Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Zaid Ibrahim makes his appearance

Zaid Ibrahim makes his appearance PDF Print
Thursday, 15 January 2009 00:16

The Blogging team

The Mamas........

.......and the ceramah at the Ocean Restaurant on Wednesday, 14 January 2009

Comments (41)Add Comment
written by kent chong, January 15, 2009 00:39:22
Thank you and good job for our dear blogger team. you guys are thruly malaysian...
Vote PR-DAP/PAS and KEADIALAN.
agree 381
written by othman hitam, January 15, 2009 00:49:11
While everyone who rejects umno & b end turns up in full force to support the PAS candidate, Karpal is still harping on the hudud issue. Come on Karpal, let's win KT first...then we sit down and settle this issue
agree 378
written by locomotive, January 15, 2009 00:51:21
if BN lost in this election, i bet they're still going to be, corrupted, stupid, racist, penipu,
agree 200
written by Oscar Winner, January 15, 2009 00:55:19
For continued prosperity of this land,
UMNO’s reign must come to an end,
Not just a change in its helmsman,
But complete destruction of BN......
agree 152
written by Richy, January 15, 2009 01:27:55
It's good that Zaid has joined the Barisan Rakyat in opposing corruption in the country.
Kudos to all bloggers especially RPK
agree 176
written by mucking fuddled, January 15, 2009 01:31:41
othman hitam,
i totally agree with you with regards to karpal, i think he got his priorities screwed up big time, he is gonna scare off quite a number of chinese voters, its not helping
disagree 19
agree 133
written by varvoom, January 15, 2009 01:35:39
My prediction is we are going to have 2 Ibrahim as Prime Minister of Malaysia consecutively if only Said Ibrahim throw in his gauntlet with Pakatan Rakyat.

written by Hello Keithy, January 15, 2009 01:54:42
These photos are enough to make BN/UMNO's pants wet. When the going gets tough, they'll play rough and money politics take precedence. Signs of desperation. And Najib will talk more c*ck and bull.
written by Rashid, January 15, 2009 02:11:55
Othman Hitam,

A Chinese MP told me today that the issue of Karpal is about power struggle within DAP than Hudud. The MP said DAP has always rejected Hudud but realises the need to engage the Malay people and improve it is image while keeping into its principles. However, he said Karpal feels sidelined on most issues as Lim Kit Siang and his son give the ultimate direction. Furthermore the MP said both Anwar and Hadi rarely contact Karpal though he is the Chairman of the party and prefer Lim Kit Siang and his son and this is making the old man boil in anger. Otherwise neither Lim Kit Siang nor his son nor Teresa has campaigned for Hudud or accepted it. So, ignore this attention seeking fellow. I respect him but the power struggle within DAP shouldn't be a weapon to disadvantage Pakatan at this crucial time like Karpal is doing. I congratulate YB Lim and his son for their maturity and well thought plans. Keep it up. It is all about civility.
disagree 16
agree 145
written by TruthSayer, January 15, 2009 05:46:56
Wonderful news. However, much of the coverage has only been focused on the chinese.
Show us a little more of what is happening in the bumi controlled areas!
written by JUST, January 15, 2009 06:41:07
Syabas YB! Up-hold your principles!
Non-collaboration with evil is a sacred duty!
It may be long before the law of love will be recognized in this beautiful country. The machinery of evil administration stands in-between and hides the loving hearts of this Nation!
written by talk2stop, January 15, 2009 07:04:54
I dunno it is uncomfortable to see Zaid and RPK sitting in a Chinese filled restaurant. Well you don't see that everyday in Malaysia. But this guy Zaid he is like a PM in making. He is sort of person will move mountain. He may be the person that will bring Malaysia out of the stone age in time to come. To do that he must have RPK support and upset few more people.
written by myvoice, January 15, 2009 07:59:56
MT Team, you have made our lifes much colourful, our daily vitamin! Bravo and thank you so much for all the hard work and timeless efford. Love you all!
written by ASK4u, January 15, 2009 08:20:16
Some comments above were not so kind on Karpal. TV3 aired the comments yesterday (14/01/09) but did anyone care to check when was it made by Karpal. I thought it was a week back or something like that. Ameno MSM is just spinning the issue to its advantage. Karpal has been very consistent in his stand on the hudud issue and wanted to sent a strong message to his coalition. Maybe it was untimely but was Husam's remark on Hudud timely? It wasn't either. So was Khalid's remark on UiTM during PP election and recently Lim Guan Eng's remark on withdrawing state funded financial aid for Chinese New Year celebration this year which I think may cause fear in the Chinese voters. Even this issue is being exploited by BN. Not only this, I thought Guan Eng did make some other 'politically incorrect' statement and moves during crucial times (PP and now KT by-election). They themselves have blundered, why blame only Karpal. Give the old man a break laa. Maybe he was directed by Kit Siang to remind PAS. Politics is a complicated and messy business.
written by Dominic, January 15, 2009 08:21:41
Those pictures speak a million words ! Great job and hope more on the way . If only former premier TDM can declare his support to PRK at this time,that would be wonderful and decisive. Afterall,he dont seems to get along with UMNO leaders well so might as well come on board and join the fray !
written by Birdbrain, January 15, 2009 08:30:15
Tok Guru and Kit Siang, looking so serene! That's because they're anticipating the demise of the ever so evil party called Armno!
I bet they will christened the boat which will send the ashes of Armno to South China Sea.
written by ahmadneil, January 15, 2009 09:03:09
I have no words but praise.Great job well done!All this photos will make umno tremble.Vote PAS!
written by pinsysu, January 15, 2009 09:07:40
holy mackerel! these pics will launch another few thousand votes for PR! u can't help but notice da sincerity, humility, enthusiasm & joy oozing out from their hearts & faces! i can even feel da ve energy coming thru my PC screen! smilies/grin.gif
written by pixieface, January 15, 2009 09:30:16
Saw tv3 last nite. The clipping of karpal singh is definitely an old one. The lion king is the lion king and one of the best legal brains in malaysia. ammeno, thw rakyat is not stupid like you desperados. Go ahead play dirty some more and the rakyat will show you who's boss. Remember politicians are only in power because they are elected by the rakyat.

Kudos to MT team in KT. Power on. Dear RPK, be careful of your safety. I bet ammeno is shitting in their pants and grasping at straws now that the hnourable datuk zaid ibrahim has joined the fray. Like I said before, datuk zaid is a diamond in the making. I defintely want him to be the PM of malaysia in the future. I will definitely pray for that every day.
written by adan, January 15, 2009 09:35:19
Come on Karpal. We are all well aware of your strong stand on hudud and we respect you for that. But as as seasoned politician , you must be aware of the sinister motive for the UNUSUAL INTEREST shown by the MSM FOR YOUR VIEWS ON HUDUD . Do not allow yourself to be conned into making statements that can be manipulated by agents of BN to sabotage the chances of PR IN KT ELECTION... a crucial election with far reaching and long lasting consequences FOR ALL .!1
written by OVERLORD, January 15, 2009 09:49:14
Heart warming stuff to see pics of LKS with Tok Guru....we have come a long way....
written by Ben, January 15, 2009 10:34:13
Splendid show of solidarity! Proof of msm slander and attempts to break the one eye moon rocket unity. So all anak Bangsa Malaysia pull up your socks cos the fight is does not belong to just RPK, Haris, Zaid and others but all of us. May God continue to heal our nation and bless Malaysia. Let the change come sooner than later
written by mypanida, January 15, 2009 11:15:36
A picture tells a thousand words. and these pictures told us that we are going on a journey of our lives. Fasten your seatbelts, please....
Thanks to all the bloggers out there doing your bits for the betterment of our country.Cheers.
written by Counterpointer, January 15, 2009 11:16:58
“If there are any issues, we (DAP, PKR and PAS) have agreed to discuss it first. Before any policies, such as hudud, can be implemented, all three parties have to agree to it.

“Even if one party doesn’t agree to it, the policy will not be carried out. This is one of the principles of the coalition. The question of hudud does not arise in this by-election anyway,” - Lim Guan Eng

Does anyone think MCA can say the same thing ? Even if MCA opposes ISA, it will still be BN's policy to continue with it.

With that great LGE's statement and words of support from Zaid, and the fact that the best and most progressive political brains are either with Pakatan Rakyat or supporting it, there is really only one thought in the Chinese KT voters:

And that is:

written by EUGTAN, January 15, 2009 11:24:30
The Asia Sentinel reprts that the PM in waiting conducted a lucky draw of 583 contracts to businessman. So prequalification, no bidding..just a lucky draw. Damn the consequences if a bridge caollapses. And this from the Finance Minister! This is a totally irrepsonisble use of taxpayers' money and an utterly corrupt act in the open. Nobody can expect the "anti" corrupiton agency to look into it. Nobody can expect any internal criticism from the BN parties since they are without honour. But why isn't the oppostion doing so?
written by magickriver, January 15, 2009 11:59:28
Othman Hitam said: While everyone who rejects umno & b end turns up in full force to support the PAS candidate, Karpal is still harping on the hudud issue. Come on Karpal, let's win KT first...then we sit down and settle this issue.

Right you are, Othman. Karpal is a fine upstanding spiritual warrior from a noble Khalsa tradition and we must forgive him if he's a bit old school. He still can't BELIEVE Pakatan Rakyat will form the government anytime soon, that's why he continues to vent his frustrations on Zaki Azmi & hudud-wudud.

Kit Siang has adapted faster to the changing situation and is visibly happier these days, whereas Karpal still looks like an angry lion!
written by ibabonma, January 15, 2009 12:49:55
Karpal, jangan jadi macam Mahathir, .....senile or nyanyuk.
written by cheekhiaw, January 15, 2009 13:00:28
People, Leave Karpal alone. He is sharper and more righteous than some of you think. Between him and LKS they are making a point.While one shows the willingness to ride with the mules, the other is holding the fort against the stealing asses and making it clear that they are really looking for a horse.
written by DontPlayGod, January 15, 2009 13:53:58
Dominic wrote:

"If only former premier TDM can declare his support to PRK at this time,that would be wonderful and decisive......"

TDM has been and will always be an UMNO racist man, after all he was their President and PM for 22 years. And moreover, racial polarisation and racism reached their peak during his rule. BTN ran wild during his time. Don't ever forget that.
written by TheMessenger, January 15, 2009 13:57:52
Hey..
Did anybody saw Mr stupid ass binarytan lately?
wonder where he go.. to KT perhaps, campaigning for his UMNO master

smilies/wink.gif
written by AuntyG, January 15, 2009 17:27:02
Breaking news - Altantuya also makes her appearance at KT!!!
Please read todays news on the trial of the 2 mata-mata today - one of them said he took instructions from DPM's ADC to help RazakBaginda. Please tell the folks of KT at the ceramahs tonite ...
written by ksmaniam, January 15, 2009 17:56:36
Here we go again.
That statement was definitely from some time ago. The media is repeating it as they have nothing else, and of all the people, We the MT rakyaat are falling for this old trick hook line and sinker. Please lah, can't you guys see through this simple trick played by them on us. This simple magic trick of using old statements we can fall for means, habis lah. UMNO and gang will be able to rule us forever. Guys and gals be more skeptical of what you read from the media. Look between the lines. If it is something bad written or said of PR please give them the benefit of doubt. Think again and check before coming to your conclusion.
Yes my 3 cents worth.
written by MalaysianFirst, January 15, 2009 19:42:09
Tok Guru, Lim Kit Siang, Lim Guan Eng, Zaid Ibrahim
ALL FACES OF ANTI-CORRUPTION, ANTI-RACISM, ANTI-DISCRIMINATION.

What a beautiful sight. I remember at a ceramah many years ago, Tan Sri Lee Lam Thye then was still a member of DAP, said, "In the United States, there is HOPE because they had Bob Hope. We in Malaysia has no HOPE.

Today, Malaysia has HOPE.
written by malgal, January 15, 2009 19:59:33
a sight for sore eyes - what a true malaysia from the pictures. what a stark difference from the ones that demands for exclusive rights for ketuanan melayu.
rodikins, its good to see you - God bless and see you mid february. Keep the fire burning.
written by onnetline, January 15, 2009 22:58:40
BN and it's warlords must be made totally irrelevant ! Vote for Pakatan/PAS !!!!!!
written by darkchocolate1, January 17, 2009 09:43:49
One sure way of knowing that Pakatan Rakyat actually has a real chance of forming the government is that Zaid Ibrahim is hanging out with them. I doubt Zaid would have been caught dead with them before March 8th 2008 smilies/smiley.gif.

About this hudud issue, is it not just another set of laws...what difference is it to English laws? What is wrong with a Muslim being governed by Islamic laws? Or shall we take it further and say what is wrong with a Muslim majority country being run by Islamic laws if that is what the majority chooses? I am sure Karpal has no issues about being governed by English laws which are in essence a reflection of Judeao-Christian values. Is he a Christian? Or professes Judaism? Or just a brown Englishman? The issue is not about the technicalities of the Federal Constitution, but whether the resistance to Islamic law based on prejudice?

If the majority chooses to have Islamic laws as the law of the land, should the minority have the right to prevent the will majority? Is this democracy? Or dictatorship by a minority? Sounds like BN to me
written by darkchocolate1, January 17, 2009 09:48:10
One sure way of knowing that Pakatan Rakyat actually has a real chance of forming the government is that Zaid Ibrahim is hanging out with them. I doubt Zaid would have been caught dead with them before March 8th 2008 smilies/smiley.gif. So beware of fair weather friends.

About this hudud issue, is it not just another set of laws...what difference is it to English laws? What is wrong with a Muslim being governed by Islamic laws? Or shall we take it further and say what is wrong with a Muslim majority country being run by Islamic laws if that is what the majority chooses? I am sure Karpal has no issues about being governed by English laws which are in essence a reflection of Judeao-Christian values. Is he a Christian? Or professes Judaism? Or just a brown Englishman? The issue is not about the technicalities of the Federal Constitution, but whether the resistance to Islamic law is based on prejudice.

If the majority chooses to have Islamic laws as the law of the land, should the minority have the right to prevent the will of the majority? Is this democracy? Or dictatorship by a minority? Sounds like BN to me

PS - Sorry my previous post was rife with typos. Hence the repost
written by khloo, January 17, 2009 22:23:42
We need a good alternative to BN, when there is no balance of power, BN just do what they like, we cannot allow that to happen anymore! Syabas PKR!!
written by asianguy, January 18, 2009 07:50:38
I applaud Zaid for his actions, which speak as loud as his words. Here is a leader of integrity. UMNO's loss is the people's gain.
written by MyBUDAK, January 18, 2009 21:23:01
dear MalaysianFirst,

in M'sia we're doubted Prime Murderer suspect, which almost getting us a Mongolia visa...

becoz of him some1 has to visit Kamunting, becoz of him Malaysia reputation heading south, becoz of him KT fall into PAS hand... PAS should thank him too... :-)