Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Scenes in the PJ Court today

Scenes in the PJ Court today PDF Print
Friday, 23 January 2009 16:38

A total of 21 people, including a Member of Parliament (MP), two state assemblymen and a Catholic priest, were charged in the Magistrates Court here with taking part in an illegal assembly and failing to disperse when ordered to do so.

written by boblskee, January 23, 2009 16:53:23
Wow. One very rarely sees such a big group so happy to get charged in court smilies/grin.gif
written by Zym Zym, January 23, 2009 16:56:23
Those who gathered in front of the Magistrate Court as shown in the photos above, isn't that considered as "illegal" assembly? Geez...I think it's time to clean up the BN faeces. It's getting stinkier day after day.
written by Mr Smith, January 23, 2009 17:01:25
One example of sheer abuse of the process of the courts. Wasting manpower, time and resources.
This is victimization!!! The charges will be dropped when Pakatan takes over the government.
Glad to see so many priests there.
written by Dreamlander, January 23, 2009 17:04:03
MT Readers:
(i)The operative phrase missing, as mentioned in Article 27 (1) of Act 344 (The Police Act 1967) is "in PUBLIC PLACES". Otherwise, for a family with more than 3 adult members staying together at home, we have to apply for a permit everyday.
(ii)In Article 27 (5) it mentioned that "any assembly, meeting or procession (a) which takes place without a license issued under subsection (2); or (b) in which three or more persons taking part neglect or refuse to obey any order given under subsection (1) or subsection (3), shall be deemed to be an unlawful assembly,

It was not clearly defined the proximity (separating distance) of members participating in any assembly. Supposed we have 100 small groups of two persons each, all carrying candles, not communicating with one another as if they are complete strangers, and each group of two are separated 10 meters apart but all present at the Civic Centre at the same time. Will such an event constitute an illegal assembly?

We often witness this scene in public places (gardens) with each dating couples, except not holding candles, sitting on benches provided in the parks.
written by SocratesI, January 23, 2009 17:16:24
The message from the Rakyat is clear:- Mansuhkan ISA ! And no Pariah Raja DiMalaysia nor Kangaroo court will stop us doing our civic patriotic duty
written by peter, January 23, 2009 17:18:28
The Nazi Party of Bolehland, umNo is in action.

None of the Nazis participating in this illegal assembly in Penang in 2008 was charged.
written by mikefonz, January 23, 2009 17:21:24
Geez .. Looks like the dogs in blue will have to charge them again for illegally gathering at the courts. Studip law. Don't know if the last funeral we attended was illegal ?
written by Msian Idol3, January 23, 2009 17:30:10
So many beautiful Msians. Obama is closing Guantana & our govt wants to keep ISA. What a contrast in respect of human rights. Thanks guys for standing out for basic Msian human rights.
written by johntyc, January 23, 2009 17:34:28
"An unjust law is itself a species of violence. Arrest for its breach is more so"-Mahatma Gandhi
written by Wudan, January 23, 2009 18:20:31
Woit! Nowadays can eat KFC inside courtroom ah? Kah kah kah! Cheers!
written by ahmadneil, January 23, 2009 19:29:20
Who is that 2 pretty women,smiling as if they works for colgate toothpaste.Even pretty women also join vigils.So next Angelina Jolie will be coming also.
written by SamSan, January 23, 2009 19:39:45
Now I am wondering whether we need police permits for a funeral.
written by est, January 23, 2009 20:21:58
As far as I can recalled, indeed funeral need police permit. The undertaker indeed does get that permit.
written by Richy, January 23, 2009 21:31:26
All these while Malaysia has been giving their lame excuse, pointing finger at USA for having Guantanamo Bay prison thereby justifying ISA in Malaysia. Since Obama has decided to close that what other excuses our government and TDM going to give?
written by macaufan, January 23, 2009 21:35:06
come on lah.... Polis Raja DiUmno,
this people r illegal assembly again @ court compound !!!!
y don u guys arrest them all & charge them again, stupid !!!!
hahahha....... Polis have sucessfully united them(rakyat) !!!!!
hahahha.... TQ !
written by KingSolomon, January 23, 2009 22:06:25
If that is the case, we should hold vigils or pot-luck dinners in police station compounds.
written by magickriver, January 24, 2009 02:26:44
Look at all these smiling Malaysian faces. They belong to some of the nicest people you will ever meet in this country. People who care enough about their country to show up at vigils against barbarity, injustice & gross abuse of power. People anyone would be proud to call friends & who are most likely to lend you a helping hand when you run out coins to make a phonecall or if your car stalls in the middle of nowhere. People who make this nation one of the best places to call HOME!

And yet, the Umno/BN regime labels them as "troublemakers" & street protestors. They paint them as "anti-government" elements who have to be forcibly suppressed, harassed & intimidated. These decent, politically aware & socially responsible folk are the heart & soul & the shining hope we feel about the future we can all share in joy, freedom & genuine kinship... once we abolish the corrupt, greedy & hypocritical Umno/BN regime! The public's response to this misguided attempt by the demented home minister to scare us into sheeplike submission to evil & unjust laws should be to come out in even greater numbers. One hundred, two hundred, even five hundred can be arrested & dragged to the police station - but can they handle 3,000, 5,000 or 10,000? Will they call out the army & declare war on the rakyat?
Folks... 2009 is the year defective governments will be rejected & replaced. We shall generate an even bigger tsunami of disapproval that will sweep away the criminals who would dare attempt to stamp out the spirit of freedom in our souls while continuing to rob & rape & ruin the future of this beautiful land.

REFORMASI NOW!

written by nasilemak, January 24, 2009 03:16:36
I have been so bloomin' far-out unhappy with those BIG SHITHEADS in blue & the even BIGGER turds in gomen that only TODAY, seeing these photos have been the ONLY thing to make my heart burst with pride over what it means to be Malaysian!

SYABAS you all.
thanks for posting pix. Well worth my wait to try to log in from my slow bandwidth!

My prayers to the Universe for you Proud Sons & Daughters of Malaysia.
btw where are the PR people? Were they there to support you guys & also their own members?
written by Highway16, January 24, 2009 03:48:43
Salute to the courageous 21!

Question: Do you have a Police Permit to assemble at the courthouse compound?

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
Your sacrifice will be appreciated by the Rakyat!
written by Sagaladoola, January 24, 2009 12:43:37
Regardless of religion or race, to me everyone charged above is a hero