Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Umno must change or risk losing the next general elections

Umno must change or risk losing the next general elections PDF Print
Tuesday, 20 January 2009 18:37
By Neville Spykerman and Asrul Hadi Abdullah Sani.

PUTRAJAYA, Jan 20 - Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak today said Barisan National (BN) must meet the demands of the people or face punishment during the next general elections.

"BN must win the hearts of Malaysians by ensuring all government programmes are in line with the aspirations the people," he said in the first acknowledgement since last weekend's Kuala Terengganu by election of the need for reforms in Umno and BN.

Najib said BN could ill afford to allow disconnectedness to exist between the needs of the people and government policy.

Najib, who was launching a book, entitled 'New Politics' by Entrepreneur and Corporative Development Deputy Minister Datuk Saifuddin Abdullah, said BN had no choice but to change.

"Malaysians are now more matured and no longer interested in rhetoric's or empty promises. They want results and leaders who are responsible."

Najib said BN leaders need a paradigm shift and need to come out of their comfort zone in order to bring about change.

He drew a comparison with the politics of  change, which was the winning theme in president-elect Barack Obama's presidential campaign, in the United States.

"Obama managed to tap this wave of change to get nominated and elected, as the first African American president."

Najib said in Malaysia, BN is sensitive to the wave of change sweeping through the country and must reinvent itself to meet the challenge.

Meanwhile Saifuddin said Unmo was asking for trouble if it does not change, in the wake of March 8 and the Kuala Terengganu by-elections.

He said his book, based on compilation of his thoughts and writing on politics, challenges the establishment to practice participatory democracy.

"For far too long the business and civil community have been excluded from the process and structure of decision making."

The Termeloh Member of Parliament said the government must adopt new politics which is more  inclusive, in their administration.

Saifuddin said his book stresses that politicians need a high degree of idealism and integrity.

He said many in Umno were ready for this change and were looking for a signal from party leaders and the new Umno president to lead the way.

"We cannot afford incremental change but need a quantum revivalism of Umno and BN."

Comments (41)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, January 20, 2009 18:42:54
Hei,I have long told you all that umno can't change anymore.The skin are too thick,the hearing are fading,the sight losing and it won't be long before umno will be wheelchair bound.
written by Rashid, January 20, 2009 18:43:20
To change BN means changing you. Period!
written by Zym Zym, January 20, 2009 18:46:35
The day UMNO changes its policy is the day we all will witness the sky turns RED. It's highly improbable. smilies/grin.gif
written by overseaMas, January 20, 2009 18:46:38
BN can win 100% the hearts of Malaysians if they willing to surrender all their dirty wealth back to RAKYAT ... Dear Najib ... can you do it .....
written by ahmadneil, January 20, 2009 18:48:45
To change umno must first change the constitution,allowing all malaysian to be treated fairly,sharing the economic cake equally and respect for rules of law.If umno still think they are the god of this land by treating minority as servants,then umno will not see light at the end of the tunnel.
written by MsiaCTzen, January 20, 2009 18:51:19
To change means going to JAILHow can change. they are crooks.
written by OVERLORD, January 20, 2009 18:52:32
The ship has left the port...BN is extinct... Somebody call the taxidermist!!!....time to display them in the museum next to the dinosaur and dodo bird section..
written by justinlian, January 20, 2009 18:53:17
hehehe.... It makes me laugh when UMNO say they will change.
Maybe they will after all for 5% then they say enough and in half a year time, they go back to th old ways.
In chinese say, A mountain can easily change but cannot move a person attitude
written by Braino, January 20, 2009 18:53:49
Let's not parrot America about change. What we need is more than change...its a complete overhaul! More for the people and less of personal political agendas!

Transparency and accountability are two very important ingredients to a more inclusive administration.

Unjust laws and programs must be eliminated immediately!
written by ahmadneil, January 20, 2009 18:54:17
No community can hold its head high and claim to be part of the civilized world if it condones the practice of discriminating against one half of humanity.And umno have been practicing these for 52 years,continously.So today umno find it awkward if they change becos they are use to belittle the minority.
written by savemalaysia, January 20, 2009 18:54:41
Whether UMNO/BN will change their attitudes,policies,approaches or mindsets is no longer relevant, comes GE 13, they will be wiped out totally, no dust left. This is same as what Najis said during the GE 12 about PKR, Party Kurang Relevan. So UMNO will become "PKR" instead after GR 13.
written by onnetline, January 20, 2009 18:55:15
Yes, a change of a new government and bury racist UMMNO elites !
written by hiro, January 20, 2009 19:06:52
Talk only lar. He knows what we want exactly. There is no need for further analysis and review.

We want at tamer executive. We want the police to back off from civil rights movements. We want them to catch thieves, robbers and rapists. We want our streets to be safe to walk around even after 12 midnight. We want our judges to be smart, wise, courageous and independent - and the same goes to our anti-corruption crusaders. We want ISA to go because it is inhumane. We want, mostly, a leadership that's inspiring and inclusive. We want open tender, and public declaration of assets of senior public officials. We want competent people to be put into place in all our institutions to spur competition and therefore growth.

Najib only needs to listen to Pakatan to know what the people want. There is no need to reinvent the wheel.
written by Liberace, January 20, 2009 19:14:31
Talk is cheap. Put your money where your mouth is Najib!
written by miwaki, January 20, 2009 19:14:52
The great sages of the east said that you can move a moutain but there is no way you can change the character of a person.I would be satisfied if the current crooks maintain status quo.
written by chanatak, January 20, 2009 19:15:44
UMNO cannot change unless we put it into the opposition seat for 2 terms at least. So let's start working on it commencing with 2012, if DSAI cannot get enough to jump over in the meantime. We'll put these BN loyalist MPs into the opposition seat and more of them out of jobs. 2 terms will be enough to make sure that the old dogs all die out. In the meantime, UMNO can continue to dream of changing. They can talk all they want. The Rakyat will only believe it when we see UMNO put the corrupted arms deal politician in jail; and the corrupted PIG and his other high ranking law enforcers in jail; or the corrupted free tour judges put into jail. Think this will ever happen in UMNO? I doubt.So UMNO can dream on and keep talking. Who believes you baby?
written by michaelT, January 20, 2009 19:17:20
A lepeod cannot change its spot. The first change BN should act is to give out state developement allocation to projects approved. The The states are the PR government. The people know the misery how you punish them by denying the allocation. Remove the racist and corrupt government officials and charged them for corryuption.Dismantle ISA and release those in Kamunting.
written by blackpea, January 20, 2009 19:18:46
UMNO is you want to change, start by listening to the rakyat. Here below is my request list for the start:

1. Charge all ISA Detainee or release them.
2. Throw this ISA law away.
3, Drop all charges to RPK, Anwar, and the other people whom you have been holding anti ISA demo.
4. Dismiss all Police chiefs for being your GOONS,
5. Hand all UMNo putras to the Police to be investigated for plundering the nation wealth

There's lots more but I would appreciate if you could start with the above 1st.

written by lamepug, January 20, 2009 19:18:56
our dear dpm...pulling the bollywood act again...talk, talk, talk...we rakyat want to see what you can do with corrupted, racist ummnoputras... don't just open mouth and release empty air...dpm...your first move is to replace all current isa detainee with those ummnoputras... that's rakyat eager to see...
written by johanssm, January 20, 2009 19:27:06
MT readers, please be serious.
Do you wants them to change?.I dont.
I wants umno to remain as they are, as my intention is to have a new government.
I didnt voted for the Pakatan Rakyat for fun.And i hope none of us here voted PR just for fun.
written by ibabonma, January 20, 2009 19:43:07
Look who is saying? So gracious it seems, after loosing in a bye-erection! Very soon he will become more brutal and starts killing all over again.

Coming soon!

Najis, the lipstick hero of 'Have C4 Will Kill' in a cheat matinee show of 'Wild! Wild! East' with Azilah and Sirul as supporting actors. Heroine? Of course Big short Mama Boom Boom. Victim: A thing of beauty, Altantunya of Mongolia.
written by smeagrooo, January 20, 2009 19:44:22
Folks,
dont ever ever fall for this scam. No, not even a single chance shld be gvn to BN and Umno. Whatever change they wanna con u wont happen. Give PR a chance to screw us also. 5 years only. We must be fair!
written by harryo, January 20, 2009 19:45:30
Dear Najib, You have mixed up trees for the woods. You require a 360 degrees turn to change BN which is impossible. It touches on all aspects of administration, policies and principles. And that means you are on way out in GE13.
written by Steven Tan, January 20, 2009 19:48:52
Change?Better becareful, don't suddenly change from "Dracula" and become "Werewolf"....
written by OVERLORD, January 20, 2009 19:51:38
johanssm, We are serious.how can BN change if they think the world revolves around them? It is not the matter of they can't, it is more or less they won't.so your case are rest assured.By the way, if unless u consider the hassles of waking up early in the morning, standing under the sweltering heat in long lines,just to write on a piece of paper as a fun occasion, well i beg to differ.
written by lamepug, January 20, 2009 19:51:46
yo harryo, need only 180 degrees to change... 360 seen like turn to the same direction... smilies/grin.gif
written by lynn, January 20, 2009 20:06:59
Maybank deal was suspected to be merely a "legal" way to move funds out & parked in the bank a/cs of selected umnoputras. Who in his right mind would pay such a high price to buy equity in a foreign bank of a third world country?

Then we have the leaked-out Eurocopter deal which also smelled of corruption (commissions), probably over the sum of more than RM1 billion!

And then recently, mohd najib made it happen: RM7bil was moved out of EPF to Valuecap. Wow, very bold & daring of him.

It seems to some of us, umno is busy moving funds out, parked them overseas. By the time 2012 comes, or even before, Malaysia would be bankrupt. EPF have very low liquidity, those "loans" that EPF gave out during TDM/AAB or modh najib's time will never be returned to EPF.

By the time PR takes over, the country's coffers will be empty. Umno-led BN govt will walk off & allow PR to take over. In the same way, Bush the Chimp is packing to leave the White House after he has more or less finished off the USA. And there is nothing Obama can do to "save the USA"... in the same way, Pakatan Rakyat will have no $$$ to save Bodohland. Thanks to all of you BN voters.
written by InEffective, January 20, 2009 20:16:57

I think comparable for this racist anal-infatuated politicians is probably the malaysian tapir at best.

Don't insult the obama by shamelessly trying to associatively link to his credibility.
written by Evol, January 20, 2009 20:19:21
To change or not, they will definitely loose the next GE, take my word!
written by teohpg, January 20, 2009 20:31:25
Go home and talk to your wife ROSMAH la....nobody want to hear you talk here...
written by jjireh99, January 20, 2009 22:18:58
it's very irritating to hear just cheap talk, talk, talk and talk! Come on, people know whether it is from the depth of the heart or not! How many times must we reiterate that UMNO does not mean what they say?????? Aiyoh..... I will say it one last time...... cough back all the monies that you have taken from the coffers and put it back to where it belongs! Abolish ISA, get rid of all the baggages in the cabinet, wipe out all the police force once and for all (save some to man the streets, of course) and resign! Then, we will try to believe you!
written by Milo, January 20, 2009 23:50:47
Umno must change or risk losing the next general elections
-------------------------------

No need to change lah...just dissolve the party. Then you would have nothing to lose!
written by myvoice, January 21, 2009 08:02:25

yeah UMNO must change, change to become parti mampus!
written by T Square, January 21, 2009 09:48:56
Malaysians of all walks of life did indeed asked for change.
One of the change requested which will never be met by BN is a clean and corrupt free administration.

To institute this change, just about the entire front bench and backbench of the ruling BN will have to go.

And this includes the likes of Kairy and Mukhriz.

All this talk about change by BN is just full of shit and none of them dare touch on the subject of "CORRUPTION".

2Mohd caught with a suitcase full of cash in Aussie is very quiet.
This man could potentially be our next DPM.

Scary thought isn't it.
written by unomalaysia, January 21, 2009 11:43:46
Umno change, of course can if Najis, SHit Botak, Kerismoron, and all those racist, corrupted underlings resigned from the party.. But cannotlah, then amno will be the smallest political party with only 100 members (I am being generous here) remaining.
The other possibility that amno can change is when all pigs suddenly sprout wings and fly.
written by Vince, January 21, 2009 12:32:46
What Najib said is an insult to my intelligence! Najib and BN-UMNO seem to have missed the point completely. I am not requesting you to change merely so that BN-UMNO will be likeable again, I want BN-UMNO to change because they themselves want to change for the betterment of the rakyat, nothing more! What Najib just said is they need to change because the rakyat wants them to change, this will not work, this will not bring the betterment for the country. Changes must come from within, must be from the heart, must be sincere! If BN-UMNO leaders change because to please the rakyat, that is not change! I do not want leaders who do not walk the talk!
It does not matter if it is BN-UMNO or PR, leaders must be sincere in their actions and is always for the betterment of the rakyat and country before party and before themselves! BN-UMNO, you have been given 51 years to do that, you guys just took it for granted and I think about high time you guys pay for your ignorance. Change because you know you guys did wrong, your bad and come back again when you guys are sincerely for the betterment of the rakyat and the country but for the time being, BN-UMNO are irrelevant as I for one have no faith in your administration anymore! Bye!
written by Msian Idol3, January 21, 2009 12:47:03
UMNO/BN is corrupted to the core & has no ideas on what it takes to make Msians united. Please step aside & let others more capable to do the job. UMNO itself is a party of bullies & has too many old baggage leaders with no upstairs on what to do apart from bullying your own kind to get ahead to gain financial deals. Only way for U guys to change is to be the opposition.
written by Sabahfan, January 21, 2009 15:54:15
Hooooiiiii

we dont want UMNO to change, we want it to remain blooody arrogant, so we can vote and get rid of them by next election....

we dont need a dictator for government
written by jonath66my, January 21, 2009 19:14:06
On the day that the Land of Opportunity, the US of A, sworn in a non-white President, Barack Obama making him the most powerful man in the world, our chosen one Najib have come up with his own inspiring 'change or die' oratory state of the BN=UMNO address.How moved or convinced are we on 'Najib-a-ba-mish' address directed towards his BN=UMNOputra dominated government, compared to Obama's inagural address.see. www.jonathan66-my.********.com on how BN can change or die
written by Msahibul56, January 21, 2009 20:42:22
Najib. For a start, change your wife.
written by Edward C, January 21, 2009 21:50:14
How to Change??? Firstly, the government is made up of cronies who are usually not highly qualified except in making deals.

You dont have to look far, just across our causeway down south!!! You get qualified people, educated people to run the show. Stop this denial thinking like "ohhhh they are a small country, so easy to run". NO the concept is the same, regardless of whether it is large or small. When you walk into most government agencies in there, you get the feeling that the people feel good about their work there!!! They are proud of their work. None of these "tiday apa" attitude.

The saying goes this way....

When you want to do something, you find a way
When you dont want to do something, you find an excuse... (guess you know which is which when it comes to Malaysian Government office personnels)