Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Azilah: I was having ‘char kuey teow’ and was not even carrying my gun

Azilah: I was having ‘char kuey teow’ and was not even carrying my gun PDF Print
Monday, 19 January 2009 23:52

In the third day of hearing of the defence’s testimony, Chief Inspector Azilah reiterated his alibi and that he was not even carrying his gun that fateful day …

By Suara Keadilan English Team

Under cross-examination today, Chief Inspector Azilah Hadri again denied he was at scene of the murder of a 28-year old Mongolian translator, alleged to have been Deputy Prime Minister Najib Abdul Razak’s mistress.

The 32-year Azilah, who took up the post of Najib’s chief escort, on Oct 20, the day after Altantuya’s killing, reiterated his alibi.

He had previously told the Shah Alam High Court that he had been having ‘char kway teow’ with his fiancé in Wangsa Maju during the hours that Altantuya was believed to have been slain.

The Mongolian woman was murdered at a location between Lot 12843 and Lot 16735 in a jungle clearing in Mukim Bukit Raja between 10 pm on Oct 19, 2006, and 1 am the following day. Some investigators say her body was strapped with C4 explosives and blown up to prevent identification.

The case has been widely followed both nationally and internationally because of the link to Najib, who has been accused of having a sexual relationship with her, before passing her onto Abdul Razak Baginda.

Razak, a political analyst and former adviser of Najib, has admitted taking Altantuya as his lover, but is adamant that Najib never met her.

Although Najib too has denied ever knowing Altantuya, he has not been able to shake off the accusations, which flared again when Razak was acquitted and discharged without having to enter his defence for abetting Azilah and his colleague Corporal Sirul Azhar Umar in the murder.

Azilah had last week told the court that he got to know Razak Baginda through Najib’s aide-de-camp Musa Safri, who on Oct 17 asked if he could help Razak with a ‘problem’.

According to Azilah, Musa gave him Razak’s handphone number. But he only managed to contact Razak the next day.

Azilah denies Razak’s testimony, says was not even carrying his gun

Today, Azilah also denied he phoned Razak Baginda and told him “you can sleep in peace tonight’.

He said he did not see Altantuya again after she left his car earlier in the evening and got into Sirul’s car.

Azilah told the court that he had asked Sirul to meet him at Central Market so they could go to Hotel Malaya to “advise” the “Chinese woman” not to disturb Razak anymore together. He also identified the “Chinese woman” as Altantuya.

In previous testimony, Azilah had said Razak told him he was being blackmailed by Altantuya and a unidentified “Chinese man”

Azilah also told the court that he was not carrying his gun that night, on Oct 18, that he had left it in his cabinet before meeting Sirul because it was uncomfortable and hurt his waist to carry.

Not sure if jeep Altantuya got into with Sirul belonged to Sirul

However, both he and Sirul did not meet Altantuya that night, deciding against knocking on her hotel room door for fear that it might not be the right room.

Azilah said he surrendered his gun on Oct 18  after briefing his team of Special Action Unit (UTK) personnel ahead of their assignment to escort Najib in Hong Kong.

He claimed that he only retrieved the weapon the next day, upon returning from Wangsa Maju after having supper with his fiancé, when it became apparent the Hong Kong assignment had been cancelled.

The public prosecutor, Tun Majid Tun Hamzah, asked why he had done so given that there was no firm date set for the assignment.

Azilah then replied that they had been scheduled to leave anytime between Oct 21-23.

In the evening of Oct 19, also the night of the murder, Azilah went to Razak’s house, asking Sirul to come along on fears that the “Chinese man” might be there, even though Razak had said he was not present.

Tun Majid then put it to Azilah that he had gone with Sirul that night with the intention of killing Altantuya.

“I tell you, after you left Bukit Aman, you, Corporal Sirul Azhar Umar and the Chinese woman went to Puncak Alam, killed and blew up the deceased, then you returned to Bukit Aman.

“That between 10.43pm and 11.28pm you were at the incident scene with Sirul and shot and blew up the deceased,” said Tun Majid, to which Azilah disagreed.

Azilah had also said he and Sirul had stopped their vehicles to let Altantuya move from Azilah’s car into Sirul’s jeep. However, Azilah said he was not sure if the jeep used by Sirul actually belonged to him.

In testimony last week, Azilah said this was because his girlfriend Rohaniza Roslan, who had followed him to Razak’s house, wanted to return to Petaling Jaya to meet her friends, so Sirul had agreed to send Altantuya back to her hotel.

“I have never seen it at the office, so how would I know if it is his or not? It is a four-wheeler, for playing in the jungle,” said Azilah.

The cross-examination continues tomorrow. Azilah’s counsel, Hazman Ahmad, will also re-examine him.

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by Tompios, January 19, 2009 23:56:30
stupid! why should you use your own gun? what are you trying to tell us? Childish!!
written by Kunta Kinte, January 20, 2009 00:01:12
Stupid! just spill the beans or face the gallows. We are not interested in your love story.
written by onnetline, January 20, 2009 00:03:48
Guilty as hell, as seen lying about his whereabouts !!!!
written by justice6, January 20, 2009 00:20:05
they are wasting our taxpayer money... just check who instructed the deletion of the immigration record.. that's the main lead and it will solve the case..
written by onnetline, January 20, 2009 00:23:32
Azila,
Telecommunication records of your whereabouts can't lie. If you have to take the fall for someone(s) ....... take it like a ' jantan ' lah !
written by MyBUDAK, January 20, 2009 00:35:58
"having ‘char kway teow’ with his fiancé" or jiak "siham" how can you remember what you've ate 2 years ago. unless something you've jiak for life.
written by cheekhiaw, January 20, 2009 00:38:06
Going by this fella's testimony, only one fella is now left with the 'ball'. And that one fella could get his hands on military grade explosives, blow Altantuya away, wipe her immigration records clean, and make PI Bala disappear even while in prison.

Amazing! We should send the entire team of DPM protectors like him to Gaza. They would have blown the entire Israeli army away and wipe Israel from the face of the earth with ease. No need to get school children to stage protests.
written by Arubin, January 20, 2009 02:09:48
Char kway teow, you say? You definitely 'char' something that night, and we all know it wasn't kway teow.
written by minds, January 20, 2009 04:17:09
first razak free second azilah free third sirul free last court said dont know who blow up atantuya,the story already plan.
written by malgal, January 20, 2009 06:38:58
selective memory. lapses when it doesn't suit occasion, lucid when it does. also strange bedfellows - the bodyguard and najib's close friend.
written by ahmadneil, January 20, 2009 08:21:54
Mark my words,the kangaroo law applies.These murderers are been taught what to say and what not.The kangaroo will triumphant in the end.
written by ahmadneil, January 20, 2009 08:23:00
If he is not carrying his cock,then he is carrying the C4 as authorised by Najis.
written by ahmadneil, January 20, 2009 08:23:39
Plain Lies!
written by ahmadneil, January 20, 2009 08:24:47
If you are not involve,then why cover your bloody face everytime you go to court.
written by ahmadneil, January 20, 2009 08:26:26
Najis,Roastmah,IGP and Ghani should all be in the witness stand!
written by taufan, January 20, 2009 08:44:25
No Malaysian operatives were involved. It is the work of foreign mercenaries (perhaps Mossad!) who committed the murder.

Hey, this is Malaysia ..... semua boleh!!
written by Foong, January 20, 2009 08:46:24
Lets hope the court will turn him into a "char kuay teow". Serve justice.
written by Rozlan, January 20, 2009 08:52:49
Have a fiancee and at the same time courted L/Cpl Rohaniza...Hmmm.. smilies/wink.gif

written by Man In Black, January 20, 2009 10:18:26
Char kuay teow mt ARSE!!!!!!!!
written by Kunta Kinte, January 20, 2009 10:58:44
written by minds, January 20, 2009 04:17:09
first razak free second azilah free third sirul free last court said dont know who blow up atantuya,the story already plan.

Don't forget Najis and Rosmah also freeeeee.........
written by Al Ambia, January 20, 2009 11:20:01
Shit,the real culprit release one by one.End of the trial,case close,The mongolian planted C4 on herself to commit suicide.This is what they want us to believe.
written by ROBERTNGTG, January 20, 2009 11:54:00
In the third day of hearing of the defence’s testimony, Chief Inspector Azilah reiterated his alibi and that he was not even carrying his gun that fateful day

WELL, HE IS HEADING FOR A DISMISAL AND IN THE END, EVERYONE GOES HOME FREE AND
LIVE HAPPILY EVER AFTER WITH THEIR ILL GOTTEN GAINS FROM THEIR CUT OF THE RM 510M
PROFIT. IT CAN ONLY HAPPEN IN BOLEHLAND WHERE FANTASIES BECOME REAL.
written by pinsysu, January 20, 2009 12:26:16
sheeeesh! u hv to spoil it, dun u? now every time i dip da chopsticks into ma favorite char kuey teow i be reminded of altantuya's tragic death. and, and, and ..... those bloody sihums look like .... oh, no, i can eat these! i better skip char kuey teow from now on ... shit u!
written by pinsysu, January 20, 2009 12:27:09
i mean, i can't eat those sihums ya. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by TheMessenger, January 20, 2009 12:31:45
haha...
me also think altantuya commit suicide with borrowed c4 from najib.
otherwise, where the hell can she get such a thing? eBay or mudah.com kot
smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Sabahfan, January 20, 2009 19:19:33
ha ha ha ha... and the lawyers playing stupid tooo..

Tell me people... since when did char kue tiau okay and Halal to this police liar?

ha ha ha ha ha... oooooh, it was prepared at a moslem restaurant right? well then thats not a fukking char kuey tiau already if halal... it would be plain mee goreng wouldnt it? Char kuey tiau will definitely contain pork and taugeh to be tasty... so lies already proven.. he he he he he he

char kueh tiau bullllhit..

written by Sabahfan, January 20, 2009 19:20:51
And BTW, the murder was committed by persons or persons unknown...

so stop wasting our taxes you blooody stupid judges.... ha ha ha ha ha
written by Caesar, January 20, 2009 19:26:48
FACTS:Azilah was Najib's bodyguard (chief escort) and was asked by Najib's ADC to help Razak in Altantuya's blackmail attempt.

If Court decided Razak B, did not order her killed, then who else did?? Someone important enough to erase/tamper Immigration records, someone whom the 2 special forces bodyguards will take orders, use of a controlled (non-commercial) C4 explosive and SOMEONE POWERFUL ENOUGH TO FORBID ANY NEXUS OR EVEN MENTION of his name in the ongoing (kangaroo court) trial.

Justice awaits a new govt.led by Anwar to restore the 3rd leg of our democracy : an independent judiciary.

written by killer_eagle, January 20, 2009 21:49:03
Where is Bala? I think he knows who is the murderer? If not, ask the "char koey tiew" seller coz i think he knows how to char koey tiew without koey tiew...
written by Milo, January 20, 2009 23:57:51
Azilah: I was having ‘char kuey teow’ and was not even carrying my gun.
------------------------------------------

Cannot be...every man in the world carry a "gun" since he was born! Unless of course, Azilah is a....P.....

PS: Is the ‘char kuey teow’ halah or not? No offence, but the chinese version usually has "pig's fats" added for texture!