Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow MIC expels Samy Vellu’s challenger

MIC expels Samy Vellu’s challenger PDF Print
Saturday, 24 January 2009 11:14
By Baradan Kuppusamy, The Malaysian Insider

The MIC has summarily expelled former vice-president Datuk M. Muthupalaniappan, who was planning to challenge Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu for the party presidency.

The expulsion means Samy Vellu, who has been leading the party since 1979, will effectively be re-elected MIC president for an 11th term in March.

However, the expulsion ironically clears the way for Muthupalaniappan to join PKR and take thousands of his MIC supporters into the opposition party at a time when the MIC can ill-afford it.

His supporters have been pushing him to cross over ever since the March 8 general election but Muthupalaniappan had resisted the move, telling his supporters the MIC can "rebrand itself."

He refused to comment on his plans but said he was deeply saddened by the summary expulsion.

"I am shocked and saddened," Muthupalaniappan told The Malaysian Insider when contacted today. "This is a farce, a great injustice to the MIC and the Indian community.

"This script (my expulsion) was written by Samy Vellu and executed by Vadiveloo (MIC disciplinary committee chairman Tan Sri G. Vadiveloo). He wanted me removed and I was removed," Muthupalaniappan said.

"I am consulting my lawyers now and will issue a detailed statement later," he said.

A letter signed by Vadiveloo and dated Jan 21 brought the bad news to Muthupalaniappan, a veteran MIC man who had always said "I will live or die with the MIC."

Samy Vellu's term as president expires on May 25 and the party has to issue notices for an election three months before that.

Muthupalaniappan was charged with tarnishing the party's image in several press statements that allegedly disparaged Samy Vellu, damaged the party and brought disrepute.

The disciplinary committee met on Jan 19 and rejected all objections by Muthupalaniappan, a veteran MIC leader having been Negri Sembilan MIC chief since 1985 and also vice-president, and proceeded to question him on his press statements.

He had asked for a three-day extension to bring 15 witnesses, urged Vadiveloo, who is accused of being an interested party, to recuse himself and admit two of his lawyers to act for him during the hearing.

His request was rejected and the inquiry ended in about 30 minutes.

Most MIC insiders had expected Muthupalaniappan to be suspended for a month or two until the presidential election and Samy Vellu safely in the president's seat but not an outright expulsion.

He has a right of appeal and Muthupalaniappan said today he will appeal but insiders said he is likely instead to join PKR and take thousands of MIC members into the opposition.

"He is wildly popular and his expulsion does a great deal of damage to the MIC and the Indian community," said K.P. Samy, a Klang MIC leader who is close to former deputy president Datuk S. Subramaniam.

Muthupalaniappan has two weeks to appeal the expulsion but he is unlikely to be reinstated anytime soon, party officials said, citing recent statements by him as reasons.

"He singled out Samy Vellu in his attacks and the president has decided not to forgive him," the insiders said.

Ironically Muthupalaniappan was instrumental in the rise of Samy Vellu over his rival Subramaniam in the 1980s and was a staunch Samy Vellu man, acquiescing in the expulsion of MIC members in the early years.

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by kingelvis, January 24, 2009 11:19:49
Thank you so much Mic. What surer way to kill off MIC. Remain the way you are and help in anyway you can PKR. On behalf of all PKR fans Gong See Fa Cai.
Thanks again
written by Msian Idol3, January 24, 2009 11:27:22
I like this SemiV. He is the living Emperor in MIC. Please lah, give Semi space. He can be a one man party and he will continue to give us the laughs plus opportunity for us to hurl insults. This is good for us to let off steam & boredom during this recession. Semi is the most thick skin fella in Msia, like an onion too. Anyway, Semi has already plan his retirement to be the one & last standing MIC man. Ha-ha-ha.
written by Joe, January 24, 2009 11:27:51
Samy Vellu, was a low-brow tout, is a low-brow tout, and will always be a low-brow tout.

What kind of person expels the very people who carried them? It is in Samy Vellu's nature to be cruel. He cannot change, will not change.

There is only one way out of MIC for Samy Vellu death by natural causes. May the Devil take his soul and hold it for eternity.
written by ahmadneil, January 24, 2009 11:29:23
Shit Samy.Why are you a coward!You think MIC belongs to to forever.You are the only one who haven't left, after MIC suffer humiliating defeat in 308.Are you so thick skin!Get out of MIC,NOW!
written by Raizzen, January 24, 2009 11:31:25
The Dinasour that lived through Mahathir's era. I say that you freeze the Presidential post for Semi Value, so that you wont have to banish your already diminishing members. lol.

This kinda reminds me of some certain someone's wig. Reigning over the top of some certain someone's head. Halting any attempt of organic hair to grow.

Opps, I digressed.
written by onnetline, January 24, 2009 11:34:47
Pariah Sami Vorlu !
written by loosecannon, January 24, 2009 11:36:21
This is how Samy Vellu maintains his hold on the MIC President position. Anyone who dare to challenge him get booted out under all sorts of pretext.
written by MyBUDAK, January 24, 2009 11:53:38
Gundoo Samy A/L UMNO...
written by johntyc, January 24, 2009 11:54:18
Hey people, give Samy a break. Leave him alone lah. It's his wish to sink together with MIC, Umno and BN to the bottom of the kolam najis.
written by CheGUvera, January 24, 2009 12:29:05
As The BIG Sam will always say(until he is gone)...How can anyone dare to challenge me?? This is My Indian Club.meaning it is my & not up for challenges. Well Done BIG Sam!!
written by TKAL, January 24, 2009 12:46:06
Samy V really has the fighting spirit. He wants to sink together with the party. The captain of the sinking party.

Anyway, I really wanna see him walking with a tongkat in 5-10yrs time talking to the press or giving speech in any of the event. Whew! Then I can proudly tell my kids, this is the one of the thick skin man living on Malaysia land since 70s until 2010s.

Bravo!!
written by krising1, January 24, 2009 13:17:31
Is this outcome a surprise? I hope the "victim" is not contemplating an appeal!
written by harryo, January 24, 2009 14:34:15
Subra, Muthu and others, take all your supporters and move out of MIC and join PKR. But remember toe the line in PKR, understand?
written by Jayvin, January 24, 2009 15:59:02
You can take all your supporters and move out of MIC and join PKR. But remember we do not need another MIC in PR. PR is just enough. Dont bring the same MIC blood to PR.
written by rpremkumar2u, January 24, 2009 16:05:43
Its far better than to challenge the Captain of a sinking ship. Its time for Muthu to come clear to take his followers to another ship, which is going on chartered course with winds of change filling its sails. He kicked Subra or rather made him walk the plank. Subra came to offer him solace after last years Titanic in Sg Siput. All of Samy's hot air was spent and didn't have any breath left to blow out the birthday cakes candles. Oh yes, by the way its nothing personal Muthu old boy. Its just business as usual for Samy and his inner circle. If you had stayed on Muthu, you would have challenged Samy and then brought out into the open all the bad accounting that Samy did to cover his ass and he together with his inner circle would have had to answer all the cover up.
written by kkselvam, January 24, 2009 18:21:56
Samy going to expel everyone who dare to challenge him and finally MIC will end up as a one man party.Let this useless baboon die with MIC.
written by Bama boy, January 24, 2009 19:31:59
Samy you are piece of Shit if you ever come to Alabama your are history please get rid of MIC we Malaysian Indians dont need you no more we got Pakatan Rakyat
written by asguard, January 24, 2009 20:30:46
MIC better change it to Semi No Value PARTY!
written by Susuit, January 24, 2009 21:53:33
Semi Value is MIC
MIC is Semi Value
This two are inseparable for life.
written by mypanida, January 25, 2009 00:05:10
Thank you, Sammy.
You really killed MIC this time!!!
written by Batangkali, January 25, 2009 06:50:46
Shame me Vellu, You are a piece of black shit. Good for MIC as they sink with BN.

If you ever come to Batangkali, we will show you who is the Boss.