Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Pas predicts victory

Pas predicts victory PDF Print
Friday, 16 January 2009 19:13
By Adib Zalkapli, The Malaysian Insider

Barely 24 hours before polling day in the crucial Kuala Terengganu by-election, Pas for the first time declared that the party was leading in a close race, but remained cautious that its opponent Barisan Nasional (BN) may resort to what it calls dirty tactics.

“We will win, comfortably, unless something big happens tonight. That is why we are taking extra precaution. If something happens beyond our control, it may tilt the balance,” said the Islamist party election operation director Datuk Wan Mutalib Embong.

He told reporters today that the party has mobilised central party leaders to work with state leaders in every polling station tomorrow as it suspects “phantom voters” may turn up at the polling stations tomorrow.

The Terengganu Pas deputy chief however said the party would ensure all party officials comply with the laws and promised that there would be no disorderly conduct on polling day.

“We are very mature; I already told them to behave well,” said the Ladang assemblyman.

“We have compiled a list of postal voters, and if they don't carry civilian’s identifications tomorrow to vote, we would be prepared to stop them, so I urged the phantom voters to think twice before coming to the polling stations,” said Wan Mutalib, insisting that he was not making a wild allegation.

“This is our suspicion,” he added, claiming that BN was desperate and has to resort to dirty tactics to win the election.

On the resignation of the returning officer Datuk Mat Razali Kasim yesterday, Wan Mutalib said he was glad with the Kuala Terengganu Mayor’s withdrawal, but was non committal when asked about the replacement, Wan Mustafa Wan Hassan.

Wan Mutalib added that the party would decide later today whether to oppose the appointment of the Kuala Terengganu City Council Secretary as the returning officer.

“I do not know the real reasons behind the resignation, but it is clear that we have made our objections,” said Wan Mutalib.

The party had accused Razali of campaigning for BN candidate Datuk Wan Ahmad Farid Salleh at an assembly of City Council staff.

written by animal, January 16, 2009 19:19:56
hope PR will not be carried away,
the voting not even started yet..so please don't let your guard down,
anythings can happen in bolehland..you know BN well,
good luck to PR,
makkal sakthi
written by Fuminari, January 16, 2009 19:21:54
to all the good n righteous people of KT,god has responded well to altantuya's cry of injustice n for the good of the malaysian rakyat irregardless of race,please vote Pas,PR n send the altantuya murderer to hell!!!all the rest of the nation are waiting for your good deed.GO GREEN ON 17-1-2009.
written by blackpea, January 16, 2009 19:22:36
A win for PAS/PR = A win of GOOD over EVIL, This is one battle and many more to come, but GOOD will always triumph over EVIL. Just waiting to happen only
written by adan, January 16, 2009 19:25:13
To be aware of BN'S 'DIRTY TACTICS' may be easy but to be aware of 'DIRTY TRICKS'of phantom voters may NOT be that easy.
written by lynn, January 16, 2009 20:40:14
PAS must win tomorrow! Otherwise millions of M'sian Chinese/Indian supporters will be so disappointed! We want PAS to win, and to win BIG! This win will make us so happy this CNY!
written by miwaki, January 16, 2009 20:56:49
Defeat is just the effect,the cause is due to evil deeds.Unless Newton's Law is wrong,the winner in this by-election should be PAS/PR.

How many UMNO's supporters read Physics and understand the law of physics ? Action and reaction are equal,ie you reap what you sow.
written by ahmadneil, January 16, 2009 21:13:16
The smell of victory is in the KT air and everyone is making preparations to celebrate this victory which also means the end of umno.So in fact it's a double celebration.
written by asguard, January 17, 2009 00:24:53
PAS will win... wait for saturday nite results !
written by Msian Idol3, January 17, 2009 01:49:00
Celebrating PAS victory now with friends. Even if it is moral victory we have freaked out all UMNO/BN ministers as they are all over KT. Good one PAS & PR.
written by oldcinaman, January 17, 2009 02:17:30
I want PAS to win!!!! PAS has been smeared by dirty Barisan Najis(BN).
Let's face it. BN says one thing to the malay brothers while sending the lapdog MCA(卖华公会)to psycho the Chinese community, scaring them about HUDUD (read the main stream neaspaper for thick-skinned Ong Kar Chuan(王家泉)'s statement).
At least PAS is more genuine. Anyway, true Muslim values are good, better than the hypocritical approach taken by Oh NO.
written by mikewang, January 17, 2009 08:23:47
PR and PAS should be wary about rampant cheating in a close race.

If the good folks at KT could give PR/PAS a 66% majority, then it is no longer necessary to worry about cheating.
It may even hasten a true reform in UMNO or its swift downfall.
written by mikewang, January 17, 2009 08:24:48
Gong Xi Fa Cai PR.
Gong Xi Fa Cai PAS !
written by ASK4u, January 17, 2009 09:36:19
I have said it before and am repeating it again here. The Chinese cannot afford to only "mind their own business" (exclusion factor: sorry I know for a fact that there are also a good number of Chinese, especially the younger generation, who cares a good deal for other races as well) and go on focusing only on their self-serving attitude of amassing Wealth at the expense of the deterioration of civil, moral and ethical values in Malaysia. The culture of giving and accepting bribes is an example and KT is a point to note here. The proof to my arguments lies in the dissatisfaction that exist in the Chinese community today about the way they are being treated and labeled. They ask for it. The ruling Govt has categorically classified the Chinese as a community that will 'okay' to anything as long as their opportunity to flourish in business is not obstructed. This is the price you pay for maintaining a self-centered selfish "tidak apa" attitude. Remember, the foundation of a good govt. is morality, ethics and the respect for human rights, at least the rights of her own people. We are seriously jeopardizing the future of our nation and that of our children by neglecting this critical component that is the building block of a good govt. In short, do not be "Penny wise, pound foolish". Don't sell your soul out to the evil schemers. Delayed and enduring gratification is better than short lived instant gratification that is laced with poison. Vote for change.