Think PDF Print
Sunday, 25 January 2009 10:30

Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah

I have long said that UMNO and the BN must change fundamentally or become irrelevant. That change cannot wait, as one General Election and two bye-elections have shown us.

The proposals I made last year to democratize and clean up the party were opposed by its leadership. I called for the Party to hold an EGM to reflect together upon the meaning of its losses at the Election and I proposed that we remove quotas for nomination, and scrap the delegate system in favour of direct election to key positions. I said that the party needs to be democratised, after which key party positions should be separated from government office.

Yesterday, we heard from the Prime Minister, all the way from Dubai, about when he thinks the process of change will begin:

written by Raja Chulan, January 25, 2009 10:44:16
I do not care a damn whether UMNO or BN reforms or disappears.
50 years is a very long time in politics. They have taken the country to the dogs. It is time that UMNO and BN is eradicated from the land.
written by anakwatanKL, January 25, 2009 12:13:28
TRH, I commend your loyalty to the UMNO and BN party. BUT you are trying to change people who are definitely stubborn, unwilling for change except how to increase the income and status quo like poor self-esteemed souls, etc. All of which are going away from God's work for the good of the Malaysian community and service.

You need to get away from this group and build yourself up serving the Malaysian people as you see that change is necessary. Personally, it's not defecting or being unloyal but breaking away from these DISEASES of power that is coming to light now. If you are a man of God you'll do what's right for the sake of the the Malaysian public, which is a unique community.

I pray that God guide you and you'll know deep in your heart and mind what's the bottomline.
written by densemy, January 25, 2009 12:24:00
I was under the impression that BN have already made themselves irrelevant

In terms of government for the people they lost the plot years/decades ago. Now its government for the elite and the rest of you can go to hell

Education, Health, the Police and Legal system, work place controls and services of any type are an all time low driven there by neglect and greed. The public Service is almost irrelevant because of laziness and incompetence.

And the people run riot doing whatever they want. The result almost total chaos
written by axppin, January 25, 2009 12:40:34
YM TRH. You may be among the better few to "re-engineer" UNMO and BN. After all a good democracy requires strong opposition right. So triple your efforts. Fast track the reforms. "C4" the deadwood. Only then can BN be ready to claim its rightful place as a credible opposition in parliament. After all, whoever is next in the new government also requires check and balance, right?
written by DreamLady, January 25, 2009 12:56:02
Your highness, Tengku Razaleigh, nasihat you tak laku lah, sampai mulut berbuih pun orang UMNO tak hingin nak ikut cakap kamu. Baik Tengku sembahyang hajat atau doa kuat-kuat somoga syaitan berpakaian manusia berubah sikap buruk mereka.
written by ahmadneil, January 25, 2009 14:42:20
TR,No not yet,they are still defiant and talk with a grinding teeth.Let them taste another few setbacks before they pack up and close shop.The defeat must be slow and painful or otherwise they won't admit that they are defeated.
written by zam3886, January 25, 2009 17:32:24
I think before we begin to recommend changes to UMNO and BN, we just need them to answer honestly one very fundamental question - why are they in politics in the first place.

written by ksmaniam, January 25, 2009 19:43:51
Tengku,
I bet you my last ringgit that UMNO is a political party with so much experience and with smart and intelligent people, however, the point is when will they change, if they change before the 13 elcetion, they may win it, if they intend to change after the 13 GE, then they would have lost it. The ball is in their court. Period.
written by onnetline, January 26, 2009 02:21:36
TR,
Asking thieves and robbers to leave the money jars alone ? Some kind of sick joke or what ???
written by rpremkumar2u, January 26, 2009 10:09:50
I observe that flawed thinking is the issue with Pak Lah and his Deputy. They have long considered themselves monarchs of what they survey. The rakyat don't concur. The rakyat realized that the surmounting challenges can't be solved at the same level of thinking that created them. The rakyat has realized it's not what that happens to the rakyat; it's what the rakyat does when something has happened to them. In many way an idea whose time has come will have the momentum garnered that of a ripple which eventually becomes a tidal upheaval. TRH being elderly statesman and all has been around for a while to have been able to see that UMNO has begun to lose its ability to become relevant. Its really fiction on the part of UMNO's relics to think that it is able to sustain itself. Its a spouse that has renegaded once too many times on its promise to keep a semblance of harmony; its rhetoric. Its becoming a spouse who is on the brink of defiance throwing in everything knowing all too well, its legacy is that of a dinosaur. UMNO is being divorced. PKR is far from perfection. It has demonstrated that as in any household the novelty is in its agreeing to disagreeand this is the preferred where PAS has its right to be wrong and respected. The same for DAP in the same vein. Can Pak Lah or Najib take a challenge to have their face spat on if they fail to bring changes? They will be peed on.