Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow A fire raging out of control

A fire raging out of control PDF Print
Wednesday, 14 January 2009 10:00

Let me repeat that. Malaysia already practices the Islamic law of Hudud, but only for Muslims. And we do not call them Hudud laws although in reality they are.

A RELIGIOUS court has sentenced a Muslim woman to six strokes of the cane for drinking alcohol, possibly for the first time in Malaysia.

The Syariah High Court in Pahang also handed the same sentence to a man on Monday, and is due to make a decision on another woman in May.

Mohamad Nasir Mohamad, 38, a father of four, and waitress Noorazah Baharuddin, 22, were found drinking beer separately in pubs in July last year in central Pahang state, said reports released yesterday.

Nasir admitted that he had drunk beer at a pub in Cherating on July 11, while Noorazah was caught drinking at the pub where she worked, in Jalan Gambut.

Both were also fined RM5,000 each by the Pahang court on Monday.

The third accused was part-time model Kartika Sari Dewi Shukarno, 32. According to the New Straits Times, Kartika, a Singapore permanent resident, could not attend court as she is studying in Singapore.

Judge Abdul Rahman Yunus said that he had given the maximum fine and caning as a deterrent to other Muslims, but had spared them a jail sentence.

'The caning is to shame them and should be done at any of the prisons in the country,' he was quoted as saying by NST.

The case comes after two controversial fatwas, or edicts - one over tomboyish behaviour by women and the other concerning the practice of yoga - sparked intense public debate over decisions made by the country's top religious body.

Malaysia has a two-track legal system, with the civil courts operating alongside state-based syariah courts. Muslims are governed by syariah laws in family and personal matters, while ethnic Chinese, Indians and other races come under civil courts.

According to NST, this is the second time such a sentence has been handed down. In 2005, the same judge sentenced two Muslim brothers to six strokes of the cane after they were caught drinking.

However, the caning has yet to be carried out as the men are appealing against the decision.

Alcohol is widely available in Malaysia, and Muslims are rarely punished for consuming it.

'It's rare but it's within the law and Muslims are subject to such law in this country,' said lawyer Pawancheek Merican, a syariah law committee member of the Malaysian Bar Council.

MP Salahuddin Ayub, the youth chief of the opposition Islamic party PAS, said he 'agreed' with the court ruling.

'The ruling only concerns Muslims and it does not affect the non-Muslims. It is to remind the Muslims not to drink,' he said.

AGENCE FRANCE-PRESSE

The strategy is simple. The Malays are split 50:50. So the Chinese votes are needed to ensure that Barisan Nasional retains the Kuala Terengganu parliament seat in the 17 January 2009 by-election. And, to meet this objective, the Chinese must be made to hate PAS. And for them to hate PAS, they must be made to hate Islamic laws -- which PAS is alleged to be propagating.

Lighting fires is a dangerous game. Fires are known to rage out of control. And the ‘hate Islamic laws, therefore hate PAS’ fire is one such fire that can, and most probably will, rage out of control. Under normal situations this may not be so dicey. However, nowadays, there is nothing ‘normal’ about Islam. With the 911, Bali bombing, and more recently, the Mumbai massacre, and many more, Islam is beginning to become a four-letter word to non-Muslims.

And can we blame the non-Muslims? Islam appears to be behind most terrorist acts. Even the pirates in Somalia are pirating to finance their ‘Islamic Jihad’. Islam may be a mere victim of perception. It may be, as many argue, that the western media are embarking on a smear-Islam campaign. It could be true that there are many other terrorist acts perpetuated by non-Muslims, but which are not appearing on the radar screens of the western media. Nevertheless, Islam is currently the ‘bad boy’ of the western media. The jury is unanimous on this.

It is very easy, therefore, to demonise Islam. It does not take much to make people suspicious of anything that smacks of Islam. And Islamic laws, where numerous YouTube videos of ‘Islamic justice’ lend support to the argument about how brutal it can be, makes the job of those opposed to Islamic laws very easy indeed.

Barisan Nasional is one of those contributing to the demonising of Islam campaign. On the one hand, Umno, the head honcho of Barisan Nasional, claims to be the largest Islamic party in the world. To demonstrate how Islamic they are they launch the very confusing concept of Islam Hadhari, which many do not really know what it means yet. Then, on the other hand, they demonise Islamic laws in their fervour to demonise PAS.

But Barisan Nasional is not being candid about the matter. What they have failed to do is to explain that Hudud is just one of many Islamic laws. And Hudud is a law that deals with seven very specific crimes. But there are many other Islamic laws. And while Malaysia is yet to adopt the Hudud laws, since Independence, we have already adopted all the other Islamic laws and they are being implemented to the fullest.

Read today’s AFP news item above. The Syariah court convicted and sentenced Muslims for the crime of drinking liquor and this was done in accordance with Islamic laws. And this is not the first time Muslims have been arrested, put on trial, convicted and sentenced for drinking liquor. It has been happening since Independence.

Drinking liquor is not the only crime under Islam. Eating during the month of Ramadhan, close proximity, extra-marital sex, etc., are also crimes under Islam. But, under Islamic law, all these are considered crimes only for Muslims. Non-Muslims are not subjected to these laws.

Then there are other Syariah laws involving marriage, divorce, living together out of wedlock, conversion, inheritance, failure to attend Friday prayers, zakat, fitrah, apostasy, heresy, etc.  There are specific Islamic laws for all these as well and all are implemented in Malaysia. Hudud is just another of the many Syariah laws that Malaysia already practices.

So, as Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad said, Malaysia is already an Islamic State and already practices Islamic laws. Almost all the Islamic laws are applicable in Malaysia. There is only one Islamic law that is yet to be adopted. And this is the Islamic law of Hudud. And the reason the Islamic law of Hudud has not been adopted is because Malaysia already has common laws to cover these seven crimes under Hudud law. So, since we already have common laws to take care of these seven crimes, the Islamic law of Hudud is not required.

The argument is simple. Islamic laws apply only to Muslims. But the seven crimes under Hudud cannot apply only to Muslims because it is also a crime if perpetuated by non-Muslims. Therefore, the Islamic law of Hudud, which will only apply to Muslims, cannot be adopted. Non-Muslims also need to be punished for these seven crimes. That is why Malaysia needs to use common law and not Hudud law or else the non-Muslims will escape punishment.

Amongst these seven crimes under Hudud are: robbery, theft, false accusation of adultery, rebellion against the state, drinking alcohol, apostasy, and extra-marital sex.

Now, notice one thing here. Three of the seven are already being practiced. Under Syariah law, drinking alcohol, apostasy, and extra-marital sex are already crimes for Muslims. Muslims, since the time of Independence and up to today, are being punished under the Syariah law for the crimes of drinking alcohol, apostasy, and extra-marital sex. This means Malaysia already practices the Hudud law. So why is Barisan Nasional hiding this fact from Malaysians, in particular from the non-Muslims?

Let me repeat that. Malaysia already practices the Islamic law of Hudud, but only for Muslims. And we do not call them Hudud laws although in reality they are.

As for robbery, theft and rebellion against the state, these too are crimes in Malaysia. The only thing is Malaysia is applying common law and not the Islamic law of Hudud for these crimes. Nevertheless, you will still be put to death for rebellion against the state like what happened to the Al Maunah group -- they were all hanged. And if you commit robbery with a gun, you will also be put to death. In fact, you will also be put to death for drug trafficking, whereas this is not a crime under Hudud.

In that sense, common law is actually more brutal than Hudud. Common law will impose the death sentence for armed robbery whereas Hudud will only impose the death sentence if you kill during that robbery. And if you are caught with a gun, even though you did not commit any crime with it, you will be put to death. Islam, however, guarantees citizens the right to bear arms, just like in the US. So, in this respect, Hudud is more humane. Under Hudud, you do not die if you are caught with a gun. Under common law you do.

My piece is not in defence of the Islamic law of Hudud, or otherwise. I am not even saying that I support the implementation of Hudud. What I am trying to demonstrate here is that the Islamic law of Hudud has not been properly explained and that the government is demonising Hudud just so that they can demonise PAS. The government has also not explained that three of the seven crimes under Hudud are already crimes for Muslims and that Muslims have been convicted for these crimes over the last 52 years since Independence.

Furthermore, Malaysia has made it a crime, punishable by death, for crimes that Hudud does not regard as crimes. On top of that, crimes that do not attract the death sentence under Hudud are punishable by death under Malaysia’s common law. As much as Hudud may be seen as brutal, the reality of the situation is that Malaysia’s common laws, in some situations, are more brutal.

And Hudud, for sure, does not allow for detention without trial, which under Malaysia’s common law is allowed. That, alone, places Hudud above common law. And rebellion against the state, which under common law attracts the death sentence, is not punishable by death under Hudud. The rebel will be given the option to lay down his arms and if he does he is forgiven and allowed back into society. Chin Peng must be wishing that Malaysia practices Hudud and not common law. Under the Islamic law of Hudud he would be allowed back into Malaysia. Instead, Chin Peng has been barred from returning to Malaysia and is currently engaged in a court battle with the Malaysian government to get them to lift the ban on him returning to his homeland.

The campaign to demonise Islamic laws in the hope that PAS will be demonised is not good for the image of Islam. Most non-Muslims already fear Islam. And we can’t blame them for that. What we need is a campaign to explain Islam so that non-Muslims would not have this misconception that Islam is dangerous.  But the government is doing the reverse. And then we wonder why Islam is a four-letter word to non-Muslims. Do we really need to wonder?

Anyway, as I said in another piece, the Hudud issue is a non-issue. So why is Barisan Nasional still playing up the issue? DAP, PKR and PAS have entered into an agreement that any policy decisions require a consensus of the three Pakatan Rakyat partners. It is all or nothing. And the Islamic State and the Islamic law of Hudud is a policy matter. So all three have to agree on this issue or else it will not be done.

Comments (114)Add Comment
written by Oscar Winner, January 14, 2009 10:24:35
To all KT folks, kindly let me reiterate,
Please wake up before it’s too late,
It’s your duty to end rakyat’s heartache
Help bring change for our own sake.

REMEMBER Jan 17, 2009 IS THE DATE....
agree 211
written by Rashid, January 14, 2009 10:25:40
Abang,

Today you explained why Umno is the enemy of Islam. Let me tell, the MAIN reason why I HATE Umno is bcoz in their desperate attempt to demonise Pas, it kills Islam's image and reduces it to ashes. How can a conscientious Muslim support a party that kills Islan's image for political expediency? 90% of the reasons why I will always fight Umno is bcoz of this evil. It is like how they come up with despicable sodomy claims against anyone who challenges their power and plundering of the nation. They are EVIL and a good Muslim will not support this evil (Umno). Why should I kill the image of Islam in the name of winning a seat? After that? What would be my answer to my Creator?
agree 323
written by johanssm, January 14, 2009 10:25:47
Many do not realize the 'skodeng" by religious dept is also part of hudud.
But all govt religious dept kept their silence hiding facts in the name of shariah law.This explains many non Muslim didnt know as well as many Muslims themselves also didnt know.
Such laws was NOT even implemented by PAS in the first place.It was umno and yet mca have the guts to challenge DAP for their hudud stance. Now you know why Karpal was fuming mad ?
written by Msian Idol3, January 14, 2009 10:34:49
Hei judge -- how come you are such a BULLY to the common people. Why no cane for the corrupt rich & well connected ?? In fact, the corrupt rich politicians are getting more deals. To me the judge's act is tantamount " tutup" satu mata. Punish the high profile crooks to set an example. Oh yeah, am I wrong to say even our DPM had affairs, heard he was chased out of PD hotel & also in Kuantan by Rosmah. How come no actions ......
agree 140
written by Apeiron, January 14, 2009 10:35:23
"Hudud Law" by whatever name has been with humanity for milleniums. Take for instance in China, Justice Pao already practised "Hudud" by decapitating criminals, and for leeser offences the "chopping" of hands. If someone had been proven to be disloyal to the Emperor, no only the person concerned will be executed but also members of his extended families of the "9 ties" meaning, his children, grand children, his siblins and families, his in-law and family members & grandchildren etc. Is'nt this more "CRUEL" than Hudud. The Chinese should wake up by going through Chinese History and to learn that our ancestors had lived through Hudud in olden China.
disagree 24
written by Ken Liew, January 14, 2009 10:35:51
In KT: The Malays are split 40:60 (and UNMOraly, 20% are added from GHOST/FORCEMENT support)

in total, its 60/60...... the only thing is either EC are hardworking, or just slack of admired the MONEY politic of BN's goons.

The problem is, HOW many more DIRTY TRICK will BN use?? close the chinese housing area's main road again, as they did in Puah?? We already know there have IMPORTED many ghost from HELL. But we dont know how many more dirty waves is coming.
written by Arubin, January 14, 2009 10:37:27
I've always wondered about the fatwa on pengkids. Instead of persecuting women for dressing like men and acting like lesbians, maybe the men should be asking themselves some very serious questions instead. Why would women want to act like a men? Is it because men get more respect and have higher standing in their society? Why would a woman want to be with another woman instead of a man?

Here's a better solution. Instead of declaring a fatwa, how about we just treat women with respect and equality instead? Sounds to me like many of these fatwas are put into place by men who are trying to control a situation that is beyond their understanding. Hmmph...
disagree 29
written by smeagrooo, January 14, 2009 10:37:30
You have left out another law, Ummmm-No! Law which is lawlessness. And this only applies to the big shots and common folks like u and i need not apply. They can commit crimes and no one can touch them. You can steal, siphon money, blow up ppl, tell lies, cheat, beat up S'poreans in Genting, speed on hi-ways, etc.
written by lamakawan, January 14, 2009 10:41:51
The Bn campaign has nothing for the voters to consider, except to scare the people if BN is not returned. All malaysians must resolve to give BN candidate a good kick in the arse in this crucial psychological by-election. send the BN flag to the monsoon waves in south china sea.
written by DreamLady, January 14, 2009 10:44:41
Good morning, Raja Petra, thank you for explaining in detail the Hudud law of Islam. The non-Muslims in our country do not know head and tail of it all, to make matter worse, UMNO goons instill fear and hatred in them to hate Islam so that they could achieve their selfish means.

I am more than thrilled to note you take the initiative to open the minds of other races regaarding the said issue. By right, it is the job of religious departments to set things right and make it clear to all Malaysians of all races the actual doctrine of Islamic teaching and its various laws so that no rooms are left for speculation and fabrication by the irresponsible Muslims. Where are all those religious scholars? Aren't they supposed to shoulder the respoinsibility to spread Islam and to clarify the stand of Islam in this turbulent world we live in?

Thank you, Raja Petra, you are incredibly adorable!
written by InEffective, January 14, 2009 10:52:14
strategies to seed fear into the hearts and minds is usually highly effective.
(and those with weak minds or ignorance will become victims, and if a great many succumb, then we all pay the consequences)

Tactical harsh judgments by our 'buy-one get-one free' judges (instructed by incumbent governance) is to seed fear amongst the rakyat and non-malays.
written by ahmadneil, January 14, 2009 10:52:50
Drinking beer does not make one a bad muslim.This country is going to the donkey!The next thing is muslim are not allowed to wear cloth make in China becos it's consider haram.Crap!
disagree 73
written by nanyangren, January 14, 2009 10:53:42
Once in a while I have a minor - I stress - minor disagreement with Pete and this is one of them. Hudud allows man to arm himself with a gun like the USA, for self protection. This duality of laws will allow all muslims to carry arms and non muslims not to? I know this will probably not come to pass but the possibility still exists.

The hudud law should be once and for all decided upon - and it must be made known that hudud law is a subset of the constitutional laws of Malaysia. If PAS, Hadi or whoever comes out and declare that the Constitution of Malaysia is supreme and hudud laws are a subset of it, then I will support it - else I will have my doubts, forever.

Duality cannot exists, whether it is in law (muslim - non muslim) in economics (bumi versus non bumis) segragation (male versus female, apartheid, etc) (preferential treatment (housing quotas, education, discounts, etc) all man and women are created equal and should be treated equal.
disagree 24
written by karyeowl, January 14, 2009 10:55:07
The world is already fed-up with the Islam and Muslim, because of the few rotten apples misused Islam in their stupidity. What do our UMNO leaders do, in order to convince others on the perception of Islam? UMNO is doing all the nonsense to glorify their existence, and demonize PAS.
written by ahmadneil, January 14, 2009 10:56:41
If the chinese is still afraid of hudud,then there si something very wrong with their thinking.Either they are been brainwashed by MCA or umno.Whether hudud or no hudud,the chinese are going to vote PAS,not becos they want to sleep with PAS ,but to kick out umno.We must go after this demon umno!
written by sorosapril, January 14, 2009 11:00:23
I said before either there was something wrong with the religion "ISLAM" or something was wrong with those so called Ulamah and or IMAN who gave wrong impression about the religion.

to me, if anyone said anything bad about Nabi Mohamad, that is between him and Nabi, why some one is so upset about it and wanted to kill? just like recently about the website saying bad thing about NABI and police got so busy because of that. I never know they are so free, even AAB also got involved for something, to me, is between the guy who wrote that and NABI, did NABI get upset about it? why are so many people so eager to 'protect' NABI?

I have not come across in other religion like someone said bad thing about Christ or Buddha and being hammered or charged in court or whatever like what the police was doing on Islamic religion.

just like I mentioned before, race and religion are very sensitive issues, if there must be a law, just make the law and implement it fairly and equally, why must it be branded Islamic law or Hudud or whatever?

Thailand is a buddhist country, and never heard of Buddhist law, Philippine is basically a christian country, have you heard of christian law?

why Jihad? who started this? is this what Islam is about, promoting 'violent'? or the religion has been twisted by those so called "learned" religion teachers who impose their own version on muslims?

I thought in any religion, it teaches us to forgive our enemy and help them to see the light of path and so on?
no wonder people equate terrorism with ISLAM.

I like to read what RPK writes about Islam and religion, at least he is level headed and unfortunately he got whacked for writing a fair comments, so the only conclusion i can draw is those supposedly in the know like FATWA council are people whose wires are crossed and confused
disagree 24
agree 119
written by Raja Petra, January 14, 2009 11:00:57
nanyangren, read it again. I did not say under Hudud Muslims can carry guns while non-Muslims can't.
written by Angela Ooi, January 14, 2009 11:16:50
There is no pride in being a BN member. The only people who tout for BN, do so cos their bread is very well buttered and these people have no qualms debasing Islam or anything else to continue receiving their tainted gravy.

Hudud laws should be explained in detail to the 'nons' till they are rid this fear.
written by Mr Smith, January 14, 2009 11:19:22
It's always the simple people who get caught. Walk into any posh hotels and clubs and you will see VIPs and their wives drinking liquor. Now who will arrest them. Will the court imposed caning on a VIP's wife?
VIPs are above the law, even God's law.
written by wartank, January 14, 2009 11:20:51

Unsure what four letter word you are refering to. Fear, Hate or ?, but it(fear, hate) shall still be directed to the ones propogating it rather than the religion itself. After all, a knife is only a knife till someone uses it. It can be a useful tool or a dangerous one depending on the weilder. Used properly and with proper guidance, it helps with all kinds of household chores, misused it can kill. OTH, a weilder waving it around in a crowd, shouting profanities would definitely cause tensions to arise.

Its just plain that Islamic Laws were in practice all this while. Its when someone made an issue out of it, does it cause an uproar. Still remember those days, we Chinese guys try to avoid sitting with a Malay girl on coffee or tea breaks for fear of an Imam or a Tok Kadi appearing out of nowhere. Could have been wiser.
written by Concon, January 14, 2009 11:27:21
My Kalantanese friend told me more than 20 years ago that he does not face any problem under PAS rule, what we are so scare about?
Vote PAS now.
written by cheekhiaw, January 14, 2009 11:28:10
Let me repeat. Malaysia already has both mules and stealing asses. One gives sour milk, the other milks you sour. If you must choose one from the 2, then go for that mule.

But recognise that both are nowhere near a horse. That's what we should seek with the help of the mule, for the time being.
written by ksmaniam, January 14, 2009 11:29:35
With due respect, RPK,
I feel that there is a difference between the PRACTISE OF ISLAM and the common law, although the laws may seem similar, the implementation, evidence may be dissimilar. Kindly elaborate on that aspect as well to indicate the similarities and dissimilarities perhaps the non muslims are worried about that aspect. Thanks.
written by teo siew chin, January 14, 2009 11:31:20
"..The Malays are split 50:50..."
---------------------

why is that so?
written by temenggong, January 14, 2009 11:53:08
Caning a women is absolutely horrible! Has the judge gone mad?

Pet, we have to do something about this!
disagree 19
written by hellosunshine, January 14, 2009 12:11:43
'The rebel will be given the option to lay down his arms and if he does he is forgiven * and allowed back into society.'

Did you forget to add * 'when he converts to Islam' ?

'Chin Peng must be wishing that Malaysia practices Hudud and not common law. Under the Islamic law of Hudud he would be allowed back into Malaysia. Instead, Chin Peng has been barred from returning to Malaysia and is currently engaged in a court battle with the Malaysian government to get them to lift the ban on him returning to his homeland.'

Correction. CP was barred from returning by the BN govt and not Common Law as claimed by you.
written by pinsysu, January 14, 2009 12:14:47
er ... UMNO is a four letter word? smilies/grin.gif
written by ibabonma, January 14, 2009 12:36:20
The problem is, Hudud is a subject matter of public discourses at coffee shops. So, here and there, people are talking about Potong Tangan and more Potong Tangan! As a Muslim I also am scared!
written by ahmadneil, January 14, 2009 13:07:35
Indonesia with the biggest population is one of the biggest consumer of beer and liquor in Asia.So where do go wrong on muslims drinking beer.My wife who is a muslim ,is drunk most of her weekend out with friends and she is still a damn good muslim.
In Malaysia they are manufacturing 2 sets of tailor make laws.It's just that you are unlucky to get caught.
disagree 31
written by ahmadneil, January 14, 2009 13:08:45
I, as a muslim have enough of all this crap!What so big deal about muslim drinking beer!
disagree 37
written by carribeanking7, January 14, 2009 13:24:27
I admire your patience in providing yet another angle on the "Hudud" issue. UMNO is playing up the issue in a cowardly manner using MCA and other component paties while they themselves remain ambiguous.
I have mentioned before that in some cases civil laws are more draconian than Islamic laws, and silly- in Malaysia its still an offence for husband and wife to engage in oral sex, whereas under syariah laws it is not.
Under Qazaf laws the poster boy of sodomy Saiful Bukhari is likely to be whipped 80 times for false accusations of rape, which he swore upon the Quran on national television, ironically when charges were read out in a civil court the charge was under consensual sodomy, indeed if Saiful was sincere he would have protested.
Talking of Hirabah (armed robbery) very few cases are brought to civil courts , our police play judge , jury and executioner.
For the offence of Syurb (drinking alcohol) thet you have mentioned above, the offenders got away leniently with six strokes, as the minimum punishment prescribed is 40 strokes.
All this makes for very interesting discussion, but my only concern is an ammendment to the Federal Constitution that was made in 1988, specifically clause 121(1A) . Article 121(1A) states that the high courts and inferior courts shall have no jurisdiction in respect of any matter within the jurisdiction of the syariah courts.This has led to untold misery to converts when marriages break up and incidents of body snatching, all bleeding heart secularists were silent when Lim Kit Siang called for this article to be repealed in 2007.
In fact many citizens are unaware of this ammendment to the constitution, yet many are making a big ado about a law that has zero to nil chance of being passed.
I throw the following article on MCA , MIC and UMNO's face.

The 'body snatchers' strike again
Vijay Kumar Murugavell | Jun 30, 08 4:12pm

http://www1.malaysiakini.com/letters/85322

written by Mirage, January 14, 2009 13:39:40
Concon,

I heard the same from my Chinese Business associates that the Chinese ppl of Kelantan are happy with PAS. The problem is PAS did not clarify or rather PR did not clarify the Hudud law which made the general public fearing this. On the other hand, PAS and DAP with PR should not also allow this to escalate this way. The outcome is at least the non Malays are happy with the consistency of DAP in voicing out against PAS even if they are in the same team. This is more than I can say for BN.

While most of us are contemplating or arguing abt this, I believe the general concensus is with PR while highlighting their weaknesses to ensure the check and balance are not only voice by the parties in the component of PR but general public who may not be in any of these parties. After all even the hardcore BN folks do not want BN to monopolise which we all know of their arrogance. The BN still think that the loss of 5 states was actually still a win for them although technically it may be true. To me the lost of 5 states is generally a chance given by the rakyat for them improve but yet they are getting worse by the day. If you read the headlines of stories abt BN, it always abt how good they are, the weaknesses of PR, or fighting amongst themselves which all does not benefit the rakyat. I am more appreciative of admiting a problem and be realistic abt the mitigating action. Hope the by election will show that the PR will voice out what is not right even within the component rather than everything is always alright in the BN while no one is actually benefiting from their policies and minister.
written by sampalee, January 14, 2009 13:41:03
This fine piece of writing just stip umno completely naked,with nothing in hand to hide the great shame.They have sin against fellow man and worst,they brought the good name of Islam down the gutter.The people of KY[muslims and non-muslim have enough of this]More so The All knowing Allah also have enough.Wait and see what God have in store for umno in the coming days.Then we will hvae nothing but praise for the creator.
written by Mirage, January 14, 2009 14:04:00
After reading some of your comments, RPK's article and also some info I have received esp those pertaining Islam as the only religion that is truly a system of life. According to the article "Islam is not a religion, nor is it a cult. In it's fullest form, it is a complete, total, 100% system of life. Islam has religious, legal, political, economic, social, and military components." The article went on to describe each country with its % of muslims and how the increase in % develops into extremism. In Malaysia, we are still considered moderate with the % of muslims we have however we should recognise the breaking point.

Base on all the writings and sharing, how does Islam balance with the rest of the world moving towards Human Rights assuming all of the above fact are adopted. Instead of progressing, this will also limit us unless its adopted as fundamental and do not go above the legislative judicial law in future.

written by steviewonger, January 14, 2009 14:10:08
Beer is nice, low alcohol and cooling just nice in such weather in Malaysia. But over drinking will make one drunk. So there is nothing wrong with drinking beer but don't over do it and don't drive after consuming alchoholic drinks.
written by Fuminari, January 14, 2009 14:21:16
but umno is shifting all the blame to the others.
written by dzcorleone, January 14, 2009 14:49:18
Go to Havana Club and catch JJ & the Gang drinking. Drag them to court & charge them. These UMNO bastards pratise double standards!
written by clarity, January 14, 2009 15:01:30
I am sure the people of KT are aware that if BN don't play up the Hudud issue, then they got nothing else to play up. Secondly, it is also to divert the minds of the voters from BN habitual corrupt practices, crooked minds and barbaric ISA laws which only benefit them. But 50 years of incessant ravaging of the wealth of the country and its people. No, it is not so easy to forget.
written by megahyper, January 14, 2009 15:14:17
Have you guys seen the comments in Malaysia Insider?
They are implying that Malay votes are sliding towards BN. It's no longer 50-50.
Shouldn't pete and bloggers concentrate more on the Malay areas over the last few days?
I think thats a priority now.
written by SamSan, January 14, 2009 15:30:50
Abang Pete, How come Saiful's allegation of sodomy and police investigation showing that it was consensual sex is not under syariah law. Why is UMNO and its agent the AG selective in their choice of which crime comes under common law and which comes under syariah law.
written by PRman, January 14, 2009 15:49:40
@AhmadNeil, I agree with you that its no big deal to drink for muslim. End of the day, its none of other people business to stop you or your family to enjoy boozing. :-)
disagree 20
written by ahmadneil, January 14, 2009 15:50:36
Islam is a religion that is the same as any other religion.It's the muslim extremists who hides behind Islam to achieve their selfish aim and these people are mostly from umno.Even when they C4 Altantuya,they still shouted praises to Allah.All these crap really shamed me as a muslim.My will to hold on to my faith is slowly fading.Gua baik sama you, tapi you hari hari bohong banyak sama gua.
written by 1six5, January 14, 2009 16:01:43
syabas to pete...u cleared many ppl's stereotype craniums on this issue...PAS must win...UMNO is the dalang of this hate issue. if i have 10 hands then u get 10thumbs up. loving ur articles by the day...this one is one of the most harmoniously written
written by Mirage, January 14, 2009 16:06:40
For BN and UMNO it looks like their secret weapon is working.....the oil royalty to swing the Malay votes. This was exactcly what I have said earlier that BN is attacking so much on the sentiment but we do not really know whether they can deliver the policies and promises
written by Concon, January 14, 2009 16:15:50
Before the 12GE I told my friend that I am supporting PAS and the reply I get is, am I going to be potong soon? But during the 308 the respond become YES the wind of change should allow to blow. Even an old man (70 plus) told me that he really need the moon symbol plaster for his pain all this years. Hope KT people heard the call.
Thanks Mirage for your comments.
written by The Voter, January 14, 2009 16:19:13
written by ahmadneil, January 14, 2009 13:07:35

Indonesia with the biggest population is one of the biggest consumer of beer and liquor in Asia.So where do go wrong on muslims drinking beer.My wife who is a muslim ,is drunk most of her weekend out with friends and she is still a damn good muslim. In Malaysia they are manufacturing 2 sets of tailor make laws.It's just that you are unlucky to get caught.

AhamdNeil.

Meminum arak adaah salah satu perkara yang di haram dalam Islam.

Di riwayatkan di zaman para tabii terdapat seorang lelaki muda yang amat alim.
Kerjanya hanyalah beribadah sahaja. Syaitan cuba menggodanya tetapi tidak berjaya.
Syaitan kemudian menjelma sebagai manusia dan memaksanya orang alim berzina dengan sorang wanita muda yang jelita.
Tetapi beliau enggan. Syaitan mengugutnya untuk membunuhnya dan memaksanya memilih samada untuk berzina
atau meminum arak. Beliau mengambil keputusan untuk meminum arak kerana berpendapat ianya bukan mudarat yang besar.
Setelah meminumnya beliau merasa mabuk dan terpandang wanita muda di depan mata. Beliau berzina dengannya.
Bila beliau sedar beliau rasa takut atas apa yang telah dilakukan dengan wanita tersebut lalu membunuhnya kerana takut rahsia di ketahui.
Beliau kemudiannya di tangkap kerana membunuh dan mati dalam kesesatan.
Sebabkan arak beliau telah berzina kemudian membunuh akhirnya mati dalam kesesatan.

Sebagai seorang Islam jangan mendabik dada dengan dosa yang telah dan sedang dilakukan.
Islam is the way of life not only a religoun.
Watch your words and acts. Jaga perkataan dan perbuatan dari tergelincir dari akidah.
Bosnia di sembelih oleh orang-orang Serb yang merupakan jiran , kawan teman se pub.
Bala dari Allah kerana tidak mengamalkan Islam. Jika kiata jauh dari Islam kita juga akan jadi seperti Bosnia.

Seperkara lagi, Nabi ada bersabda "Sesiapa yang menyakiti orang bukan Islam yang berjanji setia dengan pemerintahan Islam meraka menyakiti aku.
Mereka yang menyakiti aku juga menyakiti Allah."
Orang yang bukan Islam yang tinggal dalam pemerintahan Islam ada hak-haknya yang perlu di perlihara.
Hak tempat tinggal, pekerjaan, mencari makan/menjalankan perniagaan, pelajaran, bekerja dengan kerajaan.
Hak mengamalkan ugama, budaya dan adat resam.
Keselamatanya juga mesti di jaga.
disagree 25
written by Mirage, January 14, 2009 16:36:23
Well I am a drinker, and yet I am a good husband, father and loyal to my family company and friends. I do not cause problem after drinking and most certainly do not provoke others to do so. My mates drink responsibly and over the 15 years I have been drinking I have never seduce or be seduce by any woman or man after drink but rather I have seen many friends who dont drink do that at teh tarik stalls. At pubs where I drink we pour out our issue or just listen to some while others enjoy the sports on TV while drinking. After my drinks, I am happy that I have let out my sorrow, or shared my happy moment and go home and continue to be a good husband and father.

written by panca, January 14, 2009 16:36:49
While PAS wins in KT, we 'cheers'...."SALUTE".
written by ASK4u, January 14, 2009 16:41:40
"A picture is worth a thousand words". Look how well PAS is managing Kelantan. Any race-relation problem? none! Only in BeeAn ruled states, you hear of all this problems. So, which is more important, the fear of the word Hudud or the pragmatic approach of PAS to bring all races together, as is evident in Kelantan. Even a normal non-muslim can "buka-puasa" with tok guru. Will the Ameno Ministers extend the same courtesy to a commoner who happens to be a non-muslim. Political slurs are not uncommon. Is the hudud issue worse than the "pendatang remark". KT folks, ask your Kelantan counterpart about PAS rule and I assure you, your vote will go to PAS because "action speaks louder than words". They may utter "hudud" but they practice a people friendly good governance. Kelantan has Chinese penghulu's. Does BeeAn rule states has any? So who actually has an 'extremist' outlook towards the non-bumi's. You decide. I can go on an on but enough for now.
written by arazak, January 14, 2009 16:50:35
If the "hudud" law were to be imlpemented, many top UMNO leaders would have lost their hands now for stealing the peoples' money.
written by Anti Relon, January 14, 2009 16:53:09
THOUGHT FOR THE DAY

The Daily Telegraph 10.1.2009

Atheist bus leads to first non-religious version of Thought for the Day on BBC
The BBC has agreed to broadcast a non-religious version of Thought for the Day for the first time, following the success of the atheist bus adverts.

By Martin Beckford, Religious Affairs Correspondent
Last Updated: 9:14AM GMT 10 Jan 2009

Atheist bus: 'Sleep in on Sunday morning' adverts
The Uk's first ever atheist advertising campaigne launched on a bus, Tottenham Court Road, London
Professor Richard Dawkins inside a bus displaying an atheist message
The atheist bus could lead to a watchdog ruling on God's existence
written by Anti Relon, January 14, 2009 16:55:53
From The Sunday Times UK
January 11, 2009
My week: Ariane Sherine: I’m a believer – in plastering buses with atheist slogans

RED TAPE AND LIES

I haven’t had a conversation for two weeks which hasn’t featured the words “bus” and “launch” and a swear word. I’m the creator of the Atheist Bus Campaign, which was launched on Tuesday, although ordinarily I’m a comedy writer......
written by Fuminari, January 14, 2009 16:56:31
the joke is the canning is going to happen in pahang,a umno be end control state!
canning a person or persons caught drinking beer is barbaric in the first place.
written by fikiran, January 14, 2009 17:14:17
As Pinsysu says, UMNO may also be a four-letter word, but with no enjoyment la!
written by OVERLORD, January 14, 2009 17:17:32

Why don't PAS embark on a campaign to explain hudud laws not only to muslims but for non-muslims as well?..this should clear the air of confusion that swirling are around at this point of time...it would be better if leaders exlain how hudud would compliment the moden world .Further clarifications should be addressed concerning forms of punishment with relations to crime committed.
written by yapsir, January 14, 2009 17:41:05
Hi ahmadneil,just take care not too much lah .
RPK thanks for the clearification again.
Drinks or no drinks,I just hope and pray that KT goes to PR.
All the best,rakyat bersatulah! let BN be endlah!
written by The dragonheart, January 14, 2009 18:01:12
Well said, YM Engku! Anyway, those who don't like will never like.
As for ahmadneil I would like to dedicated this song by John Lennon specially for you..

When I find myself in times of trouble
Mother Mary comes to me
Speaking words of wisdom, Let It Be
And in my hour of darkness
She is standing right in front of me
Let It Be, Let It Be, Let It Be, Let It Be
Whisper words of wisdom, Let It Be
And when the broken hearted people
Living in the world agree
There will be an answer, Let It Be
For though they may be parted there is
Still a chance that they will see
Let It Be, Let It Be Let It Be, Let It Be. Yeah
Let It be, Let It be Let It Be, Let It Be
Whisper Words of wisdom, Let It Be
Let It be, Let It Be Let It Be, Let It Be
And when the night is cloudy
There is still a light that shines on me
Shine until tomorrow, Let It Be
I wake up to the sound of music
Mother Mary comes to me
Let It Be, Let It Be Let It Be, Let It Be
written by Whatif, January 14, 2009 18:24:19
Muslims will always be in a catch-22 situation with all its present rules and regulations. Muslims will never be at peace with other communities and with themselves unless they reform their existing rules and laws to bring them in line with current times.

For example, they cannot accept the existence of other sects and yet they would not allow apostasy. They would rather incarcerate would-be apostates rather than allow them to leave to practice their own faith. This is unacceptable by today’s standards and against human rights too.

Another example is the unfair rules for women as far as division of inheritance is concerned. I have heard quite a few Muslim ladies complain that, when the family has financial problems, the sisters would normally help out but when it comes to division of the family’s property, the sons get the major share and the daughters are short-changed.

Also nowadays, more women are working and contributing to the family expenses including property acquisition. Some even earn more than their husbands; on top of that, they have to take care of the kids (and husbands) and cook as well. So, Muslim men better look into amending these unfair rules before your ladies rebel. Or you want to institute more rules to control them, which is not the honorable thing to do.

Anyway, with 6 strokes and RM5,000 fine for committing a social liberty, the sentence is an ”overkill". A counseling session would be more effective. We do not cane our kids nowadays for any mischief or mistake made; rather we educate them instead, by reasoning and examples.

Please reconsider the sentence before you lose more souls and your people lose faith in the religion.
written by OilMan, January 14, 2009 18:34:04
This week it was reported in the NST that the highest of rape cases involved Malays. I wonder what action would be taken against them. Stoning?

YOU MUST BE JOKING.
written by tanahairku2, January 14, 2009 18:40:06
Thank you Raja. I've learnt so much about Islam from all your writings on the subject.
written by fletcher, January 14, 2009 19:34:03
Now for me in JB, Hudud can come later, Denggi fever is now very alarming and the authority does not take in urgency in solving the denggi epidemic by informing the public about it. I just came back down with denggi in the private hospital because ,I cant wait any longer for avaliable bed in the general hospital and I was told to wait awhile because it fully accupied, By that time I might be dead.
written by ahmadneil, January 14, 2009 19:34:51
written by The dragonheart, January 14, 2009 18:01:12

Dear The drangonheart,
Thanks for the song.It's very comforting to hear it and I appreciate it very much.I will hear it every Friday.
written by Johnson, January 14, 2009 19:54:00
Once, a great man said to me: Religion is something between you and GOD, the only way of express it to others is though love.

I could not agree more on this.

We should not really involve in one's way of practice in religion. It is between him and god, you can do nothing about it. One may suggest we can force him to follow the right(which from our point of view) way, but I really think that only makes things worse.

If you have faith in your religion, you do not need laws. If you have no faith, then what is the point of forcing you? Self disciplines is always better than fear of being punished.

Maybe in this way we will have better understanding of a religion.

I may be wrong, but that is what I think. Hope I do not offend anyone.

Cheers!
Johnson
written by cruzeiro, January 14, 2009 20:01:24
"............ drug trafficking, whereas this is not a crime under Hudud."
================================================

There must be something terribly wrong with a system, if it says that consuming alcohol is criminal, but trafficking narcotics aren't ....
Are you sure you got the right interpretation of the Syariah, Pete? Here i was pretty certain that Islam forbids it!
Would appreciate it if someone clarifies/reaffirms this ....

BTW Ali Cordoba,
No need to rage about "four-letter words" here okay - if you can't understand what Pete's trying to say, go join some rage-boys elsewhere.
Maybe you could even start a rage-boy forum called "Raging world futures"?
written by teo siew chin, January 14, 2009 20:08:09
Huh? The Dragonheart breaking into a song??!!! smilies/cheesy.gif And dedicating it to Ahmadneil! smilies/grin.gif...This election is invoking unusual sentiments..hmmm even Temenggong has been naughty and reprimanded with his posting slashed !! smilies/grin.gif smilies/wink.gif

People, people, people, just behave yourselves, be decent law abiding citizens and no law or religion can touch you la. duhhhhh.
written by raven1958, January 14, 2009 20:32:03
Have Malaysians gone bonkers....our economy is about to be wiped out...and we are talking about which law applies.....it may soon be the law of the jungle when thousands end up jobless.......
written by mob1900, January 14, 2009 20:32:50
written by anakmalaysia777, January 14, 2009 20:57:21
The big problem in this country emanates from 55 years of UMNO rule. They did not want the people including Muslims and Non-muslims to understand what the Islamic religion is all about. This simply derives from the fact that they themselves did not and do not understand the religion any better than the ordinary Ahmad who was not fortunate enough to be schooled. Nevertheless, they were very successful in turning the majority of the Muslims into a flock of sheep that marches to their drum beats in which ever direction they want.

The Malays themselves have been indoctrinated by the UMNO feudal mentality and subject to the code of silence like the Italian Mafia. Challenging the 'leaders' and the direction in which they were taking Islam and the country is not to be publicly discussed or debated on the pretext that the 'maruah' of Islam is not lessened in the eyes of the non-Muslims. That is all that mattered and not what was right and wrong. Islam was and is being manipulated to advance 'ketuanan melayu' - for the benefit of the UMNOputras. The dominance and lordship would be challenged once fear is removed from peole's minds and the truth is told.

By the same token, UMNO has also demonised Islam in the minds of the non-Muslims. Unless somebody takes a special interst in the relgion and educates himself, one could go through schools and all the institutions of higher learning in the country and also be sitting next to a Muslim their whole life without knowing or understanding anything about the religion other than the strictures that are well publicised in the papers. Probably children in Britain are better informed about Islam than our non-muslim Malaysian citizens.

This is like blind people describing what their perception of an elephant is by feeling the different parts of its anatomy. So it is with Islam in Malaysia.

RPK, we really appreciate your elucidation of the Hudud laws. While there are still some problems associated with how converts and how their families are treated under existing laws, any rational non-Muslim can except your broad explanation. All the non-Muslims desire is the freedom to practice the religion of their choice and be treated equitably under the laws of the country. Likewise, the non-Muslims do not want to interfere in the way the Muslims desire to practice their religion.

It would be useful if each of the leaders - including UMNO, PAS, DAP Karpal, Anwar and others are asked to explain what their understanding of Hudud law is, what part of it has already been implemented and what part that has not been implemented and the repercussions for the non-Muslims. Only by so doing can fear be lifted from people's minds and giving them an opportunity to decide if they would willingly subscribe to the Hudud laws.

You are absolutely right. MCA assisted by UMNO is simply raising a bogey in people's minds by using a few catchy slogans without defining what it is and how it will be implemented if the majority of Muslims like to be subject to the laws.

Your article is another good sermon to the nation.
written by lynn, January 14, 2009 21:43:02
Umno demonised Islam & scare off the Chinese & Indians abt "Hudud" laws so that these non-Muslims would have no choice but to vote BN. They have been successfully using religion as a tool to divide the people; they think it will still work bcos most ppl are not so clever.

So what KJ did was using Islam to suit his own purpose. That man is unethical & a lowly bastard. The religious men shld arrest him & charge him in court. If drinking beer is "so bad" that the judge imposed a fine of RM5000 & 6 strokes of the cane, how abt threatening the non-Muslims into fearing Islamic laws so that BN wins?

I really hope Muslims think abt it & revolt against that creep.
written by cruzeiro, January 14, 2009 21:45:14
Probably children in Britain are better informed about Islam than our non-muslim Malaysian citizens.
======================================

On the same note, I'd say that probably there are children who understand the spirit of any religion better in their innocence, when compared to the adult "wise guys" who dress in robes/garbs/attires & go around passing judgements on their fellow children of God ...
It is the sad eventuality when the sins of politics is mixed with spirituality ....
written by cruzeiro, January 14, 2009 21:47:58
Have Malaysians gone bonkers....our economy is about to be wiped out...and we are talking about which law applies
================

Raven,
Rule of Law and the choices made - It concerns the economy.
written by lynn, January 14, 2009 21:57:13
So to sum up, KJ 'terrorised' the non-Muslims by deliberately mentioning the Hudud law as PAS' ultimate goal - he knew the non-Muslims' instant reaction - that he had manipulated Islam as a fear factor? Isn't that a crime in Islam, to put this irrational fear into the ignorant masses as though he is saying, mention Hudud law & sit back & watch the fun begin? He is actually humiliating the religion, don't you think? And so he got off scot-free. Untouchable.
written by Steven Ong, January 14, 2009 22:17:59
There is not much to add anymore. The good commends and right things to do are all up there for all to see-provided you know them. The problem is not everyone can see or understand. Its like a world in darkness and its hard to see clearly. What we need is Light and wisdom. There is a Light if only we would welcome the Light of the world. Our eyes shall be opened and we shall see the Truth and the Truth shall set all Malaysian and the world FREE. The Light is Love. Ask, and it shall be given to you; seek and you shall find; knock and it shall be open to you. Do we really want peace or selfish gratification? The choice is ours.
written by clarity, January 14, 2009 22:23:11
Are we still talking about hudud? If we can stop and think for a minute. How many years has PAS been ruling Kelantan? More than 10 years? Has anybody's hands or legs been chopped off? Next time umno bring up this issue, everyone should ask them that.
written by nanyangren, January 14, 2009 22:31:54

I HAPPILY Stand corrected.
written by fan73, January 14, 2009 22:33:24
aiseh.. my earlier posting were deleted...

RPK, katakanlah anda sudah tidak lagi minum benda haram ini.

----------------------------------------
Minum Arak Antara 7 Dosa Besar
ADA bermacam-macam keburukan meminum arak, namun manusia terus meneguk ‘air kencing syaitan’ itu kerana kononnya ia memberi nikmat pada peminumnya.

Cakaplah apa saja seperti apabila diminum dengan banyak, arak boleh merosakkan selaput lendir perut dan menjadi racun yang meresap dengan cepat ke dalam bahagian tubuh manusia terutama jantung dan buah pinggang, boleh menjadikan sesak nafas atau mengakibatkan kematian mengejut akibat tekanan kuat kepada hati dan jantung, semua amaran itu tidak mampu menakutkan peminum arak.

Imam Muslim, Ahmad, Abu Daud dan Termizi meriwayatkan hadis baginda bermaksud: “Sesungguhnya khamar (arak) itu bukanlah ubat tetapi ia penyakit. Sesungguhnya Allah menurunkan penyakit dan ubat. Dan menjadikan buat kamu penyakit dan ubat, maka hendaklah kamu berubat tetapi jangan kamu berubat dengan yang haram.”

Walaupun peringatan demi peringatan diberikan, ramai umat Islam mengambil minuman itu di atas pelbagai alasan, kononnya untuk meraikan sesuatu peristiwa, bergembira di pusat hiburan, melupakan seketika masalah, berubat, gaya dan prestij, terikut-ikut dengan orang lain atau sekadar minum suka-suka.

Lebih malang lagi, budaya minum arak di kalangan umat Islam semakin berleluasa, bebas dan terbuka di negara ini yang menjunjung Islam sebagai agama rasmi.

Banyak juga umat Islam yang menjual atau bekerja di premis yang menjual arak sedangkan Rasulullah melaknati arak itu kepada sesiapa saja “Yang memerahnya, yang diperah untuknya, yang meminumnya, yang membawanya, yang dibawa kepadanya, yang menuangkannya, yang menjualnya, yang membelinya dan yang dibelikan untuknya.” (riwayat Termizi dan Ibnu Majah).

Hakikatnya, haramnya arak itu adalah satu larangan besar dalam Islam hingga arak itu dianggap satu daripada tujuh dosa besar. Malah, umat Islam juga dilarang sama sekali untuk duduk dalam satu majlis yang ada menghidangkan arak.

Imam Ahmad meriwayatkan sabda Nabi Muhammad yang bermaksud: “Barang siapa yang beriman kepada Allah dan hari akhirat, maka janganlah dia duduk pada suatu hidangan yang ada di situ minuman khamar.”

Pada zaman yang serba maju ini, semakin ramai umat Islam yang melanggar batasan termasuk dalam soal makan minum masing-masing. Kita seolah-olah lupa bahawa manusia diberikan pelbagai pilihan minuman yang jauh lebih enak dan berkhasiat. Malangnya, masih ramai antara kita yang memilih untuk minum minuman keras yang jelas membinasakan peminumnya.

Mungkin sudah sampai masanya bagi mereka yang minum arak untuk berhenti dan mereka yang tidak minumnya mengingatkan diri sendiri, keluarga, saudara-mara dan rakan taulan bahawa arak itu mesti dibenci kerana sesungguhnya ia adalah haram dan membinasakan.

taken from http://cerekaduniaakhirat.****...besar.html
written by Milo, January 14, 2009 22:34:38
I support PAS under the Pakatan Spirit and certainly hope they win in KT. To me the issue is settled with the Agreement among the members of Pakatan. So what I am about to mention is not to help demonise them, but just to clarify a few factual errors in this article, and to pose a few questions. Of course, I stand to be corrected if evidence can be produced to show what I state below are wrong. Here goes:

1. Currently, malaysia have written (federal & state legislation), unwritten (English/malaysian common law and equity principles) and Muslim Laws (Syariah). All these laws have good, bad and ugly elements in verious degree.

2. ISA, detention without trial, penal code, etc. are NOT under common law by legislative law, i.e. laws made by parliament. If they are not good or flawed or redundunt or excessively anti-social, they can be repealed by Parliament, i.e. they are changable by the law makers if sufficient number support the change.

3. It should be recognised that hudud law (like other Islamic laws) does have many good & rational elements in it. However, to the non-muslims at least, there are also irrational elements in the law, some which are considered quite savage even. Now, here lies the problem! Can these "flaws or weaknesses" be reasonably acknowledged by the Muslims themselves or if pointed by humanists who meant well, can they be changed like the non-Islamic laws, especially if they flow to the public sphere and are affecting non-muslims? If the answer is NO, then it is only understandable that they be treated with dread by anyone with a modern outlook.

Please understand that we cannot credibly state BN-supported medias are WRONG, just because they have bad intention. We have to point to exaltly where they are wrong factually. Nor can we claim that PAS is right in implementing Hudud just because they have good intention (which we have not doubt). One have to note that there are many horrendous things done in the world in the name of good intention.
written by Milo, January 14, 2009 22:35:46
....NOT under common law BUT legislative law
written by Milo, January 14, 2009 22:42:06
However, there are many clarifications and comments made by RPK on hudud which does make sense and are factually true. For instance, BN IS trying to demonise PAS. So, we should appreciate his effort and his continuing zeal in pushing for change. Cheers!
written by temenggong, January 14, 2009 23:05:07
Yup! Me and Zeila had great fun tonite over Chivas XO. Great gal I tell ya! Punished her for 'breakin' the law, I did. smilies/cool.gif

She said somethin' bout Whodude and KissArse. Or was is hudud and qisas? Can't say. Chivas was in the way! Anyways, took her home and punished her more, WhoDude style. Called me a devil and said, 'Gotta do it again', she says! Oh, I love them lawbreakers!! Love being a hudud cop! smilies/grin.gif Call me mufti, mama!! smilies/cheesy.gif

Gotta have a word with the MT admins. Them folks are freakin' out again! Messin with ma' posts again!
written by fan73, January 14, 2009 23:08:24
1400 year ago, The prophet warn us about today's reality

1. Muslims are more than 50% of the whole population
2. Muslims are taking half the truth, neglecting another half
3. Many of them's heart /soul were closed, because of ignorance
4. Do not recognize life after death already. The tagline "Hidup hanya sekali, kita ENJOY!" [Live once, let's enjoy!]
and many more....

Ya Allah, berilah hidayah kepada orang Islam di Malaysia-Today ini... Amiin.

-------------------------
Rasulullah s.a.w bersabda :

"Akan datang suatu masa dalam waktu dekat, bangsa-bangsa (selain umat Islam) bersatu untuk mengalahkan kamu seperti sekumpulan manusia yang berkerumun berebut-rebut hidangan makanan di sekitar mereka”

Sahabat bertanya : " Wahai Rasulullah!, apakah itu karena sedikitnya kita (umat Islam) pada waktu itu”.

Rasulullah menjawab :

"Bukan, bahkan kamu pada waktu itu adalah golongan yang banyak (majoritas), tetapi kualitas kamu pada waktu itu bagaikan buih-buih lautan yang di bawa oleh arus air. Allah telah mencabut rasa takut dari hati musuhmu terhadap kamu dan Allah mencampakkan perasaan 'wahn' ke dalam hati kamu”

Sahabat bertanya : " Wahai Rasulullah!, apa yang di maksudkan 'wahn' itu?”

Rasulullah s.a.w. menjawab : " Cinta dunia dan takut mati.”
(HR Al-Bukhari Muslim)
written by No nonsense, January 14, 2009 23:43:16
If Hudud law is already in existent why are rapist, theft,robbbers and adultry are not reported of their punishment in Kelantan and Kedah? I thought Pas is very strict on this subject. I have not heard of such punishment so far. Frankly, I am not really against Hudud law if it is for the muslims only. We will wait and see what Pas have to say to assure the other races who are non-muslims. Hopefully they will be fair.
written by chipon, January 14, 2009 23:45:42

Pete, thanks for making things more clear and easier to understand.
I'm from Kelantan and i have never done anything unfair or disrespect towards my non-muslim friends. Just take a look at the society in Kelantan and u will understand.

As for ahmadneil, God created u and the world u are living at rite now. Off course He has the right to impose rules and regulations for us. And consuming alcohol is not allowed. So we as His creation has to follow. Simple as that.

As for non-muslims who question this, i would never say u don't have the rights to question, but it's not as simple as A B C for u to understand. Just like the Indians who aren't allowed to eat juicy beef steaks..or chinese who dared to serve their tokongs with fake 'plastic' fruits. Yet, we don't question this, because we trust that there must be raesons to all this. And we respect.
written by LFLee, January 15, 2009 01:22:23
Dear Pete, can you please explain this to all the Chinese in KT?

UMNO is playing this high again and it could really swing the Chinese
votes in KT - just like BN play MAY13 few days before 1999 election, and
the Chinese were scared to hell - they forgot all the evil things
BN did - and vote for BN - to 'maintain stability'.

We cannot let this happen again in KT! smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by anakmalaysia777, January 15, 2009 01:25:56
When KJ appears again KT for his monkey shows, can one nice KT voter ask KJ what does he know about HUDUD laws that he seems pronounce with a large degree of derision. You can take a safe bet that he knows nothing about it. He is repeating like a monkey what his handlers asked him to lip.

This should help resolve a lot of problems for both UMNO and PAS and for amny Malaysians, who now have a better understanding of HUDUD - thanks to RPK.
written by Davy McChester, January 15, 2009 02:17:55
Wine drinking and 72 virgins in Islamic heaven is perfectly okay. Here on earth not oklah ?
written by ASK4u, January 15, 2009 07:48:48
fan73 wrote:
"Akan datang suatu masa dalam waktu dekat, bangsa-bangsa (selain umat Islam) bersatu untuk mengalahkan kamu seperti sekumpulan manusia yang berkerumun berebut-rebut hidangan makanan di sekitar mereka”

How true. Probably this is what is happening in GAZA and around the world today. Muslim 's being massacred. I hope Allah will not punish Muslim's as he did the jews of old by banishing them out of the holy land of Israel.The jews were also massacred in Germany and elsewhere. The holy prophet(pbuh) also said that Islam will shrink into where it originally came from because of in-fighting among the various Islamic groups. Probably, the Muslim's should go back to the true teachings of Islam (e.g., avoiding the 7 sins) by renouncing violence and not just harp on one aspect, i.e., Jihad(holy war) in the pretext of defending Islam. There is some valuable lessons to be learned from the events that is unfolding around the world. We should not incur God's wrath.
written by Mirage, January 15, 2009 08:39:27
Dear Chipon,

Your statement made should be one that entails respect the differences and focus on the commonality. By doing so I wish to add that imposing non-secular believes will deviate from that respect as seen in the many view pts of this forum. I am glad that a perspective like that came from a Malay esp from Kelantan.

We have seen how fast and united the different races came together during the March 8 Election due to their common believe that the we have not made much progress economically, corruption was rampant and the dual standards that BN has openly showed us, coupled with a weak administration. While a lot can still be bought by candy and sweets but the majority even Malays in the rural are not seeing the progression or the NEP helping them. They continue to suffer along side with the non Malays. We saw this even more so when oil was hedge causing escalating petrol prices which all of us suffered. Again the lack of idea from the fed government required the PR to suggest reducing the petrol price and were initially adamant. And when they did reduce the price, many statements were made by the relevant BN ministers which were not coherent. So from my perspective, commonality to bring the ppl together work much faster than preaching unity esp by the BN but acting otherwise.

All this shows that the BN Gov were very complacent all this while and did not have any idea when a change like that required their fast action. This can also be seen during the election that the PR were already exploring diff media to propagate the manifesto and policies while the BN was still at their old ways and controlling the local media. Even blogs by the Deputy Premier came out much later learning from esp Anwar and Lim Kit Siang and whole work of PR. Some of the PR were even using facebook at a very early stage. So if we believe in change we must also believe in ensuring the party that we support can adapt to change. Otherwise the lackadaisical attitude of being complacent will come back.
written by DezMalaysia, January 15, 2009 09:25:59
Awesome article & very clear !

Have this translated into Mandarin. I promise to copy paste it and e-mail it to all of my friends & family !
written by cruzeiro, January 15, 2009 09:30:19
Woh-dude(or is it WhoDude?) Temenggong,
You're in top form man!!!
ROTFLOL!! Thanks for the good laugh first thing in the morning, mate!
I'm so glad someone's having fun whodude & kissarse style
.... Malaysia needs more creative guys like you man!
Can I nominate you for PAS supporter club President?
Now I say - Go-Zilla!!
written by cruzeiro, January 15, 2009 09:34:32
BTW tmnggng,
While I'm sure she lit your fire,
did the fire "rage out of control"? smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Heaven8402, January 15, 2009 10:40:47
Dear Temenggong, It sounds fun and adventurous though I gotta take a rain check that day or else threesome would definitely fun.
Who care about WhoDude or KissArse, Chivas comes first.
You're the man!!!
written by Rhan, January 15, 2009 10:48:33
Dear Pete, can you please explain this to all the Chinese in KT?

Explain what? You think the KT Chinese is that naïve?

If DAP tell the Chinese we should adhere to Confucius advice and live a life of the so-called great Zhou dynasty, we would also have to think twice before giving them our vote.

Anyway, if still insist to do explanation, Pas should do it, not RPK.
written by hellosunshine, January 15, 2009 12:05:36
No offense to RPK but he seems to be the PAS spokesman nowadays. So far, we have heard from RPK and even LGE on PAS' stand. I would have preferred to hear it from the horse's mouth, meaning an official PAS spokesman expert in hudud and Islamic laws be it from the Hadi group or the 'Erdogan' group.
This would definitely lay to rest, once and for all, lingering doubts which some of us have on PAS' official stand and direction. Is it that hard to do?
smilies/smiley.gif
written by slimbrowser, January 15, 2009 12:32:32
Temenggong,

You sure you have punished her enough for breaking the WhoDude law? She should be given 6 strokes. You gave her one and you have 5 more.

This WhoDude cop is a cool job. How do I apply for directorship? Any vacancy?
written by slimbrowser, January 15, 2009 12:34:53
If all the Hamas people and Jihad people starts drinking till they drop, the world would be a peaceful place to live in.

The problem is, they have not been drinking enough. Their alert mind makes them more deadly.
written by DontPlayGod, January 15, 2009 13:42:39
The only laws I don't agree with hudud is the cutting off of limbs, and stoning to death for adultery/out-of-marriage sex. Other than that I don't have any objections.

But I do agree that some of the present UMNO's laws are more brutal, like the ISA, and death for arms and drugs possession. I would agree to the death sentence for armed robbery and treason for armed rebellion.

Repugnant to me is also the case of the Muslims sentenced for whipping for drinking alcohol.

All said and done, I don't for one moment, agree that men should play God. Leave God to punish those who has transgressed HIS laws. Don't punish anybody on behalf of God.

I am asking one simple question to the Islamists. If you have punished people on behalf of God, does it mean that after the punishment, they will again start with a clean slate, or will the record be forever be in the books. Will they go to heaven(paradise for some), as they have already been punished according to so-called Islamic laws by men playing God?
written by Mirage, January 15, 2009 14:19:44
J
written by Mirage, January 15, 2009 14:27:55
Don'tPlayGod quoted:
But I do agree that some of the present UMNO's laws are more brutal, like the ISA, and death for arms and drugs possession. I would agree to the death sentence for armed robbery and treason for armed rebellion.

??? I puzzled when you say you do not agree with death for arms and drug possesion but agree with death sentense for armed robbery??? Who are we to decide when a person with arm possession is going to rob or kill or even those who posses drug are going to sell or distribute? The law is there to prevent others from getting hurt and not only after it happens. Look at the massacre in US each time how many deaths as compared to those who posses guns and get punished.
written by DontPlayGod, January 15, 2009 18:23:44
Mirage wrote:

"I puzzled when you say you do not agree with death for arms and drug possesion but agree with death sentense for armed robbery??? Who are we to decide when a person with arm possession is going to rob or kill or even those who posses drug are going to sell or distribute? The law is there to prevent others from getting hurt and not only after it happens. Look at the massacre in US each time how many deaths as compared to those who posses guns and get punished."

What I wrote is that the punishment is too harsh, and out of proportions. In the same context, if you agree that the death penalty should be applied, then how about those who have parang's in their houses? How about those who have steel pipes in their houses? Can't they use these to kill and slaughter people? Maybe the death penalty should also be applied to those who have parang's and steel pipes, or hammers in their houses? All these tools can be used to kill and severly injure anybody.

In China, the Government shoot people for corruption. This is something that is too harsh and out of proportions with the crime. Possibly, whipping and a jail term would be sufficient. The point I was trying to make is that the punishment is too extreme and harsh. In some countries, e.g. U.S.A. they have even banned the death penalty, yet in Islam, they allow stoning of adulterers to death and cutting off of hands for thieves. Seems like people are more merciful and humane than "God".
written by Futurist, January 15, 2009 18:33:55
Common muslims get charged in court, fined & caned for consuming beer or alcohol. What happened to the ex-minister VVIP from Pahang, who was reported by the papers to have been in the bar of a 6* hotel drinking alcohol? 2 sets of laws, is it so?
written by Mirage, January 15, 2009 18:53:20
Don'tPlayGod,

Do you apply licence for parang? How many ppl can you kill with parang at one time as oppose to guns? The fact that a person can even hold a gun itself is already a responsibility on its own. In many countries, for you to apply for a gun, as a hunter u have to get approval from at least 2 farms. Otherwise to get a gun for personal protection will have to go through many process including responsible ownership. While the US may be liberal from states to states, look at the damage from the massacre that has happen time and time again. How many have we heard of a single person using a parang to kill as oppose to a massacre.

If you believe ppl should not be punish severely for having a gun without licence, why in the first place these same ppl did not apply for licence if they were going to use the gun responsibly as I have share for reason of hunting or personal protection unless they have ulterior motives. If so you would not want to be at the ends of these ppl for not knowing what they are capable. Who is to say that you can own 1 gun or 2 guns or more before that same person is deem dangerous. And some would want to argue that if they have more than 1 firearm they may be up to something sinister. Again who would know what the intentions are there if a person owns a firearm illigelly.

written by hellosunshine, January 15, 2009 21:28:31
Quote RPK
"And if you are caught with a gun, even though you did not commit any crime with it, you will be put to death. Islam, however, guarantees citizens the right to bear arms, just like in the US."

Aiyaa... no need to argue got license or no license. When we become Islamic country, we can start buying guns and bombs and then we take no shit from nobody.
written by Msahibul56, January 15, 2009 22:14:59
Caning for drinking alchoholic drink? Well, that's not God's hudud (law). No punishment is stated in the Quran for that. Man-made laws maybe, but certainly not God's law.
Anyway, for your information, most of the so-called syariah law is not actually God's law - they are man-made.
For example, there is no punishment is the Quran meted against apostasy.
"If they turn apostate, that is not your responsibility - the duty lies with God."
written by Proarte, January 15, 2009 23:16:35
Thanks to UMNO and PAS for debating the HUDUD issue. But the greatest honour should go to Khairy for 'cleverly' cornering PAS into making its earlier ridiculous unilateral declaration that Hudud and Qisas will be implemented when Pakatan comes to power. The furore created and the probable loss of the crucial Chinese support has made PAS do a deal with the 'Kaffir' party DAP. As a result of PAS desperation to be relevant in Pakatan and to win KT, it has agreed to DAP's and Karpal's demand that any new Islamic laws and rulings which do not have DAP's approval cannot be part of Pakatan's policies.

The ultimate winner in this election is DAP. Either way it has won. If UMNO wins, DAP has managed to sideline the Hadi faction and establish closer ties with the 'Erdogan' or secular PAS faction. If PAS wins, DAP will be credited for bringing about a PAS win and not Hadi. Further, it has managed to extract a water tight agreement that 'Allah's Laws' can never be part of Pakatan policy if DAP rejects it.

A job well done DAP! Bravo Kit, Guan Eng & Karpal!
written by tianng, January 16, 2009 09:11:23
My call to KT voters:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ijkKuSHOHDo

http://www.merdekablog.com

written by Running Sardines, January 16, 2009 10:50:08
Dear RPK

I salute you for your thoughts. You are absolutely right and I pray that all voters in KT will come to their senses and vote PR for the wind of change we so long desire ... I cannot live for another 51 years but I hope I live long enough to see this change before I go and meet my Creator.
written by mick_err_stan, January 16, 2009 15:25:19
If I do wrong my religion because I drink Alcohol, it's between me and my God. Let the almighty judge me when the time comes and no man should have the power to play God. If I get drunk and I break the law, then let the law be my judge.

Religion should be a personal matter between an individual and God.
written by densemy, January 16, 2009 18:53:21
Most non muslims dont fear muslims. They just think of them as poor misguided people who have, in the name of their god, been indoctrinated to be mindless, non thinking excuses for human beings
written by Milo, January 17, 2009 23:19:53
Muslims dont fear muslims, they merely object to any invasive Islamic policy that may unfairly interferes with their freedom of beliefs and values.
written by lokenpal, January 19, 2009 06:21:01
Guess HUDUD laws need to send these beer drinkers for AA rehab or those who drink too much are sent to hudud doctors.
written by Huador, January 19, 2009 13:01:05
Dear RPK and Bloggers Team,

Thank you all for giving BN and good punches on their faces. The swelling from the March 8 is yet to recover while the bleeding of Permatang Pauh is still fresh.

This is only the beginning of the fight. When the next bell ring make sure they are floored before they open their mouth. The final round on the 13 GE, i am sure MCA and MIC would be history. UMNO will hang on to be Pakatan punching bag and we will have great fun politically. By then we will hand over this country peacefully to our children and we will all rest in peace whereever our destiny.
You RPK will be recorded in history books as the pioneer blogger who started the jokes. Your names will be listed among Ghandi, Mandela, and all fredom fighters in history. For that, please accept my humble solute. My great respect you Sir.

written by EYFF, January 20, 2009 00:25:09
What else is new? Even during the Colonial day Hudud was enforced for some offenses under another guise for the Muslims in the Native Court !!