Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Whom can we trust, PAS or Umno?

Whom can we trust, PAS or Umno? PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 13 January 2009 11:06

So, whom can we trust? A party that respects and will comply to the Federal Constitution of Malaysia or one that violates the Constitution every step of the way? That is the fundamental issue in the Kuala Terengganu by-election.

This was what The Nut Graph wrote yesterday:

Poor Datuk Wan Ahmad Farid Wan Salleh. Much has been made of his looks and demeanour in an election where perception could turn out to mean everything.

As the Barisan Nasional (BN) candidate in the Kuala Terengganu parliamentary by-election, Wan Farid has been advised to smile more and behave less snobbishly. In this semi-urban east coast constituency, people want their elected representative to be friendly, accessible, and to possess the human touch.

Though a local boy, the 46-year-old former lawyer grew up in a privileged family of civil servants. During the campaigning, remarks have been passed that he should wear the kain pelikat (sarong) more when canvassing among the locals. He's also been advised to not be afraid to sit on the floor of homes to show that he is one of them.

Perception problems

Another perception problem Wan Farid faces is his links to outgoing Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi. He was the premier's political secretary for four years, before being appointed senator and made deputy home minister after the March 2008 general election. He has since resigned from both positions to contest in the Kuala Terengganu by-election.

Additionally, it didn't help the BN campaign when former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad described Wan Farid as Abdullah's proxy.

Wan Farid also got caught in the web of allegations that Abdullah's cronies were given the contracts to build the Pulau Duyong marine facilities to host the annual Monsoon Cup sailing competition, and the Islamic theme park on Pulau Wan Man.

His candidacy has appeared to put BN on the defensive in this campaign. Top leaders including Abdullah and Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak have been giving one explanation after another on Wan Farid's perceived aloofness, the proxy allegation, and his capabilities as a first-time candidate.

Development gains

Wan Farid's campaign message rides on the BN's development track record. He is positioned as a representative who will be able to help the electorate because of the government machinery behind him.

Najib has also promised that Wan Farid will be reappointed as a deputy minister if he wins this election. The message to voters is that Wan Farid, as a deputy minister, would have better access to federal help than a PAS Member of Parliament (MP).

However, his former ministerial post is being used against him in Pakatan Rakyat ceramah. The opposition alliance has used blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin, who was detained under the Internal Security Act (ISA), to speak against Wan Farid, although it is the home minister who signs detention orders.

"If he wins and becomes deputy home minister again, he will sign orders to detain people like you and me under ISA," Raja Petra told a largely Chinese crowd at a ceramah in Bandar Baru, Pulau Kambing on 9 Jan.

Internal factionalism

Politically, the former senator and deputy home minister has never contested an election, whether at state or parliamentary level

In Umno, Wan Farid is the party's two-term Kuala Terengganu division chief. He won the post uncontested the second time in divisional elections in July 2008. Despite this show of Umno grassroots unity, factionalism within the division has given the opposition PAS leverage to run down his candidacy.

PAS has drawn comparisons between Wan Farid and the previous MP and deputy education minister, Datuk Razali Ismail, whose death in November 2008 forced this by-election. Razali was liked for his efforts to improve education in the state. He beat his PAS contender, the popular Mohamad Sabu, in the 2008 general election by a slim majority of 628 votes.

During the campaign, Wan Farid has been forced to say that as division chief, he never sidelined Razali, who ran for the division's vice-chief post but lost to Wan Farid's brother, Datuk Wan Hisham Wan Salleh.

Thus, the BN's announcement of Wan Farid as their candidate two weeks ahead of nomination day on 6 Jan was seen as a move to give the factions time to cool down and unite.

Wan Farid has denied any internal rivalry and said his early candidacy gave him an edge to know voters better. He will face PAS's Abdul Wahid Endut and independent Azharudin Mamat @ Adam in the 17 Jan polls.

The Nut Graph managed to interview Wan Farid, who is the father of six girls, on a campaign stop. He was at a kampung in Kuala Bekah, where a Rural and Regional Development Ministry function was being held on 10 Jan.

TNG: If you become MP, how do you propose to eradicate poverty and improve living conditions for the poor in Kuala Terengganu?

Wan Farid: I have discovered while on the campaign trail that people want more opportunities. They do not know that we have so many facilities and so many things they can participate in. My concern is to make sure they are well informed of these opportunities.

The Terengganu government has decided not to pursue the wang ehsan (oil royalties) civil suit (filed when PAS was the state government) against the federal government. Do you agree?

The matter is closed. The moment the federal government returned the royalty, the case has become academic.

But there are disputes over the figures. The royalties have not been fully returned.

The opposition is making [it out] as if the federal government is taking advantage of the state government. With the final payment of RM408 million in December, everything has been settled. There are no arrears anymore.

What kind of personal advantages do you have over the other candidates, which aren't related to you representing the BN?

I was in Parliament, in the Dewan Negara for three years. And for the last nine months I was a member of the administration. I've appeared in both Dewan Rakyat and Dewan Negara.

Your stand on hudud law.

I don't think it's an issue.

The opposition is using your post as former deputy home minister against you. What is your stand on the ISA?

In government, we cannot have individual [positions] on policies. Whoever speaks against me individually must also understand that you can't have a different view as a member of the administration.

You want to speak about this, you must understand parliamentary democracy, must understand how the cabinet works, must understand collective responsibility. Okay, if they want to attack me on this, it means they don't understand parliamentary democracy.

Should the ISA be at least reviewed?

My stand is parallel with the government's. It is good as it is. Preventive law has mechanisms and safeguards, which people don't talk about. They only talk about the so-called repressive law.

You can see, recently, whoever was arrested under the ISA could go to court and apply for habeas corpus, and there were instances where the court allowed the application. We have the necessary safeguards.

Is being the former deputy home affairs minister a liability to your campaign because of the issues the opposition is raising?

No, it's not a liability at all. Because I appear on TV almost every alternate day when Parliament is in session and the people of Terengganu know me.

Are you a reluctant candidate because you stand to lose so much in your political career?

I'm not a reluctant candidate. In politics, it's not about you. It's about the people you represent.

If you lose, what are your plans?

I'm not going to talk about that. It's premature.

By Deborah Loh, The Nut Graph

When asked about his stand on Hudud, Wan Farid Wan Salleh, Barisan Nasional’s candidate for the Kuala Terengganu by-election, replied, “I don't think it's an issue.” He did not say whether he supports Hudud or opposes it. He just refused to commit himself to the issue.

As I had written over the last few days, while UMNO and MCA have challenged PKR and DAP to state their stands on the Islamic State and Hudud, Umno itself will not commit itself to the issue. PAS can’t change Malaysia from a Secular State to an Islamic State. It can’t abrogate our common laws and replace them with Islamic laws. It can’t do that now or even in the future. As has been pointed out many times, the arithmetic just does not allow PAS to do that. It’s as simple as that. It’s all about the arithmetic. And PAS has said so many times that anything it does will be according to the Federal Constitution of Malaysia and not in violation of it.

Umno, however, can. This is because, through the Barisan Nasional coalition, they have the majority in Parliament, although no longer a two-thirds majority since the 8 March 2008 general election. So we need to ask Umno, not PAS, the question. Would we ask a person who has never bought a lottery in his life what he would do with his millions if he won first prize? He may reply he would marry a second wife, go to Mekah to perform the Haj, build a school, set up an orphanage, etc. But his reply would be purely academic since he has never bought, and will never buy, a lottery in his entire life. In fact, he considers lotteries as haram and that is why he does not want to gamble. So why ask him what he would do with his winnings if that is something that is never going to happen?

But Umno is in power. They are the federal government. They are the ones, not PAS, who has the power to abrogate our laws, amend the laws, change the laws, and turn Malaysia from a Secular State into an Islamic State. So Umno must be asked this question. And when asked, Wan Farid very deviously replies, “I don't think it's an issue.”

But it is an issue. And it is an issue because UMNO and MCA have challenged PKR and DAP to state their stands on the issue. And PKR and DAP have, time and again, said they are opposed to the issue. And, to demonstrate this, two days ago they got PAS to agree to an agreement that any and all policy matters must be based on consensus. All three partners within Pakatan Rakyat must unanimously agree to any policy matters. A simple majority is not enough. It must be either all or nothing.

The ball is now at Umno’s feet. Umno claims to be the largest Islamic party in the world. This is what Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad declared when he was the Prime Minister of Malaysia. And it is Umno that keeps raising the issue of the Islamic State and Hudud. Khairy Jamaluddin, the Prime Minister’s son-in-law, has been going around Kuala Terengganu proudly claiming that it was he who very cleverly trapped Husam Musa into making his slip-of-the-lips in the debate they engaged in.

Pakatan Rakyat has laid the matter to rest. The issue is no longer an issue. It is now a non-issue. So what is Umno’s stand on the Islamic State and Islamic laws? That is what the voters, in particular the non-Malay voters, would like to know. Is Umno ferociously opposed to the Islamic State and Hudud? Or does it not dare state its stand, one way or the other?

Umno does not dare state its stand. Umno would rather say: "I don't think it's an issue." But, to many, they do think it is an issue. The temples being demolished are in Umno-run states. The churches being denied permission to be set up are in Umno-run states. The Malay language Bible is being denied permission the use of the word ‘Allah’ by the Umno-led federal government. Those being detained by the religious authorities for ‘immoral conduct’ are in Umno-run states and they are being detained by federal agencies.

Where is PAS’s hand in all these? All we see is the hand of Umno. PAS is said to be an extremist party. But it is the Umno-run states and the Umno-led federal government that appears to be doing all these extremist acts, in the name of Islam. PAS, on the other hand, approves churches and temples in the states it runs -- while the many years the state was under Umno control the non-Muslims failed to get permission.

There is currently an ongoing court case in Sabah. Chong Kah Kiat, the 13th Chief Minister of Sabah, the former president of the Liberal Democratic Party (a member of Barisan Nasional), is taking the Umno state government to court for not allowing a Buddhist statue to be built in the state. Chong, who was the Deputy Chief Minister, also resigned his post in protest. It is not PAS but Umno that is blocking the Ma Tzu or Goddess of The Sea statue in Kudat, Sabah.

Stop asking PAS, DAP or PKR their stands. Their stands are clear. Their stands are: no changes without consensus. And all changes must be according to the Federal Constitution of Malaysia and not in violation of it. And that goes for the internal Security Act as well. PAS, DAP or PKR are opposed to the Internal Security Act.

When asked about his stand on the Internal Security Act, this was what Wan Farid replied: “In government, we cannot have individual [positions] on policies.”

When asked whether the Internal Security Act should at least be reviewed, Wan Farid replied: “My stand is parallel with the government's. It is good as it is.”

Read his lips, very slowly. He does not have an individual opinion. His stand is parallel with the government. The ISA is good and will remain. The fact that the ISA is unconstitutional does not matter. Umno is prepared to violate the Constitution. PAS said it would not do anything that goes against the Constitution. Wan Farid says the Constitution does not matter.

The Constitution says no one can be detained without being told of his/her crime and must be produced in front of a magistrate within 24 hours. The Internal Security Act allows one to be detained without being told of his/her crime and they can be held without being brought in front of a magistrate for the rest of his/her life.

According to the Constitution, a person is innocent until proven guilty. And the onus is on the Prosecution to prove guilt. The Accused needs not prove innocence. All he or she has to do is to raise reasonable doubt and the benefit of the doubt must be given to the Accused. Under the Internal Security Act, the government needs not prove guilt and the Accused has to instead justify that his or her detention is invalid. But the detained person will not be allowed a trial. Instead, a panel will hear the arguments of the Accused in secret, behind closed doors. And, in all cases, the panel will reject the arguments of the Accused.

And that is why PAS opposes the ISA, because it violates the Constitution. PAS respects the Constitution. And PAS respects the Constitution not only with regards to the right of an accused to a fair and open trial but also with regards to converting Malaysia into an Islamic State and the implementation of Islamic laws. Umno, however, according to Wan Farid, says: “In government, we cannot have individual [positions] on policies.”

So, whom can we trust? A party that respects and will comply to the Federal Constitution of Malaysia or one that violates the Constitution every step of the way? That is the fundamental issue in the Kuala Terengganu by-election. PAS has spoken. Umno too has spoken. And both voices are loud and clear. The issue is not just about the Internal Security Act or Hudud. It is about laws that are implemented which do not violate the Federal Constitution of Malaysia. Umno does not care about the Constitution. PAS does. So who makes a better government?

You, the voters of Kuala Terengganu, can decide this on Saturday, 17 January 2009. And you need not be a rocket scientist to figure out which of the two makes a better government.

Comments (62)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, January 13, 2009 11:11:38
umno is on the verge of mental breakdown.Knowingly very well that their grip on KT is slowly losing,their patience is wearing thin.Now the decision is whether to abandon this campaign or not.Either way is like the devil and the deep blue sea.Hell awaits umno!Vote PAS!
agree 129
written by ahmadneil, January 13, 2009 11:18:39
With constant speeches at Ocean Restuarant,the chinese are very much convinced by what DAP and RPK are saying.Many left the restuarant smiling and their decision to vote PAS is final.umno will have no issue left to pollute the minds and hearts of the voters in KT.These mature voters are going to give umno a final funeral rite before throwing their ashes into the South Chiba Sea.adios umno! You all will be joining Saddam Hussien,Suharto,Hilter etc ,down in the seventh layer hell.
written by Oscar Winner, January 13, 2009 11:18:52
In America there is Hollywood,
In India it’s known as Bollywood.

In Bolehland we’re called UMNOwood,
Where you can find lies and falsehood.

We rob and do not give two hoots,
Since we aren’t saints or Robinhood.

Welcome to racist UMNOwood!
Enjoy endless dramas by dead wood…..

In UMNOwood, all actors and actresses are multiple Oscar winners with their own version of Walk of Shame

TRUST NONE OF THESE OSCAR WINNERS
agree 221
written by Bigjoe99, January 13, 2009 11:18:52
Have this guy ever achieved anything on HIS OWN ever? Can someone tell me what he has actually achieved ON HIS OWN? It seems to me everything he has gotten, he is just a coat-tail rider. He rode on his father's influence in UMNO Terengganu, then its on Badawi's coattail etc. This guy is nothing but a prodigal child, can't do anything without being carried by someone.. Its why he does not stand out one way or other. Basically there is little substance inside really...
written by asguard, January 13, 2009 11:27:12
You heared and learn the trade marks of tiga suku UMNO whom is capable of doing any it like to have..in its own way..by means of playing dirty and manipulation! So whom you trust the tiga suku UMNO tampoi-bahagia or PAS? Ask your self this question!
written by Newkidonblog, January 13, 2009 11:27:38
All good muslims and good Malaysians will say, "We trust PAS!".
All bandits, murderers, Munafiqs and pseudo Muslims will say, "We trust Umno!"
written by ahmadneil, January 13, 2009 11:29:31
Last night I was with some of my friends at one of the coffeshop in KT.To hear what they say about their believes and intentions are really smoothing.They are all simple mind people and what they say are from their heart.They 'grumble' about how umno,been a dominant party can behaves like 'Tai Ko'(gangster boss).I thought that they won't be as well inform as those in KL,but that is not the case.They seems to know alot about the corrupted practice of umno/BN.As we chatted late into the night,I have a feeling PAS will win big this time becos the chinese are fully convince that MCA and umno can longer be trusted.When you you listen carefully to what they say,honestly,this time change is coming.I too hope that it will be umno biggest defeat ,after Permatang Pauh.Vote PAS !
written by ahmadneil, January 13, 2009 11:31:12
Dear PETE,
After so many days in ground zero,what do you think will be the majority!As you are so close with the voters too,you must have some clue!
written by savemalaysia, January 13, 2009 11:36:20
History have clearly shown beyond any reasonable doubt that UMNO is abusive, arrogant, corrupted, indifferent and protect their own self-interest. But we can't find the same malaises with PAS. That being the cse, PAS is certainly cleaner and more trustworthy than UMNO.
written by DreamLady, January 13, 2009 11:38:25
Hi, Raja Petra, many thanks for the 'diagnosis', I believe when you break up the tiny, little things hidden between the lines which most people fail to notice, you have done great justice to all readers as we could understand the event or meaning with pronounced clarity..thank you very much for all the effort and time spent to enlighten us further...

Yes, indeed, PAS, Pakatan is the one and only choice the Malaysians have if we want fairness and justice to prevail in our nation.

To all KT voters, UNDILAH PAS!!! God bless PAS, God bless the people of Malaysia!!!
written by kl_wong, January 13, 2009 11:38:46
I trust own self. I dont trust any politicians. For this time being, any PR party will be my choice. Until the BN change their way, until then I do not trust any of the UMNO, MCA or MIC. For BN really need to stop misabusing power, stop corruption and stop been arrogance, I believe many of us RAKYAT will vote for PR. Or is there any 3 choices to choose from?
written by alan cheong, January 13, 2009 11:39:19
lemme put it this way: i am not partial to pas nor its idelas nor ideologies. however, i will NEVER trust umno.

TNG's 'interview' merely reinforces the perception that farid is just one of umno's many barua bangsat kughang hajau.
written by ahmadneil, January 13, 2009 11:47:29
Quote...If you lose, what are your plans?

I'm not going to talk about that. But I know umno will blame me and they will probably put a rope round my neck and lead me to the nearest slaughter house.I'm ready for it!
written by mikeyboy, January 13, 2009 11:50:57
Boy this guy really struggled with his answers!

What kind of personal advantages do you have over the other candidates, which aren't related to you representing the BN?

I was in Parliament, in the Dewan Negara for three years. And for the last nine months I was a member of the administration. I've appeared in both Dewan Rakyat and Dewan Negara.

Er hate to burst your bubble but both answers ARE relate to you representing BN - the interviewer was obviously looking for personal attributes dumbass!

Also:

The opposition is using your post as former deputy home minister against you. What is your stand on the ISA?

In government, we cannot have individual [positions] on policies. Whoever speaks against me individually must also understand that you can't have a different view as a member of the administration. You want to speak about this, you must understand parliamentary democracy, must understand how the cabinet works, must understand collective responsibility. Okay, if they want to attack me on this, it means they don't understand parliamentary democracy.

So let me get this straight you can have an individual position on policies therefore you following blindly whatever the cabinet decrees - so basically the definition of parliamentary democracy is toe the party line or else. May as well get a 100 sheep to do the job then.
written by hellosunshine, January 13, 2009 11:52:10
Can you, through your connections with PAS, drum into the thick he*** of PAS youth not to demonstrate against this or that as it infringes on the rights of the non Muslims? Such extremist acts of banning female artistes from performing (if offended, don't pay money to attend), gender separation in payout lanes, etc does not reflect well on their tolerance and respect for other non Muslims.
written by miwaki, January 13, 2009 12:01:52
Pete has said it all,UMNO is in violation of our constitution without having to get our permission.UMNO is arrogant,incompetent but still thinking that it is brilliant.

We can change all these if we want to,we are not that stupid after 52 years of nonsensical governing by UMNO/BN.Just think before you cast your votes on 17 jan,are you happy with the nonsense being carries out after 8 march 2008 ? Are you in support of the arrest of RPK under ISA ? Are you in support of Ahmad Ismail of UMNO telling us the chinese who have been staying in malaysia for the past 200 years that we are mere squatters ? Are you in support of Najis who would be made the CEO before Altantuya's case is cleared ?

Why waste our time keep asking our current government to change when we can change our government by voting against them.We are the real CEO,not UMNO !
written by SamSan, January 13, 2009 12:06:01
Who raped, sodomised and destroyed the Constitution of Malaysia for the past 30 years of more, so much so that its true and original intent and meaning is now completely lost. The answer is UMNO, not PAS, DAP or PKR. And why they were able to do it. Because their second and third rate lap dog partners of MCA and MIC allowed them to do so. The term Barisan Nasional is a misnomer as UMNO makes all the key decisions and the lap dog minor partners either just nod their head in acceptance or keep very silent. These lap dogs are very happy with the tit bits thrown at their leaders by UMNO. So how can we save our beloved country. We can save this beloved country by sinking this corrupt and sodomite UMNO ship and getting Pakatan Rakyat to restore back our Constitution to its true original form as it was envisaged by our beloved Bapa Merdeka trio of Tunku Abdul Rahman, Tun Tan Siew Sin and Tun Sambanthan.
written by Jan, January 13, 2009 12:14:17
Between Tok Guru Nik Aziz and Toyol who do you trust with your money?
Between Hadi and Najis who do you believe more?
Ladies and gentlemen who do you then trust, UMNO or PAS?
written by cheekhiaw, January 13, 2009 12:14:50
TNG: Did you steal?
WF: I have returned part of the loot. It is no more an issue.

TNG: Are you a thief?
WF: I don't think it's an issue.
written by Jan, January 13, 2009 12:19:14
Do you trust a party who continuosly call you a pendatang, threaten you with violence ala May 13 and waving a keris in your face? Are you happy being a second class citizen and being discriminated to the hilt? If so you should vote the dacing you truly deserve it.
written by cahaya, January 13, 2009 12:25:43
RPK, it is not a question of who we trust. The better and more relevant question is “WHO do we (KT voters) want in Parliament to represent Malaysians and the rakyat living in KT?” That le*** us to a string of other questions.

With UMNO’s record of bad governance (a list of UMNO faults would be too long), why choose another UMNO candidate for Parliament? And of all people, why would anyone (in their right mind) choose the current UMNO candidate who has spent the last 5 years in KL, not in KT? Did he ever speak up for the good of the Terengganu rakyat when in Parliament? Or did he only speak up to support the policies of his corrupt BN bosses? Enough said.

Why not choose a candidate representing PR opposition side in Parliament? Why not help PR to be stronger in Parliament, have a louder voice as check and balance against the present BN government? Why not help PR take one step closer to forming a new government, that is a CAT (competent, accountable, transparent) government with leaders of integrity and vision who exercise good governance by being fair and just to all citizens regardless of their race, religion, language, etc.?

Why not choose the PAS candidate who has high integrity and who has worked hard to serve KT people for 18 years? Why not choose someone who understands our local problems in KT and promises to speak out on our behalf, whether we are Malay, Chinese, Indian, or other minorities? Why not elect Abdul Wahid Endut as our Member of Parliament for KT? (Afterall, he is the best of the three candidates!)
written by Michael Pg, January 13, 2009 12:54:29
wonder where is saifool, under syariah court could not find 4 witness. he should be keep in prison. why take so long to find a witness.
written by Frankfurtguy, January 13, 2009 13:24:39
Not ALL voters are matured voters.

Some are blind voters : vote for UMNO
Some are smart voters : take UMNO money and vote for PAS
Some are rational voters : Vote for PR and not BN
Some are numb voters : never bother to vote
Some are zombie voters : their names abused by BN
Some are phantom voters : may be upto 7000 in total

So......KT voters,
Please be a smart and rational voters
NOT those blind, zombie, numb voters
Let us pray to GOD that the phantom voters will pay their price in hell!
written by carribeanking7, January 13, 2009 13:25:08
even the UMNO president cannot decide on ISA, thats why he was clueless when arrests were made, and the Home Minister had to kelek keluk about using it to protect the victim, -UMNO supreme council decides everything, and because of vested interests the component parties who collectively play the kow tow game.
UMNO is a strange creature, where the puppet and puppet master are one and the same , over time they pull their own strings and actually believe their own lies.
Soon they will choke on their own vomit.
In the desert sometimes a thirsty camel will chew on thorns, this will make its tongue bleed, and it will swallow its own blood and enjoy it.
written by Braino, January 13, 2009 14:13:57
It's a choice between the devil and the deep blue sea! It's matter of choosing the lesser evil. To me, both have not proven to me that they are the respecter of the Federal Constitution. No clear commitment to building a united Malaysian race. Religion and race are still being used to gain votes!

Hope of a transparent administration is still a far cry from what the Rakyat expect! Just pray for the best!
written by Milo, January 13, 2009 14:33:25
We should trust no politician or any political party absolutely, i.e. we vote with our eyes wide open, understand our basis for voting them, and qualify our support if needed.
written by MalaysiaBaru, January 13, 2009 14:55:21
If we read in between the lines from the answer given by Wan Mother Farker above, there is absolutely no reason to vote him in to be a Member of Praliment. Since he has absolutely no personal opinion or stand on policies and will just vote with every motion without any conscience or concern, what is the farking point of voting him to be a member of parliment?! An MP is supposed to represent the voice of the people in his constituency. But this Wan Mother Farker has just declared that he is just gonna warm the seat of KT in Parliment, collecting Buta Gaji, what is the use of having such a totally useless piece of shit to representing KT?
written by coolandy, January 13, 2009 15:09:41
You can say PAS is bad. You can say PAKATAN dok molek. Dak ape, aku tetap sayang SEBAB
UMNO is badder. BN sangat HODOH dan SOMBONG. Angkoh. Jadi kaya raya, tipu rakyat!
PAS tak curi duit rakyat (mungkin belum ada peluang) tetapi BN PASTI sohor doh.
UNDILAH PAS tanpa ragu-ragu. Kalu dok molek, kita pilih balik BN lain kali. Mudoh je.
written by SamYap, January 13, 2009 15:46:45
I would rate my trust as follows:
UMNO = 0% trustworthiness
PAS = 50% trustworthiness (why 50%? B'cos after March 8th, Hadi's faction held secret talks with UMNO and hitherto neither Hadi nor his merry men had bothered to explain why they had those talks!)
written by Anti Relon, January 13, 2009 16:35:47
For KT by-election:

May the 'Ilmu Hitam' be with you!!!
May the candidate with the best 'Ilmu Hitam' win!!!
written by Bloodhound, January 13, 2009 16:36:55
Bigjoe99,You could well have referred to our future PM - same situation, everything given on a silver platter. Where in the world (except in Bolehland) could the Prime Ministership of a nation be passed on to another person without the input of its citizens when the incumbent is still healthy and alive?

Unless the incumbent Prime Minister has lost the support of the majority of its citizens (not their party's majority), this is a definite show of arrogance at its best by those involved. They bulldozed and force feed their privatee arrangements/agreemments upon the people of the nation!

Should such arrogance be rewarded or punished? the decisions are now in the hands of the people of KT as this KT by-election is as good as a proxy fight to determine whether Najib can become the Prime Minister of Malaysia through the back door!
written by batsman, January 13, 2009 17:01:27
Hudud is God's Law. Unfortunately it is man that must implement it. Man must therefore use his judgement. It is only right that God's Law be implemented in a perfect society comprising the Faithful. In an imperfect society, preparations must be made beforehand.

In an imperfect society, should one emphasise more the cutting off a petty thief's hand, or the catching and punishing of people in power who abuse their positions to steal billions of ringgit from the rakyat? Man must use judgement on this issue. One must catch the BIG thieves and sinners in power first before working hard to create a perfect society. With sinners in power there is little chance to create a perfect society.

In a perfect society, there will be very little need to cut off anybody's hands. Hudud is not cruel. It is God's Law meant for a perfect society.
written by batsman, January 13, 2009 17:03:54
BTW, PAS Youth is only exercising their democratic right to demonstrate. People who try to stop this are acting exactly as UMNO/MCA.

Pls get rid of your brainwashing by 51 years of UMNO rule. Don;t react like UMNO/MCA.
written by DreamLady, January 13, 2009 17:11:10
PAS and Pakatan are seen working very hard to fight the demons, and the awaiting outcome of their effort lies in the hand of the Almighty! HE shall have HIS final say. For the innocence and the victimized, AllAH sees all, and HE hears all, and HE shall dispense the appropriate punishment for those who err, and who follow the trail of syaitan!!
written by panca, January 13, 2009 18:05:48
Wang Fari Wang Salle : "Guar sdh habis, kali ini guar kalah teruk lah, lagipun guar sdh resign, tak de kerja, mampus ku. habis, habis aku! I kena bantah ISA.
written by cheekhiaw, January 13, 2009 18:15:09
batsman,

The heaven is full of stars. If hudud are laws of the gods, surely the gods can spare a few pixels on their huge canvass to form the message 'We confirm that hudud is Our Laws!" and everyone on earth can see it with their own eyes and no need to argue with you.
written by nada0802, January 13, 2009 18:41:51
What has he done for the state or at least his constituency to give the advantage?
written by Rhan, January 13, 2009 18:52:15
Hehehe batsman, I think you read too much Chinese legend. We call the perfect society a gentleman state (君子国). And I am fully agreed with you that Hudud would only be implemented when the moral of the society attains a certain level. What I don’t understand is why some people keep harping on the same issue. Either they treat religion as a political game or they sincerely believe Hudud would help realise a perfect society.

To the latter, let me tell you people that the first Ming emperor Zhu YuanZhang use to chop chop chop but corruption and tyranny still stays. It doesn’t work. Hence, put in more effort to create a gentleman state first lah.
written by kurangfaham, January 13, 2009 19:17:50
UMNO is better then pas, coz Pas is fanatic.
disagree 30
written by Super admin, January 13, 2009 19:25:38
kurangfaham, that name suits you well. I suppose Umno is not?
written by amoker, January 13, 2009 19:25:43
He is just an appointed senator what! Only jalan belakang can he acccess the corridors of power. talk so big.
written by Super admin, January 13, 2009 19:29:01
I see many Malaysians still delight in arguing about the colour of the cow rather than whether the cow can give any milk. This is what makes Malaysians so pathetic. Many are so fanatical about hating PAS yet have the gall to call PAS extreme.
written by Fuminari, January 13, 2009 19:44:07
KTgites,if u give ur vote to umno be end,they would arrest u under ISA inorder to protect u !!!
vote Pas,Pakatan Rakyat!!
written by SiHangChai, January 13, 2009 21:12:41
NONE can't be trusted. BN very corrupted and selfish and with ham sap MPs. PAS, Empty shell and very individualistics and self-centred! The best is DAP, with brainy MPs except some MPs who couldn't even can talk bahasa or english properly. Very china ah pek style.
written by What Nil Wisdom, January 13, 2009 22:25:13
Neither.
written by cheekhiaw, January 13, 2009 22:50:55
What Nil Wisdom,

You are suppose to 'pangkah' one lah. If no horse and must choose between a mule and a stealing ass, choose the mule that gives milk and not the stealing ass that expects to milk you lor. Can or not?
written by Alarka, January 14, 2009 00:55:16
PAS must answer to Allah. BN answers to money.

Which one? Select "agree" if PAS is more trustworthy and select "disagree" if BN or CRUMNO is more trustworthy.
written by Daryl, January 14, 2009 06:25:52
I don't believe in politicians and you should know what "Poli-tick" means. However, at this point in Malaysia the PR push a platform that enable Malaysia to survive in this 21st century. So, I will vote anything PR just because we need a total revamp and bring change to our Federal government. A government that use their power to push down oppositions does need a second look not only on power abuse but maybe serious corruption as well.
written by asianguy, January 14, 2009 07:21:07
How can anyone, in his/her right mind, say that the ISA is "good as it is"? Let alone someone who wishes to win the votes of the people? Would YOU vote for Wan Fahid who would use ISA to imprison YOU without trial?
written by temenggong, January 14, 2009 08:14:05
Batsman,

You need to study the principles of jurisprudence, the philosophy of law, as well as the principles of corrective punishment. So many people are rehashing arguments that were superceded hundreds of years ago Punishment must be correctional and rehabitational. These are the marks of a civil society.

Hudud punishment is irreversible! Therein lies its complete irrelevance to modern day jurisprudence. Any punishment must be reversible and correctable in the light of new evidence. How do we reattach a person's limbs in the light of fresh evidence that he was not guilty?
written by hellosunshine, January 14, 2009 08:56:01
Dear MT, you lambasted the MSM for censorship and reporting biased news but you are just as bad when you censor my comments on batsman. I am really disappointed with your double headed practice and your not so hidden agenda on PAS support.
I used to trust RPK blindly until I realised he had an agenda and it's blooming right before our eyes. Sad.
smilies/tongue.gif
written by hellosunshine, January 14, 2009 09:15:21
BTW, I've always been a DAP opposition supporter since young and I am all for PR wresting power from BN and no, I am not a racist (claimed by RPK) as I believe and trust in DAP's Karpal Singh more than LKS.
I wonder how long will it be before I am struck off the members' list for not blindly agreeing to all of MT/RPK's views on democracy.
written by 1eyecls, January 14, 2009 09:32:54
najis said:umno is no racist !

he said,thy are a big and democratic party,some individual remark does not represent the party's agenda!

ok,fine,i just give two examples,when the big mouth hishamutin raised the keris and hurts non-malays,umno leaderships unanimously supported him,answer me,najis!?
another infamous leader,non-other than your penang umno counter-part,ahmad ismail,
offended chinese completely,and what have umno did?nothing right,najis?

and by the way,najis,your BIRO TATA NEGARA has sucessfully gave PR to offer yourself(BN) to commit suicide,and that gave the result of 308 right?
written by ROBERTNGTG, January 14, 2009 09:44:14
So, whom can we trust? A party that respects and will comply to the Federal Constitution of Malaysia or one that violates the Constitution every step of the way? That is the fundamental issue in the Kuala Terengganu by-election.

AMENO/BEEND ARE FULL OF HANTUS, TOYOLS, QUACK DOCTORS AND MAGICIANS WHERE
HUGE AMOUNTS OF MONEY CAN DISAPPEAR IN A BLINK OF AN EYE. YR DAUGHTERS WILL NEVER
BE SAVE WITH THESE SO CALLED BOMOHS WITH BIG HORNS AND DROOLING SALIVA. SUPPORT AT YR OWN PERIL.
written by Braino, January 14, 2009 09:57:17
Looks like the "pendatangs" going to be the deciding factor! Why no mention of asking the pendatangs to go back to their homeland now? Times like this suddenly the pendatangs have become the "penyayang"! This is politics folks! What hypocrisy! ewww!
written by jeevy, January 14, 2009 16:42:49
Most or in fact all UMNO/BN politicians are "postman" politicians...They take/receive whatever policies/directives etc etc and pass on to the rakyat...They dont have a individual or personal opinion on anything dat matters!!!...They can be termed, also as "professional" politicians!!!...being paid handsomely by UMNO/BN ( read also as "hired by")to carry out their policies/directives irrespective of their personal opinions...God bless their souls!!!...Amen
written by clarity, January 14, 2009 22:31:48
You must be crazy to think that I can trust BN. Take last year alone. How mant times did the PM said one thing and did something. As for PAS well I have not made up my mind. But to trust an individual then I think I can trust Nik Aziz.
written by kclim2, January 14, 2009 23:12:08
That's what you get if you vote those UMNO monkeys! Corruption and all those evils things you can think of! Voter of Kuala Trengganu vote PAS for a better Malaysia malaysian. Long live Anwar and PR!
written by batsman, January 15, 2009 10:11:07
Rhan - Good that a few people starting to realize Malays and Chinese have very many things in common. Hope we stress the common things instead of the differences while debating in civilized manner without hypocrisy and without falsehoods.

Cheekhiaw - If God were to do so, there would not be any more reason for humans to have the gift of judgement. Hope you treasure it as I do.

Temenggong - Frankly, I do not wish to discuss Hudud too much. As RPK says - it is a non-issue, but as part of the process of getting to a perfect society, let me just say that many crimes are also irreversible. In a perfect society, crime against an individual is also a crime against society. In this sense all crimes are irreversible. It boils down to whether you place the rights of the individual ahead of the rights of society or not.

BTW, MT admin also cut off some of my comments, but I am not whining about it. There are plenty of hypocrites here crying foul. They are the ones who suck up to western democracies but have no respect for democracy at all. In the west, demonstrations are shrugged off as part and parcel of their democratic life. Some people here who suck up to the west would like to take away the rights of people to demonstrate just as UMNO/MCA. They are just hypocrites crying foul when their comments are struck off but they are also the ones who would take away the democratic rights of people to demonstrate - exactly as UMNO/MCA. It is no wonder that they also have great respect for Lee Kuan Yew. All I can say is that these people are world class hypocrites.
written by Farouk, January 15, 2009 10:54:18
Sorry RPK, Neither PAS nor UMNO for me!

http://www.peru.name/writing/?p=465
written by tianng, January 16, 2009 09:15:38
My call to KT voters:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ijkKuSHOHDo

http://www.merdekablog.com
written by bambolero, January 20, 2009 15:09:52
My choice of choosing a party in this country has to meet this criteria's. I will definately go for the party of my choice whose leader's and followers from the top to grassroots level to be well educated,intelligent,obedient,God fearing,fair to all,down to earth personality, humble,transparent, and of course corruption free.