Home arrow News & Commentaries arrow Poll: Candidate trumps party

Poll: Candidate trumps party PDF Print
Wednesday, 14 January 2009 07:28

By Zedeck Siew, The Nut Graph

The quality of the candidate standing in the Kuala Terengganu parliamentary by-election is more important than current issues and party capability, a new poll has revealed.

Seventy-seven percent of a 527-person sample polled by the Merdeka Centre for Opinion Research considered the quality of the candidate as "very important", while factors such as the "trustworthiness of party leaders" and "current issues" rated lower. This tendency remained even as the responses were tallied by ethnicity.

However, Chinese Malaysian respondents appeared to feel strongly about the issue of fair treatment, regardless of race or bumiputera status. Ninety-four percent of 119 ethnically Chinese Malaysians queried chose "supremacy of the people" as a more appropriate ideal for Malaysian politics, as opposed to "Malay dominance".

More than half (53%) of the Chinese Malaysians polled thought that the Terengganu state government should concentrate on treating non-Malay Malaysians equally.

The Kuala Terengganu by-election is a three-way fight between the Barisan Nasional (BN)'s Datuk Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh from Umno, PAS's Mohd Abdul Wahid Endut, and independent Azharudin Mamat @ Adam. The Chinese Malaysian community, which comprises 10.95% of voters, is widely believed to be the swing vote in the by-election.

According to the Merdeka Centre, the survey was conducted from 7 to 10 Jan, and was designed to "uncover issues affecting the voters ...as well as to uncover how they are responding to statements and campaign issues brought forth by the contesting parties."

The sample comprised voters registered in Kuala Terengganu, and were interviewed by telephone.

Comments (7)Add Comment
written by Krepot, January 14, 2009 07:36:15
All Malaysians wants to be an EQUAL!
If the blacks in South Africa have achieved it, why can't we?
Are we worst off then South Africans blacks?
written by *********, January 14, 2009 08:00:52
Najib says that BN will be hoping to grab all the 500 odd Indian voters at Kuala Terengganu. Unfortunately, Stupid Hamid Albar's statement on the Sri Lanka Tamils has just helped PAS to grab all the Indian votes...More http://*********.********.com
written by ahmadneil, January 14, 2009 08:44:11
Racist mahathir said it all,"They have chosen a wrong candidate".
written by savemalaysia, January 14, 2009 11:56:40
The UMNO's candidate belongs to a party that cheats and swindles while the PAS' candidate belongs to a party that cares and despices corruption. That's the big difference between the two and the reason why the quality of the candidate is a triumphant factor in KT's by-election.

written by DreamLady, January 14, 2009 13:08:24
Zedeck Siew, the sample collected is through telehone interviews, according to the write up, how about taking another sample of the same number of people selected at random among those you come across in the streets???Add up the 2 results, and divide the number by 2, that shall prove to be closest to accuracy of what you have predicted!

Zedeck, you have to understand not every house in Kt has a phone, for those who stay at home, they might have different version of the questions you asked.
written by miwaki, January 14, 2009 14:17:15
No survey is needed in KT,UMNO " su liao" ha ha ha.
written by steviewonger, January 14, 2009 15:38:21
This Nut Graph column is really a big NUT. Why is it still saying Malay/Chinese/Indian/etc Malaysians while we, Malaysian are still Malaysian Malay/Chnese/Indian/etc.There is a big difference in your phrase. Malaysian comes first instead of our races.
Please re-phrase your writing. Nut Graph is inciting a racial discrimination between all races. We are not Malays nor Chinese nor Indians nor etc...etc.
We are Malaysian, and only one Malaysian race.
Shit to all Nut Graph writers. You guys owed all Malaysian an apology.