Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow 21 charged with illegal assembly

21 charged with illegal assembly PDF Print
Friday, 23 January 2009 14:05

(The Star) A total of 21 people, including a Member of Parliament (MP), two state assemblymen and a Catholic priest, were charged in the Magistrates Court here with taking part in an illegal assembly and failing to disperse when ordered to do so.

Petaling Jaya Utara MP Tony Pua, Selangor executive council member Ronnie Liu, Kampong Tunku state assemblyman Lau Weng San, Reverend Father Paulino Francesco Miranda of the Church of Divine Mercy and the rest all pleaded not guilty.

They were arrested on Nov 9 last year under Section 27 of the Police Act for allegedly taking part in an illegal assembly after several warnings to disperse were ignored.

The gathering was a candlelight vigil held at the Petaling Jaya City Council building here on Oct 9 last year to protest the Internal Security Act, among others.

It was organised by the Coalition for Clean and Fair Elections, also known as Bersih.

They face a maximum fine of RM10,000 or a jail term of not more than one year for each charge or both.

Magistrate Rozina Ayob allowed bail of RM1,500 each on one surety and fixed March 10 to mention the case for trial.

written by Rainbowseahorse, January 23, 2009 14:24:14
Ok, so when is the court case fixed to charge all those participating in protest rallies against the invasion of Israel into Gaza? Whaat? You mean to tell me those were not considered illegal assemblies, disruption & unruly behavior in public with burning of flags and effigies?

Whooooh! I think our police is not carrying out their job here, lah!..or maybe I got it wrong regarding laws governing “protest’ without police permits in Malaysia!
written by ellyna, January 23, 2009 14:32:04
So when are the murderers of Kuhan going to be charged?
When are the murderer/s of Altantuya going to be charged?
When are the erasers of Altantuya's immigration records going to be charged?
When are the issuers of the C4 used to blow up Altantuya going to be charged?
When? When? When?
written by Motherchell, January 23, 2009 14:42:02
Malaysia has become a country where rapists , crooks , cronies ,govt bagman , killers, and killer cops live happily ever after , while honest freedom seeking Peoples reps , patriot citizens are filled into prisons .
ts time for the Judiciary to be burnt in Hell !! The King must note this when the Judges read out the promises to keep freedom and justice as the foundation when they stood in front of the King in oath!
Malaysia is dying in shame !!
written by Batangkali, January 23, 2009 15:02:49
To ellyna,

The answers to your questions is, Get the racist and brutal UMNO into the dumps at election time and when Pakatan rule, only then will there be fair justice.
Najis must be hanged for his crime, Razak Baginda must be hanged, Rosmah must be roasted. The PDRM Anging force must be disbanded and sent into the Pig shithole for good. Then only Malaysian of all races can enjoy some peace.

Time to act is now !!!
written by Joe, January 23, 2009 15:13:46
Disobedient civillians are UMNO's bane...
written by Bandit, January 23, 2009 15:14:58
Magistrate with no guts. Maybe an retard UITM graduate...?
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 23, 2009 15:15:53
Batangkal...hehehe...due to high cholesterol, I think Rosmah should not be roasted lah; yah! Steamed Rosmah would be better; wouldn’t you think so??
Plus, have you ever seen the horrible grin on a roasted dog? Believe me, Rosmah’s “grin” would be much, much worse to behold if she is roasted!

Cheers!
written by savemalaysia, January 23, 2009 15:28:28
Malaysia proudly tells the world that it practises parliamentary democracy. But one wonders if that includes arresting, hurting and charging the innocents and harmless who were there merely for a peaceful gathering. The group were absolutely no threat to anyone's life, let alone national security and yet the Home Ministers and Police saw it fit to thumb these ordinary, peace loving and anti ISA people. UMNO loves to flex its muscles by readily and willingly suppressing the people with repressive policies designed to further their own ends.
written by budakindia, January 23, 2009 15:30:42
What about the serial killers of Kuhan and many more deaths in police custody? They die a natural death? Other countries will warrant an investigation in these deaths as it fits a profile of serial killings!

The police is more concerned on illegal assemblies? Charge a Reverend for that? Forbade the use of Allah where it clearly means God in Arabic?

What a nut house! What's next?
written by johanssm, January 23, 2009 15:35:14
To qualify as an illegal assembly, there must be reports made or complains by surrounding residence or surrounding business.But there is none.
A public gathering in a private location NOT an illegal assembly.
But it is not really a public gathering as nearly all the attendees are friends.
It is very stupid for the polis and the A.G. to make any charges , the presiding judge will look like a fool as well.
written by onnetline, January 23, 2009 15:41:20
This set of laws strictly to cater for the general public and Opposition parties only! Barisan Najis gets special exemptions!
written by Delima25, January 23, 2009 15:52:07
The whole issue of justice is a farce in Malaysia. What I can see is a whole bunch of puppets whose strings are pulled by the BN/UMNO puppeteers.
To all those judges out there, do you go to bed each night feeling that you have done a great injustice to the people just because some one up there instructed you to do so. You are not even concerned that they are getting you donkeys to act using 2 sets of laws eg 1 set against the anti-ISA gathering and a full support for the Gaza gathering. If you think the Israelis are oppressing the peole from Gaza, what about the oppression of the people from "lain-lain kaum" in Malaysia by the ruling mob in our country. I have always had igh regards for the enforcers of the law, be they the police or judges but that is all in the past. You have made us believe you are for sale to the highest bidder which in this case is the Mob.
written by ahmadneil, January 23, 2009 16:00:49
Everyday we gather at a park and jog.After jogging we talk about elections and how this gov't is nothing but a liar.This has been happening for quite sometimes already and we treated this gathering a new form of vigil which do not need police permits.So guys we can change the way we hold our vigil.I think we can hold it at train stations,restaurants,shopping centers,playgrounds,parks etc.We must not stop the vigils!
written by ahmadneil, January 23, 2009 16:05:23
When the going get tough, they play dirty!
written by overseaMas, January 23, 2009 16:25:58
Malaysia Royal Police should rename UMNO Royal Police .... shame of you .... I will not educate my young generation to respect these UMNO Royal Police .... borak ...
written by SocratesI, January 23, 2009 16:46:58
How can these good conscientious citizens of Malaysia be charged under an Unconstitutional Act such as the one enacted by the Utterly Moronic Nazi Org. for illegal assembly ??I respect the robbers, thieves murderers and crooks more than the Pariah Raja DiMalaysia, as they are at least honest enough to be what they are ... crooks ! These Pariah RDM pretend to uphold Justice and the Law, when they are worse than the crooks they are supposed to catch, and they commit murder, arrest the innocent, beat up old men, women & children, subvery Justice and support an illegal minority Govt. and a racist one at that
written by debids, January 23, 2009 16:59:32
I think BN just lost more catholic votes for the next GE! They so good at burying themselves!