Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow No need for Race Relations Act, Cabinet says

No need for Race Relations Act, Cabinet says PDF Print
Tuesday, 20 January 2009 20:12

(The Star) The Cabinet has decided against formulating the controversial Race Relations Act, said Culture, Arts and Heritage Minister Datuk Seri Shafie Apdal.

He said the Cabinet, after studying the matter thoroughly, decided two weeks ago against having such an act.

“Race relations is something that comes naturally and cannot be forced through legislation,” he said at a media luncheon organised by the Malaysian Crime Prevention Foundation (MCPF) here on Tuesday.

“That is why everyone in the Cabinet agreed there was no need for such an Act.”

Shafie, who is also MCPF chairman, said he had discussed the proposed act with many experts and all of them were against it.

He said he had studied similar acts in the United States, Britain, Canada and several neighbouring countries and found that such an act was not suitable here.

He also said if everyone respected each others’ religion and race there would not be any problem.

“We have lived in harmony for more than 50 years. Why can’t we continue to do so? You cannot force someone to like you. It must come naturally,” he added.

Comments (39)Add Comment
written by Evol, January 20, 2009 20:16:41
They won make it happen, coz they cant's stand to see we live as one entity = MALAYSIAN as they solely survive on racial politicking!

ANother Project by Barisan Nasional!
written by Fuminari, January 20, 2009 20:20:58
when malaysian come in as one,that would spell the end for umno be end!
this triad survives on racial divides n racial cards,so do u believe they want it to happen???
written by OVERLORD, January 20, 2009 20:23:27
remember when BN was boasting and blabbering about this race relation's act? look at this quote;
“Race relations is something that comes naturally and cannot be forced through legislation,”
i say what an utter bullshit!!!
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, January 20, 2009 20:24:06
We have always lived together happily. We are a muhibbah country. We were brought up long ago to respect each other.
It's when intolerance rears its ugly head every now and then to provoke the people. Such intolerance of racism must be prevented so it doesn't break the bond of Malaysians.
Look at the world! When they ask us who we are, we say we are MALAYSIANS!!!
Where is the need for such Race Relations Act? It's only when some people want to divide and conquer for political gains that makes us small!
written by InEffective, January 20, 2009 20:27:13
This politicians version of harmony actually means you get racially exclusion and religious oppression, and subordinated rights.Do you like his harmony ?(your children will love you for this)
written by msiaman, January 20, 2009 20:29:58
I think this idiot is partly right! Even MACC also does not appear to have any real change in spirit and soul. You think the Race Relation Act mean anything? All the 'cabinet pieces' will just threaten the rakyat as usual. Race or no race relation act....

Same with this Apdal fella, only know how to threaten people from increasing price to cope with rising cost that this cabinet pieces approve. But now what are they doing to monitor prices now?

All such termite infested cabinets must be thrown out ASAP!
written by ahmadneil, January 20, 2009 20:31:59
Too late, that's why umno lost KT.
written by Namolos, January 20, 2009 20:36:45
Be every careful of this silent racist mole so call Sabahan[Culture, Arts and Heritage Minister Datuk Seri Shafie Apdal.]as he knows very well his original culture from the southern Fillipinoes region.and now his adopted UMNO culture/religion/race never REALLY respected others religions or races He so convinently use the word ''IF'' to cover his own tracks for his future actions when he shows his true colours.“We have lived in harmony for more than 50 years. Why can’t we continue to do so? You cannot force someone to like you. It must come naturally,”...he is actually expressing his true own feelings towards other races if you know how to read in between his lines.
written by SiHangChai, January 20, 2009 20:42:00
can all the rakyat Malaysia show their middle fingers to BN govt? First, they are so persistence with this Act and making it so racial and controvery. And now after losing KT, talking craps.
written by michaelT, January 20, 2009 20:42:57
What talk about race relation after 50 years. Who is the party responsible to crack the race relation fabric. The UMNO is the cause. Go to the basic and you undersatnd what cause the different race to suspect each mother. Remove all the discrimatory policy. Discipline the Umno politiocian for uttering racist remarks. Detain them under the BN famous ISA. During the early post Merdeka all races were united. BN has failed for 50 years. The rakyat will hold BN responsible for the widening of race relations. We are rejecting BN so that we can achieve Malaysia Malaysian.
written by hamid, January 20, 2009 20:47:35
Yeah ! then UMNO bastards cannot use 'Pendatang" words anymore ! Thats why they dont want to pass the Race Relations Act! smilies/angry.gif
written by kingelvis, January 20, 2009 21:03:04
Exactly, why should we need such legislation .. not like we are living in apartheid! Luckily we don't discriminate..burn temples.. award jobs, contracts based on race.
written by blackpea, January 20, 2009 21:03:19
When does UMNO knows how to respect people religion, UMNO in power all the while and we can see alot Indian Temples being demolish, Churches not being able to be built, chinese temple has to be a terrace house house, churches in shoplots without the Cross. They day UMNO is kick out is the day they start to respect the rakyat.
written by zam3886, January 20, 2009 21:05:17
Simply put, they do not have the will power to end racial politics in Malaysia because that would render their existence irrelevant. After spinning their lies for 51 years it is still the same wine but in a different bottle.
written by blackpea, January 20, 2009 21:06:01
This UMNO is afraid to enact this Race Relation Act is becos they will be the first few to break this Law. This UMNO putras should be banish from Malaysia when PR comes to power then only the rakyat can live in peace.
written by johntyc, January 20, 2009 21:16:18
...because then Umno cannot fan racial hatred.
written by savemalaysia, January 20, 2009 21:32:46
Tell that to Botak Hamid. That sickening lawyer buruk is a liability to UMNO and the nation.
written by lamakawan, January 20, 2009 21:35:30
If he had studied similar race relations acts from Britain, US, Canada, and other countries, why did Shafie introduce such act to the cabinet in the first place?
And now he makes an about turn and said there is no need for such an act?
What sort of mind has he got?
Is that all grey mud in his head that he has to flip and flop like his boss?
written by ASK4u, January 20, 2009 21:42:17
That's the problem. You don't respect other race and religion. That's why the act is necessary to force you to do so.

How stupid. Shallow thinking. You are a people hater, I know. The act doesn't force you to love someone. It makes it mandatory for you not to slander or ridicule someone with your hate speeches, like the 'pendatang' hate speech.

..and here is the real reason as to why the Amno goons don't want the act to find the light of the day. It's because stirring racial hatred among Malaysian's has been their most powerful tool to win the election the last 50 years until now. Once the ACT is passed into a LAW, a majority of the Amno goons will be doing time in prison for slanderous speech and the like. From here, we know that Amno will never change and will employ the same method till kingdom come and that will be the reason for their downfall come next GE13.
written by Kopi37, January 20, 2009 21:44:42
We don't need a race relation act but definitely we need a Mongolian Relationship Act plus a new Bonking Act! Damn you all the monkey acts!!!!! smilies/angry.gif
written by OVERLORD, January 20, 2009 22:08:50
We don't need a race relation act but definitely we need a Mongolian Relationship Act plus a new Bonking Act! Damn you all the monkey acts!!!!!

Kopi37you left out the HCEA aka.... Highly Combustible Explosive A]ct.
written by No nonsense, January 20, 2009 22:49:29
And now he makes an about turn and said there is no need for such an act?

This fellow is just following the style nof his boss. Another Flip-flop. What do you expect people from Amno?
written by hellosunshine, January 20, 2009 23:02:31
OMG! They still don't get it, do they? And they said they've got to reinvent themselves and they don't have the 'Wow!' factor. They ask why do the voters reject them and vote for PR.
Dumb asses.
written by Milo, January 20, 2009 23:19:46
We don't need another race relationship Act; the NEP and umnoPUTRA Implementation Guidelines are already
"successfully" governing the race relations in Malaysia!
written by Msian Idol3, January 20, 2009 23:34:45
Natural to lie & steal for these UMNO/BN chappies. This is the main reason they do not want the race relations act. They can also go on to divide & rule to benefit race base parties. They never consider the nation's unity comes first & that unity needs help to bring it to the next level. Crooks in disguise as ministers.
written by gorshan, January 20, 2009 23:36:59
oh i see ,we do not need the race relation act all of you says. that means big shot Mr Tong Sam Pah of Sdn Bhd can continue advertising for Chinese only accountants in newspapers and that Ahmad Belacan of public sector can continue hiring Bumi only. i see your arguments guys and i reply to your arguments with globful of flu laden throat ejected green phlegm.
written by fireduck, January 20, 2009 23:52:35
Ok, I don't know what this Race Relations Act id about but I thought there should be legislation against hate crime and racists acts and statement. But you definitely can force someone not to perpetuate hate and racism for the greater good of all.

written by Daryl, January 20, 2009 23:55:27
Go listen to the guy from Permatang Pauh, our dear Education Minister, DPM and long list of people. Those non-halal words come out of the place that only take in halal food. GO FIGURE...
written by anakwatanKL, January 21, 2009 01:36:31
Truthfully, rakyat Malaysia do not need a Race Relation Act. Reflecting from history, Malaysia will benefit from politicians in office who do not fan the disease of racial hatred. It just exhausts and 'burns' people up esp. those who indulge in this behaviour. What a wasteful time and energy.

Through the elections or by-elections, each rakyat Malaysia has spoken. Politicians kindly take note of the change that the Malaysians want and one of it, is doing away with race politics. That's the beauty of democracy in it's finest. God Bless Malaysia, tanahairku and it's people.
written by panca, January 21, 2009 02:32:26
EXPECTED! Good, at least is proven in Black @ White.

Don't worry, we have more hope that this gomen is slowly but steadily dying off. They rely on racism to further(end) their political careers, they need that to shout on top of their lungs at other race without them being shown the CENTRE FINGER. We will point to them with the Third Finger where the Door of Death is comes GE-13.

The Day Umno Dies!
written by Proarte, January 21, 2009 04:37:20
Races have got along just fine for the past 500 years until UMNO came on the scene.

Race relations have deteriorated as a result of the concept of 'Ketuanan Melayu' and 'Ketuanan Islam' practised by UMNO and PAS. Do away with institutionalised racism and bigotry and you will have the peoples of Malaysia living with ease and mutual trust with each other.

Treat everybody equally and with dignity and race relations will improve no end. It is not rocket science.
written by USJ 6, January 21, 2009 08:13:10
Of course the " BeEnd " Government is against the Race Relations Act because they are pretty sure a lot of UMNO goons will be put behind bar under this act.
written by myvoice, January 21, 2009 10:04:07
The Cabinet has decided against formulating the controversial Race Relations Act, said Culture, Arts and Heritage Minister Datuk Seri Shafie Apdal.

The kabinet! Who? Any Chinese pendatang and Indian pendatang MP sit in the kabinet to aggainst the Race Relation Act? If yes, you idiotic MP better balik "tongsan"!
written by the1, January 21, 2009 10:16:22
They simply can't afford to lose their main card? smilies/grin.gif
written by unomalaysia, January 21, 2009 11:39:05
Aiyah of course cannot lah! If the Act comes into force all amno's strategies, methods and standard operating procedures will be illegal lah and these shitheads will no longer know how to conduct themselves. Imagine Shit Hamid and Najis being charged in court for flouting provisions of the Race Relations Act and the Kerisidiot will have to stick his keris up his @$$! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by SimpleSoul, January 21, 2009 15:03:07
Agreed, No need for race relation act, Lepas PR ambik alih, semuanya okie. Just need to change law for corrupt politician to be given public canning at Dataran Merdeka. That will be a nice sight.
written by cllim123, January 21, 2009 17:51:10
We dont need a race relations act. We only need a new gormen that will treat all malaysians the same and give credit only when credit is due. No kulitfication but real qualification.
written by hellosunshine, January 21, 2009 18:04:04
“Race relations is something that comes naturally and cannot be forced through legislation,”

What about religion? Religion is between man and God, how come you force it by legislating it for the majority of the rakyat?
And what about the running dogs, MCA and MIC? Licking balls is all you can do? Get some backbones, for crying out loud!
written by Badaksumbu, January 21, 2009 19:15:49
Read here on Race Relation

http://kadayanjournal.com/