Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Umno Must Revamp Culture, Image - Najib

Umno Must Revamp Culture, Image - Najib PDF Print
Tuesday, 20 January 2009 20:01

(Bernama) -- Umno's negative image and the attitude of its leaders, which is not seen to be people-friendly, are among the reasons for the Barisan Nasional's (BN) defeat in the Kuala Terengganu parliamentary by-election last week, said Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.

As such, the Umno deputy president said the party must change its culture and image so that it could win the hearts of the people.

Umno leaders at all levels must put up a positive and people-friendly image, he told reporters after witnessing the handing over of the agreement on the Restructuring of the Negeri Sembilan Water Supply Services at the Putrajaya International Convention Centre, here.

"The people gauge Umno from what they see in their relationship with the Umno leaders at all levels," he said.

He said this when asked to comment on the statement by Umno vice-president

Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin that Umno needed the "wow" factor to regain the people's support following the defeat in the by-election.

PAS won the Kuala Terengganu parliamentary seat when its candidate Abdul Wahid Endut defeated the BN candidate, Datuk Wan Farid Wan Salleh and Independent candidate Azharuddin Mamat in the by-election on Saturday.

Comments (34)Add Comment
written by OilMan, January 20, 2009 20:09:05
UMNO is not people friendly and that is a fact as they are more money friendly. One way the federal government can help the rakyat is to reduce taxes for the rakyat during these difficult times. But instead the present (but not for long) federal government is still not able to curb the increase in cost of materials and food stuff.
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, January 20, 2009 20:12:18
It's sad that our leaders are only thinking of changing culture and image to win the hearts of the people. When people don't buy the food sold, it is not about changing the aroma and packaging. It's a lot about the food itself, the substance, the heart of the food. For people to vote for a party, any party for that matter, it's when people know and perceive in their hearts that the good of the people is being served and fought.

It's always about the PEOPLE of Malaysia. We all want a better country, a better economy, a better place in the world, our country!

Taking a cue from Abraham Lincoln, let Malaysia be governed by an honest and just Government who is that government of the people, by the people, for the people.
written by macaufan, January 20, 2009 20:12:26
Najis r right ! corrupted regime racist umno must revamp !
Revamp on:
- more abuse in ISA to silent off suara Rakyat!!!
- more abuse on to polis, AG, ACA & Judiaciary to silent off Rakyat & cover up regime corruption !
- more korek korek korek mission in a bigger/faster way !
- more abuse on MSM to paint a better scenerio on regime !
written by Fuminari, January 20, 2009 20:13:55
with najis at the helm,do u expect umno to hav any image??
written by Evol, January 20, 2009 20:17:39
no matter how they tried to change, it is to late now, like the song singing 'it's too late too apologize, its too late'
written by OilMan, January 20, 2009 20:20:32
Latest announcement is the price of sugar wiil increase after Chinese new year.Stop BN from making our lives miserable.The positive side of this is we will consume less sugar and the number of 'kencing manis' will also reduce.
written by msiaman, January 20, 2009 20:23:42
All foot soldiers must change or appear to have new packaging to deceive the rakyat. But you think the rakyat is as gullible as before?
written by OVERLORD, January 20, 2009 20:27:51
Same old shit, different day... smilies/grin.gif
written by InEffective, January 20, 2009 20:29:21
DPM only seeks to change your perception, not your reality.If your reality is wonderful, wonderful.If NOT, well - choose wisely.
written by Susuit, January 20, 2009 20:32:10
There is no point, no matter how many times you change. There would be any different as long as the same persons are there. The whole BN has to be changed to PR.
written by DreamLady, January 20, 2009 20:39:48
Najib, learn to own up your folly and arrogance!! Stop looking for scapegoats cos' you are responsible for all that took place at KT. The police forces, spies, the cheat, the manipulators, the blatant display of intimidation by those in charge of election government machinery...all of them took orders from YOU and YOU ONLY!!!

You are a lousy loser!!!!
written by Oscar Winner, January 20, 2009 20:47:11
Once they revamp, they become vampires to suck you dry. Once they revamp culture, they become vultures and go after your flesh. Once they revamp image, they become mirage and appear ghost-like to haunt you.

Year of the Ox once in 12 years. Same bull every year
written by Mee Udang, January 20, 2009 21:00:55
Revamp?????
Bow & kiss every single malaysians toes & say sorry!
written by johntyc, January 20, 2009 21:06:21
You did bad things. Most Umno and BN people did bad things. We knows. It got nothing to do with your image! No need to cover up your corruption act. Just stop being corrupt. No need to pretend that you are nice and fair. Just be genuinely nice and fair to everyone. You got that Najib?I doubt it!
written by megahyper, January 20, 2009 21:16:55
Samy vellu had an image change remember? He did grew some hair. And now umno wanna follow the great samy vellu make over. Just great. Image change. They just dont get it. Lets help them understand better next election
written by sonofmalaysia, January 20, 2009 21:26:30
It is like a big old skunk telling other skunk, pls get rid of your stench
written by ahmadneil, January 20, 2009 21:34:28
Adios umno!
written by savemalaysia, January 20, 2009 21:47:19
No need to revamp culture and image. Why change the status quo when you UMNO bigwigs are so high and mighty that you can bulldoze your way through anything in Boleh Land. Continue to take pride in Angkasawan project, walk solo in the North pole, land a Proton in the Artic, sail solo in the world and detain journalists under ISA on the pretext of protecting them. What's it that these UMNO's goons won't consider as achievements that others blush.
written by lamepug, January 20, 2009 22:17:01
yup...wear a mask...a fox under sheep skin...STILL IS A FOX!!
written by ASK4u, January 20, 2009 22:17:11
Still refuse to accept the fact. It's not an image or a perception problem, like the "snake in the rope story" - the wrong view that can be corrected when the light of knowledge dawns upon someone. It's a fact. People know only too well about your behaviour and attitude and that you're really a snake and not a life saving rope.
written by Tokyobanker, January 20, 2009 22:23:05
A senior person once told me that UMNO did start out with good intentions genuinely to help the Malaysian people improve their livelihood. However over the 52 years of high handed ruling (NOT SERVING), UMNO has been hijacked by the whole bunch of greedy, unscrupulous, concession / contract seeking sub-contractors / fortune seekers at all levels of the organisation, from the grassroots to the top. Any conscientious and dignified Malay person can never make it in current UMNO organization and is left with no choice but to join PKR or PAS. The very basic principle of elected politicians serving the citizens is no longer in place. It is the self serving enrichment attitude that has become the modus operandi!

The same applies to MCA and MIC. From the grassroots up, both the organizations are infested with fortune seeking contractors and get-rich quick scumbacks. Any decent Chinese or Indian has given up on MCA and MIC. They can no longer claim to represent the very people they are supposed to be serving.

These three organizations have outlived their tenure and have deviated from the original goals set out by the forefathers.

To change means you have to get rid of more than 80% of the scumbacks infesting the organizations, which means it is almost impossible to change. It is almost easier to start out anew if the urge and the commitment to change is still there.
written by Milo, January 20, 2009 22:29:56
Yes! I have a suggestion on how to do that...Instead of the waving the Malay Kris during the UMNO assembly, wield the Chinese Sword instead. Better still replace the Kumbang with Lion Dance. This will immediately change the culture and the image of UMNO and win the chinese over.....But too bad, you will lose all the malay votes.
written by aplus, January 20, 2009 22:47:37
We've heard this many many times before and he is sounding nothing less than a worn-out-old-gramaphone record we've already so accustomed to. If I read between the lines correctly he is tired, helpless and hopeless in coming to terms what's in store later when he he puts his feet in the premiership shoes.
written by BukitBeruntung, January 20, 2009 23:10:45
How appropriate, "Ubah gaya hidup" slogan to be directed at UMNO itself. Thank you Najib. "Wise" words indeed!
written by Daryl, January 20, 2009 23:49:25
DPM
You can change a direction of a party or their idealogy. However, you can never wash of allegations after allegations of corruption, abuse of power, poor leadership, racist, MURDER and all the allegations againts you. Never once you come clean or proof the allegations are wrong. All the evidence point to guilty...

I will always be proud to be Malaysian but Malaysia will embarass me if they allow a leader with this much controversial to lead the country.
written by cruzeiro, January 21, 2009 00:09:47
Revamp your laddoos, Najib!You wanna improve your image by stifling dissent and constructive criticism?You revamp by brubing to buy votes?You revamp by sending in your uncouth police force to bark at citizens gathering in MBPJ civic centre?You say revamp, and then you persecute your citizen by charging them in court for paeceful fellowship in PJ?You wanna revamp your image by imposing the Police Act and the ISA meant for terrorists & gangsters, on peaceful citizens?
written by mucking fuddled, January 21, 2009 02:43:51
with such a suspicious reputation, i can't see him wielding any political clout within umno itself to impose any of his intentions to those recalcitrant, unyielding, and mostly corrupt divisional warlords, in other words, it is merely lip service, mind you, his wife could do with a revamp!
written by asianguy, January 21, 2009 03:46:37
"not seen to be people-friendly". All this talk about image goes to show that UMNO and Najib are still in denial. They still do not realize that what they are doing is wrong - they just think the image they're projecting is wrong. So, UMNO's solution: keep doing the wrong things, just project a better image, i.e., hide your wrong-doings from the people better. I say just vote them out.
written by arazak, January 21, 2009 07:46:25
How to change UMNO's culture of robbing the people's money and the nation's wealth? The culture change must come from the top first. Remember, "the fish rots from the head"!

UMNO leaders had rot to the core and beyond salvage. . .! No culture change can help.
written by axppin, January 21, 2009 08:11:33
So your priority is to focus on changing your image instead of solving the country's problems huh?? Sure aaa? OK. Try this. Do you have the balls to rid yourself of your wife's queen controlling you? This is something only you can do you know. I guarantee you bro, this will surely 'enhance' your image. Amacam? Ada brani kah? Heehhh, doubt it!

written by asguard, January 21, 2009 09:00:30
Najis is talk more rubbish every single day. What reforms ... i don't see any over haul changes ...only know how to blah, blah and more Nato! (No Action talk only) is tiga suku UMNO motto....all the way!
written by Bigjoe99, January 21, 2009 09:33:16
HERE IS THE PROBLEM: Most Malaysian think HE has to change FIRST!!! or be changed....Najib is not that different than Wan Farid, just older a bit...
written by Vince, January 21, 2009 09:58:47
What Najib just said is an insult on our intelligence! It also means he and the rest of UMNO leaders did not "get it" yet into their thick skull!
I do not want you to change merely so that people will like you or BN back! I do not want you to change just to please the people and to become what the people perceived a political party should be.
I want you to change by first acknowledging how wrong BN-UMNO has become and changing because it is the right and correct thing to do in order to help the betterment of the rakyat! I want leaders who is sincere in change and not because he feels by changing as according to what the people what, he will get the support of the people. I do not want a leader who says change but actually his heart thinks otherwise, that is not change, that is merely playing politics!
This goes the same to PR side, I want them to be sincere in changes and betterment of the rakyat and not because as an opportunity to beat BN-UMNO.
written by capcomangel, January 21, 2009 16:12:09
what? why dun u step down together with AAB and transfer power to Tengku Razaleigh and Tan Sri Muhyiddin.

everyone are not happy with u both people. why would u so care about be president( u sayang Omno dan negara ke, atau sayang jawatan dan mewah?