Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow The Word 'Allah' is not a monopoly of UMNO

The Word 'Allah' is not a monopoly of UMNO PDF Print
Thursday, 22 January 2009 12:35

Arabic speakers of all Abrahamic faith, including Christians and Jews use the word "Allah" to mean God. Abrahamic faith denotes any or all the religions including Islam, Christianity and Judaism that revere Abraham, the Biblical patriarch.

The Christian Arabs of today have no other word for God than Allah. Even today's Christians' Arabic bibles use the word Allah for God and in the Middle East, Christians sometimes name their children "Abdallah".

According to Wikipedia, the Arabic-descended Maltese language of Malta, whose population is almost entirely Roman Catholic, uses Allah for God. The only difference is that they spell it Alla.

That is not all. The Arab Jews in Medina used the word Allah for God in their holy scriptures.

Therefore, since when did the word Allah become the monopoly of ruling UMNO and the Muslim world? Instead of prohibiting Catholic weekly "Herald" from using the word Allah, Home Minister Syed Hamid Albar should learn to google for facts and information.

Issuing subtle threats to ban the weekly altogether would not go down well in multi-religious Malaysia. Neither would Syed Hamid's snappy remarks about being tolerant towards other religions in the country as he makes it out to mean non-Muslims should be grateful to be allowed to practice their respective faiths.

The senior cabinet minister must also refrain from making an issue out of a non-issue especially since Herald's editor Father Lawrence Andrew has clearly said that the word Allah has been used as a translation for God, for centuries in Malaysia.

It was not meant to hurt the sensitivities of Muslims.

But it is clear that Syed Hamid is using this dispute to score brownie points with the Malays, who have shunned the ruling government. This was evident at last year's general election which saw the ruling coalition's worst ever performance and at the weekend by-election in Kuala Terengganu which was won by PAS.

Further attempts to manipulate the issue for political gains would, inevitably, create a backlash from the public and especially the Malay community who are fed-up with populist measures undertaken by the government and UMNO.

Charles Santiago
Member of Parliament, Klang

Comments (57)Add Comment
written by Kunta Kinte, January 22, 2009 12:50:34
Syed Hamid is so stupid and making a mockery out of the word 'Allah' like it belongs solely to him. That's the quality of ministers that we have in this country. Murderers and trying to behave smart.
agree 146
written by chanatak, January 22, 2009 12:51:39
With a corrupted judiciary right up to the top position on the bench, UMNO can bloody well twist every law to its liking, while the world laugh their head off at their stupidity.

The fact that neither the PM or the DPM ticks off the stupid home minister shows how thick their skulls are and how muddled their thinking can be. It also exposes the insincerity of all their statements about fair they are or will be. That insincerity and stupidity extends to MCA, Gerakan and MIC.They are all dead ducks by the next election.
written by HamChak, January 22, 2009 12:53:29
The word "Allah" is a MONOPOLY word of Mahahir, Najis, Krisimuddin, Monyey Khari, Ali Russtum,and of couse that "Botak of ISA". How dare you guys use such a Monopoly word?Just like NEP; is also the Monopoly of these people. Don't la question your New Native Masters.Instead of using Allah, why not use Halla!
written by ahmadneil, January 22, 2009 12:59:10
And neither is it a trademark of umno.Allah belongs to all mankind who believe in HIM.
written by ahmadneil, January 22, 2009 13:01:25
The Ibans in Ulu Kapit is holding a thanksgiving by throwing a feast to rejoice for having Allah back again.
written by SocratesI, January 22, 2009 13:01:46
Shit Hammered AllBlur is at it once more, showing off his crass stupidity, an imbecile to the hilt ! Will Malaysia's Obama-in-waiting, DSAI please deliver us from such an idiotic Govt. who would place such a crass @ss as a Minister in the Govt.?Go back to Yemen, you unwanted Pendatang Trash
written by mountainking, January 22, 2009 13:16:20
Stupid Botak Syed Hamid. most churches in malaysia do sing malay worship songs and we do use Allah in our song. What are you going to do about it?

I want to challenge you Botak Hamid...

Chorus
Ku sembah Kau, Ya Allahku
Ku tinggikan namaMu selalu
Tiada lutut tak bertelut
Menyembah Yesus Tuhan Rajaku

Ban it, if you dare?
written by tanwi, January 22, 2009 13:20:33
The word Allah does belong to BN.oops i meant the home minister. Didnt you forget that the home minister is extremely powerful with unbelievable insight to judge right and wrong where he has sent journalists/activists to prison WITHOUT TRIAL and decided to release a terrorist on the ground that he had been rehabilitated.

If he can do the above, whats stopping him from deciding (without need to consult Islamic bodies) that by using the word Allah, the Malays will get confused, uprise and face the Catholics. As he says, this is the Govt's decision, ACCEPT IT.
written by hellosunshine, January 22, 2009 13:22:01
Much ado over nothing
Why are our Home minister and our police so deadset on harassing the law abiding citizens when the crime rate, brutal robberies and murder statistics, including those committed in police stations, are shooting through the roof??? Come on lah, where are your priorities?
written by DanDan, January 22, 2009 13:45:14
I am proud of my religion. I share the good teachings of my religion with whoever is willing to listen or read. I share my religion and the name of my God with all peace loving humankind. My religion is very transparent, ie. if you believe in his teaching, follow it. But if you do not believe in it, you can leave anytime, no problem, no court cases, no renouncement in the paper, no nead to change MY-Card. All thses are just between you and my God. My God is not a selfish kind. My God allows every humankind in the Universe to use his name in any language by any race.

In my religion, we do not destroy any living beings, we do not take things not given, we do not commit sexual misconduct, we do not give false speech, we do not take intoxicating drinks.

Be happy and rejoice if others wish to use your God's name. If your religion is that great, be happy to share it around. Why keep it for yourself and others cannot use the name. The World would be so much at peace if every living beings believe in their Gods and also respect the Gods of other living beings.

If this Syit Hameed wants to keep his God to himself, go find yourself a cave and take your God along and stay there.
written by ahmadneil, January 22, 2009 13:46:01
And those somalian pirates always say Abductlah.
written by InEffective, January 22, 2009 13:49:37
Got nothings to do with our great religions.This is about making you mentally subservient and ensuring mental compliance to his authority (legitimately or illegitimately is irrelevant)Good old fashioned coercion.

Once you succumb mentally, the coercion will continue and ever-increase.Gradually and insidiously your rights will undergo creeping erosion.(then you will witness and experience Police killing citizens at will with full immunity)
written by mykantree, January 22, 2009 13:52:03
I wonder what is the PM and DPM's view on this issue? As leaders of a country that claim to respect religious freedom, I think they have been particularly silent on this matter. Wither the leadership that Malaysians hope for?
written by OVERLORD, January 22, 2009 13:55:03
These dumb are so engrossed with trivial pursuits over a non-issue when our economy is crumbling before our eyes, people losing jobs and crime rate is high....when crunch time comes to bear, all of us will be calling out for "allah"
written by axppin, January 22, 2009 13:59:16
Not so long ago, YB CM Lim has reminded us to read the Quran and make it a source of reference. Tak ingat kah? Thats why. Read it and you will find the Quran clearly says that Allah is God to all. In the sky and earth. So you still want to dispute this YB Minister? And your grand Imam agrees with you? Haah..! Your days are numbered dude.
written by justinlian, January 22, 2009 14:13:50
Why dont syed tell US that god belongs to UMNO.
Better still...
written by mikewang, January 22, 2009 14:34:27
SiBotak's party is running out of racist topics to score brownie points.Hijacking God and belittling the faith of the Muslims are next on their agenda.Guess who will be the next Ahmad Ismail ?
written by wood, January 22, 2009 15:00:23
Hamid and the Govt, just an idea to ponder and perhaps put into action if feasible.
Try applying a "patent" for the word "ALLAH" . If this is successful, then no one else can use this word without your permission !
written by RumahPanjai, January 22, 2009 15:07:42
When was Hamid appointed the earthly guardian of "allah"? He must be the new self proclaimed muslim prophet. Using religion as political tool is an insult to the religion Hamid! Your hadhari religion scares us more than PAS brand of islam.
written by Raja Chulan, January 22, 2009 15:12:00
Please read what Farish A. Noor said in his article below

http://www.theamericanmuslim.org/tam.php/features/articles/do_malaysian_muslims_understand_what_allah_means/

I rest my case. To hell with Shit Hameed
written by Delima25, January 22, 2009 15:12:29
The Evil Yemeni's faith in his religion is so shallow that he thinks all Muslims will be confused when the word "Allah" is used by other faiths.

What a shame that his dehydrated brain is always finding excuses to implement weird and hair-raising rulings ( sorry there is nothing hair rasing as he is botak) that are seen as his attempts to create friction among the different races/religions in the country. Maybe he should be put away under ISA for his own safety after antagonising practically everyone in Malaysia except for his UMNO and the running dogs that keep wagging their tails when they hear the Master's Voice.

Anyway, Yemeni hopefully the floowing willbe absorbed into your driend and shrivelled brain so that you can give more rational rulings after this.

Arabic-speakers of all Abrahamic faiths, including Christians and Jews, use the word "Allah" to mean "God".[3] The Christian Arabs of today have no other word for 'God' than 'Allah'.[6] (Even the Arabic-descended Maltese language of Malta, whose population is almost entirely Roman Catholic, uses Alla for 'God'.) Arab Christians for example use terms Allāh al-ʼab (الله الأب) meaning God the father, Allāh al-ibn (الله الابن) mean God the son, and Allāh al-rūḥ al-quds (الله الروح القدس) meaning God the Holy Spirit (See God in Christianity for the Christian concept of God).

written by krising1, January 22, 2009 15:14:10
Why is I suspect that the leaders in Malaysia are not just content taking on the Jews? Now they want to claim leadership of the Islamic world by taking on the Christians as well! The ill-advised Malaysian leaders will end up a sorry lot because unlike the Jewish/Palestinian cause, the Arabs will not support this cause. Claiming proprietary rights to the use of the word "Allah" will have the Arabs laughing!
written by Siapabohong, January 22, 2009 15:33:13
Mr. Santiago,
Mr. Hishammuddin Rais said these buggers are similar to the Jews who practices zionisme. Therefore they are also zionists.
There is a Malay proverb which says, kuman di seberang laut nampak, gajah depan mata tak nampak.
This bugger wants to put it that he and his gang are the supreme holiest and purest people just like the Jews who take upon them as the divine-selected people,whereby you and all those not in same colour like them are dirty and pariah. This bugger has the belief that the place in the next world for him and his gang to be in heaven (even though all the sinful things they have done)whilst you and me will surely occupy the hell because they believe God have given you and me the colour that not the same like them and speak different language from them but then they want to force everyone to speak the language like them but then again they forbid you to use the name of God in their language.
Wonder whether God has passed down such command.
written by IbnAbdHalim, January 22, 2009 15:35:14
Calling all non-UMNO Malaysians from all creeds and walk of life: Send the racist party into the South China Sea this coming GE.
written by onnetline, January 22, 2009 15:51:13
Allah, please free the Malaysians from the likes of hypocrites and sinners, more especially like this moron, Shit Hamid.
written by Foong, January 22, 2009 15:56:05
No one in this world owns the word "Allah". In actual fact everything in this world belongs to "Allah" or God let it be Muslims, Christians, Buddhist etc. Allah or God etc is just the language intepretation of "The All Mighty". It is real childish if one were to say only Muslims can use that word "Allah". Of course what do you expect from umno politicians.
written by KingSolomon, January 22, 2009 16:02:00
The Amno wants to ban other words like Corruption, Sex, Sodomy, Murder, Corridors, Tolls, Petroleum Royalty, First Lady, etc, because these words are holy to Amno members and they want to worship the words exclusively.
written by sampalee, January 22, 2009 16:12:01
It is quite distressing to note the shallow understanding of the Qu'ran by the muslim in umno.Allah does not belong to muslim,but all of mankind including the entire universe belongs to Allah.Yet they go on repeating 'Allah is great'.Allah owns us and not the otherway round.
written by steviewonger, January 22, 2009 16:39:48
It really shivers my spine that are those so called Muslim who walks the corridor of power ever read the Holy Qur'an?
They may pray 5 times a day but are they really following the teaching of the Holy Qur'an...or are they being courtd by the devil in disguise just like Adam cheated by the serpent.
We can believe whatever or whoever but the teaching of good is all the same i.e. Islam.Buddhism or Christianity. So I believe that these goons in Barisan Najis are actually atheist...only believing in power and money, no other things. And when they gets what they wanted, true religion teaching is not in their empty brains and that is if of course their actual brains are in their arseholes.
written by beijing, January 22, 2009 16:51:58
send si botak to hell
written by Fart Fart Wah, January 22, 2009 16:54:05
UMNO wants to diMelayukan the Arabic word Allah. this is the so called logic of UMNO. Their arrogance borders on stupidity because they want to be more Arabic than the Arabians and more UMNO Islamic than the Muslims in Arabia.
written by johntyc, January 22, 2009 17:08:40
Maybe Umno should apply for the exclusive rights of the word Allah. If they succeed, then I might adhere to the ruling. If not, leave us alone.
written by cheekhiaw, January 22, 2009 17:24:53
Charles, Those idiots are not interested in the etymology of that word. To them they own that word by virtue of their special rights, and there was some social contract made as such to their fathers while they were mucking around under some coconut shell.
written by Rozlan, January 22, 2009 17:36:19
There are no basis in Islam at all prhibting others from using ALLAH as a reference to GOD.Even Tuan Guru Nik Aziz agreed with it.ONly UMNO did that.The reason I dont know why.Maybe they were trying to show off that that championing Islam
written by onnetline, January 22, 2009 17:59:51
What idiots we have as lawmakers from Barisan Najis !!!!
written by mick_err_stan, January 22, 2009 18:27:53
I've picked up some words from the above posting which I think most aptly and befittingly describe Syed Hamid Albar - showing of his crass stupidity, an imbecile to the hilt, moron.

How this person can be a Minister is beyond me????????
written by ylcc, January 22, 2009 18:30:37
Rozlan, I like your answer. Thank you, it means a lot to know that there are many sincere and respected Muslims like you around.
written by *********, January 22, 2009 18:34:59
Hamid Albar claims: "To me, it seems that it (Herald) purposely wants to create a collision or a conflict. It should remember the rights of other races, too. We respect other religions and cultures and we expect it to do the same thing." The whole truth here is that, Syed Hamid Albar, like all the other hypocrites in Umno are trying to show to the Malays and Muslims that they are the protectors of Islam when in actual fact they are nothing but pagans masquerading as Muslims. All their piety is nothing but hogwash to maintain political relevance in the eyes of the Malay/Muslim electorate.

This will also explain the double standards practiced by Malaysia when dealing with the genocide in Palestine as compared to other genocides going on such as that in Myanmar and Sri Lanka where the victims are non Muslims. Lets face the fact, Malaysia will only make noise if and when the victims are Muslims. People like Dr. Jemilah of Mercy Malaysia and the other NGO's in Malaysia just like BN/Umno are nothing but first class hypocrites! This is what my Arabs Brothers are calling Malaysian politicians anyway...More http://*********.********.com
written by Mr Smith, January 22, 2009 19:21:21
Syed Hamid must be an imbecile. A brainless Arab turned Malay. He only wants to ban the word from 'Herald'. What is is going to do with the Bible and Christians books in Bahasa that use 'Allah'.
What about the sermons delivered by priests in the churches. They use 'Allah' too.

Much ado about nothing. This is absolutely a non-issue and I admire the Catholic Church for standing up to this stupidity and madness.
Even Malays will puke at this stupidity.

written by SamYap, January 22, 2009 20:36:05
UMNO busturds and the s.o.b Syed Hamid! Please quote the exact verse in the Holy Koran wherein it forbids anyone, other than a muslim, to use the name Allah. C'mon, show it to us!!! You bloody busturds simply hijack Islam for your own devilish means to drive a wedge between Malaysians of different faiths. All of the UMNO members are devils, sons and daughters of Syaitan!
written by Shyetan, January 22, 2009 21:03:52
From the internet one can get the following info:

Allah

(ăl'ə, ä'lə) , [Arab.,=the God]. Derived from an old Semitic root referring to the Divine and used in the Canaanite El, the Mesopotamian ilu, and the biblical Elohim, the word Allah is used by all Arabic-speaking Muslims, Christians, Jews, and others.

So what's Botak making a fuss aout?
written by Arubin, January 22, 2009 21:41:27
Well, Shyetan...you are assuming that Botak is smart enough to know how to use the internet. I'm assuming otherwise. smilies/tongue.gif
written by apa jadi, January 22, 2009 21:41:40
I think we will get our mouth gagged one day for sighing out our displeasure or dismay with the word "Alah...what what and what"
written by Anti Relon, January 22, 2009 21:42:39
Is this okay with you Mr Minister!!!

BBC NEWS
Cleric 'must deny' views on rape

A Muslim cleric in Australia who said men have a right to force their wives to have sex has been told to apologise by Prime Minister Kevin Rudd.

The cleric, Samir Abu Hamza, reportedly questioned how rape can exist within marriage, and encouraged "light beating" of disobedient women.

"I would call upon this Islamic cleric to publicly apologise and repudiate his remarks," Mr Rudd said.

He told reporters that such views have no place in Australia.

"Under no circumstances is sexual violence permissible or acceptable in Australia," he said.

"Nor are they acceptable in my view to mainstream Muslim teachings," he said of the views apparently supporting violent treatment of women.

Samir Abu Hamza runs the Islamic Information and Services Network of Australasia and, according to local media, is a self-taught cleric, popular with young Muslims in Melbourne's northern suburbs.

'Amazing'

His 2003 lecture entitled The Keys To A Successful Marriage has been posted on the internet in a 50-minute video.

In this, Mr Hamza tells his audience that hitting their wives is not allowed but a light smacking is.

"You beat them... but this is the last resort, after you have advised them for a long, long time, then you smack them, you beat them.

"You are not allowed to bruise them, you are not allowed to make them bleed, this is just to shape them up - 'shape up woman' - that's about it.

"You don't go and get a broomstick."

The Australian-born Mr Hamza went on to express his disbelief at Australia's legal definition of rape, saying that a woman was not allowed to refuse her husband's requests for sex.

"Even if her husband was to ask her for a sexual relationship and she is preparing him the bread on the stove, she must leave it and come and respond to her husband," he said.

"In this country if the husband wants to sleep with his wife and she does not want to and... there's nothing wrong with her, she just does not want to, and he ends up sleeping with her by force, it is... known to be as a rape.

"Amazing. How can a person rape his wife?"

Mr Rudd said the cleric's remarks "have no place in modern Australia at all".

"I would say to this Islamic cleric: Australia will not tolerate these sort of remarks. They don't belong in modern Australia and he should stand up, repudiate them and apologise," Mr Rudd said.

Mr Hamza was reported to be on leave and unavailable for comment.

A leading Islamic cleric, Sheikh Taj Aldin al-Hilali, was replaced as Mufti of Australia in 2007 after creating a storm of protest when he described scantily-dressed women as "uncovered meat" inviting rape.
Story from BBC NEWS:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/go/pr/fr/-/1/hi/world/asia-pacific/7843909.stm

Published: 2009/01/22 04:54:25 GMT

© BBC MMIX
written by onnetline, January 22, 2009 22:19:44
What fcuked up politicians are these ......... this bald headed moron and his bosses !!!
written by Sudahlah tu, January 22, 2009 22:32:21
sekali lagi orang melayu digalakkan oleh binatang umno untuk memalukan pertengkaran sesama rakyat dalam hal keagamaan ....
written by smeagrooo, January 22, 2009 22:50:40
ALA-mak syid hamid! You erred again!!!
written by savemalaysia, January 23, 2009 00:23:15
THERE IS NO CURE FOR STUPIDITY AND BOTAK HAMID AND UMNO HAVE A LOT OF IT.
written by Apeiron, January 23, 2009 00:41:58
When did Syed Hamid get the sole patent rights to the use of the word "ALLAH"?
Never knew that ALLAH is a "patentable" entity in Bolehland and that the use of this word can only be decided by UMNO.
written by Milo, January 23, 2009 00:53:14
Only UMNO can call our info minister Syed Hamid. The opposition have to call IT something else....Sick Hamid?
written by Fat Zorro, January 23, 2009 01:20:24
Dear Charles and MT Readers, if Syed Hamid says only Muslims can use the word Allah, then just concede to his instructions. He should know best, after all he has direct mobile connection to God. Dont you know he is a Prophet so he knows what he is talking about. Dont argue with prophet Syed Hamid Albar with direct mobile connection with God okay
written by Evol, January 23, 2009 08:56:17
All religious practice tolerance to others, only UMNO don't!
written by ssathia, January 23, 2009 10:52:29
Charles Santiago wrote, "Arabic speakers of all Abrahamic faith, including Christians and Jews use the word "Allah" to mean God."

Also please note that long long before Judaism, Christianity, Islam and written Arabic came into being, Indians have been using the word "Alla" to mean God, more specifically God in the feminie form of Mother. Other Indian words are Kali, Amman(Tamil, Malayalam) etc.
written by steviewonger, January 23, 2009 11:48:40
This BALDY thinks he is the decendent of Abraham/Ibrahim. That is why he thought he is authorised to set the God's law.
More likely he is definately a decendant of thieves,pirates and murderers(Yemen) and also a pea or brainless shit.
written by Fart Fart Wah, January 23, 2009 17:28:01
TO UMNO

TODAY WE HAVE A BOTAK GOD IN MALAYSIA...HE DECIDES FOR ALLAH WHO IS SUPPOSED TO HIS NAME.....VERY SOON HE WILL REPLACE...THE ALMIGHTY HIMSELF..BE FORWARNED!!!!

HE MIGHT SEND YOU ALL TO HELL!!!
written by porto_h, January 24, 2009 02:32:17
The word Allah or Alla should be spell with a capital "A". We should respect the name of Allah or Alla, and we should not used it in vain.
As long as the name is used correctly and not in vain, I do not see any point of our Malaysian Government making a big stupid noise about it. Can syed hamid, the botak prove that the name of Allah or Alla is use in vain by the Catholics??!
To Syed Hamid, the botak, go study Islamic again-lah!! you are a shame to your parents' religion faith!!!
written by kclim2, January 26, 2009 11:50:00
Tahi Hamid better go back to Yemen where your ancestor are. Remember you are also a pendatang!n shit to you