Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Najib says KT loss not a reflection on his leadership

Najib says KT loss not a reflection on his leadership PDF Print
Tuesday, 20 January 2009 20:09

By Shannon Teoh, The Malaysian Insider

Deputy Umno president Datuk Seri Najib Razak dismissed suggestions that Barisan Nasional's (BN) defeat in the Kuala Terengganu by-election was a personal setback, insisting instead that it was the collective responsibility of his party.

Najib, who led the BN campaign in Kuala Terengganu, has come under pressure after the loss to Pakatan Rakyat in what was an Umno stronghold.

While the BN candidate was seen as a man closely associated with Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi, the defeat has put the spotlight on Najib, who will take over as Umno president in March.

Since last Saturday's defeat, some of Najib's supporters have been trying to shift the blame for the loss to Abdullah.

"How do you know it is personal?" Najib said today when asked whether he thought the loss was a reflection on his leadership.

"It is a total responsibility of the party when it comes to a by-election. There are many factors, it is not a one-man show."

Instead, the current deputy president insisted that Umno must change its culture and image to restore support for the party which suffered its second straight electoral loss since BN lost its two-thirds parliamentary majority last March.

Najib said that Umno must conduct a post-mortem of the Kuala Terengganu campaign to look into the various factors for the defeat.

"By culture and image, I mean the values and attitude of Umno leaders at all levels. We must show values that are accepted by and attractive to the rakyat," he told reporters here today.

He explained that this was not limited to the top leadership as the public interacted with Umno and BN leaders at the grassroots level.

"So they will evaluate Umno based on grassroots leaders."

Najib said the party acknowledged and respected the choice of the people and would now have to present a more positive image to voters and the public at large.

He also said that some elements of a post-mortem would be brought to coalition partners at the BN convention scheduled for next month.

"But we already know some of the features and sources of the defeat," he concluded.

Comments (42)Add Comment
written by Fuminari, January 20, 2009 20:17:14
najis,it is not a reflection;as a matter of fact,it is the REJECTION!!!
written by Evol, January 20, 2009 20:18:31
no problem, as he wont be able to make it to become the 6th PM of Malaysia!

He still living in his own wonderland aka day dreaming!
written by krising1, January 20, 2009 20:19:13
If this is collective responsibility, why is Mar 8 not collective responsibility? Why the Permatang Pauh not a collectively responsibility? Suka suka chakap, eh? Sorry lah. UMNO and BN have lost the plot. Now just be prepared to be kicked out! kaboooooooooooom!
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, January 20, 2009 20:19:17
Reinvent, nothing short of a metamorphosis can deliver that change.

It's not about acknowledgment, it's about action that must permeate the entire core of Government and parties. It is for the people that it must be done.

The people is the master. The parties be they from BN or Pakatan Rakyat, must never forget that it is for us all, for the PEOPLE of Malaysia, for us Malaysians!

Every loss in an election must reflect along this. Every win must bear in mind that it's the PEOPLE who voted. Political leaders are SERVANTS of the people, first and last!

Umno should look inside and transform else demise is at hand!

http://proud2bmalaysian.******...tk-ad-lib/
written by DreamLady, January 20, 2009 20:21:43
Najib, why couldn't you just say, ' I have failed and I shouldn't have done what I did by splashing bribery all over KT horizon to woo voters.' That would be the appropriate answer when you are asked.

Too bad, you are going downhill as long as you are still in denial!!!
written by ahmadneil, January 20, 2009 20:24:26
He should say like this,very simply..'umno/BN lost KT becos we are are too corrupted and the voters in KT don't like been forced to vote for umno with a gun barrel pointed at their head.I take full responsibility for the lost of KT and I will resign as DPM.'What so difficult,Najis! You can tackle Aminah,screwed and C4 her.This is so easy,just say it and the nation will give you more pity votes.
written by karyeowl, January 20, 2009 20:27:37
Aiyooo.. sudah kalah also got so many thing to say.

He led the team in KT and loss. Anyway it is still not his fault that Bee eNd loss. How can we entrust someone with this type of integrity to lead our country in 3 months time?

We will be in deep shit! smilies/sad.gif
written by cahaya, January 20, 2009 20:28:26
When this guy says something in public, he generally means the exact opposite.

When he denies doing something, he means he actually did it and he is guilty.
When he says Malaysia is not in recession, he means it already is in recession.
When he says Umno needs a paradigm shift, he means Umno won’t change anything.
When he says Umno leaders should come out of their comfort zone in order to bring about change, he means don’t dare change anything if you want to stay in Umno.
When he says Umno must change culture and image to restore support, he means Umno will never change its corrupt culture but will continue a threatening image to instill fear among the minorities.
When he says KT election loss is not a reflection of his leadership, he means it is clear example of his corrupt and incompetent leadership.
written by PRman, January 20, 2009 20:29:09
He will take the credit if he won, and shift the blames to all when he loses. What a shameful reaction!
written by justinlian, January 20, 2009 20:30:01
Dear Najib,
It is very simple to know whether it is personal or not, get another bye election on your seat then you will know.
Simple as that.
If you lose then forget about being PM.
written by Debbie, January 20, 2009 20:34:18
Its leaders and thelikes of your kind that make my decision so much easier to to be a citizen of another country, First class ........where there is no race, no religion
written by Susuit, January 20, 2009 20:36:39
Najib still dreaming, denial,do not accept FACT.
written by ahmadneil, January 20, 2009 20:36:56
Still defiant and trying to escape through the back door to evade responsibility.So guys,how can we expect umno to change if their leader is still so defiant.Just keep your fingers close.
written by ahmadneil, January 20, 2009 20:39:01
To all umno /BN,
There will be more setbacks in time to come becos your leader still speaks with a forked tongue.
written by ngiuchap, January 20, 2009 20:49:30
A good leader credits the team for success, and takes the blame otherwise. Even the head of my cleaning team (ketua penyapu) knows this. I think my ketua penyapu can be a better PM!
written by michaelT, January 20, 2009 20:52:43
KT loss is not a reflection of my leadership so says Najib. If the BN lost who then shoud bear the responsibilty. Remember that you are the BN election BN leader and sad to say that the leader should take responsibility.Whoi else would you blame? You loss for the reason that you lied once too many times. Your image is tainted with sokhoi, eurocopter and Aminah case. Please stand upright and face reality before you assume the top post. The world leaders are watching you.
written by mikewang, January 20, 2009 21:02:41
KT election result is not a reflection of any party nor anyone.
It's an act of God. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by hamid, January 20, 2009 21:08:35
"Malaysian need Rakyat appointed Prime Minister, not UMNO appointed Prime Minister". Change the system now, this is rakyat Malaysia demand!
written by johntyc, January 20, 2009 21:12:14
Typical politician. Like playing Tai Chi, when the blame come, push it away!
written by DreamLady, January 20, 2009 21:18:45
hamid, I sokong habis habisan cadangan kamu. We have the rights to choose or reject PM whom we think does not live up to our expectation!!!it is disgusting to note so much power is entrusted to the wrong people who claim they have the wisdom and a sound mind to pick and choose the candidate of their choice!!
written by SamYap, January 20, 2009 21:46:55
Yes, Najib is right...its not a reflection of his leadership. It was a simple message from the rakyat telling him to take a long walk.

Right from the time when Najib stood at the stadium in Kpg Baru and shouted for Malaysian blood to be spilled, he lost all the values of a leader for his nation. Najib is not fit to be our leader and CERTAINLY not fit to be anyone's moral guardian. Even if there wasn't any by-election, Najib was already a lame duck PM with so many questionable acts hanging over his head.

Imagine for one moment...if another country should get hold of incriminating evidence of Najib's involvement in the Altantuya's case, the PM would be held at ransom and our nation would be a goner. Or worst, if one of the unscrupulous warlords in UMNO has that sort of evidence, he would be in a position to exploit Najib and plunder the wealth of our country.
written by No nonsense, January 20, 2009 21:49:37
The only reason I can think of is the people want the BN gorv., out and PR in. What ever mortem or bottom makes no different. The rakyat has sounded it once and will sound it again and again untill PR is in.
written by ASK4u, January 20, 2009 21:59:50
"Ketuanan Melayu!!!", "keris branding", nepotism, cronyism, etc. Arrogance, "hate speech", "racial discrimination",.. huh just too many, lazy to write again. Even the Malays are not too happy with all this. Probably, Obama has woken them up from their sleep.

written by ksmaniam, January 20, 2009 22:23:07
Najib said the party acknowledged and respected the choice of the people and would now have to present a more positive image to voters and the public at large.

OK guys and gals. He said it. Let us have a referendum official or unofficial.Let the rakyaat say it, not us, but the rakyaat, get Najib's and AAB's agreement.WE can conduct it free of charge or ask the govt. conduct it.what do u think?

Alternatively, if they do not agree.Reqiest DSAI to take over because I feel in my guts that AS DSAI said Najib is worse than MM.Make a choice. March is too near for comfort.
written by Milo, January 20, 2009 22:24:24
TRUE! It is more a reflection of his LACK OF LEADERSHIP!
written by aplus, January 20, 2009 22:26:21
Who will be doing the post mortem? Who do we really think are they going to be if they are not the PUTRAS of UMNO BARU? Your last words above already show what you really want to hear emerging from the post mortem. You are just wasting your time since the forthcoming post mortem will be just as good as no post mortem at all. Get off your butts and stop kidding yourself!
written by alpha100, January 20, 2009 22:47:07
Agreed! Its not reflection of Najib's leadership ability!
Its worst! It's a reflection of majority rejection of BN in total esp UMNO!
written by rocky, January 20, 2009 22:51:30
if UMNO won it would cos of Najib's great leadership. People support him as PM bla bla bla. come on la, you are PM cos of 2,000 UMNO delegates whom lost of people look at with suspicions. You lost it...take the blame and move on.be a man.
written by wartank, January 20, 2009 22:57:43
What?! What is all this about conducting a post-mortem of the campaign and a change of image? These are only to create denial and to further deceive the RAKYAT! Is this Najib Razak just plain dumb or too conceited. My bet is both! Your losses are the results of what you goons had done and the people refuse to tolerate them anymore!!!
written by OVERLORD, January 20, 2009 22:59:58
Only crooks,criminal and cowards like u najib, pass the buck!!! a true leader always shoulder the blame...
written by fireduck, January 20, 2009 23:56:01
This guy is like 'DUH!' Whoa, watch out, blur sotong will be leading us soon.Ok, KT is not a reflection of your leadership. Then I challenge you to call for a general election after March and get a direct referendum on your 'leadership'.
written by Fat Zorro, January 21, 2009 01:45:59
"How do you know it is personal?" Najib said today when asked whether he thought the loss was a reflection on his leadership.

And this is the man who wants to be the Prime Minister of Malaysia!!!! How can we have an irresponsible man to helm the country? Amazing how UMNO chooses its leaders?
written by FFT, January 21, 2009 06:27:56
Najib is right. The votes against BN are not a reflection of his leadership...it is the people voting against Rosmah. We all know Rosmah wears the pants while Najis chases skirts.
written by malgal, January 21, 2009 07:54:12
ship in choppy waters, captain blames crew and ship manual, captain fails to steer well, captain must walk the plank.
written by asguard, January 21, 2009 09:02:47
More rubbish slew out from Najis mouth! Only waiting to be put into the coffin casket and to be seal forever in coming 13th General Election!
written by ROBERTNGTG, January 21, 2009 11:56:27
Najib said that Umno must conduct a post-mortem of the Kuala Terengganu campaign to look into the various factors for the defeat.
"By culture and image, I mean the values and attitude of Umno leaders at all levels. We must show values that are accepted by and attractive to the rakyat," he told reporters here today

ASK THE DEVALUED GUY. HIS CONCEPT OF REBRANDING IS TO SACK EVERYONE SO THAT ONLY HE REMAINS AND BECOMES INDISPENSABLE TO THE PARTY.
written by ultraman, January 21, 2009 12:42:23
Najib,
You must be so dense that you do not understand the meaning of defeat in KT!
You spent day and night thru out the campaign in KT Yet you lost!!!
It is you who the people reject!!!
written by amoker, January 21, 2009 13:01:45
Najib, since you are doing post mortem.. how about doing a post mortem for last year's defeat as well. Seeemed that BN kept pushing it back.

No, it is your fault that we spend RM500-Rm1 billion on KT and you lost.
written by Fart Fart Wah, January 21, 2009 16:50:25
DENIAL MODE....DENIAL MODE...

the next election..we put a dog as a candidate for the Pahang constituency..the dog will win..provided....no C4 money is given to the voters...
written by Wudan, January 21, 2009 17:28:14
Yes Najib, of course it is not a reflection on your leadership. The people of KT just don't 'sayang' your wife, Rosmah Mansor.
written by macaufan, January 21, 2009 17:29:58
Najis,
u r rgt ! it's not due to ur leadership ! pls continue to dream dream dream.... till nex GE come ! ok?
TQ ! hahaha.....
written by Semut Jantan, January 22, 2009 01:36:04
Had BN won the KT by-election:

"This is a reflction of my leadership...that people embrace me...blah blah blah".

PORAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!