Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow A threat too far (with Mandarin translation)

A threat too far (with Mandarin translation) PDF Print
Wednesday, 21 January 2009 00:00

If it was just Umno that threatened the Chinese this can be accepted as ‘normal’. But when MCA joins the gang of thugs to also threaten their own community, this is something the Chinese find hard to stomach.

“I need guys who can drink like a fish and not fall down,” I told Bernard. “So make sure we get the hardcore drinkers to Kuala Terengganu. The Chinese will never trust anyone who does not drink.”

It was exactly two weeks that we spent in Kuala Terengganu -- from the eve of Nomination Day until the day after Polling Day. It was not a lot of money we spent, though, just about RM25,000 in all. But then that is because we never had to pay for our beer and liquor. Our Chinese hosts would refuse to accept our money and appeared very offended when we insisted we pay.

Okay, not everyone drank. Even some Indians in the group did not drink a drop in spite of them having a reputation of being ‘terror drinkers’. In fact, Bala would not even drink Coke. He only drank plain water or, once in awhile, green tea.

Nevertheless, seeing that we had about 20 rooms, twin-sharing, there were certainly enough in the gang to do us proud and to stand up to the heavy-drinking Chinese loggers and saw-millers without falling down drunk before the witching hour.

“PAS is going to win big,” said my ‘drinking partner’ who was not only pissed drunk but quite pissed that I had a Coke glass in my hand and was refusing his constant ‘harassment’ to ‘drink with me’.

“Hey!” I kept reminding him. “Just being in this pub is already an offence. I could get arrested. You want me behind bars or what? Imagine how Umno would go to town with the news tomorrow when the newspaper headlines report ‘Blogger RPK caught drinking in a pub in Kuala Terengganu’. They will crucify me.”

“Okay, okay, I understand. You are forgiven. But I still don’t like drinking with someone drinking only Coke.”

“Never mind about me. My friends are drinking. They can drink my share.” In fact, Bernard more than drank my share. He probably drank three people’s share. Anyway, being a Muslim was a convenient ‘excuse’ not to drink. The others were never allowed a half-empty glass. Our Chinese friends from Kuala Terengganu kept topping up the glasses of our Blogging Team until no one knew any longer how much they had drunk.

“You do not need the Chinese votes,” my Chinese friend went on. “PAS is going to win big without the Chinese votes.”

This statement troubled me and I asked my Chinese friend who was facing great trouble tying to remain standing to explain what he meant.

“PAS is going to win big. The Malays will swing to PAS. You just watch. So you do not need the Chinese votes. The Chinese can vote BN.”

“I don’t think we should look at it that way,” I told my friend with a discouraged sound in my voice. “Every vote counts. We need the Chinese votes.”

My Chinese friend probably detected that I was perturbed and he downed his glass before explaining further. “We Chinese know that PAS is going to win. The Malays are going to swing to PAS. So you can win without the Chinese votes. The Malay votes are enough to give PAS the win.”

“Okay,” I replied. “But even if PAS can win with the Malay votes why can’t the Chinese also vote for PAS?”

“PAS is already going to win by at least 2,000 votes even if the Chinese vote BN. So why worry?”

“Okay, I understand. But what’s wrong if the Chinese also vote PAS and make the win 5,000 instead of 2,000?”

“We Chinese don’t want to be blamed for Umno’s loss. Let the Malays vote PAS. PAS then wins on the Malay votes. The Chinese will vote BN. Then Umno can’t blame the Chinese for their defeat. The Chinese voted BN and PAS won with the Malay votes, not the Chinese votes.”

I could see his logic here but I did not like it. “What if the Chinese vote BN and BN wins, PAS loses.”

“No way man. PAS will win. The Malay swing is big. It is safe for the Chinese to vote BN. PAS will still win.”

“But why?” I asked. “Why do the Chinese want to vote BN when you support PAS?”

“We support PAS. Look, my friend over there gave PAS RM1 million in the last general election.” He pointed to the chap at the end of the bar and signalled him to come over.

“We have no problems with PAS. We prefer PAS to BN,” his friend added. “I was the one in the Chinese newspapers who held up the can of beer in front of the PAS markas in Wakaf Tapai. You remember or not?”

Yes, I remembered that episode. I think it was in the 2004 general election. But Umno went to town with the whole thing and distorted the issue. They said that PAS is hypocritical about Islam and is allowing liquor in the state.

“Okay, what if PAS loses and they lose because the Chinese voted BN?”

“No way. PAS will win. If PAS is going to lose then we Chinese will vote PAS. But we know PAS will win. So no need for the Chinese to vote PAS. Let PAS win on the Malay votes. We Chinese can then say we voted BN but BN still lost. And it is because of the Malays and not the Chinese that PAS won.”

I suppose this is Chinese ‘logic’ and I have come to understand how the Chinese mind works. Cari makan is very important to the Chinese and must come first. They can’t risk their cari makan by being seen to be supporting the opposition. This was, after all, a bunch of Chinese towkays that I was taking to. They are flush with money and became rich not by being seen as anti-government.

By the end of the two weeks I realised that PAS would have to depend on the Malay swing, not the Chinese votes. The Chinese would give us enough votes just to keep BN in check. At best we can expect 40% to 45% votes from the Chinese. They will make sure that the majority of the Chinese vote for BN just so that it can be seen that more than half the Chinese support the government. But it will not be more than that.

Rosmah Mansor, the wife of the Deputy Prime Minister, made this very clear to the Kuala Terengganu voters on Saturday, one week before the by-election. “We know who you vote for,” said Rosmah. “If you vote for the opposition we will know.”

The message Rosmah was sending to the Kuala Terengganu voters is that your vote is not secret and the government will know if you voted for PAS or BN. That is not true, of course, but who would want to take that risk in case it is?

The Terengganu Menteri Besar, Ahmad Said, was more blunt when he told the Chinese. “If you are nice to me, then I will be nice to you. If you are not nice to me, then I can be ten times more not nice to you.”

This was a veiled threat if ever I did see one and the message was simple: if you vote for PAS then expect my wrath. And everyone knows Ahmad Said would not hesitate to engage in fisticuffs, even during a State Assembly meeting, as Wahid Endut, who was once a victim of Ahmad Said, can testify.

The 8,000 Chinese voters in a state with a population of more than one million Malays do not need too many ‘messages’ to understand what lies ahead of them if they vote for PAS. And the 8,000 police personnel positioned all over town, practically laying Kuala Terengganu to siege, makes matters more dicey. Why the need for a police-to-Chinese ratio of one-to-one?

What the Chinese were telling us was not comforting but something we could not quarrel with. The Chinese were being threatened. They were being told that they vote for PAS at their own peril. If they know what is good for them then they must vote BN.

The Chinese got the message loud and clear. And they also knew that PAS was going to win just on Malay votes, even if the Chinese voted BN. Okay, if the Chinese vote BN then PAS is going to win by a 2,000-vote majority. And if the Chinese vote PAS then the majority is going to be 5,000. But is it worth the risk just to increase PAS’s majority from 2,000 to 5,000?

I had to concede that the Chinese are going to ‘play safe’. “But just promise me one thing,” I told my Chinese friend. “If PAS can’t get the Malay swing will the Chinese then vote PAS?”

“If PAS can’t win without Malay votes then we Chinese will vote PAS. But PAS will win, you watch, so no need for the Chinese votes. Let us vote BN and then we can put the blame on the Malays when PAS wins.”

The story does not end here though. On Sunday morning, the Blogging Team did a door-to-door walkabout to personally thank the Chinese voters before we came home to Kuala Lumpur. Some had tears in their eyes. “Kita menang,” many told me. Yes, ‘kita menang’, not ‘you menang’. It was a win for them as well as far as the Chinese were concerned.

Many who were wet with tears while hugging me tightly probably did not vote for PAS. They could not due to fear of retaliation. But it was still ‘we won’ for them. And they will tell their comrades all over Malaysia that they voted for BN mainly because the government threatened them. 8,000 Chinese voters in a state of more than one million and with 8,000 armed police surrounding the town did not offer them too many options.

But the Chinese will remember this. They will remember how Umno threatened them in the Kuala Terengganu by-election on 17 January 2009. And it will be payback time come the next general election. You can threaten 8,000 Chinese when your numbers are more than one million. But try doing this in states where the Malay-Chinese population is almost balanced.

Umno ‘won over’ the Chinese in Kuala Terengganu. But it was with a gun at the head. And the Chinese will never forget this. And neither will we. I was hoping that the Chinese were right. I was hoping that the Chinese can safely vote BN and that PAS will still win just on the Malay votes. On hindsight, the Chinese were right of course. Much to my relief that is exactly what happened, though I would have loved a 5,000 majority instead of just 2,631.

In the short-term, Umno ‘won’ the Chinese votes. But the ‘win’ was gained through the barrel of the gun. This is not the best way to win because, in the long-term, the Chinese will want to ‘pay back’ Umno for threatening them in the Kuala Terengganu by-election.

And that will be when Umno discovers they have won the battle of Kuala Terengganu but they are going to lose the war, the bigger battle for Malaysia. And MCA too will suffer. If it was just Umno that threatened the Chinese this can be accepted as ‘normal’. But when MCA joins the gang of thugs to also threaten their own community, this is something the Chinese find hard to stomach. MCA is supposed to serve the Chinese. In the Kuala Terengganu by-election, MCA was the voice of Umno to help threaten the Chinese.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

《毫不留情》分的威

只是巫胁华人,那也算是'正常'。但是当马华也同像暴徒似的威同胞,人就咽不下口气了。

我告纳说"我需要一些千杯不醉的人。我一定要有一些有酒量的人到瓜丁去。人是不会相信那些不喝酒的人的。"

在瓜丁逗留了整整两个星期从提名日前夕到投日隔天。倒没花了多少,全部大马币25千元。那是因喝的啤酒和酒都不需要还钱。我道主都不收我,若我们坚持的会生我的气。

好吧,也不是个人都喝。即使里的一些印度人也滴酒不沾,然印度人出名是好酒之人。实际上,巴拉也不喝。他只喝白水,偶来点绿茶。

尽管如此,我租了20房,两个人一是有些好酒量的人来付那些喝酒的人伐木工人和木工人。

我的'酒友'半醉地"回教党会大" 他不只很醉,也一直不我的杯里只有可,也不回敬他一些酒。

"!"我一直提醒他"我来到酒廊都有可能中捉的了。你是不是要我坐牢呀?想想假如明天的部落客RPK在瓜丁酒廊被捉到喝酒,你看巫会到瓜丁到去如何唱我呢?他会乘机死我。"

"好吧好吧,我明白。放你了。但我是不喜和一个只喝可的人喝酒。"

"管我了。我的朋友有喝。他可以代表我。" 实际上,伯也喝了不止是我的份。他也喝了三个人的份。无如何,回教徒的身份我有不喝酒的很好理由。其他人的杯满满的。我的瓜丁人朋友一直向我们这些部落客添酒,没有人知道他到底喝了多少。

我的人朋友继续说"不需要人票。回教党没有人票也会大"

为这法而,就向位醉得快要站不的朋友原因。

"回教党会大来人会向回教党。你等着看好了。所以你不需要人票。人可以投国"

"得我应该这样看的",我有点气他。"票都重要。我需要人票。"

我的人朋友也我生气了,他就放下杯子继续释说"们华人知道回教党会来人会向回教党。所以你不需要人票就能够胜。只是来票就足够让回教党了。"

"好,"我回答他"即使回教党可以凭着来票出,人不投回教党呢?"

"即使人投,回教党也会至少两千票。你担心什?"

"好吧,我明白了。但是若人也投回教党,回教党胜够5000票,不可以?"

"们华人不想被巫统归的原因。让马来人去投回教党。回教党以来票出。人投,巫就不能人了。人投,然后回教党凭来票出,不是人票。"

始看到点的逻辑,但我不喜"假如人投阵赢了呢?"

"不可能的。回教党会来人的反很大。人投安全。回教党是会"

"但是? "道。"么华人支持回教党却去投?" "是支持回教党。你看我那个朋友,在上次大了回教党马币一百万元。" 他指着酒吧另一的一位卡佬,示意要他来。

"和回教党是没有问题的。我回教党多",他的朋友"?那天上面有一一个人在回教党Wakaf Tapai区部前拿着一罐啤酒的,那就是我。"

是的,我起来了。那应该2004年的大。但是国去炒作那件事。他们说回教党是虚的,竟然在州内容喝酒。

"好吧,假如人投,然后回教党了怎?"

"不可能的啦。回教党会的。若回教党会,我们华人就会投回教党。但是我知道回教党会,不需要人票,所以就回教党凭着来票。我们华人可以,我了国,但是国阵还了。回教党会不是因为华人而是来人。"

许这就是人的'逻辑'了。我想我在知道人的思了。对华人来,‘找吃’是最重要的。他不会了支持反党造成他不能再‘找吃’。这种事情他是不会做的。些都是家。因不被视为反政府,所以得盆满钵满

两个星期后,我才发觉回教党需要的是来反,而不是人票。人只会的票数来堵死国。我最多只能期望40%45%人票。他会确保大多数的人投国,好让华人看起来都支持政府。但是就此而已。

副首相之妻Rosmah Mansor在星期六,也就是补选一个星期前,瓜丁得很清楚的了∶"知道你的是。若你的是反党,我是会知道的。"

Rosmah瓜丁达的信息是∶你投选谁不是秘密,政府会知道你投的是国阵还是回教党。当然不是真的,但是有肯冒风险?

丁州大臣Ahmad Said对华得更加不客气∶"若你跟我好,我就跟你好。若你跟我不好,我会十倍奉"

是一暗示性的恫吓。信息很简单若你投回教党,那我就会大怒。个人都知道Ahmad Said是个粗的人,即使是在州会上。曾Ahmad Said的受害者的Wahid Endut就可以点。

于超一百万个来人居民的州属,8千名民不需要太多的‘信息’来明白他回教党的后果。8千名守在市的警察人,把瓜丁包起来,情况更加担。警察和人的比率,有必要弄到一这么?

人所告些很令人不舒服,但我却无从反人已被威人知道自己要承担投回教党的后果。若他知道什好的,那他就必

人都知道些信息了。就算他,他也知道回教党会凭着来票出。好吧,若人投,那回教党就有2000的多数票。若人投回教党,那多数票就5000了把回教党的多数票提高到5000而冒风险?

我也不得不接受人将不会冒。我告人朋友"我一件事。若回教党不能拿到来票,人可否投回教党呢?"

"若回教党不能拿到票,那我们华人会投回教党。但是回教党会。你看着吧。他不需要人票。,那回教党了的候就可以赖马来人了。"

故事到没有完。在星期天早晨,在没有回去吉隆坡之前,部落客挨家沿去向民道。有些人眼泛泪光。很多人都告我∶"们胜了。"是的, '们胜',而不是'们胜'人都会得,是他利。

多含泪抱着我的人也都没有投回教党。他畏惧报复。但'们赢'。然后他可以告来西的同志,他主要是因政府威。在面一百万人口的州属里,只有八千名的民,在面八千名武装警察下,他们别选择

但是人会些。他得巫如何在2009年一月十七日的瓜丁补选中威。而在下次大,就是仇的候了。当你的数目超一百万的候,你可以威8千名人。但就想在人和来人人口都均衡的州属做同的事。

在瓜丁'得了'人票。但那是威得来的。人是不会忘记这些的。我也不会。我当希望,即人在投候,回教党来票就可以出。果,他中了。然我比5000多数票,但我是放下了一个心大石。

在短期来看,巫以威的手法得了票,但是期来看,人是会瓜丁补选受威仇的。

,巫就会明白,他们虽了瓜丁役,但他将会在更大的来西亚战场上打。而马华也会吃苦。若只是巫胁华人,那也算是'正常'。但是当马华也同像暴徒似的威同胞,人就咽不下口气了。本来马华就是服务华社的。在瓜丁补选中,马华却做了巫声筒来威胁华人。

Translated by ecs283 http://cblog.cari.com.my/html/09/61909.html

Edited by Pratamad https://airkosong.com

Comments (133)Add Comment
written by justice, January 19, 2009 11:27:12
See the faces of Najis and Rosie after the defeat at KT's BUY Election:
agree 460
written by ylcc, January 19, 2009 11:35:13
Thank you, Raja Petra, for this insight into the actual situation. I have been so upset since yesterday with all these nonsense of "analysts/specialists" about the Chinese/Malay votes in KT. It creates nothing but discord/suspisioun between the unsuspecting Malays and Chinese. I feel better now.
agree 372
written by Rashid, January 19, 2009 11:37:25
The battle was for Malay heartland and vote and PR Malay leadership has established its strength for good. Permatang Pauh was one, Kulim petition withdrawal was another as Umno knew it had no chance of winning in a Malay seat. And third was KT where Malays formed 90% of the voters in a state ruled by Umno with 2/3 majority. The Chinese weren't a factor here and PAS and PKR Malays are happy with the outcome. Our Chinee brothers outside KT are happy too and are sharpening their knives for a pay-back time at the right time for humiliating the small Chinese community in KT. Knowing that Umno won 30 seats due to Chinese votes in 2008, then those will go to PAS and PKR in the next elections. The outcome is exactly what PR needed and thank God for it.
agree 223
written by malgal, January 19, 2009 11:37:26
RPK, a win is a win. They lost. Even though unsportingly it was deemed a `minor setback'. Now you know how the Chinese abacus works. Even if PAS wins by one vote, we win. That's all that matters, it will be a PR mp not a UMNOnono mp.
agree 147
written by liumx, January 19, 2009 11:37:57
Perplexed of the lukewarm, eerr, cold respond today. The clock is ticking, It is Marching. While Fabulous time will be much turmoiled. Whether he may enthrone and grab the crown is yet to be told. All to all, whether 5000 or 2000, anyone really know who did you vote except yourself?
written by my oumrie, January 19, 2009 11:39:53
Dear RPK, you and your team did a monumental task in K.T. Who voted what doesn't matter now cos at the end of the day - PR WON and Najis and his fatty spouse got a slap in the face (tho I don't think SHE gives a monkeys about elections). WELL DONE SIR AND YOUR TEAM!!!
agree 147
written by wannabepatriotic, January 19, 2009 11:41:31
Pragmatic Chinese thinking, with a strategical twist at the end. Interesting analysis from a KT Chinese point of view. I do hope when the time is right, the Chinese will stay true to this and stand to be counted...

I thank all thee blogging team for your commitments in ground zero reporting. Bless you all, and let's carry on fighting...!
agree 144
written by wood, January 19, 2009 11:42:37
RPK and your great team in KT, it was indeed most satisfying to see the end result PAS and PR did well. Not to worry , the Chinese have got good memory, Try threatening and see what happens next ! Lets hope PAS rep do a good job and may PR move on from now. Work hard, work smart with sincerity and honesty and the rakyat will respond.
written by ibabonma, January 19, 2009 11:44:52
The Chinese are intelligent voters, they use their brain in voting while the Malays use their right hands to vote.

So giving their support to BN is not an impossibility considering of the vote buying factor promised by NAJIS, in the form of goodies for their temples and schools.
disagree 23
written by karyeowl, January 19, 2009 11:45:32
Thanks RPK for the analysis. Calling the MCA running dog is the reality. During the Japanese days in the 40s, a few Chinese turned into Japanese Running Dog. These running dogs always threatened the poor ordinary Chinese people, in the name of their bosses.

MCA learns well with history being a good running dog, claiming that they have done well, by "convincing" the Chinese in KT to vote BN. Running Dogs always want to claim credit for a good well done! Sit MCA sit! Good Dog!
agree 137
written by pinsysu, January 19, 2009 11:45:36
well da mca has but sever their relationship with da chinese folks. they 4get dat da whole msia chinese community is watching them closely. come next GE mca will be declared extinct by da chinese voters!
written by AngryTaxpayer, January 19, 2009 11:46:51
I too thot it was funny that despite the overwhelming chinese turnout and donations during the entire campaigning week, more chinese voted for UMNO....but then again, I too realised that UMNo has been pretty generous with their unveiled threats and they will certainly reap what they sow!! smilies/tongue.gif

Kudos to you RPK, Marina and the blogging team who helped campaign....... smilies/cheesy.gif
written by devious17, January 19, 2009 11:46:55
To the chinese it's all about the money,sadly. I understand their concern but why cant they make the sacrifise fo the love of this country and their future generations? Are they expecting their future generations to do the sacrifising?

If they had voted for Pas and umno in turn makes life hell for them then let God All Mighty deal with them and I am sure Pas wont let the towkays take the brunt all alone.

Dont know if I should call this action a cowardly stand or a brilliant manouver smilies/tongue.gif
disagree 30
written by PRman, January 19, 2009 11:49:13
MCA is good for nothing! Bye bye BeeeeN! The racist parties are going down down DOWN!
written by devious17, January 19, 2009 11:49:51
I am pretty sure that umno will turn the chinese in KT the scape goat of the defeat by inducing animosity amongst the bumi and the bumi-less in KT just to make it hard for Pas to manage.

"Look! The chinese voted for us still,we lost but the chinese still likes us and not your hudud Pas" Umno's tradition is wreaking havoc where ever they are.
written by malaysianohope, January 19, 2009 11:51:41
Abang,
It may be the case that the Chinese did not back PAS but a win is a win and there are other ways of backing the Opposition like the gentleman who gave RM1 million.
I wish there is a By-election once a month whenever a barisan MP kaput, which is a better option instead of taking power from cross overs. The barisan MPs including Dotty are sure a bunch of unhealthy lot, you know leaching on & fattening themselves on ill gotten gains.
written by SocratesI, January 19, 2009 11:55:20
The Chinese fear is real as the state of Trengganu is still under Utterly Moronic Nazi Org./ Barisan Najis even when the KT seat becomes Pakatan Rakyat's, so the fear of reprisals is very real. However, come the next GE, we shall see Tregganu join the ranks of Pakatan Rakyat. They know that it was PAS that fought for their Oil Royalty and Pakatan in Perak actually gave land titles to those who stayed on the land for so long, that Selangor Pakatan gave free water and more to come, etc. All the Rakyat can see who is sincere in making the Rakyat's lives better and more comfortable. Barisan Najis is now the Walking Dead and they don't realize it yet
written by johntyc, January 19, 2009 11:56:18
So what if Chinese vote for PAS? There's nothin' wrong with that. It's our f*cking democracy goddamn it! No wonder a bastard was brave enough to label Chinese as pendatang because they are so penakut! I am no super brave myself but I'm a goddamn democracy lover.
disagree 16
written by ahmadneil, January 19, 2009 12:01:32
People OTK and DR chua are a minus for MCA,when they stand up for umno.
written by ahmadneil, January 19, 2009 12:03:29
RPK and his team save PAS.If not the result will be cliffhanger!
written by 1351, January 19, 2009 12:20:02
What better endorsement RPK ? Drap a none Muslim, a K.Valley girl all dolled up in PAS colours, shouting herself hoarse in support of the cause ! UMNO can't 'buy' that kind of passion.

Hats off to the entourage, especially the ladies for standing firm in the face of UMNO's multi million assault.
written by teo siew chin, January 19, 2009 12:25:14
Syabas to our Malay brethren. Now talk to all the fence-sitters and win them over!
YM Raja Petra - YOU still have alot of ground to cover, so get your feet off the desk & do your thayyyy-ing! You macam movie-star in KT la - ramai fans cos you and your team were awesome, absolutely awesome. YOU are The Force to reckon with!
written by singam, January 19, 2009 12:28:00
Pete, thank you very much for clearing the air about the Chinese votes in KT.

Looking at the voting pattern, I realised that the KT Chinese had continued their traditional BN support and I feared that it was for selfish reasons; that the show of support during campaigning was all show with little substance behind it. It is such a relief to learn that their reasons for voting the way they did were both strategic and pragmatic.

The Indian support of PR during GE12 was very obvious and was a significant factor in the BN losses. As a consequence, the community is suffering in many undocumented ways. It is good that the Chinese of KT had the option of playing the right game to avoid similar indignities.

With each electoral victory, the Barisan Rakyat become emboldened to show their support for the Pakatan Rakyat. The tide has turned. It's only a matter of time now before the BN is kicked out.
written by lamepug, January 19, 2009 12:34:50
can't blame on non-muslim as they been treated as second citizenship even their family tree over 200 years in Malaysia. non-muslim do not have so called fair treat of NEP and have to work more harder to get a better life in Malaysia. non-muslim have to be more patient and work smarter to face this racist govt....
written by Democrats, January 19, 2009 12:36:14
Wow, now we know how "abang-adik" the chinese are with thier Malay counterparts in Terengganu that they know the Malays will swing towards PAS, and still win the election.

A very risky gamble, but a gamble that paid off. Let's see Ahmad Ismail telling the CHinese to balik China. Then the would have lost by 8000 votes! Now Ahmad Ismail can ask the malays in Terrengganu to balik to er......not sure where exactly.
written by Milo, January 19, 2009 12:42:02
Aiya...malays also same wat.you think cari makan is not important to them? Why do you think so many malays support the NEP? What I am saying is there could be a zillion reasons why they voted BN. It is not a monolithic reason that the vote depended on, but a mixture. Hudud could be one.

Anyway, even if all the chinese voted BN, it is only 8,000. Since BN won by 30,000, why are 22,000 malays voting BN? They believe UMNO is less corrupt than PAS? Or, is it for the same cari makan reason given by the chinese?
disagree 16
written by ibabonma, January 19, 2009 12:42:17
confuseus, are you well informed on the subjects of Toyota Camry and Tennis?
written by Super Admin, January 19, 2009 12:45:15
Milo, were you also in Kuala Terengganu drinking and talking to the Chinese? No, hudud is a non-issue to the Terengganu Chinese.
written by wongnoball, January 19, 2009 12:54:35
Dear Kanyeowl, May be it is more appropriate to call MCA the TOILET TISSUE of UMNO.
written by Milo, January 19, 2009 12:57:53
super admin, RPK,

I have friends in KT too. Hudud is an issue with some and not the others. All are for change though. And don't take what chinese drinking kakis too seriously. They would have said the same thing if they were drinking with Najib.
disagree 16
written by CariJalan, January 19, 2009 12:59:40
Let me continue to say that as a Chinese myself I am ashamed of the Chinese people in this country. We are the people who constantly cry out 'not fair, not fair' but when it is time for us to do something to bring about that fairness, we just chicken out and leave it to others. We say 'Gua sokong you' and then leave it to other brave fighters to fight the battle for them and then vote for the enemy, is this not betrayer of the most sickening kind? RPK should have left that drunken idiotic Chinese guy to drown in his drunkeness (or better still slip some cynide into his beer or liquer and see him froth in his hypocritical mouth and die on the spot!). To Chinese in KT, let me tell you that as fellow Chinese, I am very ashamed of those who had voted for BN while voicing a kind of cheap vague support of PR. May this Chinese New Year bring you hypocrites no peace in your household.
disagree 44
written by unomalaysia, January 19, 2009 12:59:59
The East Coast Chinese (with the exception of Kelantan) have always been lacking B@lls! See how west coast urban Chinese votes (with the exception of Johor), we take no shit from amno and be end and tell them to fcuk off in the GE, the most telling being the last GE. Yes, the Money Collecting Agency will be finally flush down the jamban in the next GE. OTK is a major disappointment and many chinese who voted him now feel like they have a knife sticking out from their back.
written by wartank, January 19, 2009 13:04:08
As a Malaysian of Chinese descent from Penang, I let my vote speak for my heart.

I'm embarrassed to be associated to this "chinese towkays".
This is typical old chinese school of thought. Chinese custom.
They live a lie, they live amongst people with deceit, always distrustful and untrustworthy.
Wanting something, but always preferred others to do it for them.
Spineless Cowards!
Had thought themselves as 'Chinese' for too long, and not as Malaysians. No wonder they accepted the term "pendatang" and continued to vote for UMNO, bcos they are!

I give up (on them)!
written by Milo, January 19, 2009 13:09:18
CariJalan,

Don't talk like an emotionally blinded political analyst and make silly generalisation. UMNO, a known massively corrupt party (even TDM himself admitted), is in power today because of which race? The chinese or the malays? Why don't all these malays party support PAS or PKR? Are the malays less of a coward that the other races?

Trengganu is still under BN even with the PAS win. Fear is understandable. Not everyone is so courageous like you, who would shout so loud in the blog where you cannot be seen. Why don't you start a blog like RPK and challenge the government like him?
written by Gondolf, January 19, 2009 13:15:14
Trengganu is still under BN even with the PAS win. Fear is understandable.

That's exactly what we Chinese put to considerations first.
written by macanhitam, January 19, 2009 13:21:03
i think i start to love this by election thingy. First Permatang Pauh, and now KT. I wonder which BN MP is the next to DIE so we can enjoy these elections once again. Oh, kirim salam to eechia, one of your BR teammate during the KT campaign. She is such a babe.
written by ahmadneil, January 19, 2009 13:22:15
The next GE13 will see whether the chinese are saying the truth.If they are indeed threaten or 'playing snooker', then there will be massive win for DAP and PR.If umno/BN win,then RPK will have to bring me to see this chinese man who said they have been threatened to vote for umno/BN.
written by Wave33, January 19, 2009 13:25:47
Yeah, this is how chinese think, 'cari makan' is the up most important, even if it involves corruption. The chinese is the biggest provider of corrupted money in Malaysia. Money is God to chinese. This mostly applies to chinese businessman. Of course, the biggest receiving end is BN.

Chinese whom are job holders or salary base, would have a different view. Their views would be on the word "Hudud". No matter, how RPK explain about the implementation of Hudud, the chinese brain performs a shut down and cannot think logically, the moment the word "hudud" is mentioned.

The logic system in Chinese is 'funny', as in Malaysia. I cannot say the same when they are in China, Singapore or Taiwan. Here, chinese is the minority, they are no threat to the other races. I cannot understand why UMNO keep on mentioning of loosing "Ketuanan" and "Special Privileges". (This is another topic for the previous day). By exerting their ketuanan (threat) with MCA as their running dog, the chinese votes did not swing in KT. UMNO is still the TUAN with less one parliamentary seat for the moment.
written by CariJalan, January 19, 2009 13:35:13
Gondolf,
I disagree with you. From day one of the by-election, everyone clearly understood that the outcome will not affect the exercise or control of power. But the win PR sought was more than just a win. We wanted to send a strong message to BN that the tide of change is still flowing strong. It is also a reminder to all the supporters of Pakatan Rakyat that the coalition is still strong and determined to overthrow the government in legitimate ways. And as for those who support change, they too must send a clear signal to the leadership of PR that we are still with them. However, the cowards ( the Chinese in KT) did the most unthinkable thing. After all that is said and done, they slept with the BN prostitutes with their own brand of politics. I must repeat my statement that majority of the Chinese in KT are cowards of the highest degree! These are not Chinese.
disagree 22
written by ASK4u, January 19, 2009 13:39:55
I warned Amno and told them to withdraw and let go the seat to PAS but they wouldn't listen. Now, they have lost, in addition to a parliment seat, another 350M. How ironic, rakyat money from the sub, copter deals go back to the rakyat again. The Chinese can celebrate the CNY with a smile now because they are the clear winner, i.e., majority voted UMNO (thus not antagonizing them) and received RM1000 ang pow. Congrats and happy new year. How I wish we can have a by-election every month (Oh, that's bad, someone has to die isn't?) until PR secures the majority in parliment. Meanwhile, the rakyat will have additional RM1000 to spend during this recession.

Now, without any doubt, PR will be the govt, come GE13.
written by Fart Fart Wah, January 19, 2009 13:41:28
The excuse that the BN threatened the Chinese and as such did not vote for PAS rings of the Jurassic Park story...we had to support the communist because they threatened us...we all know the Chinese are afraid to die one...

I am proud of Malays for their Maturity and for the rightness in thinking because they do not like to be threatened and they are not the type to keep quiet too.
written by Jit Dharma, January 19, 2009 13:41:39
Another hidden and scary truth (to me anyway) brought to light by Bro.RPK.Sad to note that the Chinese were not in a defiant frame of mind and were intimidated by UMNO and MCA thugs. Put all thoughts of profit out of the equation, and vote these animals out.We are NOT powerless. That is the lie that they would like us to believe, while fearing to the cold marrow of their coward bones, the truth.And that is, that the People are the power.How long do you want to live like a slave? Fight back!! MAKKAL SAKTI!
written by mick_err_stan, January 19, 2009 13:45:44
The UMNO threat in KT can only influence the older Chinese. Old school of thought. However I believe the younger generation Chinese are not too easily intimidated, but then again not many are registered to vote.

Therefore it's important to always remind the Rakyat, especially the younger generation the corruption and arrogance of the present government. There is a need to get them to vote for change.

As a Chinese, i do not mind NEP or to pay more tax as long as the money is put to good use for the Rakyat and with result. All i see is my money going to waste with mismanagement and failed projects politicians are enriching themselves while the Rakyat have to pay and pay and pay...tolls, fees for tuition, road tax, rising price of everyday commodities, electricity, water bill, health care, ......Malaysian need a change and to elect more capable people to lead the country, when reason and what is good for the country rules the day and not by people that wave Keris and propagate racism.
written by JC Tan, January 19, 2009 13:51:01
When they came for the Jews, I did nothing, for I am not a Jew. When they came for the Socialists, I did nothing, for I am not a Socialist. When they came for the labor leaders, the homosexuals, the gypsies, I did nothing, for I am none of these, and when they came for me, I was alone, there was no one to stand up for me. -- Martin Niemoller, a Lutheran pastor from Nazi Germany

I hope one day Malaysian Chinese would draw a line and stand by it.
written by mob1900, January 19, 2009 13:55:55
written by redkelah, January 19, 2009 13:59:07
To KT Chinese who support opposition BUT voted BN
In the thick of battle you shout Charge but run backwards
written by KTRaj, January 19, 2009 14:03:47
Sad to hear that Chinese in K.T. have such a narrow and selfish minded.
written by CariJalan, January 19, 2009 14:04:34
Wave33,
I agree with you when you wrote
The root of the Chinese problem in Malaysia - as in many other countries - is the social and political opium. We Chinese have always been the master of corruptions (besides being master gamblers). If we are not corrupt towards another fellow Chinese, we are corrupt with the rest of the world. No one has truly begun to understand the magnitude of corruption among the Chinese politicians in this country. The Money Collecting Agency is the source of the greatest corruption among the Chinese in Malaysia. Its leaders have enriched themselves beyond descriptions. Every living past and present leaders of this Collecting Agency have amassed themselves great ill-gotten gains. Chinese have made the term 'cari makan' sounds like a dirty word today. Forget about the issue of Ketuanan or Hudud.

To all the corrupted Chinese, I would like to wish you one thing for this coming CNY. May all your ill-gotten wealth bury you and your family in this coming Chinese New Year! May it ever be so with you and your descendants henceforth.

As for the hardworking, honest and sincere Chinese, may this new year be one that you will truly enjoy real peace and happiness and health all year round. May your children succeed in everything that they set out to do. May there be all round blessings all year round for those who dwell in your household!
written by Rozlan, January 19, 2009 14:28:14
I know the KT chinese will vote for PR next GE...Nobody like to be threatened forever.PR is on the right track... smilies/wink.gif
written by oceanuz, January 19, 2009 14:35:51
I dont know. all these sound overly "prophecy after the fact"...
We know Malay votes were to swing?
We are so confident it's swinging by ~2000 votes?
Come on...

Although I can understand the concerns mentioned (threats especially...), but how the story is being told is not very convincing...
:-P
written by ksmaniam, January 19, 2009 14:37:37
With due respect I disagree.
As far as I know, everyman has his own brain and consequently his own mind. To classify the chinese or whichever class in a group and regard that they would decide and do certain things in a specific manner is beyond logic. More so if the reason is a singular precise reason. I would not classify all chinese as per that person who RPK spoke to.
However if all of them singularly and as a group say that they were going to do something in a particular manner than perhaps it is logical.
What happened in KT on saturday could have been anyone' s guess.
Today, after the incident to say something without proper analysis is not fair in ones judgement.
Assuming that 49% of the chinese voted for PR, in KT, this is a contribution which should not be belittled.
Towkays think of money. Perhaps others are not so minded.
Please restrain.
I sincerely apologise to RPK if I have hurt his feelings by writting this, but I can't help it.
I had to speak my mind.
My 1/2 cent worth.
written by CariJalan, January 19, 2009 14:49:57
I believe in RPK's account of the conversation with that drunkard. He may be drunk, but he is still a Chinese and talking exactly like a Chinese. That one RM 1 million give away thing is also a true Chinese style. In that conversation, I saw the picture of a true Malaysian hero (RPK) and a true Malaysian hypocrite (that drunk Chinese fellow and those he represents). One with an awesome display of social and moral integrity (Pete, you shamed me many times!), the other a selfish worm. One wen to prison, harassed by authorities day in and out and has an iron resolve to fight for our peace,harmony and future. The other a representative of cowards who bullshits and brag about great political givings and hypocritical promises of a secret support. The story RPK told is true. Very true.
written by ez24get, January 19, 2009 15:03:33
The KT chinese may be from humble backgrounds. They may not have high education. But they are the wisest chinese you’ll ever find! You bet the rest of the chinese else can take a lesson from these KT chinese....

They knew PAS was going to win the by-election. It doesn’t matter that much if PAS wins by 2,631 votes or 10,631 votes. When UMNO comes with gifts bearing aplenty, they took the gifts. But they took from UMNO and gave some away to the oppositions to support their cause. They voted for BN with an “eye-wink to DAP and Keadilan”. So when UMNO lost the election, they can have the excuse that it is their own fault - they failed to secure the malay votes not the chinese. They gave a little lifeline to UMNO and MCA but only a little; just enough for UMNO and MCA to keep their heads above the water a little longer and return with more goodies and better treatment for the chinese all over.

In fact the Chinese have cut the umbilical cord with UMNO and BN. The support for oppositions has rocketed through the roof! They flooded all the ceramahs organised by the oppositions; they attend all the dinners organized and don’t mind paying for their share. After the dinners they donated generously. Yet, they restrained themselves when the moment arrived – they voted for UMNO! To give PAS an overwhelming win of 10,631 votes would be to give them too much face such that they could take the chinese for granted and they can go around claiming that the chinese do not mind hudud and islamic laws being imposed on them. So they gave PAS a little support but not too much as to render their support cheap and worthless.

That way UMNO and PAS can tussle for the chinese votes. That way the chinese’s value will rocket to moon as they are the ones deciding who ascend to the throne! DAP and Keadilan just don’t know how huge the KT chinese have done the favour to them by voting for BN with a “eye-wink to DAP and Keadilan”!
written by myke, January 19, 2009 15:04:03
Sad to say this...Chinese are still scared of repercussion. This must change, this is 2009 not 1959 or 1989. Start telling ur relatives to make changes and stand out to be bold.
written by Kopi37, January 19, 2009 15:07:33
Judging from the below 80% turn-outs of voters in KT by-election, it's vindicatory of what RPK has analyzed, his boozy friends had spoken downright the psychology of the Chinese, the old timers in particular! Those on ground zero will only know of the poor old timers' anxiety and dilemma when during the generation in the days of yore, during the 60's, when the gangsters were the king makers and during any election, they are part of the 'campaigners' or lobby brokers. They will go house to house to identify the voters and pass around messages that who would be the ideal'king' that they named and they wanted to make sure that all voters, particularly those kampung folks who lived under the 'protection' of those gangsters, to vote pro to the Party that they 'nominated'! The forefathers of those in the 40's will confirm the truth of this 'traditional practice'! This happened mainly in the Chinese populated Constituencies, Ipoh-Larut and Penang, just to name a few!

This type of tactics had been used by the unscrupulous politicians for decades way back to the 18th century, mainly the ruling parties, to intimidate the Chinese voters who feared the 'dark justice' of the secret societies! The secret societies did not only confine to the Chinese but all races! In year 1800's, when there was no stern law to compulsorily register the secret societies, the British was using them as their 'militants' to stifle dissents from the ignorant commoners, whom, they lived under the mercy of those devilish underground super powers! The fears sentiment was haunting them till now, the old timers are still subconsciously succumbed and victimized to this fear factor!

I did become part of the operatives in the GE and I can construe and testify that till date, the secret societies are still powerfully dominating themselves in the election machinery of campaigning. Though not as formidable and rampant, they have become the parasites to the political parties, hired by the politicians as their bouncers during every elections to lobby for votes and they did pose as the catalyst to the fear factor amongst the old timers, those who rely on hawking, small business operators, small contractors etc., are undeniably still the victims to these kinds of black and vice powers! Not all Chinese are loggers or Corporate CEOs where I agree that they might be the fence riders who bent with the wind in order to 'cari more makan', more wealth! The kampung folks are merely hoi-polloi who wish to find a decent living (cari makan) in a peaceful environment so as they would not be harassed by the vindictive politicians or the kingpin gangsters, thus, reluctantly succumbed to these notoriety and intimidation, to vote against their wills or to abstain from voting are not to be granted as cowardice - rather, I consider them as being down-trodden and that they are more pragmatic of knowing how to take care of their livelihoods, to take care of their families, their children in the missing of any privilege they would have been granted! They have to live on their own feet and they are too fragile like the eggs to take on the boulders! Being the minority, this kind of inferiority complex built up in their minds must be well understood and it's unwise for cari jalan to simply jump to a conclusion with such cynic criticism and unfounded accusation against the Chinese!

Not that they wanted less the Change, they wanted their survivals more - This is what I understand of their mindsets and I would not pompously grade them as hypocrites! Only the politicians are the real hypocrites!
written by johntyc, January 19, 2009 15:22:26
If so afraid to vote for opposition even though it is the right thing to do, then forever live in fear under tyranny!
written by mucking fuddled, January 19, 2009 15:25:50
if you ask 10 different china man, you will have 10 different opinions, especially those who are knocking down the pints in a kopi tiam, no point offering our learned analysis after the event now, the real challenge is on foresight not hindsight, every constituent is different from the next
written by alan cheong, January 19, 2009 15:29:39
aye, and the Livign God will also remember this episode.
written by lamepug, January 19, 2009 15:34:33
You all can call KT chinese a cowards as what mr. CariJalan say. As for KT cases, is you people puts the chinese up the stage by saying the KT chinese are the "kingmaker". KT chinese community 70% conservative minds, they philosophy of life is simple "Less a problem better than make a problem". Furthermore, KT is a strong hold of Be-eNd party.

And to Mr. CariJalan,

A true chinese prefer to be call such coward rather than named traitor.
written by megahyper, January 19, 2009 15:40:52
No frus people. Just like ijok. In by election, BN wins the votes. But when comes General election months later, ijok reverts back to PR! When the spotlight is centred, they chose the least resistance path. Well. When it comes to GE, spotlight is off, It's payback time. I think thats quite similar to ijok.
written by evaangel, January 19, 2009 15:56:50
I was happy to hear that PAS won but I was really disappointed with the winning margin. I can only bow my head in shame. Fear of reprisal is no justification. The approach was pragmatic yes! Penang had reprisals for voting DAP and we saw it coming - but we did it anyway. We lost our monorail and second bridge. Don't let BN think they can get away with threatening us - whatever race we are. We are supposed to be living in a democracy not some mafiacracy. The correct response of the ruling party should they find themselves losing support is not to punish the constituency but to see it as a challenge to prove that they can do better. But them umafia goons only know thug tactics.
written by asyrafMuhammad, January 19, 2009 16:01:07
yeah..thats how the story end, malays blame cihenese, chinese blame indians, indians blame malays, and so on..finally the BangangNye live happily eva after...

"PR for GE13"
written by renoir, January 19, 2009 16:13:12
About a week or so ago, in response to BN's offerings of aid to Chinese organizations, I wrote that PAS must ensure a majority of Malay votes. This was in recognition that, in times of economic distress, any aid from any quarter would be hard to refuse. Besides, the KT Chinese must accept the socio-political realities of being a small minority in a state controlled by UMNO. The fears and insecurities in such situations are normal - almost a universal phenomenon.

Remember though, that RPK was writing about a conversation with a drunken towkay. That towkay might represent his class and age group, but certainly not the KT Chinese as a whole. Further, the gerrymandering of voting constituencies and use of phantom voters must have to some extent skewed the voting patterns as well.

Finally, to be from a small minority facing not only socio-economic realities, but also undisguised threats is no small matter, despite the posture of some readers here. In such a situation where everything - including the mass media - is stacked against the community, a vote of ONE defiant Chinese is already something to be admired. That nearly half the community supported PAS is a testimony to the integrity and bravery of the KT Chinese community, and a good indication as to where the voting trend lies. The election results is also a tribute to our bloggers and all those who'd taken a stand for PAS, Pakatan, social justice and a better Malaysia.
written by ez24get, January 19, 2009 16:30:21
Did any malaysian employees resigned from McDonalds, KFC or Coca Cola when Mahathir made the call to boycott US goods and services? Many people had criticised it is easy for Mahathir to make the suggestion as he is rich and need not rely on employment to support his family. Even the employees of these companies had voiced who is going to support them and their families when they resign from the company!

The chinese of KT under a tightly UMNO controlled state are no different from the employees in McDonald, KFC or Coco Cola! Those people who citicised that the chinese have no balls are just arm-chair critics like the stupid Mahathir!
written by teo siew chin, January 19, 2009 16:32:28
Dear Renoir
Ever thought of writing speeches for the politicians? You write smooth, exact, down-to-earth...and i feel you have lightened up the vocabulary a tad or two to cater to the ordinary folks, unlike that dr.chap across the ocean from that university
written by ylcc, January 19, 2009 16:36:35
CariJalan are you as drunk as the guy whom RPK talked to? This one guy represents how many Chinese? You are ashamed of the Chinese in this country? I am a Chinese. I dare you to say it in front of my face. Please be specific in the category of Chinese crying out "Not fair, not fair"? The Chinese in West & Central Malaysia or the East Coast Chinese? Do you really know them that well to pass such unkind judgement? Generally, the people in the East Coast, be it Malay, Chinese or Indian, tend to be so much nicer than we urban people. They are gentle, welcoming, hospitable and peace loving. They live a quiet life. You go into their territory, disrupt their lives, and call them cowards of the highest degree just because they do not wish to play your game?

I agree with lamepug ... you are a traitor to the Chinese.
written by Tompios, January 19, 2009 16:37:03
Why Chinese? The Chinese can live without Malaysia and Malaysian government. Why we need to put so much elaboration on Chinese voters in Kuala Terengganu? Why put so much pressure to Chinese? Why generalizing the Chinese as a symbol of corruption and the king of 'Cari Makan'? I feel insulted to read this article but then I know RPK is explaining the situation faced by the Chinese in Kuala Terengganu especially with the 'drunken master'.

Okey, RPK you are right. The UMNO-Policemen put a big bazooka right to the Chinese eyes socket. The Chinese in KT cannot do much because being afraid of KT=Kena Tembak!! Yes, I always get sweet things from RPK. I need to be ready to get sour things next time.
written by nocrid, January 19, 2009 16:42:25
I want to thank RPK for his "effort" in wearing the shoes of those Chinese towkay and no towkay and walk a thousand miles. He understand the unity process takes time. He also understand to remove 50 odd years of fear-cancer among the East Coast Malaysian Chinese takes time And to all those KT-Chinese bashers, I say screw you for not having such empathy. And to the Malaysian Chinese who donated 1 million and to the one who cried in tears after PAS won. Don't mind them bashing you, THEY have forgotten the process how they used to be scared and then possessed courage to vote the Goliath out.

And lastly to the Malaysian Chinese who donated 1 million and to the one who cried in tears after PAS won Yeah KITA won.
written by Taiping60, January 19, 2009 16:48:25
I am a Malaysian Chinese. If this is what the Kuala Trengganu's chinese did, I am ashame of them. There is a corwardly act.

Personally, I will vote who I deep fit even if I am threaten and I want all Malaysians regardless of race to do this.
written by mob1900, January 19, 2009 16:48:25

So who got buried now?
Pls forward to MP Rembau. smilies/grin.gif
written by Counterpointer, January 19, 2009 17:40:48
The syndrome we are witnessing of the Chinese in KT can basically be summed in these few words. Can't really blame them when their bad habits have been cultivated by MCA for 51 plus long years that it would be so damn bloody hard to change this kind of selfish, scared and submissive attitudes - The three asses syndrome that MCA is so famous for.I doubt if many of them KT Chinese can prove me wrong.
written by Dominic, January 19, 2009 17:58:36
I find it hard to accept those theory put forth between the Chinese towkay and that of RPK too ! Am sure in term of the number of loggers and timber merchant in KT,their number is too small to have any significant. Am sure a lot of Chinese votes must have gone to PAS. If the Malays who are supposed to be stunch supporters of UMNO or anything that concerned the Govt could have swung their votes to the opposition, am sure theres no question of Chinese or Indians going that way too ! The latter would be too eager as they are considered mirgrants and always get thrashing from UMNO for no apprant reason. Trust me,come the next election, no one should question their mood ;its TOTAL all the way. UMNO,watch out !!!
written by Angela Ooi, January 19, 2009 17:59:44
Dear Raja Petra, staying 2 whole weeks in KT, you did your best daily meeting lots of locals and explaining endlessly why Wahid should be 'the chosen one' I do hope you did not have to pay for drinks cos Najis's 'win at all cost' statement threw the bn C4 ammo into the arena to stymie your 5000 majority!
written by Rhan, January 19, 2009 18:01:59
If the Chinese vote PR, BN labels the Chinese as pendatang. If the Chinese vote BN, PR labels the Chinese as coward? I thought the KT Chinese only occupy a small percentage of the total voters? Shall I conclude that these two groups of politician are no difference from gangster huh! No wonder many KT Chinese rather stay home watched TV and not going out to vote.

You may curse, whack and fcuk the Chinese but regardless how, PR must work out something to get the Chinese support. The Malay starting to give up UMNO recently while the Chinese give up UMNO long time ago. The Chinese may start to give up our support to PAS now, and any party that associate to PAS if what PAS and PR know is to talk about Katak, Hudud and gain their support from gangster.

By the way, you may yell with ecstasy for the KT win but you need just one Muslim terrorist act before the next election to sink PAS.
written by fearless, January 19, 2009 18:05:33
Malaysia is a democratic nation, not the Islamic or Communisr State, KT Chinese wanted to vote BN or not is their constitutional rights. Those Chinese do not vote PAS are labelled with bad hardcore habit or other stupud name, I think you people are better to form a communuist party to impose your values on everyone in Malaysia.

Take a mirror to see how ugly you are before you pointing fingers to UMNO or anyone disagrees with you.
written by ylcc, January 19, 2009 18:36:08
Counterpointer ... as you have said, for 51 yrs, MCA has been with the Chinese in the East. I have a family living in the one of the East Coast towns. When I was there, I witness people as poor as they come - fishing villagers. That is their main livelihood. They live a slow, simple, and quiet life with promises from MCA (RM$300 pm, help in educating their children, a licence to operate a stall if they wish).

Most people go to a library to use a computer as they cannot even afford one. Although poor, they are nice, friendly, helpful, and everyone knows one another. One cannot expect the opposition to go into these areas and change them overnight. My sister-in-law, a Kadazan, from a poor rural area. When she just arrived in KL, she was so scared and "green". After 15 yrs, she is probably smarter than you now. It was only just recently that DAP opened a branch in my family's town. Before that, DAP never existed.

I do agree though that most "towkays" and MCA go together, but aren't all of them the same everywhere - north to south, east to west? So, please do not KT Chinese this, and KT Chinese that. It is unkind.
written by DontPlayGod, January 19, 2009 18:49:57
UMNO's threat is very real. Look at Penang. All development funds to Penang has been frozen. This is UMNO's way to punish the people of Penang. Even UMNO Penang has called on UMNO to stop all development to Penang.

Yes, and MCA has also been threatening the Chinese, not only now in K.T. but for the last 50 years. Their favourite threat? Yes, you've guessed it. MCA also uses the May 13 episode to threaten the Chinese. Ask any Chinese who have been listening to the MCA leaders talk. If any Chinese ask for anything more than the crumbs that UMNO has handed out, MCA will answer them, "we don't want another May 13, do we". I personally have been given such answers by staunch MCA supporters and workers.
written by Kopi37, January 19, 2009 19:29:31
It's disappointing to note that many of the so-called 'freedom fighters' here have forgotten about the ideology of 'Ketuanan Rakyat'! From the comments of many, partly perhaps contributed by the BN cyber-troopers, the sentiments of race, quota and discrimination factors are apparently steaming!

Have you all forgotten about the strident calls for Bangsa Malaysia and One Country One People?! Why then you fellas drilled relentlessly into differences of racial supports to a by-election which virtually did not reflect the mentality of others in other parts of the Nation! It's only the peak of an iceberg! Don't you feel that it's only naivety that you all are portraying as a laughing stock for BN?! You have all led astray unknowingly which only proved to be the fledgling novices could be easily upper-handed and destroyed, for not being able to hold sway to a belief of firm ideology! What difference do you people have with the UMNO racists, when instead of convincing and understanding the minority voters, synchronized them into believing a common objective, you resorted to bashing them, discriminating them and abused with insulting names of all kinds, exactly behaved no different to UMNO goons, you are equally racists- having bias to the minority!

For PAS they must evaluate, why there is a slide of Chinese votes? Would it be because of their political histrionics, they were propagating on hudud law to hoodwink the Malay voters which had been a pet aversion tactic to scare off the Chinese votes?! Are they PAS adopting the 'Ketuanan Rakyat' or still the UMNO racial brand of Ketuanan Melayu concept and they only concerned of to hoodwink the Malay votes, the Chinese votes are trifling to them?! If this is not racist, what is?!

Give it a deep thought, it's time we should appraise the performance of the so-called PR administrations of the 5-States! It's time to check stock and test on their accountability! By always Bravo and Kudos even they the PR governance has not done to our expectation, we only make ourselves as low as their stooges! What difference again we are stooges to the politicians likened MCA and Gerakan have been condemned all these while?!
written by kclim2, January 19, 2009 19:41:41
Okay celebration time! Lets have a few beer down here in KL!
written by Milo, January 19, 2009 19:54:20
CariJalan, you speak like an UMNO's agent trying to spread disunity between the chinese and malays. If you are, the Malaysian chinese are ashamed of you. Go back to your real master and stop giving nonsensical opinions here.
written by ylcc, January 19, 2009 19:57:34
CariJalan .. you know what? I apologise for losing my cool, and I agree with you that I shall not give you that slap. I won't dirty my hands. I shall leave it to the 8 who voted for me to decide whether they want to do it themselves.

Kopi37 is right ... we should not allow BN cyber-troopers such as you to fan any more racial discrimination.

kclim2 ... I shall accept your invitation.
written by DreamLady, January 19, 2009 20:27:36
Good evening, Raja Petra, first and foremost, I thank you for the bear hug! I heard you speaking for the first time, you are so gentle and soft-spoken. My salam to Marina and you too, please..

I was quite devastated with the disclosure of the Chinese voters, never would I
expect anyone who says one thing but means another. I am baffled with the weird mindset..Anyway let's move on from there. The only solace we have is the triumphant march of PAS supporters on the nite of 17th Jan 2009...

Take care......
written by Thian, January 19, 2009 20:39:36

KT is the extinction line that separates the death to the age of the dinosaurs and begins the age of the mammals. smilies/grin.gif
written by Thian, January 19, 2009 20:46:34

Any reasons I don't care but a win. MCA rigged the election such that they do not show their irrelevancy. That towkay is part of the riggers who already knows the game plan.

Every Chinese in Malaysia that I know, with no exception, that is self evidently elated with the KT results. You show me one that is not and you can spit on my face and I will cut off my dick as one of my friend put it.
written by CariJalan, January 19, 2009 20:56:25
No, ylcc. As a Chinese and going by KT's standard, the vote you get doesn't mean eight people supported you. On the contrary - if we have learned anything at all from this by-election - the votes are actually meant for me. You see, the eight fellow who voted for you, is actually supporting me. KT style.

No, Milo. I AM a Chinese. The problem with the Chinese is that they hide and play 'achi chok' all the time and are real cowards. UMNO is what they are today (arrogant and threatening all the time) because they know that the Chinese are real COWARDS! Just wave the kris a little, and they start to shake. No I am not a BN trooper. I am a firm supporter of Pakatan Rakyat. I am a very firm supporter of Raja Pera Kamaruddin and Marina. I hate to disappoint you all but the fact of the matter is the Chinese in KT behaved completely as COWARDS. Even if the 2,631 Chinese votes came from the Chinese, there are still 6,000 Chinese who are COWARDS in KT. These COWARDS who only think of their selfish 'cari makan' needs. Let me state that very few Chinese dare to confront the devil face to face. To solve the problem of the devil they habitually resort to corruption (bribes=cari makan) to save their own neck and rice bowls. Make no mistake about it. If there is ever going to be a real change in this country, the Chinese must rise up and join with the Malays and the Indians in Pakatan Rakyat. Come out boldly and make a do or die stand. Stand with PAS. Stand with PKR. Stand with DAP. Stand with our beloved RPK. The Chinese in KT have been found out to be nothing but just drunkards - like in the days of the Opium war of so long ago. All the smiles and hand clapping and cheers were mainly disguises to hide their hypocritical plan to vote for BN because they are too great a cowards to openly stand up for PR. Most Chinese are COWARDS and COWARDS and COWARDS! Are you one of them?
disagree 31
written by wartank, January 19, 2009 21:38:36
What the ..
As an ethnic Chinese, I along with friends.. Chinese, Malays and Indians had supported change since well before 308 by criticising the current BN Govt. and supporting the rise of DSAI.
WE had done this in the workplace, factories, streets, foodcourts, thru e-mails,smses,blogs and attended ceramahs in droves.
After the results, an unknown Sikh even shook hands with me in a shopping mall and we congratulated each other. He was a bit drunk, I think..probably from celebrating.
And you call us All Cowards bcos of a certain Chinese Towkay who's probably on the take?!

What had you done?

Enough of this thread for me. PAS won, We won.. and the winds of change blows on!
written by 2MuchRoom, January 19, 2009 21:41:22
Thanks RPK for clearing the cloud about the majority mistery,
the mafia tawkeys know what they are doing so did some UMNOputras
who sleep and worked for BN but voted for PAS they are both silent
supporters of PR ...we need them too
written by Kopi37, January 19, 2009 21:54:37
wartank,

Syabas! Remember that the Trengganu MB had lately hired some goons as the counter-blogger agents from the retired grey hairs? So hold your nerve and don't waste time to entertain this kind of cheapo nerds!

A traitor and a real coward himself! A Chinese in the guise of malay pseudonym if is not a coward, who is?!
written by mnaa5982, January 19, 2009 21:55:33
A simple way to look at it ... no pain, no gain. Be it Malay, Chinese or Indian ... we must make a choice, the right choice. We can't take the middle ground and want to have the best of both worlds. If you want change, you want a chance for a better future, you must be bold enough to make a difference. Otherwise, stop whining and bear the consequences. Plain and simple. Every single vote counts. No excuses (intimidation, 'cari makan', 'i ada anak bini', etc). Kalau takut ambil risiko, jangan bicara pasal perjuangan!
written by Milo, January 19, 2009 22:00:56
CariJalan,

More than 20,000 malays voted for UMNO. What do you call them? Super cowards? PR need more supporters who can think and win over people to our side. You can't sway voters by shouting like a nut case and calling them cowards when you have no idea (other than some rumours) what actually happened. If you are not an UMNO agent, you are certainly helping them to win votes, so no difference!
written by PRman, January 19, 2009 22:18:23
This is just one encounter by RPK, and may or may not represent the general Chinese behavior at KT. By the way, the poll should not have identified exactly how many Malay or non-Malay votes for which parties. So, trying to jump the gun on the how Chinese voted is a bit irresponsible. Anyway, we shall stop all the bashing, and continue to congratulate PR for winning the battle!

Thank you all for the extreme hard work at KT by election! Malaysians are so proud of the result!
written by cheekhiaw, January 19, 2009 22:27:55
There is no such thing as 'too far' for a bunch of thieves, liars and murderers that think they own the land by virtue of their birth, and answerable to no one other than the devils within themselves.

written by Ben, January 19, 2009 22:44:15
We would like to suggest to the commentators above to read the article all over again calmly and analytically until they get it and agree with each other that the Chinese voters hearts is with PAS but their rice bowls are at the mercy of armno. At least that is what they believe. And if my boss, RPK, can find it in his heart to understand their logic so will I.

It is so easy to tell them not to be cowards and sacrifice for the country while we are not in their shoes. This is one of the reasons why we love RPK, he is slow to judge and merciful to those who don't agree with him. He tries to understand their logic and respectfully accepts their opinion even if he does not agree. If we can follow his approach in our interaction with fellow commentators here and beyond we are sure that Bangsa Malaysia will be a dream and change we can achieve. Afterall, we are the change we so desire.
written by ylcc, January 19, 2009 22:44:17
Milo/wartank/Kopi37 ... isn't it so easy to pick up these BN cybertroopers? Don't you agree that they seem to know a LOT about the KT Chinese and the MCA? What is your gut feeling? Disdain/anger shown here at the KT Chinese for not voting for PAS OR punishing them because they DID vote for PAS as UMNO lost KT, especially Chinese Bandar?

Don't waste your time on them. Good nite!

written by renoir, January 19, 2009 22:54:40
teo siew chin wrote:
> you have lightened up the vocabulary a tad or two to cater to the ordinary folks, unlike that dr.chap across the ocean from that university]]

Hi Teo, go easy on that "dr chap" willya? smilies/smiley.gif It's not easy moving from academic language to public language, which is one reason why many American intellectuals lost that knack once they entered academia. For my part, I was further cursed by a need - many years ago - to derive some side income from proofreading research articles for journals (and sometimes even speeches for seminars). I did receive complaints on my language during the years 2000 - 2003 when I participated in the DAP's Bungaraya. But, fortunately, as humans we're able to learn from mistakes.

BTW, political speechwriting is the last thing I'd want to do; it's the surest way to become a habitual liar.

written by biggun129, January 19, 2009 22:58:57
Do you know why the KT chinese In KT Dun Bandar never swing to PAS? Ask youself why the Kelantanese Chinese votes PAS! The Menteri Besar of Kelantan and Hadi Awang, what is the different? If Hadi Awang is the Chief of PAS of Kelantan, I can assured you that BN will rule Kelantan, Hadi Awang was given chance to rule KT at one time, but he dont know how to take care not only the chinese but Malays, that's why the KT PAS cannot rule KT, whereas 5 other states is under PR, except KT, its Hadi Awang who ruined the chances of PR!!!The Trenggunu folks have no faith in HADI AWANG!!!
written by Semut Jantan, January 19, 2009 23:27:06
I for one believed that the KT chinese were still the king makers in a small way.

70% voting rate = 70%*8,000 chinese = 5,600 votes.

If of the obove, 51% voted for BN, 49% voted for PAS --

49% * 5,600 = 2,744 votes!!!

The chinese voters handed the victory to PAS!!!
written by tmf, January 19, 2009 23:28:37
in the morning of the pooling day, I cried and told my wife that it was difficult for the Chinese to withstand the threat by the MB orchesterated by MCA to the voters in KT.

At 10pm at night, when my blogger friend told me that we have won, i hugged my son and cried out loud:-

Thank God! Thank God almighthy, there is justice at last! Perhaps we do not have to migrate after all!

Thank you Sir, what more can I say about your sacrifice, after looking at the photos of you unable to hold back your true emotion after the final results was announced.

Thank you for understanding the terrible circumstances facing the Chinese in this country.

written by pywong, January 19, 2009 23:35:31
I was there when the MCA guy made that prediction to RPK. Take note. It was an MCA man. They planned it such that PAS would win as long as the Malays swung. But they kept the Chinese votes about 50:50. Bear in mind, almost all the Kg Cina Chinese are life-time MCA members. Theoretically, all of them should have voted for UMNO and yet at least half voted for PAS.

Look at this from the bigger perspective:
1. The electoral rolls were padded with phantoms.
2. UMNO threw RM 1 BILLION into KT and Terengganu. That is a one with 9 zeros! Bribery was rampant.
3. There were 8,000 police with their tent quarters prominently at every major road. The threat was palpable.
4. At 4pm, the police started diverting traffic AWAY from the voting centres. So hardly any voters got to vote after 4pm. Yet there was a surge of 4 to 5% during that hour. Were those votes used to distort the result to show a better support for UMNO in the Chinese areas?
5. The civil servants were threatened. The Chinese were threatened.
6. The Deputy PM and Finance Minister abandoned the country and the economic crisis, to take charge of the by-election.
7. The whole govt machinery was used by UMNO to help them.

Despite that, PAS won by 2,631 votes! Have a heart, guys. That win is nothing short of miraculous! I would say that the key factor was PAS's organisation and discipline. They fought like the Hizbollah against the Isrealis.

BTW, I resent people purporting to speak on behalf of Chinese. Whether we are Chinese or not, we are qualified to speak only for ourselves and no one else, especially if one is hiding behind a pseudonym.

pywong
written by archie, January 19, 2009 23:50:46
A genuine PR supporter would be happy with the KT by-election victory, instead of getting upset and starting calling people names.
written by tan_eng, January 19, 2009 23:58:34
Dear All,

Every Malaysian have right to vote to whom ever they like. I don't agree with BN's policies of divide and rule so i support Pakatan Rakyat but that doesn't neccesarily means that i would support them always. If they fail to support Malaysian as whole then tomorrow my vote would go to anyone who would rule Malaysia with Malaysian spirit.

Guys, don't be fanatics. We are here to create better Malaysia not to become dogs to any political party. Yes, BN has to go and that means we will support Pakatan ! But that doesn't mean that every other Malaysian who doesn't support Pakatan Rakyat are worthless pigs. They just have different point of view and we should try to make them understand our point of view.

As Zaid Ibrahim said , we are all humans, that means we are capable of having different opinions. Our task is to promote Malaysian Spirit, Not to Kill It....

And for God Sake, STOP USING MALAY,CHINESE,INDIAN and so on to label us....

WE ARE MALAYSIANS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

See ya,

Malaysian Fighting For Malaysia.
written by EYFF, January 20, 2009 00:13:58
“We know who you vote for,” said Rosmah. “If you vote for the opposition we will know.”------------------------------------------------------------------

For once she is telling the truth! All they need to find out is to match your ballot paper against your registration chit!
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by renoir, January 20, 2009 01:01:33
Milo wrote:
>CariJalan, you speak like an UMNO's agent trying to spread disunity between the chinese and malays.]]

Yep! You got that right, Milo. As the old MU guys used to say, "obvi!" And watch out for more accusations against the KT Chinese and even "regrets" and "sorrow" about their performance in the coming days. For me, that's ok: WE won! Pakatan won! The Rakyat won! UMNO/MCA/BN are biting the dust!!! Hallelujah, God is great!!!

The gerrymandering of constituencies wasn't merely to ensure less parliamentary representatives for the non-Malays; it was also to ensure control of all UMNO opponents. Thus, MCA MPS are placed in areas where they depend on pro-UMNO Malays to get elected. And minorities are placed in areas where the non-Malays could help UMNO defeat PAS. For a long time, this worked well. THEN, on March 8 this year, the usually pro-UMNO Malays in urban areas decided to do the unthinkable: they voted Pakatan - including those representing the DAP! AND minorities in UMNO-controlled areas started voting for PAS!

In many cases, it's not even necessary for ALL the minorities to vote for PAS. Splitting the pro-UMNO/BN votes into half, roughly, would do the job. This was what the KT Chinese did. Congratulations and let the trend of winning borderline states continue for Pakatan!!! And in other constituencies where the Chinese are the majority, progressive Malays just have to do the same thing - split BN votes and Pakatan would romp home victorious!!!

written by Milo, January 20, 2009 01:25:11
CariJalan wrote: We should not change the subject.
---------------------------------------

The subject was not changed as I and many others have provided more than enough points here to put doubts on your accusative analysis of the KT Chinese. What I did extra was to point out that you are acting like an UMNO agent, since you do not seem to argue based on reason and facts, AND your purpose seem to be to drive a wedge between the supporters of Pakatan. I could be wrong about you being an UMNO agent, for all I know, you could be just a plain stupid and stuborn pakatan supporter who unknowingly acted to sabotage his own party. Take your pick!

And for LChuah, thanks for giving supporting reasons to my case. Appreciate your contribution!
written by Daryl, January 20, 2009 02:02:26
Payback means:

1) Federal Governemnt under PR
2) Win the current five states with more seats
3) Win in Melaka, Negri, Sabah, Sarawak, Terrenganu, and Perlis
4) More seats in Johor and Pahang
5) Poor people are actually getting help instead of help every five years during election
6) Federal money or tools are not use for campaigning or against opposition but for development and welfare
7) Education system revamp
smilies/cool.gif Competitive business environment

Just keeping the HOPE high and up
written by Loh, January 20, 2009 05:54:31
The win in KT by PAS over UMNO based only on Malay votes despite leakage by non-Malays shows that the game of UMNO in working for UMNOputras in the name of Ketuanan Melayu is up. How can UMNO ever change from the way of life that they have been used to for three generations; they have built branch level dynasties in UMNO politics, and their involvement in UMNO is motivated by wealth and rewards, rather than for serving the people of all races, and the national interests? UMNO leaders cannot even claim to serve the calling of Islam since for that UMNO would have to ensure that government policies are not against the teaching of Islam. The policies discriminating against non-Malays are clearly against Islamic teaching!

Now that half the Malay population is fully conscious of the game played by UMNO, and since UMNOputras will not find it worthwhile to remain in politics if they cannot persist doing what they know best, but they would remain in UMNO power structure and thus continue their ways unchanged. So Najib will be the last of the RAHMAN administrations, and his will be the shortest.
written by singam, January 20, 2009 06:33:16
No doubt there are BN agents here trying to provoke reaction and stoke enmity. But I do wish MT readers can become less knee-jerk reactive.

First, so many lambasted OTK for making false claims that the Chinese supported the BN. They failed to look deeper and see that the article was clutching at straws to "prove" that Chinese support for BN has in fact dropped. Which was not true.

Then they reacted to RPK's revelation that, though their hearts were with PR, a significant number of KT Chinese did vote for BN. They failed to see the deeper implication of what RPK is trying to tell us.

Politics is a subtle game with shades of grey. Not everything has to be black and white. It is important for UMNO to realise that they have lost the support of the Malays. With the KT Chinese maintaining status quo, UMNO cannot hide and pretend that they have not lost support. In the long term, that realisation can only serve to the benefit of all Malaysians.

Shooting off words in anger or disgust cannot be productive. Why don't we use the MT forum more constructively? Not everyone holds views supportive of PR. Why not engage them intelligently?
written by Milo, January 20, 2009 11:01:36
Aiya...singam, let those who want to jerk, jerk lah!

You need a all the varieties of responses and reactions to guage the mood. Not all can clearly expressed their thoughts in words like some here, so relax. And just like politics, people thoughts have shades over a wide range.
written by wartank, January 20, 2009 12:29:23
To simplify matters , we shall catergorise the Chinese into 2,.. the chinese business comunity and the Malaysians.

The Malaysians, we convince them to fight the Malaysian cause..and they did.
So, all is great.

The other group, chinese with hardcore business mentality .. only support where the money is, irrespective of the means. Only "Cari Makan".
They strategise and play their own political games. They are easily approachable as this is to their advantage.
Make no mistake, they still go where the RM$$ are.

They are not MCA supporters, they ARE the MCA..and they have their people in Parliament. Notice how well informed and knowledgeble they are?

They DON'T READ your blogs.
Do not waste time on them, they'll turn when there's a change of Govt.
written by no1isbad, January 20, 2009 13:04:00
hello guys, why are you so angry with the KT Chinese who support PR but voted BN? this is political game just like how this 308 tsunami happened. there was no sign or symptom before the election, but everyone voted quietly and surprised the nation. UMNO has a group of "intelligence arms" behind the scene, and we must confuse them.
written by no1isbad, January 20, 2009 13:05:17
the most important thing is, the KT Chinese already done the calculation and planned it carefully before the execution, and it works!
written by carribeanking7, January 20, 2009 17:15:35
I have some concerns on - the vote tally by Chinese Majority polling centres In Pulau Kambing, BN polled 1,223 votes to PAS' 958, Pejabat Bandaran (BN: 861, PAS: 681) and Paya Bunga (BN: 969, PAS: 759), reflecting not BN's strength in these Chinese majority areas but selective intimidation.
We must note that these are Chinese majority areas but not exclusively chinese.
If we extrapolate and multiply by averages less than 4000 chinese constituents are involved, KT has 8000 plus chinese voters the rest diluted in other polling centres, and we all know that ethnicity is not recorded on the ballot paper, so how can BN say with certainty that it won the overall chinese vote?
written by batsman, January 20, 2009 17:17:05
Guys, let's be realistic about this. Whatever slant you want to put on the situation. Whatever delusions you want to play with, the fact of the matter is that UMNO comes away from this episode with the firm belief that the Chinese community can still be bullied. This is like telling the bully that he can continue to do as he wishes without any fear of getting hurt himself.

You have to decide for yourself whether this “survivalist” thinking can stand you in good stead when push comes to shove in a dangerous and risky situation. You have to decide whether your friends can depend on you when the going gets really very tough.
written by aeromaverick, January 20, 2009 17:37:18
One has to also remember that the such business men do most of their business through patronage..... which means some politician from UMNO is getting paid off. How can we then complain of corruption??
written by TingMK, January 20, 2009 21:13:09
Chinese in KT really wise. PAS won with Malay votes not Chinese votes, BN cannot use this anymore as a racial issue to threaten Malays to support them. By this, the coming general election will be the end of BN government.
written by Milo, January 20, 2009 22:36:08
Ai ya, batsman....don't worry...these type of chinese businessmen are very good at Sun Tze Art of War. They will led the enemy to believe that they are on their side...and have a false sense of security. Once the time is right to strike, i.e. the next election, they will suddenly switch side and SURPRISE UMNO who is still dreaming they can bully them.
written by LFLee, January 21, 2009 06:18:44
Thanks for this article, it is a mixed feeling after reading this article - I am not sure to angry, sympathy, or to laugh out loud with the Chinese in KT.

But, thanks for the UNDERSTANDING. If anyone have the right to be mad about the Chinese in KT, it is Pete, who spend two weeks there convincing the Chinese. If Pete can understand and still trust the Chinese after all these, so can I.

Dear Pete, I hope you are right - that the Chinese will remember how BN threaten them this time, and punish them come next election. The Chinese can't afford not to ride with the fellow Malays and Indians in this wave of change, this might be
the one - and only one - opportunity for this country.
written by harryo, January 21, 2009 09:31:11
I never knew the Chinese are so scared of BN Govt.
written by unomalaysia, January 21, 2009 11:28:14
CariJalan, man you really really need professional help. You are beginning to sound like Shit Botak with all your raving and and generally mean comments (I am being polite here). I know a good and affordable head shrink, want his contact? smilies/grin.gif
Hey lighten up will ya! No need to get personal and be no rabid on the KT Chinese (you forget that nearly half voted PAS) unless you are really a amno cybertrooper sowing discord on MT and if you are really an amno cybertrooper, would you like to meet my fist?
written by sampalee, January 21, 2009 12:09:43
It is God that gave BR the wisdom and courage and the win for PAS is the will of GOD,in spite of intense cheating by umno.Thy will be done,Insyaallah.
written by evaangel, January 21, 2009 12:31:02
I admit I have been hasty to condemn - I apologise for that. Personally I think the machiavellian attitude described in the article is deplorable - but that is coming from an idealistic point of view. What really matters is that PAS won. And if you look at the it from an even broader viewpoint you'd see that BN paid loads of money and made plenty of promises and incentives to entice people to vote for them. So how much of the 30000 votes they got were bought? PAS/PKR didn't pay anyone to vote for them. So their 32000 votes were sincere.
Soon the BN voters will realise that they voted for elven gold - you know... gold that turns to dust at sunrise. You know that BN won't rise to the occasion - they will deploy thug tactics and punish. And that is another nail in their already mouldering coffin.
written by ylcc, January 21, 2009 12:31:29
unomalaysia .... I was waiting for a white knight to come along .. thank you for being my hero!
written by teo siew chin, January 21, 2009 12:41:42
"...unity of purpose over conflict and discord..."
---------------------------------------

From The Obama speech smilies/smiley.gif.
So focus people, focus on the purpose!
written by mystally, January 21, 2009 13:05:03
Chinese Malaysian, especially from rural area, are "Kiasu, Kiasi, Kiajinghu" - always complain "jinghu" pigling and corrupted yet still vote for them. Why? Because you are the SAME! SHAME to Chinese Malaysian!!
written by pixieface, January 21, 2009 13:33:34
Carijalan. Enough !!! your cynics and analysis of chinese is only a couple of eggs
in a basket. Chinese in the old days, yes they are kia su but what is happening now
and is a reality, is the younger generation that has brought the winds of change
guided by us middle aged now, but who were then the baby boomers of the sixties.
I so want to puke at that scumbag OTK, leading the delegation to china. Bunch of
ass..h. What do they hope to accomplish. Wanton wastage of the rakyat's money.
written by Mirage, January 21, 2009 22:23:08
To CariJalan,

I think you are a lost soul. Chinese have been the way they are as long as they have existed with 5000 years history and surviving all over the world. If you think that all the Chinese being the way they are and are sinner or embarassment to you, I am sorry to tell you they are everywhere. You think you know so much abt the Chinese because you are one??Your parents would have sacrifice something to get you where you are but in turn you would still think of them that way or maybe you are just saying everything you have said with exception to your close related family members. Either way you sound selfish or ignorant of reality.

As for the way you have written, sometimes the truth comes with a certain background. And not knowing and understanding that background and insisting what you have said is factual show how shallow you are.
written by Mirage, January 21, 2009 23:04:15
CariJalan,

After writing my last note to you I have felt compeled to add on. If you had lightly touch on the subject with just the first paragraph of your initial writing I may have agreed to certain extend with you but you had to go on and on. The struggle of Chinese and the unity among them can certainly do without a moronic dope like you. With the exposure of many Chinese and now the Malays as well from studying abroad and more modern family background has brought abt a new generation of ppl breaking away from the older mentality. However having said that, I am proud to be a Chinese with that certain flair and orientation in believes that got me to where I am today.
written by born2reign, January 22, 2009 14:15:10
I believe lumping the Chinese all as the same is not so accurate. There are 2 types ie the pre-Merdeka and post Merdeka Chinese.

Those pre-Merdeka Chinese are usually towkays by now and they live by adapting with the Malays and the govt corrupt ways. They lived through severe poverty during Japanese occupation, raising 8-10 children. They came from China with almost nothing to work here and gradually save painstakingly to give their children a better future. They have no time to play politics like the way the Malays do. They are in survival politics. The Malays like to hulur tangan, they just give some "protection money" (BTW Angpows are symbolic of protection for the children).

The post-Merdeka Chinese are younger, with no nostalgic memories of the old days, no fear of Mei 13, and mostly are sent overseas to study or go for private higher learning. They come home with a bigger-and-idealistic way of freedom and democratic living.

From RPK's analysis I am not so sure what is the age group of those who voted BN, but I do believe many younger generation Chinese are not staying in slow-and-easy Trengganu, probably working in Singapore or KL. Only the retired Chinese parents and grandparents are still residing in KT, and majority of those who voted in the KT election. To them, why rock the boat at such an old age, when they are enjoying their grandchildren and watching Wah Lai Toi to pass time?

I also believe that the pre-Merdeka born Malays are different from the post-Medeka Malays in terms of voting preference.