Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Muhyiddin: We have lost the 'wow' factor

Muhyiddin: We have lost the 'wow' factor PDF Print
Monday, 19 January 2009 22:38

(Bernama) -- In a frank analysis of what ails Umno in the wake of Barisan Nasional's (BN) defeat in the Kuala Terengganu by-election, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin said the party has lost the "wow" factor that would pull people to the coalition's backbone party.

Muhyiddin, the international trade and industry minister and Umno vice-president, said there was a need to bring it back because having the wow factor would mean that people would sit up and take notice of something new and interesting that the party was conveying.

"Currently, in Umno, what's the wow factor? There is no wow factor. We have lost the wow factor that would make people say 'I really want to listen to what the leaders are saying'," he told Malaysian journalists when asked to comment on the by-election on Saturday, in which Mohd Abdul Wahid Endut of PAS beat BN's Datuk Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh by 2,631 votes.

Muhyiddin stressed the necessity for Umno and BN to reinvent themselves to fulfil the people's aspirations without sacrificing Umno's principles and struggle.

"Party president Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and his designated successor, Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, would need to institute a radical change, a political surgery, if you will," he said.

He said it would be well and good to conduct a post-mortem to ascertain weaknesses that contributed to the electoral defeat in Kuala Terengganu but what was more important was to dig deeper into the minds of voters.

"There are bound to be weaknesses in any by-election despite the party machinery having gone full throttle. But maybe this is a signal that must be taken seriously," he said.

"Does it mean that the people still find it hard to accept the BN after we lost in the last general election because they don't feel that there has been any change or reform as promised?"

Muhyiddin said that for this reason, the BN and Umno especially should not take too long to implement the reforms that they had promised.

The important thing was for Umno and the BN to tackle certain perceptions in the voters' minds.

"Mention Umno or the BN and that's the perception the people have, and this is twisted by the opposition parties," he said.

"We also cannot discount the possibility that our citizens now have a better grasp of things, are more sensitive and are able to make assessments from all angles.

"Maybe we are seen as not being ready to accommodate what they think is good."

He said Umno and the BN should be willing to act more radically in implementing the necessary changes.

Muhyiddin stressed that certain statements had to be made so that the people would understand the reforms that Umno and the BN intended to bring.

"Otherwise, they will regard our statements as rhetoric. I'm more inclined to analyse the by-election results from a more holistic perspective although we can identify the cause of the defeat the normal way, like ineffective election machinery despite the hard work, the choice of candidate and the issues raised by the Opposition," he said. -- The Sun

Comments (39)Add Comment
written by pokokmangga, January 19, 2009 22:43:45
Wow factor my southern region. As they say in England, he does not know hiw elbow from his arse. Its time for anak anak Malaysia to show him BN/UMNOputra the WOW factor. Send to oblivion.
written by myke, January 19, 2009 22:46:09
Hahahaha..since when did they ever hv that "wow" things.?
written by IbnAbdHalim, January 19, 2009 22:51:29
It's really simple. Stop bragging and work for the people. UMNO from Mahathir's era onwards had deviate from its original path. It no longer struggle for the people, instead kept itself busy enriching its leaders. And worst to worst kept on telling lies and sidelined the majority. With rampant corruption with its ranks don't talk about reformation because it's not going to work. The party must come out clean if it wants to survive. By the way, with the present line-up the party is going towards doom and its demise is unavoidable.
written by blackpea, January 19, 2009 22:52:19
Mr. Alladdin, UMNO has not lost its WOW factor yet, I would be interested to sit down and listen how UMNO leaders squandered the country resources, how you all enrich yourself, I'm sure when PR is governing, the new ACA and polis chief would also like to listen to all the UMNO putras get rich story.
written by Milo, January 19, 2009 22:53:59
Don't worry, UMNO, at least your dogs in BN can provide you with the wow! wow! factor!
written by cheekhiaw, January 19, 2009 22:56:28
Sure they have. They are thieves that would wow you by the way they get away with their thievery. They are liars that would wow anyone by the way they lie through their teeth. They are murderers that wow the world by the way they blow foreigners away, and wipe their immigration records clean and their police do not even bother to find out how that came to be.
written by lembu susu, January 19, 2009 23:02:42
You don't need the 'wow'. You just need to stop the arrogance, the corruptions, the abused of power, the blatant lies and denial of truths, etc..etc.., then if even you think you need the 'wow', the 'wows' and the 'pow-wows' will return. If not, it will not be the 'wow' but the 'woes'!
written by apasalahku, January 19, 2009 23:04:10
"All chinese are squatters"
"No to opening UiTM to other races"
"70% bumiputera quota"

Those seem pretty Wow-y to me..keep it up!
written by wes wong, January 19, 2009 23:05:02
They still have the WOW factor!!! Like the time when they raised the keris, called people pendatangs, beat up innocent civilians, etc.

Which part does not WOW you???
written by oldcinaman, January 19, 2009 23:06:46
By the way he talks, he is in the 'denial' mode.
written by PRman, January 19, 2009 23:11:56
wow.. thats all he got? KuLi speech was much better than this DIN. lol
written by bexe, January 19, 2009 23:15:45
UMNO has not lost its wow factor! It has a lot of wows!
Wow! so corrupt one!
Wow! so greedy one!
Wow! They really can spend so much ah?
Wow! They give Chinese and Indians so chance one!
Wow! They pull krisis to take blood! danger man!
Wow! They are above the law ah? How can?!
Wow! The simply arrest anyone under ISA?
Wow! They dismiss all our police report! Police also paid one?
Wow! The Speaker of the House can simply stop debate one! How can?
Wow! They use such force to arrest us! So bad one!
Wow! Wow! Wow! my dog also agree.
written by DatoSeri, January 19, 2009 23:19:28
I would like UMNO to dissolve immediately because it is no longer relevant to the Malaysian politics. UMNO brought shame to itself, to the BN alliance, to the country, and worst of it all...to the entire Malay people. SHAME.
written by sydput, January 19, 2009 23:22:29
to get the wow! fACTOR, UMNO should allow elect rafidah as their president.
written by Bloodhound, January 19, 2009 23:25:52
What 'wow' factor could there ever be when your party can't even handle the basic needs of the people.

No more arrogance - The Prime Ministership must never be passed onto another person. The Prime Ministership must be determined by the people and not by the party's elites. No more corruptions - The rampant corruptions must be arrested immediately before the whole nation is flushed down the toilet. Everyone (except for the incumbent politicians) knows about the corruptions that are spreading like wildfires in the government. No more racist policies and mindset in government - the divide and rule strategy adopted by the government must be thrown out of the window never to be revisited in order to preserve whatever's left of the harmony between the races. A nation divided can never progress.

More honesty and fair play from the government - Stop all the false rhetorics and misinformation being dished out by the government and its machineries. Stop using the unconstitutional laws and legal processes to hound your critics or political opponents. The myKads issued to illegals must be resolved before it reaches a boiling point and create chaos for the nation's citizens.

Do not ignore the growing crime rate that's affecting the very fabrics of a safe society that we once enjoyed. When leaders (especially those concerned with the security of the nation) blatantly refused to accept that crimes has become a major problem in Malaysia, there can be no solution available to solve the plight of the people who live in fear every day of their lives. The government has failed their citizens. When the government fails to listen to the voice of the people, then, there's no more reason for the people to support the regime.

Solve the above issues before you can even consider any "wow" factor because there could never be any "wow" factors when the citizens are in strive or in dire straits!

Get your priorities right - for once! Once upon a time, we were a deservedly proud nation. Today we are the laughing stock of other nations - from education to our judiciary system, from our Ministers behaviours to our civil servants (especially the police force)!
written by Msahibul56, January 19, 2009 23:32:28
Perceptions of UMNO or BN in the voter's mind:
corrupt, greedy, arrogant, snobbish, brash, uncivilised, self-centred, conniving, crooked, dirty, foul, shitty, vengeful, money-crazy, power crazy, crazy, mad, liar, cheat, fraud, impostor, coward, sneaky, sleazy, scumbag plus all the other negative traits you can think of.
written by Tompios, January 19, 2009 23:49:56
well, you need to take or learn little bit more about "Wow Theology"
written by rocky, January 19, 2009 23:59:36
think UMNO, I think corruption, arrogance and racist bigots who only do what is good for themselves than the nation.
written by anakmalaysia777, January 20, 2009 00:08:36
The 'wow' factor will start working if each of you stop blaming everybody else. Muhiyuddin that is what you have been doing - playing Oracle - pronouncing what is wrong. You are part of that 'wrong' and beyond or outside it.

You Mr. Minister have neem charge of the Ministry of International Trade for nearly a year now. Can you tell the people of Malaysia what is that you ahve done to make the nation proud?

Tell us how have you improved the issue of car import licenses. Recent reports indicate that it is more of the same as what happened during the 'fat lady's' time. Now they are demanding this import privilege for another 30 years. And you have announced that you would extend that privilege so that a few more UMNOputras can become filthy rich on the backs of hard working citizens of this country. What have you done to stop this drain on misuse of national resources? 'WOW" have you learnt the lesson?
written by ATSaari, January 20, 2009 00:18:54
As a matter of fact the WOW factor still exist!
Whenever we hear a speech or comment from any of the BN/Umno MP or minister, we still go 'WOW' this YB still not in touch with reality!
Whenever we hear about their fly by night mega projects, we still go 'WOW', somebody are going to be very rich.
Whenever they wanted to purchase armory and equipments for the Tentera, we still go 'WOW', we are paying much more than a rich nation would pay.
In murders we go 'WOW' the poor girl got blown to pieces!
With the justice system it's 'WOW'the highly connected will always run scots free without even calling for his defence.
In corruption 'WOW', they can never stop the hobby.
With the Prime Minister 'WOW' if he's not sleeping he's on another oversea trips trying to secure another project for Scomi!
And the SIL, 'WOW' what a load of bullshit he's screaming about.

So Tan Sri Muhyiddin, there are still plenty of WOWs abound. With UMNO and BN around the WOWs, GooGoo, GaaGaa, HoooHaah can never cease to exist.
written by wood, January 20, 2009 01:43:10
BN and UMNO, the rakyat is not interested in your "WOW" factor ! What is the use of trying to wow the rakyat just before the election ? Rakyat nowadays are no longer easily taken for a ride. Trying to give some millions in aid for some schools and making a big story out of it is disgusting and revolting. It is not BN money you are giving. It is the rakyats' money so what is the big deal. We are not beggars and just the few millions are peanuts compared to what is actually needed. It is the MCA trying to convince the chinese rakyat it is a big deal the government is helping the chinese school. BN or the govt need not give aid . It is your duty and the rakyats money you are spending.!

Wow for once during the elections , BN better forget it. If you want to WOW the rakyat , make sure you WOW them consistently and that means all the time throughout the year. Remember it is wow the rakyat consistently,fairly, honestly and sincerely!

Otherwise don't bother ! Rakyat is not interested in your one time WOW !
If BN want to wow , then wow properly ! Stop the AP which only benefits the few and not the mass ! Also let the rakyat have peaceful candlelight gathering which does no harm to the security of the others. Actions by the PDRM will only make the rakyat more resilient.!
written by doggone, January 20, 2009 05:35:59
Just take a look over your left shoulder. The bespectacled chinaman licking everyone's orchises is the WoW factor. He's from the Malaysian Canine Association. You say 'sit' he says 'wow'. You throw him some crumbs he says 'wow wow'. You say 'lick it boy' and he says 'wow wow wow'. Oh yes you have the 'Wow' fcuktor in your kennel for a long long time alright. They're so insignificant to you and to us that we label them as 'pariahs'. The definition of 'wow' is 'A joke that seems extremely funny'. Sadly, the majority of Malaysians have ran out of laughters for all those sick jokes.
written by oldcinaman, January 20, 2009 06:32:04
Wow!!! They never lack the wow factor. Even now, they have many wows, Corruption, wow. AP, wow. Rich MBs, rich Chief Minister, wow wow wow. He himarlf was a Menteri Besar, was a big wow. Redistribution of wealth? Wow, who become richer? One or two Bumiputra billionayres created, mission accomplished, wow
written by malgal, January 20, 2009 06:44:25
maybe you never had it?
written by Goodbites, January 20, 2009 06:55:25
wow factor = ketuanan melayu vs pendatangs = "imaginary license holder to anger" Licence No. 0001 = control of media (b4 alternative) = impose fear through race/religion/May13 = Denial in TV (very effective, b4 alternative)= ...
written by oldcinaman, January 20, 2009 06:57:02
malgal, do u know what is righteousness? I said b'cos I never had it?
written by Goodbites, January 20, 2009 07:26:30
The right and wrong kinds of wow!

wrong kind of wow = wow the journalist under isa = wow thousands of AP's given to one individual = wow straight A student cannot get a place in local U = wow pay toll to go through a traffic jam = wow blame rakyat for not using inefficient public transport = wow local car very expensive = wow billions spent on mega projects = ...

right kind of wow = very few
written by adan, January 20, 2009 07:58:13
Is it because it has lost the 'WOW' factor and replaced it with the brand new 'BOW-WOW'factor???
written by needchg, January 20, 2009 08:37:07
Statements like this..."we have lost the wow" factor....or by any other BN people looking back on "wat wen wong" - clearly an indirect admission of their shortcomings...yet still a stubborn display of arogance not to back down.
written by Daryl, January 20, 2009 09:04:00
"We also cannot discount the possibility that our citizens now have a better grasp of things, are more sensitive and are able to make assessments from all angles.

Actually, BN uses all the dirty tricks they have to trick rakyat into voting them. They try to cover up controversial with our money on things they cannot explain. No we didn't buy into PR's publicity but just regain our balls and have another viable alternative to go with. GO PR and we BN need to reform badly to stay in line with the rakyat.
Stop stealing our money and stop using PDRM for useless tasks like arresting peacsfull demo.... than after 10 years we might rethink about you guys.
written by loosecannon, January 20, 2009 09:06:26
I must say I disagree. Indeed there's still a lot of wow factor in BN. The massive corruption, the stupid behavior of ministers, the spinning of the BN controlled media, the one-sided action of the police, the refusal to listen to the public etc. I say WOW to all these.
written by Susanna, January 20, 2009 09:19:54
The only thing we can say Wow to is Wahlau so corrupt all these fella!
written by JohnQ, January 20, 2009 10:00:34
WROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOONG ! You morons are so illgotten-comfortable that you already forgot to spell 'Adui", no more in your dictionary. As proven by the word "minor setback" uttered by your shithead! Only the poor malaysians in kampungs still remember and need to voice out 'Adui" laudly !

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Al Ambia, January 20, 2009 11:08:05
Wow tadak,Alamak pun boleh mah
written by oldcinaman, January 20, 2009 12:25:44
Wow! They can erase immigration record ah? !!!
Wow! They can erase people with C4 !!!!
Wow! Why their MBs are so rich !!!! (NOTE: Muhyiddin was one, an outstanding one too)
Wow! They bulls**T again!!!
written by Angela Ooi, January 20, 2009 14:54:55
Muhyiddin, UMNO has LOST. Period! Go rest in peace (but only for the god-fearing) UMNO corrupt evils roast in hell together with 7 generations of their families!
written by pinsysu, January 20, 2009 15:35:07
da Barisan Rakyat will deliver a right hook, left jab & flying kicks for a POW-WOW factor!! 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2 & 1! WHISTLE!!! BN will soon suffer a TKO ... too late - nothing u can do: reinvent / reform / rejuvenate / resurrect ... game over!!
written by Sabahfan, January 20, 2009 19:03:15
The wow from umno is more like the howling dog or wolf.. woowoooooooooooooooooooooo

Since the beginning of Malazutland.. the wow list has been too long..

Wow...BMF carrian affair.... one investigator dead in HongKong
Wow... Eric chia and the steel affair..
Wow... operasi lalang.. mahataik mahafiraun
wow.... Rahim Tamby ****s and underages girl...she was 15 by the size of her breast
wow.... Double muhammad and a bagful of money and cant understand english, yet still the preferred leader by UMNO..

wow... UMNO money politics that Mahataik had to cancelled the 500 and 1000 denomination

wow.... Mahataik with his perpetual state of malay delimma

wow... Khir Toyol lying about the Azan at the mosque..

wow... innocent sassy MP who reports to a moslem CM being accused of insulting islam and ISAed for 7 days eating dogs food..now thats wow wow wow dogs affair

wow... Mazu temple approved and suddenly disapproved by Pushtuni.. he he he

wow... Musa Pustuni.. says.. allllllllll mineeeeeeeeeee !!!

wow... belled bottomed Kurupan afraid of election.. he too once was found guilty of rape by native court, managed to erase the files from the native court..

wow... Mustapah, the sultan of sabah once arrested catholic priest and expelled them, married a cinderella in australia, brough 2 grummna jets for personal use, arrested all those who stood against BN in the parliamentary elections, became a dictator, thrown out by his own people then buried at a hero'es graveyard with lights.. ha ha ha all with the support of UMNO..

i tell you, the list of wowoooooooo will fill up all the cyberspace
written by mypanida, January 20, 2009 20:47:57
WOW UMNO is DEAD