attempt to cure society's illness. They may be mere Indians but they are still our human brothers and sisters of Malaysia. Shameful.

God Bless Malaysia.
written by ahmadneil, January 25, 2009 14:01:51
This fight for the truth does not need umno/BN.They are parties to all the lies propagated by the police and IGP plus Syed Hamid.
Thanks but no thanks.We don't need your help at this hour.PR is more than enough to help us to fight for the truth and this truth will surely prevail.We will not rest until those murderers are brought to justice and sentence.We will make sure that this never happens again.
written by ahmadneil, January 25, 2009 14:05:18
Guys! don't be bullshit by these umno lapdogs becos all they want is to be associated with this 'image building event'.They won't sweat one drop and all they want is to be one of us.If they do join in ,kindly tell them off.Surely we don't need them!
written by KingSolomon, January 25, 2009 14:18:22
Even MCA has joined in the chorus! Only Amno is conspicuously missing. And yet Amno top leaders have been talking about re-inventing, reforming, transforming ....

Kerishamuddin and KJ should lead Amno Youth to protest in front of Bukit Aman and burn the police flag. Otherwise the rakyat will still think they are incapable of changing for the better.
written by Kunta Kinte, January 25, 2009 14:42:03
MIC, MCA & Gerakan just don't want to miss the boat this time around.Unlike UMNO who only keeps harping about they must change for the 'WOW' factor. Hope these people are sincere though and doing this for their own political mileage.
written by T Square, January 25, 2009 15:16:14
The fact is MCA, MIC and Gerakan were rendered irrelevant after the election.
The real battle is now between UMNO and PR.
The rest were just putting up a side show or supporting act.
Totally irrelevant.

UMNO has not even uttered a single word on this unfortunate incident.
If those minor parties want to make themselves relevant, then leave the gravy train BN and try to stand on your own two feet.
The perception which is also the truth is as long as they stay in BN, then they are there for the money.
Prove your pedigree by staying out of BN.

Samy even resort to sacking his challengers within MIC, much the same way TDM got rid of Anwar.
Sad bunch of irrelevant losers still trying to make themselves relevant.
Guys, Bush is gone, we have Obama now.

written by novrising, January 25, 2009 15:52:39
Brother Mafiaa,

I wish you are not a Malaysian. I hope you are you ARE one of those foreigners that sees Malaysia as a remote land in "somewhere along Indonesia" (trust me I have seen quite a few with that perception). BECAUSE NOTHING ELSE WOULD JUSTIFY THE QUESTION THAT YOU ARE ASKING. Are you that blind, that you CANNOT comprehend the state of policing of this country????Are you genuinely asking or are you rubbing in a little bit, huh??

Peace,
Novrising
written by glock17, January 25, 2009 15:57:06
Please also check whether such atrocities have happened in the past on some of the suspected detainees.

Its high time...and the time is NOW!
written by yellowkingdom, January 25, 2009 16:12:03
I'm saddened that another death at a police lock-up. How many deaths will it take before the govt. wise up and implement the IPCMC? This is clearly another case for the need to uphold the findings of the Royal Commission and sunstantiate the money spent on the commission. Pak Lah must heed the strong call for the immediate implementation of IPCMC from the nation.
written by ultraman, January 25, 2009 17:36:38
Aiya, MCA, Gerakan and MIC , you all terlambat.
Before you all never spoke up. Now just predtending to be brave, eh!!!
I don't trust them!!!
written by chanatak, January 25, 2009 19:21:22

As usual, these 3 UMNO eunuch dogs took so long to come up with this call. These 3 cowardly parties lack the gumption to make any noise until they see that there are enough of the rakyat making a clamour. MIC is the biggest coward. Any Indian who continues to stay in MIC is a traitor to the tribe, and the rakyat.

Too late for you to make any political profit out of this case, you cowardly dogs. We have taken it against you already for staying in the shadows until now. Too bad we are smarter than you.

written by ksmaniam, January 25, 2009 20:04:07
Well see if who is able to go through this thing the whole way until the end.
Everyone wants to join the publicity wagon, but who will make sure Kugan did not die in vain. I know the PR people will ensure that justice is done, but will the others there do so too or will they change their stance after a while. ....let us see...this...
written by ganbing, January 25, 2009 22:13:24
Look at these 3 BN lapdogs. Are they part of the govt or not? Issuing statements like this shows that they are NOT actually part of the govt in the real sense of the word but are just window dressing to give an illusion of multi-racial representation.

Please lah...don't embarrass yourself time and again issuing statements like this calling on the govt to do this and that when you're SUPPOSED to be part of the govt. It shows how impotent you 3 stooges are and it proves to all and sundry that you're not in, you're on the outside looking in just like the opposition.
written by born2reign, January 25, 2009 22:33:06
I am against anyone denied a fair trial in court for the charges against them and against police brutality. However I hope all Malaysians will not view this as a racial thing. Twice when I was in the police station to file police reports against a Malay for white collar crime and another Malay for stealing, they were both bashed up by the policemen on duty. Another time my colleague saw an Indian policeman bash up a Malay suspect in police station.

The police are of a different (underground) world. They hate to go to court and do all those paperwork. So they either shoot to kill or want documented evidence because they know that many suspects who admit wrong will claim they did it under duress in court.

MCA, MIC and Gerakan, you are spineless. Instead of pushing for proper enforcement when you were the govt, voting against UMNO in Parliament when policies are one-sided in favour of UMNO, you just agree with UMNO. Cowards. Another case of Talk is Cheap.
written by Atheist, January 26, 2009 00:21:46
The way I see it .....

MCA, MIC & Gerakan must have mistaken the police for UMNO and protested.

Kugan is not a Palestinian and neither are the Police Isrealies.

Why would a bunch of crooked politicians fight for a dead car jacker when thousands of good citizens are suffering from the lack of their basic rights?

It is all about politics and diverting the people's attention from the real issues ... losses at KT, recession & BN's problems !!!!!
written by romerz, January 26, 2009 02:00:30
As usual a couple of days late since they had to wait and see how their big bosses would play this one out. I guess they took the cue from another one of their pariah breed, the A-G.

No sincerity at all and still playing the old pathetic "neither here nor there" politics of self-preservation. They are even more disgusting than the UMNO bastards!
written by sarawakian, January 26, 2009 02:12:02
does MCA/MIC/Gerakan think they can project an image to the Rakyat that they are caring on this issue? who do they think they can fool with this tactic?

they've supported the BN to this day and the PDRM has become what it is now because these political parties have been silent throughout the years. simply put, the MCA/MIC/Gerakan are accomplice to what has happened and no amount of talk can cover that up.

written by Wakeupmsia, January 26, 2009 02:51:52
We cannot be conned to believe these ANJINGS. Political talk only. Leave BeeN if there's no justice done. Only then, we will drop the term - ANJING -
written by adan, January 26, 2009 10:38:21
The mosquito parties have done their assigned job. .. to bark to show that they are still around and alive! They have earned the REGULAR supply of bones and now can go back to wagging their tails!!
written by Yacob, January 26, 2009 10:49:36
Why MCA, MIC and Gerakan only ? The rest of BN components are still being intoxicated ?
written by NRR, January 26, 2009 15:06:13
While all these are going on, ONE minister threatens TWO Deputy Ministers about how they can be charged for taking part in the crowd at the Mortuary. This so called, self proclaimed spokesman for the govt does not understand a simple fact. A person (even a minister) is innocent until proven guilty. Also only in Boleh land can a minister threaten his colleagues publicly. I cannot wait for the next GE.