Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow No action on Angkasawan

No action on Angkasawan PDF Print
Tuesday, 20 January 2009 08:34

By Dharmender Singh, The Star

No action will be taken against Angkasawan Datuk Dr Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor Sheikh Mustapha over allegations that he received money from giving a series of talks last year.

Science, Technology and Innovation Minister Datuk Dr Maximus Ongkili said although the ministry found he had contravened a few clauses in his contract, action could not be taken as there were certain “grey areas” in the contract.

When explaining a show-cause letter from the ministry, he said Dr Sheikh Muszaphar said his work at the ministry was not affected as he gave the talks after office hours and when he was overseas.

“He has provided an explanation to the queries in the letter including why he charged for the talks and we feel that it is acceptable. So there is no reason to take the matter any further,” he told reporters after launching the ministry’s logo yesterday.

Dr Ongkili said investigations also revealed that although Dr Sheikh Muszaphar was paid for the talks, the amount in no way amounted to over RM1mil. It was alleged that Dr Sheikh Muszaphar had pocketed over RM1.2mil.

Dr Maximus said a new contract would be ready by next month which would address the weaknesses in the existing contract. He also said Dr Sheikh Muszaphar had expressed his wish to continue working with the ministry.

Later, when met at the KL International Airport before his departure to Egypt for a humanitarian mission, Dr Sheikh Muszaphar said he would decide on whether to sign the new contract with the ministry after reading it on his return.

On Dr Maximus’ statement that he had breached the earlier contact, he said, it was due to a miscommunication.

written by ahmadneil, January 20, 2009 08:48:24
He should be charged in court and all the money that he have illegally received must be donated to PR's cause.
This space tourist is getting arrogant and he think that he can get away with murder.
Again, we see double standards here.We have enough of all these bullshit.This incident will be on our list of not voting for umno in the next election also.
written by blackpea, January 20, 2009 08:48:52
How to charge the angkasawan, it will be like shooting themselves in the foot again. Another Barisan Najis project. Breeding corruptions.
written by mypanida, January 20, 2009 08:55:27
No wonder corruption indices are so high; they are being spearheaded by our space hitch-hiker.
how many sekolahs could be built?
how many hospitals could be built?
how many low cost homes could built?

The list will go on and on and we will meet you at PRU 13.
written by avaaz, January 20, 2009 09:04:03
IT IS THE PRINCIPLE NOT THE AMOUNT THAT MATTERS.
SEVERE PENALTIES SHOULD BE IMPOSED ON THE ANGKASAWAN.

HE SHOULD BE MADE TO RETURN THE MONEY AND CHARGED IN COURT
MOST IMPORTANTLY APOLOGISE TO THE NATION AND BE MADE TO DO
COMMUNITY SERVICE IF HE CONTRAVENED THE CONTACT.

FOR HE IS THE ROLE MODEL FOR SO MANY YOUNGSTERS.
OTHERWISE WE WILL HAVE A GENERATION OF YOUNG MALAYSIANS WHO
LACK MORAL INTEGRITY.

IN SHORT IT BECOMES NECESSARY THAT WE
COME OUT FROM THIS MORAL DECAY & DEGRATION THAT PLAGUES OUR SOCIETY.

SHAME ON YOU DR SHEIKH
written by amoker, January 20, 2009 09:14:08
yeah, so what?! we already spend RM100 million on him. RM1.2 million is nothing... crap.

he does nothing for the whatver space progogramme. just a tourist.
written by Democrats, January 20, 2009 09:27:39
Guiness Book of World Record - Richest Space Monkey cum Tea Lady.

Only in Malaysia - can we find artificial pride and false sense of achievement.
written by CitizenBodohland, January 20, 2009 09:28:36
makanlah wang haram anda itu.....
written by smeagrooo, January 20, 2009 09:36:40
Grey areas in contract and he was let off the hook. No wonder our country is going to the dumpsite as we hv seen how many lopsided contracts made in the past 50years. Tolls and IPPs enough to make us vomit for centuries.

written by supplier, January 20, 2009 09:53:20
All are Cover-up just like KT by election where reports were made regarding the RM 300 to the journalists to the police and MCCA. All answer given are :NO FURTHER ACTION WILL BE TAKEN. This is Malaysia
written by Angela Ooi, January 20, 2009 10:06:19
This poster boy of the UMNOputras is having it good. We are also paying for his car, driver and $5000/- monthly salary amoung other things.
written by Kunta Kinte, January 20, 2009 10:08:11
Again fooling the Rakyat. When is the next tourist going?
written by Heaven8402, January 20, 2009 10:10:44
Malaysian Book of Records for most used words "No action will be taken....." Oh now I understand, you need to receive more that 1 million in order to be charged. No wonder many umno-putras could not be charged! smilies/grin.gif
written by michael chick, January 20, 2009 10:21:45
Anytime UMNO takes money, there is no investigation; and it is not a crime. Anyone else takes money, and it is punishable. Stop TALKING C0CK!!!! and just GET LOST !!!
written by Tan Tan, January 20, 2009 10:22:11
Do u guys know that this angkasawan is GAY and his boyfriend and him co own a restaurant in Bangsar?

I was laughing when he was selected to be the angkasawan out of 4 candidates.

I got no problem he is gay as I know he will force to marry a woman anyhow like most rich gay malays dude in our country.

I was laughing is because the stupid government told the whole world we sent the first MUSLIM into the space. How ironic, the first muslim into the space is a GAY. On another hand, we could be proud as we send the first GAY muslim into the space and no Muslim country in this world dare to do so. Therefore, I will also tell ppls MALAYSIA BOLEH!
written by malgal, January 20, 2009 10:37:42
Transcripts of angksawan's `talks' please - what nuggets of knowledge has he brought back to enrich our space programmes?
What are we doing with his findings ? Can it justify the multi millions we spent to shuttle him there and back? Time for real answers.
written by machitam, January 20, 2009 10:54:02
RM millions of rakyat money(tax payers money) was spent on him. he should be made to serve the rakyat, not on his terms!
why do the minister made the announcement so soon? why there is no equiries? why there is no investigation by mcac?
if you cannot get him , go for his boss!
PR, what shall we do?

written by lobster, January 20, 2009 11:07:28
MCA talks as if it has helped BN won the by-election. Get lost losers. Let see if you can still talk big in the next GE.
written by wannabepatriotic, January 20, 2009 11:09:08
He also said Dr Sheikh Muszaphar had expressed his wish to continue working with the ministry.

Dr Sheikh Muszaphar said he would decide on whether to sign the new contract with the ministry after reading it on his return.

...first say eager to continue with working with the ministry (the same ministry that spent over 100mil for his space tour) yet ends it with saying he'll consider it. Is this is how you balas budi to the government? Just like many scholarship students NOT returning to the country to serve back the government. Biting the hands that feed you?

End of the day, s'long as the price/contract is right. $$$ CHA CHING $$$
written by ROBERTNGTG, January 20, 2009 11:49:36
On Dr Maximus’ statement that he had breached the earlier contact, he said, it was due to a miscommunication

CROOKS PROTECTING THEIR OWN KIND. AND IT CONTINUES AS IF THERE IS NO TOMORROW.
WE WILL JUST HV TO ENSURE AMENO/BEEND ARE PUT OUT FOR GOOD.
written by advocatusdiaboli, January 20, 2009 12:41:44
Maximus Ongkili just get lost lah. U giving us maximum bullshit la. Poorah!
written by exzonerator, January 20, 2009 13:19:56
What's next? Teh tarik experiment in space?
written by fairnessforall, January 20, 2009 13:34:23
Are all the goverment lawyers idiots. Every contract signed by the goverment seems to always be lopsided and have loopholes. Maybe BN should hire Karpal Singh as their lawyer to ensure tax payers money are not wasted anymore.
written by pinsysu, January 20, 2009 13:59:35
so u angkatcawan into outerspace to do teh tarik in da tourist space pod ... i tink not wise. outcome likely to be pretty messy & u end up with teh tariking ur face ..?
written by Vincent, January 20, 2009 17:52:56
MALAYSIA ringgit BOLEH ! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by miwaki, January 20, 2009 17:57:08
Angkasawan kita ambil duit berapa banyak ? Sampai nak kena saman ? Tak kan kita tak tau Malaysia punya orang mana boleh tak masuk kalau ada peluang.Orang besar kita kan masuk kuat,rakyat pun ikut-lah.Kalau nak tangkap,sampai bila boleh woi ?
written by tino_chan1988, January 21, 2009 10:28:10
What grey areas?

It's purely a turn-my-head-away and not-see-any-evil-again political propaganda crap! Surely a crime has been committed whether its done during or after working hours or whether íts done overseas or within Malaysia.

Crap excuses.