Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Information Ministry denies making pay-offs to journalists in KT

Information Ministry denies making pay-offs to journalists in KT PDF Print
Saturday, 17 January 2009 02:16

The Information Ministry today denied making any payment to journalists covering the Kuala Terengganu parliamentary by-election, polling for which is tomorrow.

The press secretary to the Information Minister, Hisham Abdul Hamid, said the ministry had never directed any of its officers to do such a thing.

"This has never been the practice of the Information Ministry," he told Bernama here.

The Mandarin version of the Malaysiakini portal today reported that an Information Ministry officer had given envelopes containing money to journalists covering the by-election.

Meanwhile, two journalists of Merdekaview.com lodged a police report over an allegation that they had received a white envelope containing money from an officer serving at the media centre set up for the by-election.

The report was made at 7.13pm at the Kuala Terengganu district police headquarters. — Bernama

written by doggone, January 17, 2009 02:29:27
He however added, "This is the first time we're doing it with the hope that it would be sucessful so that it could pave a way for future buy-elections"

written by onnetline, January 17, 2009 02:38:29
Stop talking like a six years old and pretending that you don't know the Barisan Najis culture of corruption and power abuse !
written by Highway16, January 17, 2009 02:49:21
The journalists should point out the person(s) that handed them the envelopes or name them.
written by AntiBN, January 17, 2009 02:56:11
Where did the envelopes come from then? Don't tell me they fell form the sky.
Salute to the 2 journalists!
KT voters - We Malaysians count on you to kick BN out!
written by KARMANNGHIA, January 17, 2009 04:00:14
Please, wipe your saliva before you speak, otherwise people might think you have rabid.
written by hamid, January 17, 2009 04:47:06
Take the money and Write BAD against UMNO-BN. Write Negative against UMNO-BN and don't waste time lodging Police report. You will be investigated and be Harassed instead. Harass UMNO BN by taking their money and Slamming them. Under mine UMNO-BN Forever until Freedom of Press Exist in Malaysia like Freedom of Religion!
written by kingelvis, January 17, 2009 06:36:37
Will they pay me if I impersonsonate a reporter now? Free $. Can or not.
written by kingelvis, January 17, 2009 06:40:56
Does the ACA policy of paying off complainants againt VVIPs still exist? more $. Gomen see so good, give you $. Opposition see not good give you high principles and moral values for what. cannot eat principles and moral values lah. see so vote BN for$
written by OilMan, January 17, 2009 07:16:12
hamid,
You're wrong to suggest that these acts must not be reported. If not reported then the bad acts will continue to be practised. Not reporting will only mean you are condoning to these acts of money politics.
written by adan, January 17, 2009 07:40:49
'INFORMATION MINISTRY denies making PAY=OFFS to jounalists in KT.' can mean The pay-offs are given out by the BN GOVT OR The PAY-OFFS to the journalists are in fact our ang -pows for the coming CNY.
written by Biztrack, January 17, 2009 08:39:40
Actually, if your read the news reports properly, you will note that while only the 2 journalists from merdekareview.com made police reports, there were 4 other reporters from Malaysiakini who were offerred the bribe. So, we now have 6 witnesses!!!
If that is not corroboration (not collaboration), I don't know what is.
The Minister has to resign to take responsibility for this
written by ahmadneil, January 17, 2009 08:46:49
Not surprise at all! All branches of the civil services are corrupted to its core!
written by Biztrack, January 17, 2009 08:57:11
Oei UMNO/BN
Lu ingat semua Cine macam lu punya anjing MCA ka??? Kasi siki duit sudah cukup jual maruah, gadai prinsip???
Bodoh punya UMNO!!! Bodoh punya MCA !!!!

written by Msian Idol3, January 17, 2009 10:29:39
As usual UMNO in denial. This is a disgrace. Next thing we know is they arrest these 2 gals for making false report. Syabas to these 2 brave lass.
written by onnetline, January 17, 2009 11:14:58
Barisan Najis,
Go to hell, please. Enough of your polluted presence herein Malaysia.
written by PRman, January 17, 2009 18:41:03
Got caught and then denied! Shameless, and just be his ownself, JOKER!
written by Msahibul56, January 17, 2009 19:02:48
Aiiiya!
What? RM300 only. Mana cukup.
I thought your boss told you to give the reporters RM1,000 each.

written by Observer, January 17, 2009 21:48:12
More cover ups. Evidence of envelope with money is there, but no proof that its given from the ministry. Case close.

Even if photo evidence provided, they will twist the story, saying the envelope given to wrong people, meant to be payment for rental or some stupid shit. Just like the incident of FRU charging on peaceful vigil during Negaraku. No action taken. Dumb reasons given.