Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Questions on Kuala Terengganu (with Mandarin translation)

Questions on Kuala Terengganu (with Mandarin translation) PDF Print
Friday, 23 January 2009 00:00

Even up to Friday, the eve of the by-election, we hardly saw any young Chinese in our walkabouts. We did, however, meet many young Malays who had come home specifically to vote.

If you were to look strictly ‘on the surface’, this is what you would see.

In the 8 March 2008 general election, PAS won the Wakaf Mempelam constituency with a 1,259-vote majority. In the 17 January 2009 by-election, PAS’s majority increased to 2,061.

In the 8 March 2008 general election, BN won the Bandar constituency with a 284-vote majority. In the 17 January 2009 by-election, PAS won this constituency with a 160-vote majority.

In the 8 March 2008 general election, BN won the Ladang constituency with a 628-vote majority. In the 17 January 2009 by-election, PAS won this constituency with a 357-vote majority.

In the 8 March 2008 general election, BN won the Batu Burok constituency with a 47-vote majority. In the 17 January 2009 by-election, PAS won this constituency with a 1,006-vote majority.

More voters came out to vote in 2008 compared to 2009, which saw lesser voters. Wakaf Mempelam saw a reduction of 138 voters, Bandar 460 voters, Ladang 241 voters, and Baru Burok 569 voters. The total reduction of voters in 2009 over 2008 comes to 1,408.

The areas where the Chinese form a fair percentage (or majority) of the voters are Pulau Kambing, Kampung Cina, Pejabat Bandaran and Paya Bunga -- all from the Bandar constituency -- and Batas Baru and Gong Kapas -- from the Ladang constituency. PAS lost in all these ‘Chinese’ areas.

The drop in voter turnout was higher in these ‘Chinese’ areas compared to the ‘Malay’ areas. In some ‘Malay’ areas, the voter turnout actually increased slightly.

Figures do not lie, as they say, but there is a story behind these figures. What appears to be so is that the voter turnout reduced and that the Chinese voted BN. But there is more to this than the figures show.

First of all, many Chinese did not come home to vote. It is estimated that at least 3,000 of the 8,000 Chinese voters work and live outside Terengganu. This was something very visible when we did our walkabouts in the Chinese areas. The Chinese we met were mostly in the 40s and older. It looked like we were walking through an old folks home.

Understandably, these outstation Chinese are those who could not find work in Terengganu. Many are, in fact, educated and there are no employment opportunities for them in a state that has no factories or multi-national companies. They, therefore, need to earn a living outside the state.

The Kuala Terengganu by-election was held too close to Chinese New Year. If they came home to vote then they would have to stay the whole stretch until after Chinese New Year -- which was not possible -- or go back to wherever they came from and then come back a few days later. This too would be very difficult for those who do not have leave to spare or are employed in a sales job where a day off would mean one day less income for them.

Our worry was that the outstation Chinese would not come home in the numbers needed to make an impact. MCA too would rather they not come home because they would certainly vote opposition if they did -- like their Malay and Indian counterparts from the East Coast who vote in Terengganu and Kelantan but work and live in the West Coast.

Many young Malays came back to Kuala Terengganu to vote. The young Chinese, however, were missing.

Even up to Friday, the eve of the by-election, we hardly saw any young Chinese in our walkabouts. We did, however, meet many young Malays who had come home specifically to vote. Many young Malays we met stopped to shake our hand and to take photographs with us and they told us they had come home so that they can vote on 17 January and that they would be voting Pakatan Rakyat.

This was also true in Permatang Pauh where most ‘saluran 1’ saw an almost 50:50 split between Ariff Shah and Anwar Ibrahim, whereas in some ‘saluran 4’ Anwar garnered more than 400 votes against Ariff’s mere seven. It was the young or first-time voters who gave Anwar his 15,000-vote majority in Permatang Pauh. Wahid Endut would have seen a majority of about 5,000, plus a win in the ‘Chinese’ areas, if the 3,000 outstation Chinese had come home to vote in droves.

On Saturday, Polling Day, we did a tour of the Polling Stations and saw only the ‘old folks’ coming out to vote. Where were the younger Chinese? We did not see them. That was when I sent SMSess to various friends and told them to revise the PAS majority to 2,000-3,000. No longer would a 5,000-majority be possible. The younger Chinese are not coming home to vote.

Some of my Chinese friends placed bets with bookies for a 2,000-vote majority for PAS and won the bet hands down. On Friday, I walked into one Chinese coffee shop and a total stranger held my hand and asked, “Boss, PAS boleh menang 2,000 undi ke?” I smiled at him and said, “5,000 undi pun boleh.”

5,000 tak boleh,” he replied. “Cina ramai tak balek undi. 2,000 undi boleh menang.” He told me he planned to make some money for Chinese New Year and had placed a bet on a 2,000-vote majority for PAS.

Last night, a Chinese businessman who had placed a bet on a 2,000-vote majority for PAS invited me to dinner. He had ‘won big’ because of my ‘tip’, he told me, and he wanted to belanja me makan. He never told me how much he had won but I believe it must have been sizeable seeing that he was beaming from ear to ear.

Another Chinese from Kuala Terengganu phoned me on Monday to congratulate me. He too had won his bet. I told him I was actually quite disappointed with the result and had hoped for a 5,000-vote majority. “No way,” he replied. “The Chinese did not come home to vote because the by-election was too close to Chinese New Year. If not then your 5,000-vote majority would have been possible.”

As they say, if you want to know what the outcome is going to be, ask the gamblers. They know what the score is going to be because they place money on the probable outcome. And they do their research and maths before parting with their money.

But the ‘Chinese factor’ is not the only factor that influenced the result. At 3.00pm on Polling Day, the police set up ten roadblocks all over town. Kuala Terengganu was practically cordoned off and no one could get in or out. We tried to make our way to the PAS IT Centre in Kuala Ibai but were turned back. We tried another route and were turned back again. We just went around and around town at slower than walking pace trying to find a way to get out.

In the meantime, those who wanted to get to the polling centres were also turned back and diverted away from town. No one could reach the polling centres and those of us stuck in town could not get out either.

At 4.00pm, voting almost ground to a halt. The voter turnout was only 74% and this was very worrying. The low voter turnout means they can pad the ballot boxes with ‘phantom voters’. One hour later, when polling ended, the voter turnout spiralled to 79%. We were perplexed. Where did the extra 5% come from? This represents about 4,000 votes. Traffic was at a standstill and no one could enter or leave town. How did these 4,000 voters get to the polling stations?

Three days before Polling Day, we were told that the 1,100 postal votes had been counted and that more than 300 votes had gone to the opposition. The Elections Commission issued a statement denying this and said that the postal votes had not been counted yet. When the official results were announced, 1,039 votes went to BN and only 86 to Pakatan Rakyat.

What was more alarming was that if you added the BN votes to the PR votes, the sum total does not tally with the total number of postal votes cast. This issue was raised with the Elections Commission who promised to look into the matter. Rest assured there will be NFA (no further action).

Around mid-morning of Polling Day, the PAS workers discovered the back gates to the polling stations all unlocked. Suspecting that this may be the route the ‘phantom voters’ would use to get into the polling stations, they locked the gates and stood guard the whole day. Invariably, the ‘phantom voters’ somehow got in between 4.00pm to 5.00pm to boost the voter turnout from 74% to 79%.

So, there is more to the Kuala Terengganu by-election than what the figures show. Sitting in Kuala Lumpur and analysing what happened based purely on figures does not give you the real picture. You have to be there to see the Chinese ‘old folk’ voters as opposed to the younger Malays who came home to vote to understand what happened. You have to be caught in the traffic gridlock where no one in town could get out and those outside town could not get in to also understand what happened.

Officially, Pakatan Rakyat won with just 2,631 votes and the Chinese voted BN. Unofficially, the figure is much higher and what BN got was only the votes from the older Chinese residents of Kuala Terengganu who had been threatened by BN. The younger Chinese from outside the state who would have told BN to go to hell did not come back to do just that.

Note that Ahmad Said told the Chinese: if you are nice to me, I will be nice to you, and if you are not nice to me, I will be ten times more not nice to you. And Rosmah Mansor reminded the voters that the government knows whom you voted for. While her husband, the Deputy Prime Minister, told the Chinese, you must show your gratitude to the government. And without the 3,000 outstation Chinese to ‘balance’ the votes of the ‘old folks’ who remember only too well the aftermath of the 11 May 1969 general election, the ‘Chinese’ areas ‘fell’ to BN.

The above table is based on votes garnered in the Parliamentary constituency, which differs from votes garnered in the four State constituencies. For the state constituencies, PAS, not BN, won Batu Burok and Ladang. The voters voted BN for Parliament and PAS for State in 2008.

***************************************************************************************************************************

《毫不留情》瓜丁疑问

即使到了补选前夕的星期五,我们在走访时段都很少看到有华族青年的出现。我们 反而看到许多马来青年特地回来投票。

若你只看'表面'而已,这就是你所看到的∶

在三八大选,(以国会议席选举中的票数来看),

回教党以1259张多数票赢得了 Wakaf Mempelam区。而在117 瓜丁补选,回教党的多数票提高至2061张。

在三八大选,国阵以284张多数票赢得了Bandar区。而在117瓜丁补选,回教党却在 这个区以160张多数票胜出。

在三八大选,国阵以628张多数票赢得了Ladang区。而在117瓜丁补选,回教党却在 这个区以357张多数票胜出。

在三八大选,国阵以47张多数票赢得了Batu Burok区。而在117瓜丁补选,回教党 却在这个区以1006张多数票胜出。

比起2008年,我们在这补选中看到更少的选民出来投票。Wakaf Mempelam区少了 138人,Bandar区460人,Ladang区241人,而Batu Burok区则是569人。比起2008 年,减少的人数共有1408人。

那些被认为是华人区的有Pulau Kambing, Kampung Cina, Pejabat Bandaran和 Paya Bunga,全都是属于Bandar区。还有来自Ladang区的Batas Baru和Gong Kapas。回教党在这些'华人区'全败北。

比起'马来区',这些'华人区'的投票率跌得更多。在一些'马来区'投票率则稍微提 高。

他们说,数据是不会说谎的,但这些数据背后都有一个故事。那就是说投票率减低 了,以及华人都投了国阵。当然,除了所显示的数据,这里还有更多的讯息。

首先,许多华人都没有回乡投票。在8千名华人选民中估计至少有3千名是在外州工 作及居住。我们走访这些华人区的时候,这些都很明显。我们遇到的华人大多是 40岁以上,让我们好像进入了老人国的感觉。

很明显地,在外州工作的华人都是那些不能在丁州找到工作的人。他们许多人都受 过教育,但却在一个没有工厂或国际公司的州属里找不到工作,因此就得离乡背井 了。

瓜丁补选的投票日太过接近华人新年。若他们回来投票的话,就只好放长假直到 华人新年过后。这当然是不可能的。不然他们只好倒回去工作,然后过了几天,再 回来过年。对一些没有年假的人就很难了,或者那些作销售的,放一 天假对他们 来说就是少一天的收入。

我们的担忧是外州华人不会回来投票,达成任何效果。马华却担心他们回来投反对 党的票,就如大多数在西海岸工作的东海岸马来人和印度人选民那样。

即使到了补选前夕的星期五,我们在走访时段都很少看到有华族青年的出现。我们 反而看到许多马来青年特地回来投票。我们所遇到的马来青年都停下来和我们握手 拍照,并告诉我们他们是回来给民联一票。

同样的事情也发生在峇东埔。许多'第一通道'的票都对半分给安华和阿立夏。而在 一些 ' 第四通道',安华得到的票数几乎是400张对阿立夏的7张。安华在峇东埔的 1万5 千张多数票,都是来自初投选民和年轻选民。若3千名外州华人回来投选的 话,Wahid Endut应该可以拿到约5000张的多数票,以及在'华人区'胜出。

在投选日的星期六,我们走访了一些投票站,看到只有'老人家'出来投票。华人青 年都到哪里去了呢? 我们没有看到他们。那时我就发短讯给我的朋友,告诉他们回 教党的多数票要减低至2000到3000张,不可能再有5000张了。华人青年都不回来投 票。

我的一些华人朋友与卜基下注说回教党有2000张多数票,结果都轻易的赢了。在星 期五,我走进一间华人咖啡店时,一名陌生人握着我的手说,"老大,回教党可以 赢 2000张票吗?"我笑着对他说"5000张都可以。"

"5,000张不可以啦,"他回答说。"华人很多都没有回来投。2000张就可以。"他告诉 我他打算发点新年财,所以下注回教党会有2000张的多数票。

昨晚,一名下注回教党有2000张多数票的华商邀请我吃饭,因为我的'贴士'让他赢 了不少钱。他这样告诉了我,还要请我吃大餐。他没有告诉我他赢了多少,不过以 他满脸光彩来看,我相信应该是不少。

另外一名来自瓜丁的华人在星期一打电话恭喜我。他也赌赢了。我告诉他其实我对 成绩有点失望,还希望可以有5000张多数票。他回答我说∶"不可能的啦。华人因为 投选日太接近新年,所以都没有回来投票。不然的话你的5000张多数票就有可能了。"

如他们常说的,若你想知道结果如何,就去问那些赌徒。他们都知道成绩如何,因 为他们都对最大可能性的结果下注。他们在下注之前,都做了研究和计算。

但是,影响成绩的唯一原因还不是 '华人因素'。在投选日下午三时正,警察共在 全市设立起十个路障。基本上瓜丁是被隔离起来,进出不得。我们试图过去在 Kuala Ibai的回教党的资讯技术中心,但是无功而返。我们试着利用另一条路,但 也失败了。我们以比步行还慢的速度在全市到处找寻一条能出去的路。

与此同时,那些要去投票站的也被折回,被逼驶离市镇。外来的人去不到投票站, 困在市区内的则离不开。

在下午四时正,投票几乎停止了。而投票率只有74%,非常令人担心。低下的投票 率表示说他们能够让'幽灵选民'投票。在一个小时后,投票时间完毕。投票率竟然 飚高至79%。我们都搞不清。另外的5%到底是哪里来的?这表示已经增加了约4000 张票。交通的情况已经令人出入不得。这4000名选民是如何进入投票站的呢?

投票日的三天前,我们被告知说,1100张邮寄选票已经算好,反对党得到超过300 张票。选举委员会发出通告否认这个数目,说邮寄选票还没点算。当正式的成绩宣 布时,国阵得到1039张票而民联只有86张。

更令人起疑的是,当你把国阵和民联的票数相加的时候,总数和邮寄选票数并不一 致。我们向选举委员会提出这课题,他们也答应会调查此事,不过肯定是石沉大 海,没有下文的了。

投选日接近中午的时候,回教党的员工发觉投票站的后门被开锁了。于是怀疑这就 是'幽灵选民'的进入通道,因此他们就把铁门重新锁上,并在那里看守。可惜, ' 幽灵选民'还是能够在下午四时到五时之间把投票率从74%提升至79%。

所以,在瓜丁补选,数字的背后还有很多事情发生。只是坐在吉隆坡,然后根据数 字分析是不能得到真相的。你还得到那里看看华人老选民和回乡投选的马来青年才 能明白发生什么事。你还得被困在市区交通内,出入不得,才能明白发生了什么事。

正式来说,民联只以2631张票胜出,而华人投选了国阵。非正式来说,那个数字应 该更加高,还有国阵得到的只是瓜丁华人老选民受威胁下的票。那些在外州工作, 不畏对国阵大呼‘去死吧’的华族青年,都没有回来投票。

别忘了Ahmad Said告诉华人说 : 若你跟我好,我就跟你好。若你跟我不好,我就 十倍奉还。还有Rosmah Mansor也提醒选民说政府知道你们投选的是谁。而她的丈 夫,副首相告诉华人说,你们要对政府感恩。因为少了3000名在外州的华人,来' 抵消'那些还牢牢记得1969年5月11日大选后的悲惨经历的老选民,因此国阵在'华 人区' 胜出。

以上图表是根据国会议席得到的票数。这与四个州议席的得票数有所分别。在州选 区,是回教党,而不是国阵,赢得了Batu Burok区和Ladang区。在2008年,选民国 选国阵,而州选回教党。

Translated by ecs283 http://cblog.cari.com.my/html/09/61909.html

Edited by Pratamad https://airkosong.com

Comments (55)Add Comment
written by cahaya, January 21, 2009 13:46:13
BN leaders are in a terrible state of shock. They never expected such rejection of Umno by Malay voters. KT has nearly 90% Malay voters.

Umno used many tactics (voter list, bribing, threats, road blocks, etc.). Umno leaders threw lots of federal resources (police, new contracts, etc.) into Terengganu during the campaign period. Najib expected Umno to win. He remained in KT for the vote counting. But Umno’s candidate lost. The PAS candidate won by more than 2,600 votes. A remarkable result. Umno cheated, but not enough to win.

Najib is responsible for the KT by-election loss. He had led BN in the by-election. Umno lost because of his corrupt and incompetent leadership. Umno should not allow Najib to become Umno President. The Umno leaders should select someone else. Other political leaders in BN would readily agree that Najib is unsuitable to lead BN, let alone Malaysia.
agree 258
written by Rozlan, January 21, 2009 13:47:27
Forget the saloran 1 and 2.Nothing much we could do to turnover them.It was saluran 3 and 4 that matter most..They will be the future saloran 1 & 2 voters.It seem PR future will be very bright..

Anyway I regretted abt the young KT chinese voters attitudes.17th is on Saturday.Most office were close.If not close why not take a day leave for one of the most important by election?They just have to sacrifice one weekend and some petrol money going back.KT is not that far.It is only 8 hrs journey from the farthest side of Peninsular.

Luckily the young malays came back from all nook and corners of peninsular..The coming CNY was not a good reason to be absent.lackdaisal attitude is the one...
disagree 40
agree 146
written by FFT, January 21, 2009 13:59:56
And the people of Malaysia and Mongolia would also like to remind Rosmah Mansor that we know who ordered the hit on Altantuya.
agree 201
written by cahaya, January 21, 2009 14:07:03
RPK, we know you are disappointed. But it really does not matter now how the Chinese voted or did not vote, how many came home to vote or how many did not. We can only hope that next time, more younger Chinese will exercise their responsibility to vote. Thanks for your efforts in encouraging the Chinese community to vote!

In KT, the Malay voters were the ones who determined the final outcome. Malay voters made up 88% of this constituency. We suspect that a significant number of these Malay voters had rejected Umno and voted for PAS. In fact, the PAS candidate could have won by a landslide. But we will never know for sure because the voting patterns are heavily masked by BN’s cheating.

The final outcome is what makes everyone so happy. In spite of BN’s many dirty tactics, the Pakatan Rakyat opposition side has one more member in Parliament! We look forward to Abdul Wahid Endut (PAS) serving the rakyat as the new member of Parliament for Kuala Terengganu.
agree 122
written by asguard, January 21, 2009 14:12:12
Barang Naik will never learn their despite their nato promise to reform! And for the MCA...i got the final grave words for them... don't thibk you will be able to make a come back in 13th General Election and so is Gerakan and MIC..Your time is already end... it time to give DAP and PKR to managed those non-malay votes onwards.. To MCA, MIC and Gerakan your now lies in the coffin....and to be buried 100,000 feet under the ground!
written by temenggong, January 21, 2009 14:38:22
This is clarifying. And gratifying to know that the malays did walk, signifying a momentous change. Nevertheless I'm sure the chinese too will walk when the glare is not on them as in a general election.

We have hope with the 4 million young voters during the next GE.
written by Bandit, January 21, 2009 14:40:10
Shouldnt Najib resign for the lost of KT? Does the "Ministerial Responsbility" work in malaysia? So far only CSL resigned after the secrectly taped private sex video by his own UMNO lap dogs MCA. There is no shame where UMNO politics are concerned.

One more thing. SHAME ON MALAYSIAN POLICE for selling their arse to UMNO during the KT BUYelections. YOU PD UMNO Malaysia has stoooped so low. Pthui!!!!
written by Badaksumbu, January 21, 2009 14:47:04
We know now, Chinese young and Malay young wouldn't vote BN- make sure this will continue.

Last night I heard during Obma inauguration the USA government assembled 8,000 troop, ironiclly the same number the Malaysia government used to guard KT by-election shame!
written by carribeanking7, January 21, 2009 14:52:28
Luckily I did not place my bets with a bookie, my estimate was 7,800 votes in favor of PAS.
When initial results came in I just figured that there were about 5,000 phantom voters what with reports of voters registerd to a KFC restaurant and cases of up to 90 voters registered to a single house.

PAS also made a report of security personel disappearing around noon followed by a surge of voters, gives the term "plainclothes policemen ' a whole new meaning.
Even the police cannot agree on their own figures- IGP said that it was 3800, Terengganu police Chief said it was 6000, so I just figured that 2200 (the difference) were there for nefarious purposes.BN brought in 80 buses of supporters (on top of Party workers so 40 X 80 = 3200 plus 2200 (pengundi polis hantu)this makes a total of 5400 phantom voters.

I do however concede with your statement that analyzing figures without asessing the situation on the ground is meaningless.

On the fear of older voters , being kiasu having seen may 13th I can relate to that, prior to GE 12 when I was making my rounds to wet markets, kedai kopi and homes , I notice that the older uncle, and aunties needed a lot of coaxing to vote the opposition, they would talk in hushed tones, some would tell me to lower my voice and check to see if the neighbours were listening, even over the phone they would talk in whispers, this group aged 45-55 having living memories of may 13th seem the most kiasu, Ironically I found the ones over 70 are daringly anti establishment, I guess they knew they had little time left and were not afraid.
BN is scared shit of young voters, thats why there is incessant talk about engaging the youth, thats why they clamped down hard on the jerit cyclists afraid that the trend may catch on, they know that eventually be faced with a young population who have no living memories of May 13th 1969 (who are only now watching Mannix reruns I watched 30 years ago) and the ones who have lived through May 13th but have gotten too old to care, thats why they will fight tooth and nail to influence the youth, that includes engaging turncoats like Ahiruddin Atan and Stephen Doss, and a whole litany of spinmasters to influence opinions.
That is why I consider what you are doing (along with other bloggers) very important.
written by kl_wong, January 21, 2009 14:58:48

Probably the young Chinese did not went back and remind their old folks who to vote for. It is good to know the reasons and lets hope another Bangsat Negara MP have a heart attack and die in urban area....and then we can see how much rakyat hate this BN goons.
written by hellosunshine, January 21, 2009 15:03:26
So, what's your point? That the old chinaman voted BN and the young chinaman didn't bother to come back and these damn Chinese even got the gall to make money out of the bye-election by betting heavily, makes them the traitors to PR? Luckily, PAS won or else the Chinese will have hell to pay. Phew!
How about those who came and paid to come to PR's dinners? Did they donate generously after dinner or they were there to be entertained only? I was not there and I would appreciate it if you could enlightened us instead of telling us bits and pieces.
written by ksmaniam, January 21, 2009 15:12:57
Dearest RPK,
I believe the issue is what can we learn from KT? My presumption is that we have learnt a lot as a government in waiting. That BN will do anything to stay in power is true to the last word. The scare tactic, money, government machinery, lucrative contracts is ingrained in UMNO. They will definitely continue to do so and the next time we have to be prepared for a worse senario.

Let me divulge a secret which is shared among the indians. Whenever election is nearby, my parents will be and the elders will be waiting for voting day. Eventually without fail, someone will bring the 13 issue. Suddenly all the elders will say, "let them win, what we have is enough" (even though the enough means food on the table and nothing else). Then the 13 is highlighted further by them. Then the decision is made. They will not even go to vote. This is only one story. Between life and food. Which will we choose?

So please what I mean is don't get angry with the voters. IN, KT the young malay voters saved the day. The malays who see the unfairness are willing to help the non malays too. They have helped us again and again. And fair minded malays will continue to help us. That is why in AAB we see a light at the end of the tunnel after a long time. I am not questioning you. I was merely answering a question.
one cent from heart and one cent from my mind.
written by OVERLORD, January 21, 2009 15:15:07
RPK, We always knew that BN would resort to desperate measures in order to garner more votes....But in the end, we pulled through and victory never tasted so sweet. however, the trend of using the police as a shield for phantom voters or "legalised vote rigging" is unexceptable. I was wondering if PR could recommend the use of International observers and media to witness future election and voting procedures as a deterrent to this abusive behaviour.....
written by Raja Petra, January 21, 2009 15:18:59
hellosunshine, my point is that you should know what happened and not be too hard on the Chinese. We did get almost half the votes of the senior citizens but missed the votes of the younger guys and gals. And you should know why, that is all. Forget about grumbling about the votes we did not get. Instead, be grateful for the ones we did get and show gratitude by thanking the Chinese. I did that, door-to-door, before I came back to KL on Sunday. As I always say: look at the half glass of water as half full and not half empty.
written by ksmaniam, January 21, 2009 15:21:00
That is the reason why the second war must be before March. Before Najib. Either DSAI take over before March or call for a referendum official or unofficial, and rakyat decides who is our PM. Otherwise, we may lose Sarawak.
PR is going to have a formidable foe in the CM and PM. Both are not walkovers. The task is too big for PR to take over Sarawak. The strategies have to be impeccable and bear in mind they are well prepared. I believe it has to be now or PR is going to have a uphill battle ahead.
written by hellosunshine, January 21, 2009 15:21:34
Thanks for your reply, RPK. That cleared up some questions I had.
written by hellosunshine, January 21, 2009 15:24:48
Oh ya, the analysis by CH Wong of The Nut Graph in 'The KT Boomerang' is quite objective.
written by ez24get, January 21, 2009 15:49:48
Even though the young KT chinese are more pro-establishments, have you ever considered that they have no incentive to come back and vote because they saw little difference between PAS and UMNO. No matter who wins, to them:-

1. there will still be no jobs in Terengganu for them to come back;
2. they will still be 2nd or 3rd class citizens or called "pendatangs";
3. some of them may already have childrens; their children will still be discriminated in education opportunities, scholarships, jobs, land allocation, etc;
4. their religions will still be suppressed no matter who comes to power;
5. they will still have to depend on themselves to egg out a living and support their families.

They know, both PAS and UMNO are merely using them for their own ends but the moment one of them wins, they will be discarded and forgotten.

Can you blame them for not wanting to waste heir 1-2 days' leaving and time coming home to vote, go back to their employment and then come back again to their hometown for CNY and go back to their employment again? The sentiments among the malays may be strong because the issues have a direct bearing on them like getting more monetary aids, more contracts, more scholarships, more government jobs, stronger Islam, etc. But these do not apply to these young chinese folks!

Having said that if were a General Election, they will come to vote and display their natural inclination for the opposition.

This feeling of indifference is not only prevalent in KT but through-out the country with the chinese. If PAS were to woo their support - make a difference to them!
written by FFT, January 21, 2009 15:59:49
I think the "half full glass" optimistic take-home message from RPK's article is this:

Unless Pakatan absolutely goes out of its way to screw up, the next GE will see BN sent packing in all their naked glory. Which is why all of you need to be extra vigilant, and less apathetic, starting from today: because they are going to start looting the national coffers like there is no tomorrow and leave Pakatan with a bankrupt nation in 2013.

All this bull between DAP and PAS also needs to cease. Shut Karpal up and shut the Hudud-and-banning-concerts PAS camp up. Karpal won't have to worry about Islamic State when there isn't much of a state left, and PAS can stop worrying about banning concerts because nobody is going to have a tour stop in Zimbabwe's twin nation. All of you should keep your eyes on the big picture....that's the lesson I learned from the wise Chinese who supported PAS for the greater good of the country.
written by ahmadneil, January 21, 2009 16:37:32
And RPK grumble but the cow never come home .So if the chinese did come home,then RPK and me won't lost our bloody beer.So next election ,listen to the bookies!
written by journeyman, January 21, 2009 16:42:18
kt, and counting. so, what shall it be in march 2013, scalpel or scissors?
written by Wudan, January 21, 2009 16:53:36
Fuyoh RPK! It's COOL to be a Barisan Rakyat supporter now.
written by overseaMas, January 21, 2009 16:59:14
Let reward one million RM for anyone who can crack down 'BN phantom voters’ issue
written by tmf, January 21, 2009 16:59:49
UMNO/BN/MCA still talking about learning lessons of how to win the next election! They still do not understand that the Rakyat rejected them because they are corrupt and the Rakyat was unfairly treated on top of many other ills. Instead, they are still talking about election stategy, sloganeering and all other inconsequential things. very shameful for an incumbent government.

I should not share too much of my thoughts, least they really wake up, which I do not wish. But for PR sake, I am posting this; please get down to real work.
written by SamSan, January 21, 2009 17:08:13
Unless indelible ink is introduced and more checks and balances introduced in the electoral process to ensure transparency and integrity and proper scrutiny of the electoral rolls be made, the perception and reality of phantom voters and other voting descripency will remain. MAFREL has lots of work ahead of them in pusing for these important reforms. Also we need to make sure that the ruling party stop abusing the government machinery and government funds to dish out at their whim and fancy during elections. So Let us all pray and support MAFREL in their untiring and noteworthy efforts.
written by antiilluminati, January 21, 2009 17:49:11
I guess now only the 3 legged "dogs" will vote for BN.
written by ibabonma, January 21, 2009 17:54:50
The KT Chinese knew all along Pas was going to win, so they voted for BN and collect their goodies from UMNO, cash, grant or allocations for their schools, associations what not. They are smart in a way.

Just look at Pandan. The two state seats went to Pas and DAP but Parliament Pandan went to Ong Tee Kiat. Now, all allocations goes to the Chinese.
written by arazak, January 21, 2009 18:36:07
Who the hell is Rosmah to threatened the Chinese voters? What has she got to do with the peoples' choice? The Malay says to this kind of person; "muka tak tahu malu"!

written by michaelT, January 21, 2009 18:38:14
RPK, I cannot agree with you more that the young Chinese are not visible even in the Chinese area. The general impression is thier attitude. They prefer not to get involve except to earn more money and take care of their rice bowl. The last GE I talked to many young Chinese in my cam,paign but they told me they did not register. Some answer is they are not bothered. Look at all the rights demonstration you can see more Malays at least from the pictures. I urge all young Chinese to register and be prepared to come out in full force in the next GE and kick out the deadwood government.
written by foresight, January 21, 2009 19:10:21
This is what postal votes is for. Not just for the police and armed forces. It is very common in other developed countries. You don't need to be residing away from your your home town, you can do it even if you so happen to be away on holiday. Don't see why voter has to be present at the voting booth. I consider this as unfair.
written by Observer, January 21, 2009 19:13:08
I'll say I agree with RPK on not being too hot on the Chinese. The fact that they had to get out of Terengganu to find a job says a lot that they are pretty independent and have learnt that the system is such that you've got to fight for yourself to survive. I guess with CNY so near, and loads of angpows to give out (if you're young and married) you would not spend that much to come back even if it was a big thing. But for those not married, they might be lazy or just too career minded to be distracted. Can't really blame them since they've been brought up to survive the long run. Probably they assumed that things will swing to Pakatan even without their help.

The taukes who voted for BN to make it a point that it was the malays that caused the defeat of BN had very strong points there too. Being Chinese the livelihood and the economic stability comes first. Politics is number 2. I bet you these Chinese deep in the recesses of their consciousness still feel like pendatangs. It is not a very nice feeling. With that kind of mentality I can't blame them for choosing BN.

And as for the elder ones, the May 13th tragedy is one major experience very hard to forget. I guess if I was in their shoes with such experience, I just might not have the courage not to vote BN. Putting myself in their shoes, there isn't much time left in life, why take the risk. My siblings and I had a hard time convincing my parents to vote against BN last GE. They were fearful. When the results was announced about a landslide victory of PR, my parents gave me a midnight call to tell us to stay in doors on Sunday morning. There was genuine fear in the voice and at the same time a tingle of hope in the voice. They were not savvy with online news so the victory was a shock to them.

Conclusion, Yeah, RPK was right. I perfectly understood what he wrote when he said there were some Chinese with tears in their eyes stating, "Kita Menang" even though they may not have voted for PR. It was a new hope for these people. I believe with this breakthrough GE13 will be a slaughter house for BN. This is an eye opener for the Chinese that change is possible. And change it will be.
written by Observer, January 21, 2009 19:21:50
Chinese are leaving the country in droves. If the government stops treating them like pendatangs, and there were not so many opressive laws, I think the Chinese will take politics seriously.

I felt the same way until I saw hope in the last GE that change is possible. Now I'm taking politics a little more seriously, catching up daily with the going-ons in and out of politics. But still I am scepticle about a few things, but nvm, lets see what today holds and work on new issues tomorrow.
written by shamadz72, January 21, 2009 21:16:58
Observer,
Tell those elders Chinese, if they are that afraid to exercise their right as a citizen of this country to vote freely for any candidate of their choice than do not blame anyone when one Malay extremist have the balls to call them "kaum pendatang" or "squatters"
written by wartank, January 21, 2009 21:55:22
Too bad we were missing some 'Real Malaysians" in the polls.

Part of BN's calculated ploy? Who knows!
written by zam3886, January 21, 2009 22:37:11
I understand the fear among the Chinese, some MCA friends of mine (one ex-adun) are only MCA in name but more DAP in their hearts. When I asked them why don't they complain about the plight facing the Chinese all they can tell me is - you know UMNO lah. I am living right in the middle of BN strong hold in Johor and I did not flinch in giving my vote to PAS instead of Gerakan in the March 2008 election even I know very well that the BN fellas will know about it. I did that because I have seen first hand the gross mismanagement of this country under the BN government and I am very sure the country is heading for a major failure if things are not changed immediately. For the sake of a better future, you just have to stand up against them come hell or high water.
written by CariJalan, January 21, 2009 23:32:29
Commander Pete,

For once I cannot agree with you. You said, "… my point is that you should know what happened and not be too hard on the Chinese. We did get almost half the votes of the senior citizens but missed the votes of the younger guys and gals. And you should know why, that is all. Forget about grumbling about the votes we did not get. Instead, be grateful for the ones we did get and show gratitude by thanking the Chinese. I did that, door-to-door, before I came back to KL on Sunday. As I always say: look at the half glass of water as half full and not half empty."

I once watched a Vietnam War movie. In one scene, a spy was caught among the good guys. What gave him away was the way he shuffled his feet as he sneaked around the camp. A well-trained soldier will not be so sloppy as to use his boots like a pair of Japanese slippers. That Chinese in KT who planned to vote for BN had the audacity to come and tell you some cock-and-bull story about a supposedly ‘true loyalty’ to PR. I firmly believe that before the next election comes, the Chinese in this country must no longer shuffle their feet like a drunk and cheap prostitute who just slept with the enemy (yes, I have always felt than consorting with BN is like that). Chinese in this country must be bold and courageous and to stand up for their views. We are fighting an extremely fierce battle now.

To those older Chinese who voted for PAS, we say THANK YOU. To those who did not return to vote, they better get serious next time (AWOL is a crime in the military). To those who think that they are ‘master schemer’, let’s tell them to wake up and be sober.
written by Milo, January 21, 2009 23:35:38
The "Pakatan Agreement" is the ONLY viable weapon with some potency that the current opposition parties have to counter the Hudud & Islamic State issue that will surely be play up comes election day. If PAS break the "agreement" one more time, it will have a dire national consequence on the voting pattern for the non-chinese, and also those muslims who are more liberal. If that happens, and the tide is turned, blame no one but yourself, PAS. As for Pakatan, I would say SAD! SAD! SAD! that you are saddled with a member party with hollow principles in respect of agreements.

For now, let's hope this would not happen!
written by No nonsense, January 21, 2009 23:37:55
Dont blame the young chinese voters of KT cause this is exactly why the by-election was held near the chinese new year so that they know many of the chinese could not make it because of leave . If Bn will to hold it after chinese new year then you will see what the result will be. Stop blaming the young chinese of KT. Mca think they have the support of the chinese in KT. If only some who do not need ang pow for new year then Mca will be wipe out. Dont be too happy yet.
written by 2MuchRoom, January 21, 2009 23:39:52
Can somebody in KT find out who were the legitimate key holders for the back gates.
I will not be suprised if there are secret tunnels to all the polling stations. Knowing how desperate they are, yet smart too
written by archie, January 22, 2009 00:19:49
About half of the Chinese in KT voted for BN. Call them all sort of names - 'cowards' 'prostitutes'........ Sure they will vote for PR next election!
written by sorosapril, January 22, 2009 09:22:36
And Rosmah Mansor reminded the voters that the government knows whom you voted for.

well, I tend to believe this is true because I remembered when I cast my vote in Sabah, when I collected the vote paper from the officer, she wrote down in pencil my number on the voting paper and I asked her what was this for, doesn't this mean election commission would be able to trace whom i vote?

I believe a lot of you will have the similar encounter.
written by CariJalan, January 22, 2009 09:59:18
BEIJING: Fifty scholarships will be given to Muslim students in China to further their studies in Malaysia.

MCA president Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat said the Al-Bukhary Foundation would be offering the scholarships annually.
The move was to help the poor students gain an education, he said during a lunch hosted by the China Islamic Association at the Muslim Tulufan Restaurant here yesterday.
written by batsman, January 22, 2009 10:45:34
Whatever spin political analysts put on it, UMNO still comes away from the KT by-elections with the conviction that Chinese voters can still be threatened and bullied successfully. So I guess in the next elections you guys can expect more threats and bullying - maybe even some violence to back up these threats.
written by renoir, January 22, 2009 10:48:51
Excellent article, RPK. Regular M-T readers should just ignore the cybertroopers and remember how bloggers and other comrades have managed to grab about half the KT Chinese community in spite of all the bribery, media control, police intimidation, phantom voters, and the general absence of young Chinese voters. All this accomplished in an UMNO constituency. As I said earlier, if PAS can similarly influence Malay voters in MCA-majority areas - just split their votes into two - most Pakatan candidates would romp home with flying colors. This is probably going to be the scenario in the next GE: victory to the people and down with BN! DSAI, I hope you're ready with your Inaugural Speech!
written by densemy, January 22, 2009 10:57:39
In Australia voting is compulsory. A debatable concept but one which would go down well in compulsion obsessed Malaysia. Postal voting is an ethical concept which allows people who are temporarily away from their electorate to have their say.

Compulsory voting would also limit the opportunities for phantom voters to enter through the back gate ( malaysian style)

written by Rhan, January 22, 2009 11:07:02
Chinese never care about UMNO bully, otherwise DAP should have pack long tome ago. The Chinese concern is do we have a viable opposition (or the next alternative government) that comprises of all races that are willing to stand up against BN.

Is the Malay ready for one government without UMNO in?
written by chiongguo, January 22, 2009 17:27:19
No snakeheads? Actually snakeheads were often hired to spread rumours or to reinforce the people's fear. They move amongst the people and drop a few choice "bombshells" to make them either fear or hate - two very powerful emotions.

I wasn't in KT but I know a person who had lived there as a young man. I asked him and the family about KT and whether they would be going back to vote. One of the questions I asked them was how does the chinese feel about the malays. They told me that they got along fine and they even visited many malay families. I asked them also about may 13 1969 and they looked at me wondering what I was saying. I further elaborated on the events that took place and they said they never knew such thing actually had taken place. They were caught, somehow, in a time warp and KT was very much sheltered from the fighting and racial turbulence in KL.

My understanding of the chinese mentality came from my own discussion with my father. As a young man I used to ask my father a thousand and one question until one day he got fed-up and said that even the wisest man could not answer a child. My father was an MCA man but he hated the party. He got the membership because a very rich man wanted support for his son and paid for membership for all the old folks. This very rich man also gave my brother a scholarship to study in singapore. Every time the son needed support cars, van and buses would come round to collect all these 'paid members'. My father repaid his debt of gratitude by supporting him in party election. And been cheeky I asked him about the general election. He said he had always voted from his conscient and he had always voted opposition for parliament but mca for state. He felt that the state yb could do job. Actually it was more the father who went round doing all the charitable work.

Those days, kuantan was very small and often a few influential men dictated the sum total of all the beliefs within the community. But within a few parts of the town, snakeheads influence prevail. Today many of these snakeheads had become legitimate businessmen. Kuantan has grown and the center of influence have now shifted to the internet.
written by ibabonma, January 23, 2009 15:28:24
We may have stacks of statistical data analysing this and that but the bottom line is, did they cheat in the by-election or not? If they did, excessively, we might as well close our books and stop assuming.

I tell you, there are substantial phantom voters in their mists and their numbers easily exceed 5,000. If I produce an I/C at the polling station, can we honestly tell who the bearer is? Here I am not only assuming the I/C is fake, but who the bearer is, that brings in the I/C to collect the ballot papers, unless the I/C is presented at first opportune for verification by the candidates agents. At least that may help. Otherwise, why not allow the candidate agents themselves sit at the same table with the SPR election staff, and see what they do?
written by Fart Fart Wah, January 24, 2009 08:43:47
What about gerrymandering????ITS TIME THE ELECTION COMMISSION TO THE DELINEATION EXERCISE FAIRLY AND EQUITABLY FOR PARLIAMENTARY SEATS.

When Mahathir took over he ensured that even without MCA or MIC..UMNO still would win....and this is by his cunning sleight of hand in meddling with this exercise....
written by Milo, January 24, 2009 12:19:16
We are overly concern with the behavior of those chinese who voted BN in KT. If you ask behaviorist psychologists, they will tell you that it is a sort of stimulus-response reaction to the environment, modified by other more macro info like 'PAS will win anyway' thinking. When the time comes for th next election (if the current mood prevail, and the UMNO-BN image remains), most chinese will vote for change. The risk of voting PAS in KT is high for them because, even if PAS wins, they can still be made to 'pay' for the disloyalty. There is no finality in the overall outcome for change whoever wins, which can only happen at the national level if the opposition wins. Go for the big one, move on!
written by China Trengganu, January 29, 2009 14:26:35
I hope some of u that gave comment in "A thread too far" still reading this.
To all of u that supported the KT PAS voters, thank u all for your kind words and encouragement. U r real PR PPL that i and all our KT gang always admired. We were very excited during the KT by election to see so many DAP and PKR top guns plus RPK's gang addressing/talking to us (first time in KT history). Our gang infact on 3 occasions invited RPK's gang to join us to help inspired more of our friends towards fighting/understanding PR's cause etc.
After Pet's "A thread too far" i SMS and later emailed him. Part of my email said this :

"MCA was the one spreading the words “let Pas win but Chinese votes in Bandar must be given to BN”. This did not come from Pas/PR supporters.
No Pas/PR supporters voted for BN on 117.
600-700 DAP/PR supporters from Ocean Restaurant voted for Pas. (the same 6-700 that showed up every nite).
The Chinese in Bandar who voted for Pas stayed quiet until after the results came out. They shed tears, just like the lady who shed tears saying good bye to u. They now believe they too can make the change (their votes too counted for Pas overall victory)".

These were the 48% Chinese voted for PAS. I also told Pet that he may have misunderstood the guys he talked to in the pup due to too much drinks and half pass 6 english.
Anyway thank u all agin for your kind supports and its good to know majority of PR PLL prefer to light a candle instead of blaming the darkness.

To Pet: Tq for registering me, will see u again in Walf.