Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Leave Herald alone: Dompok

Leave Herald alone: Dompok PDF Print
Sunday, 25 January 2009 11:02

(Daily Express) - Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Tan Sri Bernard Dompok urged the Home Affairs Ministry to let the court decide instead of continuing to "harass" the Catholic weekly, Herald, for using the word "Allah" in its latest publication.

Stating that it was an unnecessary controversy, he said the Home Affairs Ministry should just let the matter rest because it is pending hearing in court.

He was speaking to reporters after officiating at the presentation of the UPSR 2008 excellence awards, uniform assistance and Year Six "Aku Janji" pledge at SK St Theresa, Inobong here Friday.

"Lately, the Ministry of Home Affairs has been harassing the Herald to such an extent that they have to go to court and (now) waiting for hearing," he said, adding that based on comments, including by lawyers, on the issue, the Herald should be allowed to publish as they have done before, pending the outcome of the case.

"It is not for the Ministry of Home Affairs to pre-empt the decision of the court," said Dompok who is also the President of the United Pasok Momogun Kadazandusun Murut Organisation (Upko).

He was responding to the reports quoting Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar warning the Herald that "the show of defiance could cause conflict and anger among other races in the country".

Syed Hamid also said that "if anything happens, then don't put the blame on us" and that he would refer the matter to the Ministry's legal unit.

"There's no reason for the Home Affairs Ministry to kelam kabut (get all excited) to look at this. I think they are using very strong language (against the Herald)," said Dompok.

He added that the Herald, is just a small organisation having a circulation of about 14,000 a week out of the Christian population of about two million and slightly more than a million Catholics in the country.

"It is only being sold in churches so I don't see how it can confuse the people," he said, adding that it had also complied with the requirement of the Ministry to stamp the word "Terhad" (limited) on every edition.

Dompok said the matter would have come up during the premiership of Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad "but I think wisdom prevailed".

He said the usage of the word "Allah" should be viewed from the historical perspective since the terminology had come about when Bahasa Melayu was used by the people even before Malaysia (existed).

He said it was the language used by the people of the Borneo territories (as the) Malay tacit lingua franca, even though English was used in most schools but there were also some schools that were conducted in Malay at that time.

"So religion developed along the line of communications and in this particular village (Kampung Inobong), for instance, I didn't have occasion to use the terminology because sermons and proceedings in church are conducted in Kadazan and "Allah" in Kadazan is "Kinoingan".

"When I went to school in KK La Salle, when I go to church it was in English so 'God' is God," he said.

However, Dompok said in rural areas when the predominance of Bahasa Malaysia came about, the usage of "Allah" became more pronounced, especially after the importation of Bibles written in the Indonesian language, which refers to God as "Allah".

He said the terminology is widely used in Indonesia and also in Arab countries by Christians.

"So it is a universal terminology used in the Christian world when they are praying in their vernacular language. There is no reason for the Home Ministry to continue harassing the Catholic Herald," he said.

Based on reports, Dompok said it was "as though the Herald was trampling on the toes of everybody while in fact I feel the Ministry of Home Affairs is using a sledgehammer to crack a nut in full force to silence the Herald".

"We are living in a country that practices democracy, freedom of religion and that the first principle of the Rukun Negara is Belief in God. People want to belief in God so I think they should be allowed to so," he said.

Dompok also could not believe that people were even suggesting disallowing worship by other religions in Malay.

"I said how can that be? Bahasa Malaysia does not belong to the Malays alone, this is the language of all Malaysians, your and my language.

"So I feel if there is indeed objection to that then perhaps it's time for us to look for a new national language so that there would not be "confusion" among Malaysians," he said.

To a question, Dompok said he had spoken to the Home Minister and brought up the issue in the Cabinet.

"In fact it was the day after the (Federal) Cabinet meeting that they gave back the Herald the license to publish in Malay," he said.

written by IbnAbdHalim, January 25, 2009 11:06:34
Hello Dompok! Tell the Sabahans and Malaysians in general to dump UMNO and everything will be well for all of us regardless of religion or creed.
written by mypanida, January 25, 2009 11:13:43
ALLAH is on our side and there is nothing you can do about it.
written by zonefinder, January 25, 2009 11:20:36
The Home Minister is merely instilling Fear to rationalize his argument which has no basis in the minds of informed Malaysians. Dompok's statement is a voice of wisdom which the bigoted zealots should listen.
Today, the Rakyat will not merely accept nonsense because the BN govt has lost its credibility.
written by Tompios, January 25, 2009 11:22:48
Hamid Albar berdarah Hamas, Hizbolah, Al-Qaedah, Al-Ma'unah dan semua organisasi Terorist Islamic dalam dunia ini. Hamid, yang betul Hamid nama dan benda milik 'Kafir' saja sudah dibuang oleh kaum Muslimin dan Muslimah di negara ini.

Come on Hamid! go and visit our families and neighbours Moslems in Sabah. You can understand how holy they are. They will never eat or use any 'Kafir' foods and untensils. Believe me! Never happened a moslem want to read Christian materials accept those open-minded Moslem. Dompok, you are right. Teach this Yemeni to see Islam in Sabah.
written by sorosapril, January 25, 2009 11:30:45
yes, we should start looking at some other language as national language so that people will be more receptive to the language instead of forcing people to learn a language which is not widely used internationally and which has a lot of shortcoming not to mention it is a language of another race in this multi racial country.

I do not know where it is stated in the Constitution that ALLAH can only be used by muslim and not other religion, it looks like the muslims or certain group is trying to play up race and religion issue to gain support or whatever.

Malaysia appears to be moving backward especially with the present bunch of 'people' running the country and trying to force their opinion on others.

Compared with Indonesia, we are so backward and not tolearance and accetpance of other people's opinion especially those in charge of religion issue, just go to any part of Indonesia, you can buy any DVDs, books and so on in Bahasa Indonesia about Christianity, Buddhism and so on other than that religion called ' Islam".

Why is Home Ministry trying to silent some people pulishing other religions in Bahasa Melayu? are they not confident of what has been taught by their Imam or religion teachers about Islamic religion and find out other religions are less violent and more educative and worry more people will convert from islamic religion to other religions.

I said before, there is either something wrong with Islamic religion which promote violent and revenge by force or there is a wrong teaching and wrong interpretation by the islamic teachers who promote violent and terrorism, I hope it is the wrong teaching and NOT the wrong religion, otherwise how do we explain what is that word again -- JIHAD?
written by Msian Idol3, January 25, 2009 11:39:06
Unfortunately we have a Yemeni Msian that should belong to Tanjung Rambutan. He needs help to get there and we should do the right thing & send him there before this Botak causes chaos with his narrow mindedness & racist true nature. B.Dompok, you are absolutely right.
written by anakwatanKL, January 25, 2009 11:48:20
Syed Hamid, you sound more like a silly than a wise leader. If anything happens, you'll be still accountable since you are not able to lead the people. Come on man, have a backbone.
written by onnetline, January 25, 2009 11:55:26
Moronic bald headed Botak called Shit Hamid !
written by onnetline, January 25, 2009 11:59:46
Allah is definitely not on side of the corrupted and abusive lot !
written by Raja Chulan, January 25, 2009 12:23:52
UMNO does not hold exclusive right to the use of the word ALLAH or Bin or Bint. These words existed before the advent of islam. Please read the Quran, Hadith and al Sunnah.
written by Raja Chulan, January 25, 2009 12:25:53
He who does not allow his miracles to be investigated is a crook,
he who does not have the courage to investigate a miracle is gullible,
and he who is prepared to believe without verification is a fool.
- Dr Abraham T. Kovoor -
written by Alice, January 25, 2009 13:09:05
Yes go for it Dompok! Let's stand up for our RIGHT and stand up for JUSTICE. Why is Syed Hamid Albar so afraid that the Christians are using the word ALLAH? Get out of your tempurunglah Albar! God is God and Allah is God and so what is you and your narrow minded muslims actual problem? What are you afraid of?
written by sumandakk, January 25, 2009 14:17:13
There's a slightly different report of this in Malaysiakini here...
http://malaysiakini.com/news/97096

I really like this (extended) quote:

"I couldn't believe my ears when I heard that some people in this country want to even disallow worship in Malay by religions other than Islam," cried Dompok. "How can that be? Bahasa Malaysia (Malay) does not belong to the Malays – an umbrella term in Malaysia for various ethnic groups – alone. This is the language of all Malaysians. It's your language and my language."

Malay is one of the local languages in the Bornean states long long long before the beginnings of the contemporary concept called Malaysia. Malay DOES NOT belong to the 'umbrella group' called 'Malay' - the language is shared by a geographical region that transcends border & religious dogmas.

Besides, Allah, is not even a Malay word.
written by ahmadneil, January 25, 2009 17:45:20
When Barack Obama was in Indonesia,he too called his God, Allah and now when swearing in ,with his right hand on the Bible,he now called HIM, God.And Obama knows very well that it's the same GOD.
written by SiHangChai, January 25, 2009 19:18:52
Dompok, forget about this. This Zahid minister has issued a statement on RTM1 news about Bahasa Malaysia should be used including the word, "Allah" and that he accused the Christian of having bad intention on this. To hell with this Zahid! Doesn't this means orang asli who only knows Bahasa Malaysia but not english is prohibited from embracing Christain? This Projek Barisan Nasional of issuing IC to orang Asli and declaring orang asli has Muslim shoul;d be stopped. Thousands of orang asli in Malaysia who are not muslim suddenly found themselves as Islam when ICs are issued. Don't bully those uneducated rakyat. Don't use Constitution as a threat as there is non but your own interpretation. Indonesia which is truly 100% Islamic country can even allow the use of Bahasa and Allah in Christian, why not Malaysia? Religion is a self-person own belief, and government and religion authorities have no RIGHTS to determine which faith the person must followed. The government is playing the role of GOD to decide what can be done or not. Remember in Islam, it didn't stop anyone going out from Islam, neither do embracing Islam.
written by us marshall, January 25, 2009 20:43:59
so much of corruption,crime and problems with the economy and all this shit albar can do is talk bout this small issue? thats why malaysia will never ever come out of the deep drain it is unless and until ppl like shit albar are taken off the government! stop being hypocrites or as the muslims call it munafiq. u guys do all the sin under the sun and suddenly the use of the word Allah is a big problem? pls pls pls for heavens sake open ur mind n use some common sense (thats if u have some). most of us in m'sia eat rice but i doubt if u eat rice or sh** cos the way u think and speak is like a damn uneducated fool!
written by Ben, January 25, 2009 22:13:53
Yes, thank you Dompok for putting SHits place. He needs to be reminded he is not the cabinet and should carry out unilateral threats like we sometimes do in our wet dreams. Wake up!
written by needchg, January 26, 2009 01:32:19
halo Si Botak Amid - You are not as learned and pure as the Pope of the Catholic Church. You should get the Pope's opinion on the use of the word because he has met the leaders in your faith in the world. Who are you to comment man!!
written by kahsinaw, January 26, 2009 02:28:35
Allah is great. He will know and understand your intentions and desires. Please find Him.
written by Goodbites, January 26, 2009 08:36:01
It appears that Syed Hamid is in conflict with Herald's decision to publish and is angry over it. He is also not the patient kind and cannot wait for the court's decision. The majority of wise and reasonable Malaysians should not be put in the same category.

The Herald is a small organisation having a small circulation of 14,000 a week. We should thank Albar for giving free promotion and publicity to this publication. Prior to this I was not even aware that there is such a publication. It is now world famous and we should expect an increase in circulation in the near future.

If our elected MP's can emulate Albar's enthusiasm in other more important issues for nation building and racial harmony Malaysia will be a better place. This is the kind of enthusiasm we need from politicians but not the type of issues we should engage.
written by NRR, January 26, 2009 15:19:23
In comes another minister to confuse the whole issue with his own interpretation of the Malaysian Constitution. Zaid Hamidi should go an do some homework and study the constitution and see where it says, what he says it says.
written by lokenpal, January 27, 2009 00:48:07
Herald editor Rev Andrew had said earlier Thursday that he would stop using the word "Allah" but changed his position after talking to his lawyer....Why is he been petty?

It is sad that that the Rev knowing the word offends our fellow Malays can’t forgive, despite having the right. If he is preaching the gospel then does calling it Tuhan or Allah make a difference?

Ok! Is your god different than mine? Born a Hindu I have many Gods; but of course the Church calls me a pagan.

Fish U!
written by gundohing, January 27, 2009 07:59:07
The words Allah has been used in the church's publication even before Sabah joins Malaysia simply because the Malay language is widely used in the neighbouring regions of Sabah, Brunei, Sarawak, Singapore, Malaya and Indonesia. No need to create a political or religious issue over it. UMNO cannot claim the words is to be used exclusively by the Muslim Malays in Malaysia. It is just ridiculous and non issue.