60:40 or 50:50? PDF Print
Friday, 16 January 2009 10:12

It is ironical that Barisan Nasional is in fact giving Pakatan Rakyat money through the Chinese. The Barisan Nasional money given to the Chinese ends up in the hands of Pakatan Rakyat, plus more.

The soothsayers are divided. Some say that the Kuala Terengganu by-election is a 50:50 situation. Others say it is 60:40, in favour of PAS.

On a level playing field I would tend to agree with the 60:40 prediction. However, seeing that the playing is anything but level, I would tend to go for the 50:50 forecast -- unless PAS is able to plug all the holes.

First of all, Umno is paying up to RM1,000 per vote. And this is how the system works.

A voter goes into the polling station to collect his/her ballot paper. He/she then puts it in his/her pocket. He/she drops a dummy ballot paper into the ballot box. He/she comes out and ‘sells’ the ballot paper to an Umno goon waiting outside. He/she goes home RM1,000 the richer.

The blank ballot paper is marked Barisan Nasional. It is then given to the next voter. He/she collects his/her ballot paper and puts it in his/her pocket. He/she drops the already marked ballot paper into the ballot box. He/she comes out and hands over the blank ballot paper to the Umno goon waiting outside in exchange for RM1,000.

The process is repeated thousands of times all over Kuala Terengganu at the 38 polling stations.

Another method would be: the voter goes into the polling station with his/her hand phone. He/she marks the ballot paper in the Barisan Nasional box and photographs it with his/her hand phone. He/she then drops the ballot paper into the ballot box. He/she comes out and shows the photo in the hand phone to an Umno goon and receives RM1,000.

All this is of course further to the ‘phantom voters’ who will be voting tomorrow. One man closely related to the Agong showed me the electoral roll where four unknown Chinese voters were registered at his house address. He does not know who these four Chinese are and how they got registered at his house address. How many thousands more are ‘registered voters’ in this manner is yet to be known because not all house owners check the electoral role to look for strangers registered at their address. But expect the figure to run into the thousands. And also expect all these strangers to come out to vote tomorrow.

8,000 registered voters live and work outside Kuala Terengganu. This means 10% of the Kuala Terengganu voters are out of town. Will they all come home to vote? If not, then how many will? The lower the voter turnout, the more chance Barisan Nasional will have of padding the ballot box.

The average voter turnout in any general election is roughly 75%. It is sometimes even lower in a by-election. Tomorrow, Kuala Terengganu may see a voter turnout as high as 80% to 85%. In the 2004 general election, the voter turnout in Kuala Terengganu was 130%, as it was in Kuala Selangor and some other places all over Malaysia. After the ‘error’ was pointed out by Malaysiakini, the figure was ‘adjusted’ to 85% or so.

When asked to explain the voter turnout of 130%, the Elections Commission said that the 130% figure was not yet gazetted so it is unofficial. It is not official until it is gazetted. The gazetted figure was then adjusted to make it look more believable.

Invariably, Umno knows it can’t win the Kuala Terengganu by-election tomorrow unless its cheats like hell. In a fair and free election, Pakatan Rakyat is going to win the by-election with a majority of 5,000 votes. They need to ensure that Barisan Nasional wins by at least 1,000 votes. So the vote buying and rigging needs to be maximised like there is no tomorrow.

I have placed a bet on Pakatan Rakyat winning the Kuala Terengganu by-election tomorrow with a 5,000-vote majority. Will Pakatan Rakyat be able to plug all the holes and ensure that this happens? Or am I going to be a slightly poorer person by tomorrow night? Let’s wait and see.

The Chinese voters in Kuala Terengganu are very upset. Barisan Nasional has been handing out millions of ringgit to their schools and associations -- plus RM300 Chinese New Year ‘Ang Pows’ to each voter.

“Why are you insulting us by giving us RM300 Ang Pows?” one reasonably rich Chinese asked me. “Do you think we are so bangsat we need this RM300?”

“If the government treats the Chinese better you do not need to bribe us with RM300. If you treat us better we can give the government RM300. RM300 is nothing. It is a small amount.”

“The fact that the government needs to give us RM300 means the government has not treated the Chinese well. That is why they give us RM300 to buy our votes. If not, no need to give us any money. We can give the government money instead.”

I never thought of it that way. And probably neither did Barisan Nasional. I suppose the many dinners thrown over the last two weeks lies testimony to this. The Chinese pay to attend the Pakatan Rakyat dinners. And the hall is not only packed but overflowing as well. The crowd is not just inside the hall. Hundreds more stand outside to listen to the many speeches. And they stay till the very end.

And in spite of everyone having to pay for the dinner, when the collection box is passed around everyone puts in RM50 notes into the box. Tens of thousands are collected every night. And this is further to the dinner that they pay for.

Barisan Nasional invites the Chinese to free diners. However, not only is the hall half empty, the Chinese whack the food and then leave before the speeches start. By the time the speeches start most people have gone home.

Throwing money to the Chinese does not work. For every ringgit Barisan Nasional throws to the Chinese, they throw back double that amount to Pakatan Rakyat. It is ironical that Barisan Nasional is in fact giving Pakatan Rakyat money through the Chinese. The Barisan Nasional money given to the Chinese ends up in the hands of Pakatan Rakyat, plus more.

That is all for now, my brief report this morning. I now have to take Zaid Ibrahim to Chinatown for breakfast and for one last walkabout before Polling Day. Till we speak again, take care and phone all those Kuala Terengganu voters outside the state and convince them to come home to vote tomorrow.

Comments (63)Add Comment
written by justice, January 16, 2009 10:19:44
agree 367
written by batsman, January 16, 2009 10:22:58
UMNO dirty tricks are some of the most disgusting in the world. It includes getting help from Singapore's PAP.
disagree 76
written by malaysianohope, January 16, 2009 10:23:02
"Who doesn't want free lunch?"
Abang, told you that the Chinese are survivalists! You know the part about eating umno's free lunch but leaving before the speech! Disgusting behavour but understandable given the fact that it's the Rakyat money that umno is spending.
agree 168
written by cheekhiaw, January 16, 2009 10:27:05
Heck, then PAS should station 1 man and 1 woman at each polling station and search everyone before they enter the voting room for 'UMNO' forms and handphones. Get the voter to leave behind handphone and don't 'PAS' them if pre-filled forms are found. Or get the voter to display his form serial number before and after doing the 'pangkah' without showing the pangkah itself before he drops it into the bin. Then we see how many magicians those thieves can produce.
written by AuntyG, January 16, 2009 10:33:48
I love dem bye-elections, there is carnival and more money and more focus. I wish there will be more dem bye-elections to cheer up the economic gloom (NOT that I am hoping for somebody to die first lah !!! ... choy choy choy.) Yes, if I get invites for free campaign dinners, I will bring my gan, wallop the food, and tahpow for my friends "on the other side", so poor things no food served. If people pay me to vote, I will take the money, then figure how I can "double cross" dem of their original cheating scheme lah.
written by Ben, January 16, 2009 10:34:29
It will be 70:30 in favor of Barisan Rakyat. All the dirty tricks will be their own undoing and have shown to be counter-productive. On the other hand, BR has come clean and shown solidarity displaying their faith in a higher authority. May Allah allow BR a resounding victory and let armno keep their 30% as expected.
written by Dualties, January 16, 2009 10:43:51
Rakyats of Terengganu :
You SHOULD NOT receive RM300 once in every five years or in the event of the death of a MP or Assemblyman. By right, you should be receiving at least RM6,000 EVERY YEAR! UMNO/BN are a cunning middlemen who swallowed your RM5,700 every year because of YOU.

And yet UMNO/BN treat you like beggar to receive the RM300 for the rightful ownership of the RM6,000 per year!
written by Oscar Winner, January 16, 2009 10:44:00
Bolehland's UMNOwood actors and actresses shooting latest movie.
SHOOTING LOCATION : KUALA TRENGGANU
written by pinsysu, January 16, 2009 10:45:31
beware of mysterious ballot boxes appearing tomolo from nowhere ... get da ghost busters to nail da hantu voters ... get da KT vigilantes to scrutinise every voter entering da polling station ... station ppl to conduct an exit poll by handing out small PAS flag to hint their candidate choice ... video tape da whole voting process if nid be ... & pray for victory for PR.
written by netaddict1, January 16, 2009 10:45:38
Bring your own erasers

mark bn, take picture, erase, mark PAS, fold, drop into box, go out show bn picture, collect 1k, go happy hour!
agree 145
written by cahaya, January 16, 2009 10:49:03
Hi Batsman, so early in the morning, and you are spouting nonsense. Your statement is neither factual nor logical. What is your problem? Please keep your focus on the selection of a new member of Parliament for KT.
written by KARMANNGHIA, January 16, 2009 10:50:26
1st voter goes in, takes a blank pic of the ballot paper.
Photoshops it and sends to every voter in KT known to have H/P.
Let everyone claims the 1,000 and that will only cost them robbers 80 million.
written by miwaki, January 16, 2009 10:51:18
Kalau BN boleh menang,saya potong saya punya kukuchiau dan bagi kepada itek untuk sarapan pagi.
written by ahmadneil, January 16, 2009 10:54:57
The chinese in Kt are receiving 'ang pow' after 'angpow',just in time for the chinese new year.Lets hope more of this by-election are held during this worst financial crisis so that the poor will get some cash to lessen their sufferings.
written by Counterpointer, January 16, 2009 10:55:08
If no police are around to arrest them, the citizens will do the job for them.
Tomorrow would also be a day for Lingam videographers wannabes to shine. Put all of BN's dirty tricks in YouTube for the world to see.
It's going to be a real humiliating day for Najib tomorrow.

agree 121
written by JUST, January 16, 2009 10:55:19
Thank you Ezam!
written by ahmadneil, January 16, 2009 10:55:42
I say it will be 70:30 favouring PAS.
written by cahaya, January 16, 2009 11:02:21
Spoil the vote, if you want to receive money from Umno!
If a voter needs the money badly but wants PAS to win, then the voter should spoil the Umno vote before dropping it into the ballot box.
Mark all the boxes with an X, just before dropping it into the ballot box. This would foil either system (whether exchange of pre-marked ballot paper, or photographed ballot paper). Nobody knows (until votes are counted) but the voter still gets paid.
written by Running Sardines, January 16, 2009 11:04:29
My goodness ... at this times of sufferings they still have money to throw around ? I say don't go for the RM1,000 but go for the wind of change ... remember the sayings ... five minutes pleasure but a lifelong agony ... vote for PAS
written by ahmadneil, January 16, 2009 11:04:50
So now I know umno play so dirty!
written by ahmadneil, January 16, 2009 11:09:15
Use hidden camera and take some pictures for all to see.
written by ahmadneil, January 16, 2009 11:10:03
Good luck to PAS and may your win be decisive.
written by PakLong, January 16, 2009 11:13:43
Buy Lots and Lots of erasers and give to the voters.
Take the picture 1st then erase or erase the given pre-marked ballot papers.

written by cahaya, January 16, 2009 11:13:52
Honesty is still the best policy. If I were a KT voter, I would reject all bribes from Umno, and simply vote the PAS candidate.
Why? Because PAS has the best candidate. Abdul Wahid Endut is an honest man, competent and very experienced (18 years serving KT). He will be a good member of Parliament for Kuala Terengganu, speaking out for all Malaysians, whether Malay, Chinese, Indian or other races.
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 16, 2009 11:14:31
Sneak out a blank voting slip, print thousands of them to out for people of KT to claim their rm1k from UMNO.
Sacrifice one ballot vote for UMNO. Take photos of it from different views, closed up to leave out other features like serial nos. etc. Then send that to every voters with HP in KT to claim rm1k.
Someone should station a hidden camera to shoot all these activities as proof of UMNO’s dirty politics and later prosecution.
My bet is still 3,500 votes majority for PAS.
written by cahaya, January 16, 2009 11:31:24
Explain to voters that BN does not need another vote. The BN party is already the state government in Terengganu. The BN candidate is not worth voting for. He has not done anything to help Terengganu people.

But Pakatan Rakyat (PR) needs a stronger voice in Parliament. So voting for the PAS candidate, the most deserving and qualified candidate, would help to add one more person on PR side. Therefore, reject the bribes. Simply vote PAS candidate!
written by Badaksumbu, January 16, 2009 11:32:31
Its scary this BN cheat! why RM300 or RM 1,000 change these people mind-we have to have an institution, a school one day to train people what to do with their mind
written by wongnoball, January 16, 2009 11:37:01
Tear to size that FIT the BOX where you put "X", take Picture of it with "X" on BN, then PUT REAL "X" on PAS, then go out show vote and collect $1,000 ringgit. If you are the First then Cut as many blank paper in the same size of the Voting Box and distribute it freely! Bring Scissors! If these Perkerja Ganas Kejam Regim UMNO don't Give, create a STIR there and start advising everyone that the CAMERA Vote Proof to Get $1,000 is a Lie. TIPU UMNO! Don't Use ERASER as that will make the Vote Null and Void if the marks are seen on Both BN and PAS Ballot. Knowing Malaysia Cin CAI attitude, better use Blank A4 Paper! Vote Early and expect Traffic Jam. Video Cam all illegal Acts!
written by johntyc, January 16, 2009 11:42:01
Kuala Terengganu, Undilah PAS besok walau apa jua keadaan! Kami amat menghargai kerjasama anda.
written by cahaya, January 16, 2009 11:45:00
RPK was correct. Malaysians are smart but cannot count.
BN currently owes the Terengganu people more than RM 1,600,000,000 (1600 million) in oil royalties. Even if BN pays every voter RM1,000 to vote for BN, for 80,000 voters that would be 80 million only. Such a small amount compared to what is actually owed. All the many millions of RM could come back to Terengganu, if only the voters did not vote BN again. Voters should reject the bribes and simply vote PAS.

By the way, erasers will not work. The vote is spoilt if any other marks appear on the ballot paper. Forged ballot papers are a crime. If you are serious about getting rid of corrupt leaders, then you have to be honest and vote honestly.
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 16, 2009 11:47:39
Oh Oh! I think we have given away all the ways to fool UMNO!
Now UMNO will be wise to these tricks and think of some other ways to pay for votes.
written by ahmadneil, January 16, 2009 11:55:46
When you come out of the polling station,give the imitation slip to umno to get your money.
written by panca, January 16, 2009 11:58:16
While voters will vote for PAS to support Pakatan Rakyat/PAS, tomorrow is Big Day, we urge a ‘fair election’ be conducted by the BN led gomen election machinery. All voters must ensure they are out early and conduct themselves in orderly manner, be on the look out on trouble makers, threat or cheat and abuse of gomen power.

It’s a last call and PAS should do more and not let their guard down before the slippping in of phantom voters by unscrupulous, irresponsible elements - the cheaters and betrayers of the Rakyat and Country's true democracy.
written by Xpax, January 16, 2009 12:04:00
I have heard it before and it happen in Serdang during the March 08 election. The chinese they invite every body to go whack the food and leave before the speeches start to emberess the MCA guys. The chinese said this are our money they have whack, why cant we eat it.
written by ibabonma, January 16, 2009 12:14:39
Ini pilihanraya ke atau majlis sumbangan wang zakat untuk orang cacat atau orang-orang tua? Apa punya penipu kerajaan UMNO/BN yang Malaysia ada? Maruah semacam ini hanya terletak dicelah kankang Bengali tua sahaja. (Bukan Singh, please!)
written by ibabonma, January 16, 2009 12:19:30
Wakil calun: Make sure you sight the voters I/C and make sure the name written in the I/C tally with that in the electoral list. Don't trust the SPR agents!
written by exzonerator, January 16, 2009 12:26:57
The original CNY angpow is actually RM1,000. But along the way there are various taxes, royalties, commissions, service charges and misc. fees incurred. So there is only RM300 left to be given to the Chinese voters. Biasalah.....
written by fromamovingtrain, January 16, 2009 12:28:54
Netaddict, yor da man!
written by nanakassim, January 16, 2009 12:57:13
The rigging system described by RPK has been the practice of BN.
To reduce BN's success rate, PAS Polling Agents should observe the voter behind the booth and note any suspicious movement, such as putting hand into pockets or handbags.

Another system of abuse by BN is to pay voters for the temporary use of their IC which is then used by BN agents (in abundant supply, given the large presence of security personnel in KT which equals the number of voters who work outside KT) to vote.
Here again, PAS Polling Agents should observe the voter entering the room and mentally match the name, age and sex with the physical appearance of the voter.
written by panca, January 16, 2009 13:15:59
Vote PAS/Pakatan Rakyat for Malaysian Malaysia.
written by ylcc, January 16, 2009 13:27:11
Hi batsman, seems that cahaya has just sent you a few steps closer to the "ICU ward" .... wake up, my friend! We are all in Kuala Trengganu. You could help contribute to PAS' victory by using your "bat's eyes" to make sure that BN does not cheat. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by clarity, January 16, 2009 13:41:59
buying of votes, selling submarines for kickbacks, taking public's money in EPF to buy sgares, selling hospital meant for the poor, putting innocent people in ISA meant for terrorists, ete, etc. All this has got to stop!
written by carribeanking7, January 16, 2009 13:48:58
There will always be ways to rig votes, and ways to counter rigging, and yet ways to circumvent that, in the end its about personal integrity, voters must be wary that if BN can stoop so low to get their vote, what is stopping BN from backing out on its promises later, remember the huge mandate given to BN in 2004 ?
written by pinsysu, January 16, 2009 14:20:06
PAS : BN = 65% : 35%. final answer.
written by cahaya, January 16, 2009 15:02:39
RPK, I regret suggesting that voters should spoil their vote if they want to receive a bribe. I made the suggestion as the only logical solution to the puzzle. Expecting most readers to disagree with such a stupid suggestion, I am very shocked that a few dozen agreed with it.Very few have disagreed. Ooops! Even more shocking are the creative ideas for cheating. A few readers are even suggesting erasers to change votes in the voting booth. But any additional markings on a ballot paper will mean a spoilt vote.

Voters can only mark one cross on the ballot paper. Nothing else. Otherwise it becomes a spoilt vote. Every vote is precious in an election. Voters should not waste their one vote. After carefully deciding who to vote, voters should exercise their one vote properly by marking one cross on the ballot paper.

If voters seriously want to get rid of corrupt leaders in the Malaysian government, then voters have to be honest on the election day. They should not accept any bribes for voting. They must elect honest and competent candidates to Parliament. For Kuala Terengganu, the only honest and competent candidate is the PAS candidate. May the majority of voters vote for him (Abdul Wahid Endut) to Parliament! May God grant a large margin of victory to the PAS candidate, as a strong signal to BN that KT voters reject corruption.
written by Rozlan, January 16, 2009 16:25:08
60:40 .Insyallah
written by cahaya, January 16, 2009 16:37:23
written by batsman, January 16, 2009 10:22:58
UMNO dirty tricks are some of the most disgusting in the world. It includes getting help from Singapore's PAP.

MT Admin, please remove the second sentence in Batmans' comments. He has provided no evidence for such an unwarranted assumption and personal attack on Malaysia's close neighbour.
written by antiilluminati, January 16, 2009 17:37:29
Reward those who dare expose such vote rigging.
written by killer_eagle, January 16, 2009 17:52:42
Sorry guys, it's not 60-40 or 50-50. I can smell this time will confidently be landslide win for Pakatan team. cheers...
written by ylcc, January 16, 2009 18:10:19
cahaya, batsman does not like the PAP. Not too sure why, unless he got fined before in Singapore like the MCA guy or he is involved in Singapore politics!

I don't see the connection here between UMNO and the PAP too ... so just ignore him. In fact, the votes are a bit confusing ... I am not too sure whether readers agree to UMNO's dirty tricks whilst disagreeing to the "help from PAP". I may not like LKY, but I would not go as far as to say that the Singapore government uses dirty tricks - don't intend to get SUED!
written by Johnson, January 16, 2009 18:33:48
Its 60:60 with 20 extra you-know-who. smilies/angry.gif
written by ASK4u, January 16, 2009 19:58:14
Fear not. I cross checked my calculations again and again. Even the heavens are favoring a change. PAS will win.
written by Mik, January 16, 2009 21:13:15
I hope there will be more by election. Better one by-election every month. At least those Wakil Rakyat in those poor constituencies should resign one by one everymonth to allow by-election. Then those areas will get the benefit of what KT getting now. May be new roads overnight. New pledges for schools. SOme YB goin coming to their areas to launch "rumah untuk orang termiskin", millions pledged for development.. the locals getting 1000 richer or may be 300 richer. More spending money, i bet it will boost the local economy. Its a good way to boost our economy i think. so pls.. LET THERE BE BY ELECTIONS!!!! coz thats the only time BN will show that BN cares.
written by kclim2, January 16, 2009 21:42:07
As usual the UMNO monkeys knowing they will lose, will be up to their dirty tricks. We need to seek divine intervention. The good will triumph over the evils! The evils will go to hell!
written by mikewang, January 16, 2009 22:43:57
1000 ringgit is a strong temptation.
However, after getting the 1k, I believe many of them may just spoil the vote before they drop that marked ballot into the box.

So if we see a lot of spoilt ballots with a cross mark for BN, you know why lah.
written by arifabdull, January 16, 2009 22:54:49
"Barisan Nasional invites the Chinese to free diners. However, not only is the hall half empty, the Chinese whack the food and then leave before the speeches start. By the time the speeches start most people have gone home."

I was wondering why got 'drum rolling' in between Najis speech... No wonder la, nobody claps hands...

Watch the video >> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...r_embedded
written by BUTEK, January 16, 2009 23:06:29
PAKATAN RAKYAT MESTI BERSEDIA SAMAN SPR DAN JPN SERTA POLIS BERJUTA2 RINGGIT SEKIRANYA ADA KES MELIBATKAN UNDI YG TELAH DIPANGKAH OLEH ORANG2 TERTENTU YG DATANG MENGUNDI MENGGUNAKAN KAD PENGENALAN PALSU SEBELUM PENGUNDI SEBENAR MENGUNDI..... INI JELAS MENAFIKAN HAK PENGUNDI DAN BUKTI WUJUDNYA PENIPUAN TERANCANG OLEH JPN,SPR DAN POLIS......

JANGAN SESEKALI BIARKAN ANJING2 UMNO INI TERLEPAS DARI HUKUMAN.....
written by BUTEK, January 16, 2009 23:09:50
DAN INGATLAH WAHAI RAKYAT MALAYSIA...

1 HARI CALON UMNO JADI PENGEMIS UNDI, 5 TAHUN RAKYAT JADI HAMBA......
written by Wakeupmsia, January 17, 2009 00:12:45
Please folks, the KT people is inteligent enought to know who to vote for;

1. PAS(Pakatan Raykat) - Fairness and justice

2. BeeEnd - Corruption, Racial DisIntegration, National DISUnity, etc.

Dear KT voters, we need you sensible VOTE for moral and justice for our society and Country. Yes, You can, KT voters!!!!!!!!!
written by Fuminari, January 17, 2009 00:14:20
KTgites,the rm300 is ur money anyway!take it but vote Pas,PR.
lets vote for the change,a change we all definitely can afford!a change to keep the change momentum going strong!a change for the betterment of tommorrow,for us n our children,for our grand-children n for our nation!a change to stop the umno thieves n bandits from continually robbing,stealing n sodomising the rakyat!!
written by No nonsense, January 17, 2009 00:28:53
In Permatang Pauh it is Bye election for BN. In KT it is Bye BYe election for them . Agree?
written by miwaki, January 18, 2009 02:05:12
Folk,
I do not have to potong my kukuchiau as PAS won ! I will feed my ducks with something else.
written by gogsard, January 18, 2009 20:51:55
RPK .. I love ur crystal ball !