Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Home Ministry to probe Catholic paper’s action

Home Ministry to probe Catholic paper’s action PDF Print
Wednesday, 21 January 2009 20:53

The Home Ministry will investigate claims that the “Herald – The Catholic Weekly” was still using the word “Allah” despite the government’s decision prohibiting the publication from doing so.

Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar said the decision to disallow the weekly from using the word “Allah” was a government’s decision and not that of the ministry.

“The case is not yet disposed of by the court. They should have waited for the court’s decision and not think as if they have all the rights and others don’t,” he told reporters after attending the ministry’s monthly gathering today.

“We have been tolerant towards other religions; If we decide to ban the publication, they will get angry and accuse us of stifling freedom.”

In May, the High Court granted leave to the Archbishop of Kuala Lumpur to apply for a judicial review against the Home Ministry’s decision to prohibit the weekly from using the world “Allah”. – Bernama

Comments (42)Add Comment
written by Observer, January 21, 2009 20:59:30
Dear Home Minister,
Islam is great. Islam is beautiful. Why go on a rampage of stupidity to seek exclusivity on this word! It makes the official religion of Malaysia look ugly.

Pls knock yourself out senseless and leave the matter to the court!
written by HamChak, January 21, 2009 21:08:20
Aiya, Syed Hamid, you are really NOT very intelligent.
If you dare, order your Gestapos (gangsters) to
ISA all the Catholics, lor.
Don't talk only.
JUST, Do it!
Show us you got the courage, mah.
I never come across anybody more idiotic than you.
written by Woman in Malaysia, January 21, 2009 21:16:32
decision and not that of the ministry. No, Syed Hamid Albar, YOU got it wrong!
“The case is not yet disposed of by the court. The Government should have waited for the court’s decision and not think as if they have all the rights and others don’t."
written by onnetline, January 21, 2009 21:17:25
Shit Hamid Al Blurr,Why don't you apply to patent the word 'Allah' internationally?
Islam is great religion itself, without you and the idiotic lot !
written by wannabepatriotic, January 21, 2009 21:22:52
When you die MrHamid, shouting Allah from the bottom of your heart and soul will not make any difference. Allah will not hear your cries. A warning to all other malay kafirs out there... You have been warned

Allah Allah Allah....
written by ahmadneil, January 21, 2009 21:28:22
Dearest Allah,
You see this Syed Hermit is preventing us from calling you Allah during our prayers.So what do you want us to call you when praying.
written by citizenmy, January 21, 2009 21:36:43
Oh yaaa! Definitely this is the utmost important issue can be seen by the the Home Ministry now.
written by Dominic, January 21, 2009 21:50:27
Thank you Bald Head ! Make more stupid move . We cant wait for the demise of UMNO led govt with donkeys like you. You are infact doing PKR a favour and we welcome that. UMNO led BN is digging its own grave..courtesy of idiots like your kind !
written by alpha100, January 21, 2009 21:51:09
Guess, this reason will be left out of their post-mortem as to why BN losing support? Pity the PM In Waiting cos he should be a less than 1 term PM. BN should be out after next GE loh! Another 4 years! That's not too long!
written by supplier, January 21, 2009 22:01:41
IN Malaysia, it only takes a person to say is haram and the government will ban it. Cases like Johari the word "ALLAH"
one lecturer " yoga" and also one Minister banning the chinese , using certain name for their kids. Ah Kau, AH choo
written by talk3talk4, January 21, 2009 22:04:44
Dear Shit Hamid Albar
What do u mean by "we"? Please explain. Who do u represent?
written by OVERLORD, January 21, 2009 22:13:25
what talking u? So what you meant is by preventing the usage of "allah", u are tolerant? we heard it before the word "allah"isn't strictly confined to one religion.
written by peter, January 21, 2009 22:22:29
What is happening to this country? I really have nothing to say anymore. It's really sickening. It worst than the most pariah country in this entire universe. Thanks to all these little napoleans.
written by SiHangChai, January 21, 2009 22:27:03
what the hell, Home Ministry? Don't try to be funny bully other religions!
written by KingSolomon, January 21, 2009 22:47:48
Shake Albarbarian, drop this Allah matter and start investigating the murder of the young Indian man, Kugan A/l Anathan while in police custody!
written by onnetline, January 21, 2009 22:49:32
Moronic leaders of Barisan Najis ! And corrupted too.
written by PRman, January 21, 2009 22:50:36
Can our home minister perform the more important jobs rather than meedling in this sort of non-issue? Please, investigate the Subang Jaya cops if they have brutally killed the poor 22 yo Malaysian. Curb with the rising crimes nowadays. Its so happen one of my friend's car window got smashed, but since she already locked up the car, the robbers weren't able to rob her. Make our country safe instead of creating trouble, will you? Clean up the police force, there are TOO MANY bad apples in the force.
written by Proarte, January 21, 2009 22:51:31
The Catholic Church cannot be brow beaten into rejecting the term Allah which has been used by Orang Asli Christians and East Malaysian Christians for generations just because UMNO illegally has chosen to 'copyright' Allah.

On whose authority do they do so? It is not a Malay term so what justification does this Malay organisation have in hijacking the term Allah?

If UMNO is familiar with the Koran, then it would be clear to them that Allah is the God of the Jews, Christians and Muslims. So where is the problem? Why is UMNO trying to alter the message of Prophet Muhammed?

Is UMNO the latest messenger of Allah who has come to inform the world that the Koran is wrong and that Muhammed introduced 'Satanic Verses' which claimed that Allah was the God of the Jews, Christians and Muslims?
written by OVERLORD, January 21, 2009 23:03:03
et's see if we can spot a pattern here:-
1) mowed down temples and shrines
2) converted a deceased person to Islam
3) prevented a former Buddhist reverting back to her original practice
4) took them 80 years to build a church
5) instigating remarks concerning local Chinese complaining about a noisy Mosque
6) denying land approval for place of worship
7) denying the rights to print in bahasa melayu.....

Oh Yemeni....Is this your idea of a tolerant nation??? You dare issue veiled threats when u say quote "But if one religion decides to show its strength and all sort of things, it is a bit dangerous."....I tell u now that we won't bow down to gangsters like you...do not exacerbate the issue any longer...
written by Kunta Kinte, January 21, 2009 23:05:38
Home Minister is now a murderer. Just imagine, new PM and Home minister murderers. How pathetic this country looks.
written by MasterYoda, January 21, 2009 23:21:04
another BiG Nail in Barisan Nasional's Coffin!i love this joker. he is making things simple for Pakatan.
written by Milo, January 21, 2009 23:25:01
The Malaysian government has acquired the right to extend their powers to cover who can all God in his true name (that is, assuming Allah is His true name)!

It begs two questions:
1. Is Allah the true name of God?
2. If it is, is it Islamic for the government to prevent people from calling God in his real name?

If the answer for (2) is yes, then we should also have a law to prevent the opposition from calling Syed Hamid by his name! Only BN can call him Syed Hamid; others have to call him...say...Shit Hamid?
written by eskay, January 21, 2009 23:30:20
Islam is a great religion, unfortunately Islam's image is tarnished by some of the so-called followers. The more some UMNO people talk about Islam, the more damage they are doing to this great religion. A person who truly believes in Allah will not dare to do things these people are doing. If they still think that they are Muslims, they should repent & ask for Allah's forgiveness.
written by truegrid, January 21, 2009 23:44:49
let them do this
and show the world how stupid the UMNO government is.
syed hamid is stupid beyond belief
written by LucidMind, January 21, 2009 23:45:37
C'mon, don't be a laughing stock and stop building up "walls" among different religions or within a same religion. Look at the way the Arab countries tried to "work-out" a solution for Gaza. Either they are "working for" Israel or they have too much "wall" among them.

We need more more interfaith groups and activities that is real and significant. We need to tear down the wall.
written by Midvalley, January 22, 2009 00:17:56
My friend name is Tan Ah Lah sound like Allah shit head Can I still call my friend Ah Lah?
Allah is just a name what the big fcuk about it. Even Saudi Arabia allow it. SSStupid.
written by wood, January 22, 2009 00:19:58
Govt please do something more productive and get Malaysia out of the impending or the already now recession.! It is sad that years ago we did not have this problem amongst all the rakyat and now due to PROGRESS WE HAVE NOW TO WORRY ABOUT WHO HAS THE RIGHT TO USE THE WORD ALLAH!!!!!!!

If this is the result of progress, I would think it is a shame to say Malaysia have progressed !
smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by Davy McChester, January 22, 2009 00:22:50
Would it create confusion or expose weakness of the faith you have in your own religion ? If it is fear then you have no faith,which means you create the "fear" among your believers so that they can resort to violence to stop the pre Islamic Arabic word for God "Allah from being worshipped by non Muslim Arabs and natives of Sabah and Sarawak.Sabah and Sarawak natives have used the word Allah long before the birth of your own UMNOputra grandfathers.Why are you so afraid ? It is the same fear that the religious zealots of Islam disallowed anything contradictory of Islam being openly discussed. No wonder ,the last 800 years had seen very little of anything new to alleviate human burden,sufferings other than the prodding of mass hysteria of fear. The imaginary" Fear" of the religious zealots has forced the questioning ,rationale mind,to hibernate ,stagnate. With the advent of the information highway,the rationale mind is the driver,while the fear mongers,the scoundrels,religious zealots who are fearful of their status can take a back seat. You cannot cage the conscience of the human mind for 14 hundred years. It is the 21st century,man walked on the moon in the 20th century,advent of nano technology ,an exciting time for the human race.Do not miss the bus ride !
written by ASK4u, January 22, 2009 00:25:38
ala, sudahlah itu. Some friends call me Joe, while some others call me Mike. But I am what I am, and the only truth is, I am the son of my father.
written by freedom to speak, January 22, 2009 00:31:55
Useless nincompop!!
Why do we need a court of justice if you guys have already judged and decided?
Send all criminals to SubangJaya Police Station...they handle things real fast.
Send all court case to Syed "Guantanamo Bay" Albar, he got big "***", can solve all cases in a blink of an eye.
What more, UMNO boleh? Ask him to solve retrenchment in our country? Oh ya, send them to gas chamber!!! Instant creation of job vacancies for "imports" like him!
written by agadam magadam, January 22, 2009 02:00:49
Hey Botak B#BI... Go and arrest those MFcukers from the Subang Balai who killed a young Indian Boy brutally...

Don't waste your time with the Herald.. It was around and using the word Allah, long before you lost your hair, scum; You..!! and THE WORD ALLAH WILL STILL BE USED IN THE HERALD... Don't mess around with the Catholic Church... It's made up of the brainiest of the brainiest to fight you.. Remember that...
NOW...; BERAMBUS, BOTAK...

Just leave us alone... Your doomsday is near... Anwar is just behind you, B#BI..!!
written by yapsir, January 22, 2009 05:14:00
Hi uncle mid,you mean to say that MCA,MIC,GERAKAN,and all the Sabah,Sarawak components parties agreed NO "Allah" word allowed?????????
Since you said it was a decision of the Govt !?
You mean to said that the East Malaysian Christian agreed?
They are the one uses more Bahasa Malaysia in their practice of faith.
smilies/cry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Goodbites, January 22, 2009 07:29:05
The people who are ultimately in-charge of religious affairs of this country should step in and clear the air and not let our sub-standard politicians and religious heads to make a fool of themselves in action and in speech. Malaysian politicians it seems are indulging in activities that are unhealthy to racial integration and unity. They want to put their race and religion above all others. Who is putting whose strength against another and who initiated this issue is already clear to everyone. For more than 50 years there was no problem, why now? We hear the call for reforms almost everyday in the media. Is this the kind of reform they meant? Reforms to stir up problems instead of nation building? The government should always remember that they were voted in by the people. It doesn't mean that once voted in they can have all the say, otherwise they will definitely see a worst repeat of March 2008.
written by gordy, January 22, 2009 07:33:40
Remember during school days when we had to sing the Negaraku followed by the State anthem. Well 1 line really stands out for the Selangor anthem - 'Allah lanjutkan usia Tuanku...' So now how - do we expect the non Muslims to refrain from singing this line too ?????

Think lah, before you open your mouth and implement suggestions that you will have to revoke later !!!
written by Fart Fart Wah, January 22, 2009 08:05:49
ALL SABAH AND SARAWAK AND IMMIGRANT CATHOLICS..PLEASE BE READY TO BE ARRESTED IN YOUR CHURHCES FOR USING THE WORD ALLAH WHILE PRAYING...

MAYBE THE FRU MIGHT SPRAY CHEMICAL WATER WHILE YOU SAY ALLAH ALLAH ALLAH..

AND THE GOVT HAS NOW TO ...MAKE THE KAMUNTING CAMP..LARGER TO PUT IN A FEW HUNDRED PRISONERS FOR SAYING ALLAH ALLAH ALLAH...

AND i WONDER WHAT THEY WILL DO IF THEY CONTINUE TO PRAY USING ALLAH'S NAME IN THE KAMUNTING PRISON??? CUT OFF THEIR TONGUES???? A NEW HUDUD????
written by kavidibaku, January 22, 2009 08:06:23
Shit. Doesn't this ministry has better things to do? Did Allah said only muslims can call him using that name? Islam and christianity came from the same roots. Muslims also accept Jesus as one of their nabi. Then their god also ought to have same name.
written by Malaysiaputra, January 22, 2009 08:29:38
Stupid Hamid, what is going to be next after this ?. Only Muslims can eat with their bare hands I suppose. Others cannot ?. Next will you tell the Indians that they cannot eat with their hands as it is only for muslims in malaysia ?.

Why
written by ellyna, January 22, 2009 08:51:19
Now would be a good time to look into this camel's portfolio and do a review and assign him with some real job responsibilities. Obviously, he has nothing to do...sigh...what a waste of the country's resources to have him on the payroll
written by asguard, January 22, 2009 09:02:55
It shows that the Home ministry has nothing better to do than finding faults with he “Herald – The Catholic Weekly”! Instead the home ministry should be using it powers to sent back the 3 million illegals back to their homeland... rather than every single day see them on the street- every corner !
written by Tompios, January 22, 2009 09:22:36
Hamid, you must be very very careful over this issue. Again, you must be extra very careful over this issue. You must get enough information about Catholic, don't you? Protestant world is nothing to do with "perang salib" but soon or later Catholic and Protestant Christians will go side by side to conquer the world if you keep poking the Vatican's ambassador.
written by mountainking, January 22, 2009 13:22:46
Stupid Botak Syed Hamid. most churches in malaysia do sing malay worship songs and we do use Allah in our song. What are you going to do about it?

I want to challenge you Botak Hamid...

Chorus
Ku sembah Kau, Ya Allahku
Ku tinggikan namaMu selalu
Tiada lutut tak bertelut
Menyembah Yesus Tuhan Rajaku

Ban it, if you dare?
written by billyong, January 22, 2009 22:13:34
To my fellow Catholic brothers and sisters in Sarawak and Sabah, stand up and let your voices be heard. How could UMNO arbitarily take away an important part of your religious practice which has been apart of you for centuries? smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif