Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Azilah says Najib's ADC instructed him to help Razak Baginda

Azilah says Najib's ADC instructed him to help Razak Baginda PDF Print
Friday, 16 January 2009 01:51

By Shannon Teoh, The Malaysian Insider

More than two years after the gruesome discovery of what remained of Altantuya Shaariibuu’s body in a forest just outside Kuala Lumpur, the High Court here finally began hearing testimony from one of the two police officers charged with the Mongolian’s murder in what has been one of the most politically charged trials ever in Malaysia.

Tantalising details emerged about how the two accused policemen got involved in the case on the instruction of Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s aide-de-camp Musa Safri, including the emergence of a new character, identified as a “Chinese man,” in the saga which has gripped the nation.

The High Court also heard testimony regarding how a “Chinese woman,” presumed to be the deceased, and an unidentified and mysterious “Chinese man” were allegedly blackmailing Abdul Razak Baginda, a close associate of the DPM who was originally also charged for abetment in the murder.

These details emerged when Chief Inspector Azilah Hadri, one of the two men charged for Altantuya’s murder, took the stand this morning.

In his testimony, Azilah appeared to deny any involvement in the murder as he was not at the scene of the crime at the alleged time of the murder.

The other accused is Corporal Sirul Azhar Umar.

Azilah told the High Court that Musa had contacted him on Oct 17 2006.

The two met the next day where Musa asked him if he knew anyone in the Brickfields police station who could help Abdul Razak.

The Special Action Unit (UTK) officer replied that he knew one Deputy Superintendent Idris Karim who was the CID chief in the district.

Musa told him that Abdul Razak was being blackmailed and instructed him to meet Abdul Razak and introduce him to DSP Idris, according to Azilah’s testimony.

After contacting him through a phone number given to him by Musa, Azilah and Abdul Razak met the next day in the latter’s office.

During the meeting, Azilah testified, Abdul Razak told him that he was being blackmailed by a Chinese man and a Chinese woman.

Azilah said he was not told why Abdul Razak was being blackmailed and neither was he told the amount being demanded.

But Abdul Razak let Azilah listen to a voice message, allegedly from the “Chinese man.” In the message, the “Chinese man” said in Malay that “kasi pecah you punya muka,” which can be loosely translated as “I will smash your face.”

Azilah also testified that he heard another voice message in which a woman speaks in English, but he could not make out what she was saying.

Abdul Razak also told him that a “Chinese woman,” whom he identified as “Aminah” was “causing disturbances” in front of his Bukit Damansara home.

Azilah said he advised Abdul Razak to lodge a police report but the latter refused.

Abdul Razak then told him to advise the “Chinese man,” presumably against continuing with the blackmail.

Azilah was also told by Abdul Razak that the latter had hired a private investigator.

Azilah said he was given a piece of paper by Abdul Razak in which was written the address of Hotel Malaya in Kuala Lumpur and the room number 823.

However, Abduk Razak told him to go to room 512 and “advise Aminah.” The two men then concluded their meeting, Azilah said.

Azilah proceeded to call Sirul and the two arranged to meet in Central market, which is a stone’s throw from Hotel Malaya.

The two policemen then entered the hotel and went straight to 512. At this point, Azilah said he was confused with the different room numbers, and decided to leave the hotel without doing anything.

“I was afraid I might have the wrong room and be disrupting privacy,” he said.

After that, he said that he contacted DSP Idris to ask for help in arranging a patrol car to go to Abdul Razak’s house.

Idris agreed to help.

The next day, Oct 19, the night of the alleged murder, Azilah was contacted by ASP Azani Omar, and was told that he had been assigned to replace the latter as chief escort to Najib beginning the next day.

Azilah explained that this meant he would have to be on standby in Putrajaya that night.

Later, Abdul Razak contacted him to inform him that the “Chinese woman” was in front of his house with his private investigator.

Abdul Razak asked Azilah to go there to “advise” her.

Together with his then girlfriend Lance Corporal Rohaniza Roslan, he drove to Abdul Razak’s house.

He had also contacted Sirul who said he would meet him there.

At the scene, Azilah said he saw an Indian man and a Chinese woman standing next to a car.

After exchanging brief introductions with the Indian man, Azilah said he walked back to his car.

He then contacted Abdul Razak again, and the latter told him to send the woman back to the hotel.

By this time Sirul had also arrived at the scene.

As Azilah walked back towards the Indian man and the “Chinese woman,” they walked towards the policeman’s car. The woman voluntarily got into the vehicle, he testified.

“Nobody gave any orders,” Azilah replied when asked by his counsel Datuk Hazman Ahmad, if anyone had ordered her to get into the car.

He then drove off in the car with Rohaniza, Sirul and the “Chinese woman,” presumed to be Altantuya.

Sirul then asked to be dropped off at his jeep before the two vehicles convoyed towards Bukit Aman.

However, Rohaniza said that they could not drop the Chinese woman at her hotel as she needed to meet a friend in Petaling Jaya.

Azilah then called Sirul to ask if he could send the woman back and he agreed. They stopped the cars and moved the woman to Sirul’s jeep.

This was the last time Azilah mentioned the Chinese woman in his testimony.

After reaching Bukit Aman, Azilah then went to Wangsa Maju with his fiancee, Norazila Baharudin, to have char kuey teow.

It was 10.30pm at this point and Azilah claims that they spent 45 minutes eating.

By the time Azilah had returned to Bukit Aman, it was 12.20am.

He said that he then left with Rohaniza to Putrajaya to take up his assignment as Najib’s chief escort.

He added that when he arrived at the UTK transit house in Putrajaya, he saw another personnel in the living room and identified him as Che Kamarizaman.

The hearing resumes tomorrow with the cross-examination of Azilah by the prosecution.

written by Oscar Winner, January 16, 2009 02:04:47
Another whodunit blockbuster, brought to you by UMNOwood of Bolehland, coming to a theatre near you....
written by Rashid, January 16, 2009 02:15:14
Her brutal killers will regret one day and in the Hereafter, their abode is the FIRE.
written by Fuminari, January 16, 2009 03:21:40
najis,do answer to the entire nation.what do u mean by the message,"all is not lost"?lets assume that u are trying to do something for a close pal,then as a DPM or so called PM to be,can u do it in the first place?if u say it is ok,then,can malaysian bestow our hope,our future generation to u?
written by orangair, January 16, 2009 03:21:51
a Clear and loathful abuse of policemen to clean up VIP's shits. What a waste of time and resources of the rakyat. While more important police work like catching robbers/rapists/murderers etc are being made less important. May you all rot in hell. BN should be kicked out of parliment. Let more honest people run the government...BN..be end...
written by pixieface, January 16, 2009 04:03:14
Wow. What a shocker! This testimony should be pasted on every lamp post and signboard for all voters in KT to know. najis is having nightmares now. Can the MT team alert this latest testimony to the folks in KT. There is only one more day left to campaign. The ameno dingos are sure going to play more dirty scumbag tricks, this i bet my bottom dollar.
written by smalluncle, January 16, 2009 05:33:40
Now that the 2 UTK are being charged. I wonder if they still have their face covered during the court proceeding?
Anyone have any clue on this?
written by DreamLady, January 16, 2009 05:55:38
Soon the verdict would be announced: Attantuya blew herself up with government highly classifed weaponery- C4! Azilah and Zirul are found not guilty!!!
The law of Malaysia is the law meted out by UMNO regime!!!!
written by Msian Idol3, January 16, 2009 07:11:02
The poor murdered mongolian mother is going to make all these crooks pay big time with hell as final destination.
written by myvoice, January 16, 2009 08:08:24
No lah, court overrulled, so called Aminah commited suicide, blow herself up. So, everyone is free...this is what we Malaysia Boleh.
written by whiteheart, January 16, 2009 08:13:07
It chilled me to the spine how easy it is for the police to murder someone and get away with it. Imagine you were stopped by a police while walking home from work. He asked you to enter his patrol car. If you refused, they can arrest you for obstructing justice. You comply and enter the car. They bring you to a secluded place. Ask you to take of you clothes and then rape you. You threaten to sue them and bring this to the press. They get agitated and shoot you with their guns and blow up your body to pieces. Next day, your family member make a missing person report and the same murderers are the one taking your statement to investigate the matter. What irony!
written by Counterpointer, January 16, 2009 08:31:01
Finally the fourth person involved is revealed The AG must be put to the stand to explain why he said only three people were involved. The NAJIS is slowly uncovering. How can they seriously think they can hide the NAJIS from the public when it stinks to high heaven?
written by Tompios, January 16, 2009 08:39:45
oh come on. be a true moslem not a true liar. your soul will be forgiven in hell of fire for one second. don't you afraid cleansing process for million of years in hell? come on Azilah. tak payah cari helah.

whatever it is, the Kublai Khan's spirit will never stop to hunt you and those who are ordering to kill Altantuya.
written by Tompios, January 16, 2009 08:44:20
Najib's ADC? smilies/grin.gif this big name appear again and again. oh, so sweet! Why Mr. Najib seems very interested with this case? What is the relation of Najib and Baginda? Oh, forget both of them have the "Razaks" name mean Raja Zakar!!
written by ahmadneil, January 16, 2009 09:18:01
You know,with the chief operator of the evidence manufacturing machine been released ,they are churning out lies every minute so suit their taste.
written by ahmadneil, January 16, 2009 09:21:01
The next thing they will say is 'that chinese man' who try to blackmail Razak Baginda,shot Aminah becos he was not paid by Aminah and also to stop the trail.
written by devious17, January 16, 2009 09:53:21
I can see the cat is in the bag! It's a matter of time when the cat is going to jump out of the bag!
written by OVERLORD, January 16, 2009 10:02:32
I am not surprised by the police involvement as i have experience first hand the abuse of coppers. The chilling part is that they are NOT only the running dogs of politicians but for organized crime gangs as well....i have seen with my own eyes how coppers perform biddings of crime bosses.Trust me...cops always goes to the highest bidders....the lines are blurred when certain politicans has mutual relationships with organized crime members...
written by cheekhiaw, January 16, 2009 10:16:56
Sure, we even know who that mysterious Chinaman and woman are. His name is Gua Nah Jib. Her name is Gua Los Mah.
written by pinsysu, January 16, 2009 11:45:09
amigos, looks like ninja turtles are involved! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by malgal, January 16, 2009 12:54:54
How come being a friend of a minister can get special police favours like using personnel to shoo off insistent girlfriends?
How come their faces are covered? Is that normal court procedure for every suspect brought before our judges?
How could a prominent person like Baginda not know nor care about a murder of a foreigner much more when she was his ex girlfriend?
written by mypanida, January 16, 2009 13:15:27
Azilah said it was Sirul Azhar.

Now, now.....Sirul, you too should start singing like a canary.You are expendable.
written by 1351, January 16, 2009 13:31:17
It is not difficult to ascertain the truth in Azilah's testimony and more than likely, he has perjured himself. His movement from the time he and Sirul(plus girl cop) picked up Altantuya can be tracked through his mobile regardless of in/out calls as long as phone is switched on. Azilah throwing name's and giving precise time of his movement can easily be shot down - likewise the truth in Sirul's up coming testimony.

It is reported Razak Baginda gave instructions to "send her back to the hotel" but this discrepancy(most vital) plays one story against the other because in the intermittent hours in between - Altantuya was forcibly taken(mind you she speaks no Malay and our UTK's finest via PDRM, don't speaka da English) and proven to have been blown up.

The tale can go in any direction but I'm certain there are 'orders' to keep their story that points into any direction towards Razak Baginda and the other Razak. SD's from Bala states that the other Razak also got 'rasa' but claims no knowledge or association with the deceased. Raja Petra's SD they can't touch(AG,DPP and PDRM) because all Raja Petra has to do is claim heresay from Bala or others and all Bala has to say is Altantuya "told me so" - that's why Bala was so important that he had to go missing.

This case can only get hotter unless these two UTK hired guns take the downfall and trot to the gallows. Mind you - AG,DPP and PDRM are not bothered about claims made by these hired guns that they have disposed of people previously ! Protocol about carrying of arms while off duty and other discrepancies in the armoury have also not been looked into and all the while 'anjing' Musa Hasan lords over an UMNO police force.

All I can hope - Karpal is not stifled in his attempt to gain justice for Altantuya and may the stars above watch kindly over M'sia. Regards all while we switch focus to Kuala Tregganu in these few remaining hours. MAMPUS UMNO.

written by Bandit, January 16, 2009 13:33:21
Waiting for Posters coming up for Najib. "Our PM in waiting a Murder Suspect, protected by the so called legal process of Bolehland". Must paste this all over the country like the Ah Longs... smilies/grin.gif. I wonder how this chap sleeps at night.
written by ROBERTNGTG, January 16, 2009 14:11:26
Azilah says Najib's ADC instructed him to help Razak Baginda

AND WHO DID THE ADC GOT THE INSTRUCTIONS FROM TO DO SO??? I REST MY CASE.
written by fireduck, January 16, 2009 14:18:59
Azilah explained that this meant he would have to be on standby in Putrajaya that night.

Later, .......

Together with his then girlfriend Lance Corporal Rohaniza Roslan, he drove to Abdul Razak’s house.

After reaching Bukit Aman, Azilah then went to Wangsa Maju with his fiancee, Norazila Baharudin, to have char kuey teow.
It was 10.30pm at this point and Azilah claims that they spent 45 minutes eating.

Anyone caught this part? I just couldn't resist since it add spice to the case. Hmmm...! And it looks like everyone will eventually stuff the dead cat up Sirul's mouth. I hope this Sirul guy fights back and pull along those who were really responsible.
written by carribeanking7, January 16, 2009 16:28:13
Robert BG plainly and simply puts in perspective what most reasonable persons will ask, the element of motive.

I have further doubts....as to Azilahs testimony
Azilah also testified that, Abdul Razak also told him that a “Chinese woman,” whom he identified as “Aminah” was “causing disturbances” in front of his Bukit Damansara home.
Now this really puzzles me , granted many can mistake a Mongolian for Chinese, but why must Abdul Razak Baginda refer to her as "Chinese" to Azilah, he had an affair with her surely he knows that she is Mongolian, unless Azilah is playing out a script to cover up for those in Power.
Another thing is ARB is a self confessed adulterer, why isnt jabatan Agama Islam knocking on his door, or were they also told by "orang atasan" to back off ?