Waiting for Umno to walk the talk against corruption PDF Print
Monday, 12 January 2009 12:35

The country’s criminal and anti-corruption laws punish both the giver and the receiver of bribes. So why should it be any different for Umno members? Why should members who seek bribes not be punished along with those who give them?

The Straits Times

After 20 years of being plagued by allegations of widespread vote-buying in party elections, Malaysia’s ruling United Malays National Organisation (Umno) finally said last month that it would no longer treat money politics as a mere internal party matter. It is outright corruption, after all, liable to criminal prosecution.

The signal came when Tengku Tan Sri Ahmad Rithauddeen Tengku Ismail, who chairs Umno’s disciplinary committee (LD), said the party needed to plug a big gap in its code of ethics: that is, the lack of censure for members who demand money or favours to vote for or against a candidate in party elections.

As Umno Supreme Council member Shahrir Abdul Samad told The Straits Times: “This is the shift that has happened in Umno. Money politics is now seen as simple, straightforward corruption ... Once this shift occurred, it was conceded that (money politics) was no longer an internal party matter.”

After all, as one party insider pointed out, the country’s criminal and anti-corruption laws punish both the giver and the receiver of bribes. So why should it be any different for Umno members? Why should members who seek bribes not be punished along with those who give them?

Bribery is now practised blatantly even at the lowest rungs of Umno politics. Seekers of bribes sometimes use code words like “Agong ada?” – meaning “Do you have the King?”, with “Agong” here being a reference to the image of the Malaysian King, the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong, that appears on the country’s currency.

The going rate these days for Umno Supreme Council elections is said to be as much as RM200,000 for an influential delegate’s support.

Umno secretary-general Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor said last year that during the October/November divisional meetings to nominate candidates for the party polls in March this year, the LD got up to 1,000 complaints about money politics.

Even former party president Mahathir Mohamad threatened to post the culprits’ names on his blog http://www.chedet.com.

Adnan added, however, that 75 per cent of the complaints were false and were meant to destroy political rivals. Meanwhile, Umno members themselves say that the LD acts slowly on complaints and does not reveal the results of investigations.

Currently, the party’s code calls for the censure of only candidates, their agents and lobbyists who garner support by inducing, enticing or feathering the nests of members or their families in any way to win their votes.

At first sight, Tengku Rithauddeen’s call for change may seem politically counterintuitive. Umno’s rank-and-file is already riled by the party’s ineffectual leadership, after the party lost 43 seats to the opposition Pakatan Rakyat coalition in the general election last March.

So, why incur their wrath further by shifting the blame for bribery from Umno leaders to Umno members? After all, as everyone knows, Umno leaders amass big war chests to gain or maintain their posts.

What is the use of stifling demand for baksheesh when there appears to be an over-supply of it?

Some observers wonder whether this shift is just another attempt to plaster over cracks in Umno’s foundation. These cracks were exposed by Umno Selangor veteran Mazlan Harun in August last year when he lodged police and Anti-Corruption Agency reports against Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi and his deputy, Datuk Seri Najib Razak, for allegedly angling for delegates’ votes by giving them big dinners and pricey souvenirs.

At least two Umno division leaders balked at Rithauddeen’s suggestion because they felt it implied that the party was overly corrupt.

Insiders say the rot of money politics set in the party from the late 1980s, when long-entrenched Umno incumbents were suddenly challenged by upstarts with deep pockets. Shahrir said corruption was so systematic that some division leaders got fixed sums of money in their bank accounts regularly and delegates were given pink forms to apply for initial public offerings.

The trouble now is that Umno’s patronage, if not money, politics may have become the raison d’etre for many to join, and stay on, in the party.

As one netizen observed on the Malaysia Today website: “If new ethics like ‘cannot ask for money’ are really implemented and culprits are punished, who the hell would still want to join Umno? You think it’s really about protecting Malay rights?”

It is an open secret that many urban Malay professionals and businessmen join Umno in the hope of getting big breaks in their careers or trades.

That said, observers wonder who within Umno would offer himself as the sacrificial lamb to help it regain moral legitimacy. They recall how late party president Hussein Onn hauled up then popular Selangor chief minister Harun Idris – ironically, the father of Mazlan - for corruption in 1976. Harun served two years in jail.

Shahrir thinks the shift in the party’s stance on money politics will lend legitimacy to its leaders: “If nobody asks, there is no reason for the candidate to give. And even candidates who give without being asked will be embarrassed into not giving."

But to many the logic of this argument would appear odd: It is almost as though Umno’s guardians are conceding that the practices of its leaders cannot be changed; but if their followers changed, perhaps the leaders might, too. – MI

Comments (34)Add Comment
written by Jan, January 12, 2009 12:45:49
Corruption? There's no such word in their vocabulary. They will not change even if the party implodes and finito.
written by Oscar Winner, January 12, 2009 12:48:48
So they love the "Agong" image more than His Royal Highness??
written by wongnoball, January 12, 2009 12:52:04
Palestine and Isreal will find Peace before UMNO put an end to Corruption and Racism. And Pigs Fly, Hell Freezes First before UMNO does anything good for Malaysia. Vote PAS in KT, Take Power and end UMNO-BN rule. Forget about UMNO has more malay MP racist ideology. We are either all Malaysian or we are DOGs of various species.! Even non malay, non muslim can be Perdana Menteri. Terimalah Hakikat ini supaya Malaysia boleh Maju!
written by Msian Idol3, January 12, 2009 12:54:33
No way UMNO can stop this corruption business in their party. In UMNO, the leaders make & write their own deals & get FAT. Look at the deals given out by DPM to F class contractors in KT --- absolutely believable what UMNO can do. Any decent UMNO leaders?? No way. If you are clean, you are worthless & posses an extreme hassle to the ones wanting to make big money.
written by mightywill, January 12, 2009 12:56:29
'Waiting for Umno to walk the talk against corruption' is like waiting for a dead man to come back alive...It will never happen.

U Money NO = You got money?
written by Rainbowseahorse, January 12, 2009 12:56:44
It’s all talks followed by more talks! We know we will not get any more out of UMNO other than mere words.

Yesterday, Ezam dares DSAI to expose those boxes which contain evidence of corruptions by UMNO/BN people. Ezam said he too knows what is in these boxes.

So, DSAI, what are you waiting for? Please show UMNO that you do Walk the Talk!
written by cahaya, January 12, 2009 12:57:22
Umno Supreme Council member Shahrir Abdul Samad told The Straits Times: “This is the shift that has happened in Umno. Money politics is now seen as simple, straightforward corruption ... ” . . . the country’s criminal and anti-corruption laws punish both the giver and the receiver of bribes. So why should it be any different for Umno members? Why should members who seek bribes not be punished along with those who give them?

Yes, those who give bribes should be punished.
And those who seek bribes should also be punished.
How about punishment for that Umno member who openly bribed 583 contractors last weekend?
written by Zapper, January 12, 2009 13:02:57
Whar corruption?? In Malaysia, there is NO corruption. We are just trying to redistribute the wealth..simply from your pocket to theirs!! This is NOT corruption. And if this explanation is not good enough, we may called it giving the money to the needy..to buy big cars, house and expensive holidays.
written by Jan, January 12, 2009 13:05:41
Corruption is so blatant they use all kinds of excuses to justify it. Corruption in party is not corruption but money politics they tell you. Giving contracts to Class F contractors at time of election is not corruption they insist even though the timing stinks.
Malaysia is rotting to the core, I hope the people of KT will wake up to this fact.
written by rpremkumar2u, January 12, 2009 13:16:11
There is a holistic view that some hold about money. Any money, no matter what the denomination, is to be earned in a manner which gives feng shui to the earner. The Chinese voters have always stood to recognize this fact when they labour on, earning by the drip of their perspired brow. The same actually is held by the Muslim votering public as exhaustively preached by the holy tenets. The minority Indian has to be on the same pedestal too. The moves of the Barisan leaves the logical thinker of why should he/she give away their enshrined right in exchange for the paltry tinsel dangled before their mouth. The voters are maturing. It is because of the tidal wave victory in the 5 states, the nonsense of the previous goverment has been brought to light and much more is being unearthed to be investigated by the newly anti corruption authority. To remind the KT voters to vote for a prospective minister and not another voice in the Parliament is to tell them, this is a veiled threat. Recognition of this vital issue is going to see the backlash on Najib and his goons.
written by alan cheong, January 12, 2009 13:26:41
amphisbaena: The amphisbaena has a twin head, that is one at the tail end as well, as though it were not enough for poison to be poured out of one mouth. Pliny

umno = amphisbaena
written by ibabonma, January 12, 2009 13:38:19
How to go after the corrupt? Corrupt is their bread and butter. The best thing is wait when we control the federal government. In fact I had already lodged three police reports and a BPR report against the local Ketua Cawangan cum Timbalan Ketua Bahagian UMNO. I know the Police of Ampang Jaya and BPR are not taking action for the moment; but I prefer to wait.
written by ahmadneil, January 12, 2009 13:45:30
We have to bring this man out and see for himself what umno is openly doing.This respected man,Tunku Abdul Aziz Ibrahim,know s best.He and the commission have found all the civil services corrupted to its core.So today what umno ,as the govt,is showing its dirty leadership by openly engaging in votes buying.Where are the EC!
written by ahmadneil, January 12, 2009 13:47:12
A dying party will do anything to save itself.umno is precisely doing this,now!
written by ahmadneil, January 12, 2009 13:48:07
umno have no pride now.The smell of defeat is spreading fast.
written by Democrats, January 12, 2009 13:50:11
This is why UMNO must evaporate......

Look at the "lucky draw" contracts awards to the 580 class "F" contractors in KT. Pure bribery. Predetermined prices, no negotiation, no tenders or bid, no checking on track record or ability to execute the work. Worst part is awarding it using the rakyats money - not their own UMNO internal fund. The biggest crooks in the world doesn't even do that so blatantly. That is the only way they know how to win support.

So its never about ability, charisma, talent, or charm. Look at idiots like Shit Hamid, HH, Nazri, Bung, Sami, Rais, etc.... it how deep their pockets are.
written by Cash Money, January 12, 2009 14:01:22
I am afraid the whole nation is indirectly or directly associated with corruption.Someone's family member,friend etc will be oiling someone's hand to get things done legally or illegally.Thanks to UMNO for showing the way.Malaysia Boleh!
written by ahmadneil, January 12, 2009 14:02:07
How can we ask all these corrupted people to talk about corruption.They only know how to steal,that's all.Their pea size brains can't think,or you can call them brain dead.
written by pinsysu, January 12, 2009 14:10:44
waiting for unmo to walk out completely from our sight! umno = corruptions. against corruptions = against umno! pls vote for PAS!
written by ahmadneil, January 12, 2009 14:21:00
Fight on,fight with all our might! We will never let umno win this election.They must be kick out.We will not stop! Vote PAS.
written by Richard Lo, January 12, 2009 14:21:16
That is because 75% of these cases have been settled with the "agong". It must have due to "inbreeding" from within that has diminished their intelligence so much that it has taken them over half a century to realise that money politics is corruption.
written by Counterpointer, January 12, 2009 14:30:33
TDMad should really enjoy this cartoon:

Afterall, that's what he'd probably be when UMNO's Kubang Pasu divisional election vote buying allegations, which Badawi had view very seriously then and had promised to investigate, is finally concluded

Then again, that's what we all will be too when UMNO rids corruption and money politics.
written by mucking fuddled, January 12, 2009 15:15:20
the more i read about umno, the more convinced i am that we are becoming the most corrupt nation in the world and worst still it is condoned and 'legitimised'. it has become a way of life, from ministries to the civil service to the glcs to the man on the street. the sad thing is we are not even bothered what the outside world think of us, every effort that is put forward to eradicate the scourge are systematically dragged on its feet and hopefully forgotten..the cancer is too widespread, ironically its a doctor that assist in its proliferation
written by Arubin, January 12, 2009 15:37:47
Sorry, dragonheart, but your view of the world is rather naive.

You can choose not to pay the illegal jaga kereta boys, but I know many of them will damage your car in some way if you don't. You have the choice of holding on to your principles and save a few ringgit, but you end up having to spend a few hundred to repaint your car. What will you pick in such a situation? Heck, the chinese even get extorted by garbage collectors. Every CNY, they will ring our doorbell and ask for angpow. We can refuse, but our garbage doesn't get collected in the following weeks and maybe the bin goes missing as well.

This isn't just about demand. I do NOT want to pay bribes. But what choice do I have under such circumstances? We need laws, and we need enforcement. Its the only real way to stop bribes. Unfortunately, UMNO refuses to put such practices in place because the party itself it corrupt to its very core.
written by kl_wong, January 12, 2009 15:48:16
Walk the Talk? ESOK, LUSA, LUPA back to square one with the new PM in waiting as if nothing happen.
written by carribeanking7, January 12, 2009 18:46:12
Waik the talk ? forget it !
I am waiting for UMNO to talk a long walk off a short pier.
written by ahmadneil, January 12, 2009 21:21:13
Thieves don't walk the talk.They only walk the cock.
written by Fuminari, January 12, 2009 23:22:43
the basic n essential party doctrine for umno is hooked up with corruption,n corruption is umno survival kit,money is umno's god!!so,how can u expect umno to go against corruption??
umno is too deeply addicted to corruption!
the word 'umno' is synonymous to the word 'rasuah'!
written by SocratesI, January 12, 2009 23:33:33

Walk the Talk ?? We shall have to wait forever ! Why ?? have you ever seen the world's fattest man ?? He can't even sit up without a lot of help, after guzzling so much food. The same with the Utterly Moronic Nazis' Org. as they have been living off the fat of the land and the Rakyat's work efforts, and become one big, bloated mass/ mess. How can they even sit straight, let alone walk ?!!

Therefore, there is no chance UMNO will walk its talk ... not possible at all !!

written by onnetline, January 12, 2009 23:37:10
If there's no corruption, then the party is not called UMMNO !!!!
written by Lim Lim, January 13, 2009 00:25:11
the very first word to learn for umno is corruption,
the only god for umno to pray is money,
so,u expect them to walk the talk???wait till planet earth stop turning n the sun rise from the west!!!
written by wishuponastar, January 13, 2009 11:37:22
Ummm...let's see if we can say NO to that.On second thought if ever we say no won't it be disrespectful?Biar mati anak,jangan mati adat!
written by Sinewy, January 13, 2009 13:41:16
For the 50 over years, if not because of the rampant corruptions and abuse of power that have wasted billions of the country's wealth, Malaysia should be standing tall in the world map with her abundance of resources and opportunities. Unfortunately, they self-serving politicians and government administrations has squandered biliions of tax payers money into they drain so much so that we cannot even be equal to singapore who is just a bare island. You don't need a brain of a rocket scientist to see the stupidity that is being brandishing around by the politicians and the government administrators in malaysia.