Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr M cause of Umno's destruction, says Hindraf

Dr M cause of Umno's destruction, says Hindraf PDF Print
Monday, 19 January 2009 22:16

(The Malaysian Insider) Attempting to give him a taste of his own medicine, the Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) has claimed former president Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamed to be the cause of Umno's current crisis.

The former prime minister has spent much of the past few years criticising his self-appointed successor Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi, culminating in acid attacks for causing the Umno-dominated Barisan Nasional's (BN) setback in last year's general election.

Today, Hindraf chairman P Waytha Moorthy said that it was in fact Dr Mahathir who was the "architect" of "corruption, nepotism, prejudice and cronyism" to Umno.

Welcoming Pakatan Rakyat (PR)'s by-election victory in Kuala Terengganu as a sign that the public is disgusted with Umno, he said that the public has lost any faith in finding honest politicians within BN.

"With Mahathirism's tutelage, the whole Barisan National clan is out of touch with the reality and the needs of the public for governance that is based on equality and fairness for all Malaysians," Waytha said in a statement to the press.

He added that Dr Mahathir's leadership of Umno and BN saw it fail to serve competently and the governing coalition now lives on "past glories" in "blatant arrogance and ignorance" of the will of the people.

"The absence of these elements has prompted the will of change from the public to restore integrity in our basic institutions," he continued.

Waytha said that unless BN faces the reality and listens to the people on issues like abolition of the Internal Security Act and equality in socio-development, "it will be digging its own grave."

"Listening to Mahathir will only speed up the process."

written by righttruthspeaks, January 19, 2009 22:24:28
I agree with you, Hindraf chairman P Waytha Moorthy.

Thank God for MM
written by PRman, January 19, 2009 22:26:11
Good, and agreed!
written by malsia1206, January 19, 2009 22:40:22
Mahathir would not be bothered with these remarks. He is presently very busy mobilising the Malaysian Armed Forces to co-ordinate an aggressive attack on the USA. After his victory, he shall continue to lead an all-out war with Israel. Hindraf is presently past his agenda.
written by blackpea, January 19, 2009 22:45:02
I wonder why Hindraf need to teach or blame the old man for BN losses, let it be, let them dig their own grave, let us not bother about them, let them claw themselves into pieces faster the better, good riddance.
written by medicshan, January 19, 2009 23:08:04
Mahathir, doctor of institutionalized corruption,racism, apartheid and cronyism. He was architect of twin towers and many other phallic symbols. Once upon a time I thought that I would shed a tear if he died, remembering his many contributions, his expert politicking and superior intelligence. But over the last few years, so many of his dark characteristics have been exposed, and these have killed his good ones. No tear for you, Dr M, not now, not any more.
written by Milo, January 19, 2009 23:10:43
Aiya...we are way past the issue of what caused the present state of UMNO. Leave TDM alone and focus on getting Pakatan to the throne!
written by sonofmalaysia, January 19, 2009 23:15:13
Maha is the scourge of Malaysia, he is no doubt the most evil man that ever live in MAlaysia !

Not only he has done incalculatable harm to MAlaysia by himself, he has multiplied his crookedness and evilness by thousands of time by being the master who has coached the entire UMNO hierarchy and turn them into lanuns and mafias who propensity to rob, steal and plunder the country has become second nature !!

written by sydput, January 19, 2009 23:28:26
it takes an indian to catch another indian.
mahathir, the cause of many that is wrong in malaysia today.
We should not have spent RM10 billion on KLIA, which is now deemed too expensive for low cost carriers to use and ignored by large european/american and australian flights.
written by Kunta Kinte, January 19, 2009 23:34:18
Right on target.
written by onnetline, January 19, 2009 23:37:49
Yes, the corrupted 'living dead' racist dictator a.k.a carTUN from Kedah is the main cause of minorities in Malaysia being marginalised And he made his sons and cronies all multi-millionaires
written by HamChak, January 19, 2009 23:44:23
I have been saying all along that Mahathir is the cause of the very Sad situation of Malaysia today. Of course, he did modernized Malaysia. But along the way, he and his cronies also Reap HUGE benefits. Just look around you, how can he and his family be so filty RICH. Look at all his CRONIES. Free APs and Contracts to make them rich WITHOUT doing anything. That is what Mahathir called "the New BUMiputera Entrepreneurs". I hope they all rot in HELL.
written by rocky, January 20, 2009 00:04:02
well said. Dr.M is the cause of many problems in UMNO and the nation. off course the man thinks he made no mistakes and blames Pak lah for everything. or anwar but never himself.

Malaysians should never keep a leader too long in power regardless of the are from BN or PR. Power corrupts.
written by Jan, January 20, 2009 00:54:18
If Pak Lah had arrested TDM and put him away he wouldn't be in the position he's in now.
written by ksmaniam, January 20, 2009 07:47:27
And MM has not stopped.
He is still plotting and planning. Although he is not in UMNO, his soldiers and spies are in UMNO. This is the magic he weaves. He is controlling UMNO by controlling them. So if one can see the division in BN, its the PM's men and MM's men. It is still the same. MM's men who lived through MM's era want back the comfort and luxury which MM's era produced, so they are still faithfull to him. AAB did not produce the same comfort and luxury, so most of the UMNO bigwigs hate him, for that reason.
Everything done against AAB is linked to MM. Whatever Muhyidding says or Albar does is linked to MM. However MM is very cunning and has made sure that Najib, Hisshamuddin do not say or do anything which reflects MM's stand. This is the magic which MM does always and we are visually diverted away from them.
Again I emphasise, he is a magician. Do not see what he wants you to see. See what he does not want you to see. (sometimes he uses his agents...this is another way to ensure that he is not seen by us....and we think that his thoughts are agreed to by others). So look carefully and you will see that MM is still ruling us through his men.
The easiest way is to drop UMNO and release Malaysia from the UNgodlies.
Meanwhile check MM.
my 2 cents worth.
written by adan, January 20, 2009 07:47:53
the destruction of the INTEGRITY and independence of the judiciary and law enforcement agencies and the rule of law.the destruction of the harmonious inter- ethnic relationship that had prevailed.the destruction of ethical and moral values by promoting corruption,croynism,and nepotism.
written by advocatusdiaboli, January 20, 2009 08:29:13
KarTun M. Go lie down in a grave and die peacefully. It is people like you who have brought this country to this shameless state just to hold on to power. What we see today are your policies bearing fruit and your handpicked successor that Sleepy head is just letting it accelerate. History will remember you as "Bapak Rasuah". Go and make peace with your maker.
written by anban, January 20, 2009 09:59:00
Cant agree more. Its under him that all the following happened:
- Judiciary death.
- Toll roads given to cronies at inflated amount that we rakyat are paying for with high toll charges.
- Using ISA for personal reasons including Ops Lalang and DSAI capture.
- Bailing out companies and cronies using tax payer money.
- Blatant wastage of money, billions of money for KLIA, Putrajaya & Cyberjaya
- Police abuse

Yes under you the country prospered...unfortunately all your actions are short term fixes with long term consequences.
written by InEffective, January 20, 2009 10:14:23
Of contribution and outcomes...

Its important to understand the perils of autocracy and the concentration of power.

The former premier's strategy to ensuring obedience and compliance by all his political teammates in implementing all his policies and programs, was to ensure he always held a leverage or trump-card over all his fellow-politicians in governance. This is how he built absolute dependency and absolute loyalty and patronage - and therein absolute power.

This approach by definition ensures that the politicians must be tainted with some crime that they cannot afford to be non-compliant - and now we see the other politicians have learnt well from their Master, and are now following the same strategy.

And consequently we are now blessed with racists, pedophiles, money-launderers, land-expropriators, liars, coercers such as vote-buyers, incarcerators, police pressure and threats, embezzlers, murderers, anal-infatuated, and sexual harassers as governing politicians and MPs.

There is no rehab or no change which can cure this situation - its comprehensively contaminated with a cancer that will prove fatal for its victims (which is not the contaminated politicians - the victims is the rakyat)
written by Al Ambia, January 20, 2009 11:14:41
I wonder how his name will go down in history,Bapa pembangunan or Bapa kemerosotan.
written by exzonerator, January 20, 2009 13:17:58
That's his only positive contribution to the future of the country.
written by Malaysiaputra, January 20, 2009 15:32:18
Mahathir was very crafty, in the name of development, he started the plunder of Malaysia but the rakyat could not see it at that time. Time has brought the truth into focus. It is through these development projects that the plunder is camouflaged through inflated contract prices.
written by miwaki, January 20, 2009 17:37:25
Apa-lah mahathir,ini-kah sumbangan anda kepada Malaysia ? I believe you are still adamant about what you did is right for this country.You need to repent and ask for forgiveness in order to lessen your suffering.

What has been done is past,you need to pray for an early change of government to restore malaysia back to what it was.Until that day is materialized,stop destroying this country.
written by Fuminari, January 20, 2009 20:06:36
the kerala crab mahatahi has no right at all to talk about how israelis are treating the parlestinian,he practised apartheid n would remain so if this old hamkarchand were to be still at the helm!no doubt about it.
written by Davy McChester, January 20, 2009 23:47:36
Tunku Abdul Rahman,the first Prime Minister of Malaysia could see through this insincere control freak Dr.Mahathir and predicted Dr.M would bring the downfall of UMNO and Malaysian unity. This tyrant Dr.M is the most manipulative and vicious person in the Malaysian political scene and may have very well been the Sadam Hussein of Malaysia,or the Dr.Mugube of Malaysia. He possesses both qualities of these two infamous morons. Yes,he was the pain in the rear for paklah and responsible for all the existing UMNO problems and dilemmas