Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Run-up to K. Terengganu by-election: Come clean on oil royalty, govt told

Run-up to K. Terengganu by-election: Come clean on oil royalty, govt told PDF Print
Wednesday, 14 January 2009 07:17

(NST) - Pas president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang wants the government to "come clean" about the actual amount "owed" to the people of Terengganu on unpaid oil royalty.

"The numbers announced by Menteri Besar Datuk Ahmad Said do not add up," he said at a press conference at the Parliament lobby yesterday. "We have all the records and we will reveal them during the campaigning period of the by-election."

Ahmad had earlier announced that the Federal Government had disbursed RM7.64 billion in oil royalty owed to the state, revealing that they were still waiting for another RM1.5 billion in unpaid dues.

Hadi argued that the unpaid dues should be a billion ringgit more.

He said the oil royalty should not be used to build airports and other amenities in the state.

"Airports must be built by the Federal Government. We want to know whether the 'wang ehsan' is also part of the oil royalty," he said, referring to the money given to the state during Pas rule.

written by Krepot, January 14, 2009 07:32:39
Where is the money?
Where did it go?
Mana wang tersebut?
Kemana pergi nya wang tersebut?
Simple!
written by johanssm, January 14, 2009 08:39:10
ask umno come out clean?
they are hiding bala , using saiful's anus , diverting lingam case,covering up polis abuses, buying mercedes benzs , hiding up PKFZ, called our Agong as "natang" ,making up stories to frame RPK ,how to come out clean?
written by ahmadneil, January 14, 2009 08:46:49
The money is already in their pockets and some are already spent on shopping with Altantuya in Paris and HongKong.
And for the rest ,ask Racist mahathir.His 8 billion is part of this loot.
written by DreamLady, January 14, 2009 09:07:08
Abdul Hadi Awang, don't you know that all this while the money you saw splashing everywhere by UMNO regime in KT for campaigning and vote-buying is in actual fact: TRENGGANU STATE'S OIL ROYALTIES!!!!

Saudara Abdul Hadi , go after the debtors, go after the cheat, go after the corrupt and expose their misdeeds!!!!No mercy should be spared for devils!
written by Bigjoe99, January 14, 2009 09:42:21
Actually from the Merdeka Review poll, its interesting thing to ask who is doing the right thing going down the wire. BN is going to the heavy negative campaigning and cheating way which is expected backed against the wall. But what should PAS/PR do. The best thing is to dig out new evidence of corruption and scandals particularly with the BN candidate or the election itself. All they need is a small one and they will go over the top with the Malay voters.....
written by adan, January 14, 2009 09:44:39
The missing billions have all been accounted fro based on the formaula 20%-20%.
20% was used by by BN LEADRES and their families as 'BONUS AND ENTERTAINMENT ALLOWNACES' for services rendered.
20% was shared out among their supporters and cronies for 'SERVICE CHAREGS AND TIPS'.
Well WHAT ABOUT THE OTHER 60%?? Well,MAHA IDEAS DO NOT COME CHEAP,DO THEY??
written by InEffective, January 14, 2009 10:20:38
Find it remarkable that each and every single average citizen - Malay, Chinese, Indian, Sabahan, Sarawakian does not believe he has rights to Malaysia's Oil Bounty. They seem to have mindless blind trust that the politicians should own that fabulous wealth, and seem quite content that politicians retain absolute, un-accountable opaque (non-transparent) control over this. One thing is clear - if you don't fight for your Oil rights, its going to be siphoned off by politicians (either directly, or indirectly by financing useless or hyper-inflated projects). Stupidity has no limits in Malaysia.
written by borneoman, January 14, 2009 10:56:32
WHACK TUAN MELAYU UMNO REAL HARD THIS TIME, WILL YA.
written by savemalaysia, January 14, 2009 12:03:15
When Pak Lah's family and cronies and the UMNO's big wigs have pocketted the billions, they would never dared open the files on the oil royalties. UMNO has zero transparency which means it is forever capable of embezzling the nation's wealth. Such a corrupted regime should be booted out, otherwise it will infect the nation.
written by lynn, January 14, 2009 22:03:29
Every single voter in KT shld vote PAS.
Don't you people know how to ask relevant pertinent questions?
" WHERE ARE THE BILLIONS?"
Why are there still so many chronic poor in Trengganu inspite of your wealth of resources?
Who took all your state's wealth & give you folks 'crumbs'?
Did PAS take your wealth? You know the truth, the answer is "NO".
So you still want to vote those men who "robbed" you of your money? You got to be kidding if you haven't got this sorted out in your heads! Vote PAS!