Assessing Chinese Malaysian support PDF Print
Thursday, 15 January 2009 01:10

In the meantime, both the BN and Pakatan Rakyat are bringing home some 2,500 Chinese Malaysian voters currently working outside Terengganu to return to cast their ballot in the by-election.

The Nut Graph

The street in Kampung Cina here appears relatively calm despite daytime activities and the intensified campaign for the 17 Jan Kuala Terengganu parliamentary by-election.

"Actually, it is boiling here," a coffeeshop owner, who wanted to be known only as Chua, said, referring to the close battle for the 8,229 Chinese votes in the constituency.

The campaign is now getting into full gear with Barisan Nasional (BN) and Pakatan Rakyat grappling to read the sentiment among Chinese Malaysian voters.

Analysts believe it is these voters who will determine the by-election winner, in the same way that they propelled the BN to victories here in the last two general elections.

PAS, which has fielded five-term Wakaf Mempelam assemblyperson Abdul Wahid Endut, is letting the DAP and Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) steer the campaign in the Chinese areas.

The BN, represented by former Deputy Home Minister Datuk Wan Farid Wan Salleh from Umno, has MCA and Gerakan to do the job.

"We have been entrusted with the task to deliver the votes in these areas," Terengganu Gerakan chairperson Yap Kea Ping said.

Both sides have had their national leaders going on house-to-house campaigning. They shake hands with voters and distribute mandarin oranges and Chinese New Year cards, as well as hold nightly ceramah.

written by varvoom, January 15, 2009 01:45:03
Pressed as much flesh you want MCA, Gerakan and all the cronies of Umno, the Chinese of KT ain’t fools, they will take their own money back and put their X on PAS.
written by Oscar Winner, January 15, 2009 02:02:44
Dear KT Chinese voters,

They had once said they could win without the support of non-Malays. They also said you are "pendatangs". Do remember what they had said. Enjoy your ride back to KT. No red carpet though, but the big Moon will welcome you back. In return, pls cast your vote for PAS...for the sake of your progeny....
written by asiaone, January 15, 2009 02:04:10
whatever umno,mca,mic,gerakan is harping about in the hudud issue in irelevant.Harping on the disagreement and the uneasiness between PR leaders is irelevant. If you chinese and malay buggers are still choosing who to vote..let me get it straight. The supreme council in UMNO agreed that there is money politics and corruption WITHIN UMNO itself (quote by tengku Rittttaudeen). mahathir also agreed the there are money politics internally in UMNO during his time but its minimal. So, the question is who should you choose? A leader who is FROM a corrupt party or a clean leader? If you still can't choose than I'm too sorry for you guys.Hope it sounds that clear and simple.Even MB Ahmedi Said has shown his true rainbow colours.. first I tot he was better than Idris 'natang' but then now , i realised he is from the same pack. Between the gap in his teeth you can see his colours!
written by AntiBN, January 15, 2009 02:11:44
ONe thing I know for sure is that the Chinese Malaysians have had enough of BN charades. BN can lie once, maybe twice, but not trice. Like the saying goes, "Once bitten twice shy."
Lets bury them once and for all for the betterment of all Malaysians.
KT voters, please vote PAS.
written by SocratesI, January 15, 2009 02:14:25
The MCA members are going to vote for PAS !! Nothing strange as UMNO members have voted for Opposition parties before especially in the March 8th GE ! These Chinese are in MCA as members so as not to lose out on any crumbs Barisan Najis may throw to them, but they know for long term survival, the Opposition is the best bet!Take Penang for e.g. In many past GEs, the Opposition will get the Parliamentary seats, while the Barisan Najis/ Gerakan will get the State seats. Why is that ?? So that Barisan Najis has no excuse not to develop Penang, while the Opposition members in Parliament will ensure a better balance when it comes to policy making and upholding the Constitution.This KT seat is a Parliamentary seat ! Therefore, the Chinese are going to vote in PAS, so that Pakatan Rakyat can better pressure the Govt. at the Parliamentary level !Vote for Wahid Endut of PAS/ Pakatan Rakyat
written by Highway16, January 15, 2009 04:35:25
KT Chinese, always, always remember what BN has done and will do to you. They WILL call you PENDATANGS! They love to bathe their KERIS with Chines blood, especially Najib!
Show them you ARE NOT STUPID vote PAS.
Take the free ride home to KT, take the money, oranges and what not cause YOU have already paid for them!
written by ahmadneil, January 15, 2009 09:18:38
Only crooks and liars will help their corrupted master.umno is on the final furlong to it's grave!
written by Democrats, January 15, 2009 10:40:27
If Malaysia could duplicate 20 RPKs, PR will win hands down through his enlightening arguments and inspiring writings and speaches.
If his writings can reach out to the masses, i beleive more will beleive in the changes that can take place through people power.

Also, if educational level can improve, the more courage the rakyat will have to read between the lines and see UMNO's hypocracy and arrogance.

Speeches like Ahmad Said "If we lose, we know you rejected us, we will divert funds to other place" should be booed by the public and shoes should fly in. IF people rejects you, then what right do you have to channel money that is not yours in the first place? WHo died and made him god to threathen people?
written by exzonerator, January 15, 2009 13:12:53
The issue at heart for the community irregardless of ethnicity is corruption of the ruling elite, their above the law mentality and their arrogance in their behaviour of showing disregard to the well-being of the population.
written by carribeanking7, January 15, 2009 13:40:54
This reminds me of the last few days in the Permatang Pauh by election, after they knew BN had lost the non -malay support, Ahmad Ismail tried to rally the Malay constituents by taking cheap shots at the chinese, It seems that UMNO is slowly switching from trying to woo the chinese to trying to rally the malay crowd, but for the Malays the issue is still transparency over the Oil Royalty.
They are also peeved at the infighting between Ahmad saids and Idris Jusohs supporters, and their respective whisper campaigns
In fact its worse than P.Pauh, where Ahmad Ismail made his speech to a largely malay crowd, in KT Ahmad said made threats to a chinese crowd already upset with the closing down of a DAP operations centre.

In the end it is my belief they will lose the support of both Malays and Chinese like the proverbial Malay saying "Yang dikejar tak dapat, yang dikendung keciciran."
written by miwaki, January 15, 2009 16:17:58
KT chinese,vote BN to confirm you are "pendatang",vote PAS to tell UMNO/BN that all of you are malaysians.If you people still have daubt,think of orang kuat UMNO Pulau Pinang Ahmad Ismail ( originate from India ) He is going to give you a clue who to vote.
written by Futurist, January 15, 2009 17:27:30
KT folks, Give P36 to PR and send BN to the deep. That's all.
written by savemalaysia, January 15, 2009 18:23:46
MCA and Gerakan, don't waste your time fishing for Chinese votes for the Chinese have had enough of BN's bullshit. You guys are better off flying kites in the beach since there are an endless stream of strong winds in KT now.