Kurup failed the voters: PBS PDF Print
Friday, 23 January 2009 12:16

(Daily Express) Kota Kinabalu: Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS) cautioned Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah (PBRS) President Tan Sri Joseph Kurup against overconfidence in notching victory for the Barisan Nasional should a by-election be called for the Pensiangan Parliamentary seat.

"It seems he had forgotten that the constituency has never been won by PBRS in the real sense but was given free to it in the name of the BN spirit," said PBS Secretary-General Datuk Radin Malleh.

The Assistant Minister to the Chief Minister was responding to Kurup's contention that PBS President Datuk Seri Joseph Pairin Kitingan had hurt the BN Pensiangan Parliamentary by-election machinery preparation when he said that the selection of candidate for the BN should not be automatic.

Radin said that in fact, Kurup was the one who did not know how to read the political situation and local sentiment in Pensiangan.

"The voters there want a candidate from the majority Murut community.

"They say that Kurup who had been the Assemblyman for Sook since 1985 until 2008 except for the period between 1999 and 2004 and even though having held the posts of a full Minister, Finance Minister and Deputy Chief Minister, the area remained lagging in terms of basic infrastructure and other development," claimed Radin.

"The voters can vouch for that," he added. Towards this end, he said Kurup should do some soul-searching for the sake of the people's future in Pensiangan as well as the fate of the BN.

"Hence, Kurup should put the interest of the people in Pensiangan and BN before anything else," he said.

written by ahmadneil, January 23, 2009 12:25:53
After KT,Pensiangan Parliamentary seat will be within the sight of PR.
written by boeytahan, January 23, 2009 12:26:12
Come by-election if there's one, I for one would like a bet that PR would take the seat with overwhelming majority. Hope that the by-election is there. The might of Pete and his gang of bloggers would definitely make the job an easy thumping victory!
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 23, 2009 12:39:19
No, no, no! Please keep that PBRS Kurupt and serve him up again to the people of Pensiangan. Then have hospital staff on full alert & on standby to attend to mass vomiting due to food poisoning from stale politicians.

PKR will have to do what PAS did in KT…i.e. carry out in-depth sturdy NOW to identify a suitable LOCAL candidate that is acceptable to the people. Don’t EVER reheat & serve-up recycled stale politicians!
written by mountain man, January 23, 2009 12:43:22
Not only Kurup, all UMNO/BN elected morons failed the voters, wind of CHANGE is gathering pace and going to be very strong in next GE.
written by Tompios, January 23, 2009 12:51:51
Kurup? I still remember him when I missed address him as Datuk. Man, he didn't even look at me. After a while, someone has told me the correct address for him "Tan Sri" then he started talk to me nicely. Man, this guy is quite nice but for sure he will never win this by-election! Cut my "little fellow" if it not true.
written by Ken Liew, January 23, 2009 13:15:08
as Named, Kurup Kurrupt Corrupt.
written by krising1, January 23, 2009 14:32:49
BN's mosquito parties are each other's throats! Let us see how BN is going to fight for this seat. We are sure that PR is going to dricve another nail into BN's coffin. Of course, BN is going to play dirty and refuse entry here and there. Be forewarned and be prepared.
written by savemalaysia, January 23, 2009 15:39:44
After Permatang Pauh and KT, the third defeat for BN will be Pensiangan. The people of Sabah are fed up right up to their noise with PBS and PBRS who colluded with UMNO to rob, cheat, bluff and swindle Sabahans at the expense of legitimising the hundred of thousands of illegal Indonesians and Muslim Filipinos. When locals become non-citizens and illegals become citizens, then the people's anger and distrust will translate into votes for Pakatan Rakyat. The winds of change has started and it's unstoppable now.
written by SocratesI, January 23, 2009 16:39:27
I have only this to say - Why vote along racial lines when your own brethren is part of the devil's party, Barisan Najis, and robbing you blind ??!! Vote for Pakatan Rakyat, the True Rakyat's party, whatever your kaum
written by Tompios, January 23, 2009 16:59:10
Kuala Terengganu is quite developed place but not to Pensiangan. Pensiangan is terrible backwarded under BN government. This Kurup only know how to give people 'feeling good' condition. Yes, Kurup....'kano moginum'!!
written by taxi90, January 23, 2009 17:17:17
Yeah, fight some more!
Kitty vs Kurap Round 4
Please continue fighting until the day someone wakes up and finds that PR has won the day.
written by Zorro, January 23, 2009 22:03:45
kurup and joseph...pleaselah...ur time is up..u have not done well...let the young bloods lead..hopefully young ones with vision and sense to see the betterment of the interior people in sabah..fed up lah..
written by pokokmangga, January 24, 2009 03:00:21
All these little mosquitoes should be squashed, splat and stamp out once and for all. They are a bunch of bolld suckers.
written by Susuit, January 24, 2009 08:11:51
Pairin don't worry about Kurup. Since he likes very much to stand as candidate for Pensiangan let him be, because he does not see the wind of change is blowing toward him and will be blown away and gone for good. One punch not enough for him, he needs more. Kurup, hino nga riun.